**Offical** Yamaha RX-V665 AV Receiver thread - Page 8 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #211 of 1951 Old 05-02-2009, 10:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SoundChex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: USA, west coast
Posts: 2,600
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Quote:
Originally Posted by dj_james View Post

So is there any difference between the 765 and 665 besides a little more power???

The Yamaha website says not. My guess: Yamaha realized that a significant percentage of RX-V6xx units are used as pre/pros, and decided that a 765/665 pair with common electronics was a cost effective way to exploit both markets more extensively.

[Home Office system schematic]
"My AV systems were created by man. They evolved. They rebelled. There are many speakers. And they have . . . A PLAN."

SoundChex is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #212 of 1951 Old 05-03-2009, 01:19 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
MichaelJHuman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 18,642
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 121 Post(s)
Liked: 92
Quote:
Originally Posted by dj_james View Post

So is there any difference between the 765 and 665 besides a little more power???

Yamaha's comparison feature was not helpful. You might have to read the manuals.

"But this one goes up to 11"
MichaelJHuman is online now  
post #213 of 1951 Old 05-03-2009, 01:24 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SoundChex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: USA, west coast
Posts: 2,600
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Quote:
Originally Posted by MichaelJHuman View Post

Yamaha's comparison feature was not helpful. You might have to read the manuals.

I have not been able to locate a 765 manual; did you find one?

[Home Office system schematic]
"My AV systems were created by man. They evolved. They rebelled. There are many speakers. And they have . . . A PLAN."

SoundChex is online now  
post #214 of 1951 Old 05-03-2009, 01:30 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
MichaelJHuman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 18,642
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 121 Post(s)
Liked: 92
Quote:
Originally Posted by SoundChex View Post

I have not been able to locate a 765 manual; did you find one?

I have not yet seen one.

"But this one goes up to 11"
MichaelJHuman is online now  
post #215 of 1951 Old 05-03-2009, 06:14 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 16,030
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 111 Post(s)
Liked: 198
Quote:
Originally Posted by dj_james View Post

So is there any difference between the 765 and 665 besides a little more power???

The amp sections are completely different, so it's more than just a little more power. The 765 is also larger and heavier. But as far as anyone can see on paper, the front end is the same. There may be subtle differences in features and function but the unavailable 765 manual makes that impossible to know.
rdgrimes is online now  
post #216 of 1951 Old 05-03-2009, 08:09 AM
Senior Member
 
mdaudioguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 494
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgrimes View Post

The 663 does not do up-scaling, the 665 does. That's important to remember, cause any comparison is meaningless unless you turn off up-scaling in the 665. The conversion from analog to HDMI is probably similar in the 2 units though. The de-interlacing in either unit will be very bad, and it appears that neither will pass 480i with digital conversion turned on.

so the situation is unchanged from the 663 to 665, it's much better to pass analog as analog and let your monitor do the conversion and scaling.

I have two HDMI 1080i/p sources (DTV and PS3) that would fill all of the HDMI inputs available in a V663.

I have two 480i/p sources (PS2 and SD-DVD), both with component outputs. The DVD is upconverting with HDMI output (480p/720p/1080i). If I went with 665, I'd use HDMI for convenience (1 less cable, I guess).

If I went with 663, these sources would send 480i/p into the 663 where the signals would be converted to digital and sent via HDMI, although still at the 480i/p resolution. My PJ would then scale the image to match its display resolution, which happens to be 720p. Am I understanding this correctly? So really, the only quantifiable benefit (for me) of the 665 would be one less cable, correct? Btw, my use for either one will be mainly as a pre/pro.

Also, can anyone answer my earlier question about the 665 - with its apparently "lesser" power supply and/or amps, does it run cooler than the previous xx3 series? I had a 661 (similar to the 663, I think) and it seemed to get pretty warm.

"I don't know half of you half as well as I should like, and I like less than half of you half as well as you deserve." ~ B. B.
mdaudioguy is offline  
post #217 of 1951 Old 05-03-2009, 10:07 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 16,030
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 111 Post(s)
Liked: 198
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdaudioguy View Post

I have two HDMI 1080i/p sources (DTV and PS3) that would fill all of the HDMI inputs available in a V663.

I have two 480i/p sources (PS2 and SD-DVD), both with component outputs. The DVD is upconverting with HDMI output (480p/720p/1080i). If I went with 665, I'd use HDMI for convenience (1 less cable, I guess).

