6.1 Setup info needed - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 Old 03-01-2009, 03:40 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
engine58's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I recently purchased a Yamaha RX V1000 receiver and have a few questions about the 6.1 setup. First, I need an outboard amp to power the rear center. I have two available, An old Sansui integrated stero amp from the 1980's. and a basic Kenwood HT receiver. How do I hook up the cables? There is one preamp center out on the Yamaha, where should I send it to? Do I have to get a "Y" adapter and connect to both right and left sides of the aux input? How do i hook up the rear center to the preamp? The manual for the Yamaha is sketchy at best. Thanks in advance to any and all helpers.
engine58 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 Old 03-01-2009, 03:51 PM
 
Lordoftherings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Victoria, B.C. Canada
Posts: 2,323
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does your old Sansui or Kenwood have "main in" inputs?

And does your Yammy 1000 have a "preamp out" for the rear center channel?
Lordoftherings is offline  
post #3 of 12 Old 03-01-2009, 03:57 PM
Advanced Member
 
bigbrother52's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Hudson River Valley, N.Y.
Posts: 943
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I just looked it up "It has a pre-out for Rear Center to deliver the newest 6-channel formats Dolby Digital Matrix 6.1 and DTS ES."
His integrated might work.

TURN IT UP!
bigbrother52 is offline  
post #4 of 12 Old 03-01-2009, 05:57 PM
 
Lordoftherings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Victoria, B.C. Canada
Posts: 2,323
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigbrother52 View Post

I just looked it up "It has a pre-out for Rear Center to deliver the newest 6-channel formats Dolby Digital Matrix 6.1 and DTS ES."
His integrated might work.

Good score. Now we just need him to come back to see if he has the appropriate jacks on his other components. If he has, then he will be all set.
Lordoftherings is offline  
post #5 of 12 Old 03-01-2009, 06:09 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
engine58's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What do you consider appropriate inputs? The Sansui is just an old stereo amp with the standard inputs and outputs. My panny has basic HT ins and outs. What should I be looking for? The rear center out on the Yamaha is a single line out. My question is do I have to use a Y adapter when it is input into the preamp?
engine58 is offline  
post #6 of 12 Old 03-01-2009, 06:19 PM
 
Lordoftherings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Victoria, B.C. Canada
Posts: 2,323
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by engine58 View Post

What do you consider appropriate inputs? The Sansui is just an old stereo amp with the standard inputs and outputs. My panny has basic HT ins and outs. What should I be looking for? The rear center out on the Yamaha is a single line out. My question is do I have to use a Y adapter when it is input into the preamp?

In order to make things work, you need "main in" in your old components.
To verify if they do, check in the back of both your Sansui and Kenwood,
and look for metal strips or crossbars between jacks.
And let me know if you see these metal strips.
Lordoftherings is offline  
post #7 of 12 Old 03-01-2009, 06:21 PM
 
Lordoftherings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Victoria, B.C. Canada
Posts: 2,323
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
And no you don't need a Y adaptor, unless you want to use the same mono channel
between two rear center channels.
Lordoftherings is offline  
post #8 of 12 Old 03-01-2009, 06:26 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
engine58's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I think what you are looking for only exists on pure power amplifiers. I have never seen a main in on a HT amp or regular stereo amp.I can get sound to the rear but I am pretty sure the setup is wrong and I don't want to damage the speaker.
engine58 is offline  
post #9 of 12 Old 03-01-2009, 06:30 PM
 
Lordoftherings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Victoria, B.C. Canada
Posts: 2,323
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Then look in the Yamaha RX-V1000 manual for connections to an external amplifier,
for your center rear channel output.
It should be well indicated how to proceed, and exactly what you need to make it works.
The proper connection for best result.

Good luck,

________ Bob
Lordoftherings is offline  
post #10 of 12 Old 03-01-2009, 06:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BGLeduc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Albuquerque
Posts: 2,452
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 181 Post(s)
Liked: 217
Quote:
Originally Posted by engine58 View Post

I have never seen a main in on a HT amp or regular stereo amp.

NAD 320BEE Integrated Amp

Marantz SR-96 AVR

NAD 762 AVR

I am pretty sure the current NAD integrateds have pre-out/power in. The current Marantz AVR's most likely do not. The current top of the line NAD AVR's might.

I would say that the cheapest, cleanest route is to just buy a used mono block and call it a day.

Brian
BGLeduc is online now  
post #11 of 12 Old 03-01-2009, 07:29 PM
 
maxdog03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,804
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by BGLeduc View Post

NAD 320BEE Integrated Amp

Marantz SR-96 AVR

NAD 762 AVR

I am pretty sure the current NAD integrateds have pre-out/power in. The current Marantz AVR's most likely do not. The current top of the line NAD AVR's might.

I would say that the cheapest, cleanest route is to just buy a used mono block and call it a day.

Brian

I had an older Denon AVC 3030 that had the capabilty to be ran as a power amp as I used it for my back channels with a Denon AVR 4800. Made for a great setup.
maxdog03 is offline  
post #12 of 12 Old 03-01-2009, 08:16 PM
Advanced Member
 
bigbrother52's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Hudson River Valley, N.Y.
Posts: 943
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by engine58 View Post

I think what you are looking for only exists on pure power amplifiers. I have never seen a main in on a HT amp or regular stereo amp.I can get sound to the rear but I am pretty sure the setup is wrong and I don't want to damage the speaker.

This input you need may or may not be on your old Sansui integrated stereo amp, unless it's clearly indicated, don't mess with it.
As it is, if your getting sound from the rear center speaker, something is already screwed up because you only have 5 amps in your AVR to work with.

Maybe if you post the MDL. # somebody will find out for you.
Otherwise, you're just gonna need a mono amp to do what you're lookin to do
I know you'd like to make use of this old gear but it just might not be possible.

TURN IT UP!
bigbrother52 is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off