The "Official" Onkyo TX-SR607 Thread - Page 90 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 4Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2671 of 2680 Old 08-09-2017, 04:30 PM
Member
 
morpheus647's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tesla1856 View Post
Is your only connection from the 607 to the HDTV a HDMI cable?

If so, would you mind pressing RECEIVER and then SETUP on the remote and see if the 607's OSD programming menu appears on the HDTV.

Thanks.
Yea, HDMI only. The OSD menu does not appear on the HDTV, only on the screen on the Onkyo.
morpheus647 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2672 of 2680 Old 08-09-2017, 09:48 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Tesla1856's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Texas, USA
Posts: 1,611
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 191 Post(s)
Liked: 76
Quote:
Originally Posted by morpheus647 View Post

1. Yea, HDMI only.

2. The OSD menu does not appear on the HDTV, only on the screen on the Onkyo.
Thanks for taking the time to do that for me.

1. Perfect

2. Hmm. So, do you think yours is broken too, or are we doing something wrong?

On Page-28 of the TX-SR607 Instruction Manual it says:

The onscreen setup menus appear only on a TV that is connected to the HDMI OUT. If your TV is connected to the MONITOR OUT V (Composite Video), or the COMPONENT VIDEO OUT, use the AV receiver’s display when changing settings.

Living Room Home-Theater (Multi-Use Room):
Epson 8350 Projector (1080p @ 96") ~ Panasonic 850u 46" 1080p Plasma TV
Onkyo TX-sr607 AVR ~ Cisco 8742hdc DVR (Spectrum) ~ Panasonic BD60 Blu-Ray Player
AppleTV-4 (iTunes,Plex,DMA,Vudu) ~ Simple Control HA ~ Alexa Echo Dot
Harmony 670 Remote ~ HTPC (Kodi/Win10-64) Media-Server ~ Synology DS412+ 16tb Raid-5 NAS
Polk Audio Monitor Series-II CS-2 Center & 60,40 Pairs / PSW-505 12-Inch Subwoofer
Tesla1856 is offline  
post #2673 of 2680 Old 08-10-2017, 10:24 AM
Member
 
morpheus647's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I'm thinking mine is broken as well. No idea what the problem is and it's so old now it's not worth it for me to send it for repair. I'm just waiting for it to die to get something new .
morpheus647 is offline  
 
post #2674 of 2680 Old 08-10-2017, 10:46 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Tesla1856's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Texas, USA
Posts: 1,611
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 191 Post(s)
Liked: 76
Quote:
Originally Posted by morpheus647 View Post
1. I'm thinking mine is broken as well.

2. No idea what the problem is and it's so old now it's not worth it for me to send it for repair.

3. I'm just waiting for it to die to get something new .
1. OK

2. Right

3. Agreed

I just keep thinking it can be "jolted" into working again. It just doesn't make sense that everything else works. Like a obscure or hidden software setting got set the wrong way. What it likely needs is a firmware update, but we know that's never gonna happen.

Luckily, most setting can still be made with only the 607's LED-Display. But things like the Audyssey Calibration , I can't imagine that would work with just the LED Display. And I'm afraid to start it because I think it will erase the current with no way to finish and save the new calibration.

Living Room Home-Theater (Multi-Use Room):
Epson 8350 Projector (1080p @ 96") ~ Panasonic 850u 46" 1080p Plasma TV
Onkyo TX-sr607 AVR ~ Cisco 8742hdc DVR (Spectrum) ~ Panasonic BD60 Blu-Ray Player
AppleTV-4 (iTunes,Plex,DMA,Vudu) ~ Simple Control HA ~ Alexa Echo Dot
Harmony 670 Remote ~ HTPC (Kodi/Win10-64) Media-Server ~ Synology DS412+ 16tb Raid-5 NAS
Polk Audio Monitor Series-II CS-2 Center & 60,40 Pairs / PSW-505 12-Inch Subwoofer
Tesla1856 is offline  
post #2675 of 2680 Old 08-10-2017, 12:27 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JChin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Mesquite Tx
Posts: 9,032
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 376 Post(s)
Liked: 210
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tesla1856 View Post
1. Yes, RECEIVER, then SETUP on the Remote works. However, it only displays programming on the 607's built-in one-line LED Display.