If I went with 663, these sources would send 480i/p into the 663 where the signals would be converted to digital and sent via HDMI, although still at the 480i/p resolution. My PJ would then scale the image to match its display resolution, which happens to be 720p. Am I understanding this correctly? So really, the only quantifiable benefit (for me) of the 665 would be one less cable, correct? Btw, my use for either one will be mainly as a pre/pro.

The 665 may de-interlace 480i to 480p when converting to digital from component. I'm not sure about the 663. That is something you really do not want, since your display will do a much better job of de-interlacing. De-interlacing is the single most important step in upscaling to 1080. Again, the best solution is to output analog for analog inputs and digital for digital inputs. Even without de-interlacing, the digital conversion on either unit is less than great.
rdgrimes is online now  
post #218 of 1951 Old 05-03-2009, 10:16 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
MichaelJHuman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 18,642
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 121 Post(s)
Liked: 92
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgrimes View Post

The 665 may de-interlace 480i to 480p when converting to digital from component. I'm not sure about the 663. That is something you really do not want, since your display will do a much better job of de-interlacing. De-interlacing is the single most important step in upscaling to 1080. Again, the best solution is to output analog for analog inputs and digital for digital inputs. Even without de-interlacing, the digital conversion on either unit is less than great.

If it's that bad, it would be best to simply not buy it!

How about just running component to HDMI conversion with no I/P conversion?

Seems like a pain to have to run both analog and digital to the TV. That's why I bought a receiver which could do component to HDMI. I bought an RX-V2700 though - I have not see how the 663 looks.

"But this one goes up to 11"
MichaelJHuman is online now  
post #219 of 1951 Old 05-03-2009, 10:25 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 16,030
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 111 Post(s)
Liked: 198
Quote:
Originally Posted by MichaelJHuman View Post

Seems like a pain to have to run both analog and digital to the TV. That's why I bought a receiver which could do component to HDMI. I bought an RX-V2700 though - I have not see how the 663 looks.

There are other reasons to run separate analog video to your monitor. For one, your monitor can set and remember calibration settings for different inputs. In particular, calibration for component and for HDMI can be quite different. If convenience is more important to you and if you're happy with the results then by all means use the upconversion. In order to get video processing that rivals your monitor's, you need to spend a great deal more than $500. Why bypass the better processing that you paid for in the monitor?
rdgrimes is online now  
post #220 of 1951 Old 05-03-2009, 10:37 AM
Senior Member
 
mdaudioguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 494
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgrimes View Post

The 665 may de-interlace 480i to 480p when converting to digital from component. I'm not sure about the 663. That is something you really do not want, since your display will do a much better job of de-interlacing. De-interlacing is the single most important step in upscaling to 1080. Again, the best solution is to output analog for analog inputs and digital for digital inputs. Even without de-interlacing, the digital conversion on either unit is less than great.

Yes, but since I have only 1 HDMI cable routed to my PJ, an analog output from the AVR to the PJ is not in the works for me. However, both of my sources can output 480p, so de-interlacing shouldn't be an issue... 480p to AVR component input (663 or 665) gets converted to digital (de-interlacing not required), output through HDMI and then my PJ scales the 480p to 720p, correct?

"I don't know half of you half as well as I should like, and I like less than half of you half as well as you deserve." ~ B. B.
mdaudioguy is offline  
post #221 of 1951 Old 05-03-2009, 10:42 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
MichaelJHuman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 18,642
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 121 Post(s)
Liked: 92
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgrimes View Post

There are other reasons to run separate analog video to your monitor. For one, your monitor can set and remember calibration settings for different inputs. In particular, calibration for component and for HDMI can be quite different. If convenience is more important to you and if you're happy with the results then by all means use the upconversion. In order to get video processing that rivals your monitor's, you need to spend a great deal more than $500. Why bypass the better processing that you paid for in the monitor?

I am aware of the benefits of running multiple inputs to your TV. But I have seen no reason for them in my setup. I am quite content with a single HDMI cable. I know other people's needs and wants are different.

"But this one goes up to 11"
MichaelJHuman is online now  
post #222 of 1951 Old 05-04-2009, 09:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SoundChex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: USA, west coast
Posts: 2,600
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 67
What HiFi lists the 2009 UK Yamaha receiver releases as RX-V365, RX-V465, RX-V565, RX-V765, and RX-V1065 [which it says are all "generic European"], i.e., there will be no RX-V665 model released in the UK [maybe all of Europe?]

[Home Office system schematic]
"My AV systems were created by man. They evolved. They rebelled. There are many speakers. And they have . . . A PLAN."

SoundChex is online now  
post #223 of 1951 Old 05-04-2009, 12:57 PM
Member
 
eager4gc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MichaelJHuman View Post

I was finally able to hear the 665 at Ultimate. I thought it sounded great. Whether or not they use chip amps, it achieved reasonable volumes in the Ultimate Electronics listening room.

I was not jazzed about it's display and stripped down look, but the amp section seemed fine. I heard the NIN demo off Blu-ray, a track I know really well, and it sounded like it should.

The RX-V565 fared POORLY. I don't know what to say. I had the volume at -15 dB and it barely put out enough sound. Either there was something wrong with the 565 or it's hookup, or people should avoid it. Connection was digital, so that's not a problem. An Ultimate sales person said he set them both up, and that the 565 was just weak. I hope it's not as bad as that demo would indicate. Having to turn up a Yamaha AVR with a Dolby Digital source off a Blu-ray disc to almost 0 dB to get some sound out of it seems crazy!

Why would there be a difference in listening if the specs for amp are same for 565 and 665. May be at the store the 565 was connected to different set of speakers as compared to the one's 665 was connected to.

I do have 565 and I agree that sound was weak. I had to turn the volume to -10db for getting good sound and I see that the VOLUME CONTROL in the specs states -80db to +16.5db for both 565 and 665. Can anyone please respond? I need to return this and buy 665 if indeed it sounds better than 565. Its a shame that they are measuring amps ar 1KHZ.
eager4gc is offline  
post #224 of 1951 Old 05-04-2009, 10:08 PM
Member
 
rivrbyte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok,
I don't now how this happened, but I can't seem to find the DOLBY DIGITAL Mode on my Yamaha RX-V665. I have been listening to dolby Digital for few weeks, and now all i see or can find is the STANDARD mode by pressing the "movie" button on the remote, sure, there are other modes, like adventure, and sports, etc., but how do i get back the dolby Digital mode. That seems to sound the best for TV/Cable broadcasts.. Thanks!
rivrbyte is offline  
post #225 of 1951 Old 05-06-2009, 06:22 AM
Senior Member
 
MarkSmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 360
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Press the straight button on the remote control.
MarkSmith is offline  
post #226 of 1951 Old 05-06-2009, 09:57 AM
Member
 
rivrbyte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Mark,
I repeatedly pushed the Straight button, and all I got was what was on before,like 7-ch stereo, did not work getting back the Dolby Digital mode.
7-ch Stereo,Straight,7-ch Stereo,Straight,7-ch Stereo,Straight,7-ch Stereo,Straight, and so on and so on. Thanks for trying.
rivrbyte is offline  
post #227 of 1951 Old 05-06-2009, 10:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kriktsemaj99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 5,896
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 82 Post(s)
Liked: 145
Quote:
Originally Posted by rivrbyte View Post

I repeatedly pushed the Straight button, and all I got was what was on before,like 7-ch stereo, did not work getting back the Dolby Digital mode.

You probably have it set to display the DSP program (e.g. Straight) rather than the Audio Decoder (e.g. Dolby Digital). Press the INFO button on the remote to change that. (Your source also needs to be sending a Dolby Digital signal.)
kriktsemaj99 is online now  
post #228 of 1951 Old 05-06-2009, 02:52 PM
Member
 
rivrbyte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
kriktsemaj99,

Got it. Thanks for the tip. Just beginning to understand this 665 AVR. All the other surround modes like adventure,chamber, sports,etc., seem to be terribly be too echo-y. So I'm using the 7 ch. Stereo for TV Cablr broadcast, which doesn't sound any different than the dolby Digital.

On playing a blu-ray, Do I have to change it back from Dolby Digital to DSP?

is it true that the receiver will apply a DSP or doing channel duplication of some sort in order to produce a 7.1 output from a 5.1 source?

Thanks again!
rivrbyte is offline  
post #229 of 1951 Old 05-06-2009, 03:19 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 16,030
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 111 Post(s)
Liked: 198
Quote:
Originally Posted by rivrbyte View Post

kriktsemaj99,

Got it. Thanks for the tip. Just beginning to understand this 665 AVR. All the other surround modes like adventure,chamber, sports,etc., seem to be terribly be too echo-y. So I'm using the 7 ch. Stereo for TV Cablr broadcast, which doesn't sound any different than the dolby Digital.

On playing a blu-ray, Do I have to change it back from Dolby Digital to DSP?

is it true that the receiver will apply a DSP or doing channel duplication of some sort in order to produce a 7.1 output from a 5.1 source?

Thanks again!

7-ch stereo is the worst thing to use for TV. Use Dolby ProLogic PLIIx if you have a 7.1 system, use it for all sources.

You might also consider reading the manual.

There's no compelling reason to use any DSP modes at all, just the DD/DTS decoders.
rdgrimes is online now  
post #230 of 1951 Old 05-06-2009, 08:15 PM
Member
 
rivrbyte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ok,will read manual...Again. Really does not tell HOW exactly to switch from mode to mode.
rivrbyte is offline  
post #231 of 1951 Old 05-06-2009, 08:24 PM
Member
 
rivrbyte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
In the Extended Surround mode, IMO, both the PLIIx-Movie, and the PLIIx-Music modes sound terrible. I think for listening to TV/Cable, all the sound comes from all the 6.1 Speakers in the 7 Channel Stereo Enhanced mode.
rivrbyte is offline  
post #232 of 1951 Old 05-07-2009, 05:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ericthemidget's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,289
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I just bought this receiver to replace a broken Denon 1909. It was much easier to set up than the Denon. I'm not sure if I should have bought it. It feels and looks cheaper than the Denon
Ericthemidget is offline  
post #233 of 1951 Old 05-08-2009, 04:39 PM
Member
 
lolwaut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi! I need help... quick! I'm at best buy right NOW (typing this on my phone) and they have this receiver open box for $300 with the standard warranty. Honestly, I'm not good with specs and all the jazz. I am going to be running a 7.1 system, 2 Polk Monitor 60s, 2 Polk Monitor 50s, a Polk CS2 (center), 2 Polk Monitor 40s, and this 12" 800W sub: http://stores.channeladvisor.com/the...0%20Watt%20Sub


Will this receiver be sufficient to power this setup? Please help!
lolwaut is offline  
post #234 of 1951 Old 05-08-2009, 04:42 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 23,855
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 183 Post(s)
Liked: 954
yes. $300 for a 665 is a good deal. since it's OB make sure you get the remote and microphone.

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is online now  
post #235 of 1951 Old 05-08-2009, 04:45 PM
Member
 
lolwaut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by batpig View Post

yes. $300 for a 665 is a good deal. since it's OB make sure you get the remote and microphone.

ok thanks!
lolwaut is offline  
post #236 of 1951 Old 05-08-2009, 05:06 PM
Senior Member
 
mdaudioguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 494
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by lolwaut View Post

Hi! I need help... quick! I'm at best buy right NOW (typing this on my phone) ......
Will this receiver be sufficient to power this setup? Please help!

Dude, that's awesome! I thought I was bad googling products on my phone while at BB... but asking a question on AVS and getting an answer a few minutes later, that's beautiful! Gotta love it. Enjoy your purchase!

"I don't know half of you half as well as I should like, and I like less than half of you half as well as you deserve." ~ B. B.
mdaudioguy is offline  
post #237 of 1951 Old 05-09-2009, 02:02 PM
Member
 
bcrab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
PowersellerNYC.com has the V665 for $393.33 and free ship.

V665
bcrab is offline  
post #238 of 1951 Old 05-09-2009, 02:08 PM
Advanced Member
 
Urlacher5454's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 649
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So has anyone figured out if this receiver can matrix DTS-MA to 7.1? I have a Sony BDP-S350 player and the lack of this feature is what convinced me to get rid of my 663.
Urlacher5454 is offline  
post #239 of 1951 Old 05-09-2009, 06:04 PM
Member
 
LoStrings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Urlacher5454 View Post

So has anyone figured out if this receiver can matrix DTS-MA to 7.1? I have a Sony BDP-S350 player and the lack of this feature is what convinced me to get rid of my 663.

Yes...Go into the options setting...Go down to Extended Surround and choose PLIIx Movie setting. This will give you the 7.1 matrix DTS-MA...It will also work with Dolby True HD. IF you hit the info button on the remote and go to audio decoder it will read what decoder is bitstreamed and will also tell you if PLIIx is activated.
LoStrings is offline  
post #240 of 1951 Old 05-09-2009, 06:21 PM
Advanced Member
 
Urlacher5454's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 649
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by LoStrings View Post

Yes...Go into the options setting...Go down to Extended Surround and choose PLIIx Movie setting. This will give you the 7.1 matrix DTS-MA...It will also work with Dolby True HD. IF you hit the info button on the remote and go to audio decoder it will read what decoder is activated and will also tell you if PLIIx is activated.

Ok so this must be an upgraded feature from the 663 because I could not so this with that receiver. I remember doing the PLIIX hoping that would work and it didn't. All I could ever get was 5.1 unless I had a 7.1 disc.
Urlacher5454 is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Yamaha Rx V665bl 630 Watt 7 Channel Home Theater Receiver
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off