2. I've tried it both ways (On and Off).

Some suggestion to try:
- turn off HDMI Control if on
- switch to an unused video input
- switch to a component (or composite) video input to see if OSD show through HDMI Out
JChin is online now  
post #2676 of 2680 Old 08-12-2017, 08:58 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Tesla1856's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Texas, USA
Posts: 1,611
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 191 Post(s)
Liked: 76
Quote:
Originally Posted by JChin View Post
Some suggestion to try:
1. - turn off HDMI Control if on
2. - switch to an unused video input
3. - switch to a component (or composite) video input to see if OSD show through HDMI Out
1. It's off, but I tried it both ways.

2. I tried AUX. TV screen just stays blank (even while in Program-Mode)

3. Using all HDMI these days. But I did switch AUX to use Component-2. Made no difference. However, with at least one port selected to an analog (non HDMI) Input, the Display-Selection (what to do with analog video) finally became select-able. It was options like Thru, Auto, 720, 480 . I played with it some, but no change. The manual says that this is just how to handle analog Inputs before outputting to HDMI display.

Interesting, but still not this:

Hi Tesla1856, see if the 607 have a hidden menu where video processor (VProcessor) is set to SKIP (which disable OSD)
On the receiver, press VCR/DVR and RETURN at the same time to see VProcessor is set to USE or SKIP


As far as I know, on the 607, no video processing is applied to HDMI Inputs before they are outputted to HDMI. They just go straight though untouched (as they should).

Living Room Home-Theater (Multi-Use Room):
Epson 8350 Projector (1080p @ 96") ~ Panasonic 850u 46" 1080p Plasma TV
Onkyo TX-sr607 AVR ~ Cisco 8742hdc DVR (Spectrum) ~ Panasonic BD60 Blu-Ray Player
AppleTV-4 (iTunes,Plex,DMA,Vudu) ~ Simple Control HA ~ Alexa Echo Dot
Harmony 670 Remote ~ HTPC (Kodi/Win10-64) Media-Server ~ Synology DS412+ 16tb Raid-5 NAS
Polk Audio Monitor Series-II CS-2 Center & 60,40 Pairs / PSW-505 12-Inch Subwoofer
Tesla1856 is offline  
post #2677 of 2680 Old 08-13-2017, 05:43 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JChin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Mesquite Tx
Posts: 9,032
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 376 Post(s)
Liked: 210
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tesla1856 View Post
Interesting, but still not this:

Hi Tesla1856, see if the 607 have a hidden menu where video processor (VProcessor) is set to SKIP (which disable OSD)
On the receiver, press VCR/DVR and RETURN at the same time to see VProcessor is set to USE or SKIP


As far as I know, on the 607, no video processing is applied to HDMI Inputs before they are outputted to HDMI. They just go straight though untouched (as they should).
guess the hidden menu started with the 707 model.
JChin is online now  
post #2678 of 2680 Old 10-09-2017, 12:36 PM
pnw
Advanced Member
 
pnw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 536
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 78
Trying to do a proper setup on GF's 607 and found the OSD does not function. LED display on the front panel only lists part of the adjustments that are supposed to be available.

Does anyone have specs or PNs for the resistor and 5 caps that normally need replacement? Since the 607 mostly works, I want to obtain the parts before taking the 607 out of service to see what they are and then waiting for a parts order after they are ID'd.
pnw is offline  
post #2679 of 2680 Old 10-09-2017, 12:51 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Tesla1856's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Texas, USA
Posts: 1,611
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 191 Post(s)
Liked: 76
Quote:
Originally Posted by pnw View Post
Trying to do a proper setup on GF's 607 and found the OSD does not function. LED display on the front panel only lists part of the adjustments that are supposed to be available.
Yeah, neither Morpheus or myself can get the Setup/Program mode OSD to work on our 607 AVRs.

You have a display connected to HDMI-Out, right?

Right, while most programming is accessible from the LED display, it's very difficult compared to the OSD I used to have working. Other things like Audyssey Calibration ... I can't imagine how that would go without the full OSD.

Please let us know if you make any progress. My 607 works fine except for this issue.

Living Room Home-Theater (Multi-Use Room):
Epson 8350 Projector (1080p @ 96") ~ Panasonic 850u 46" 1080p Plasma TV
Onkyo TX-sr607 AVR ~ Cisco 8742hdc DVR (Spectrum) ~ Panasonic BD60 Blu-Ray Player
AppleTV-4 (iTunes,Plex,DMA,Vudu) ~ Simple Control HA ~ Alexa Echo Dot
Harmony 670 Remote ~ HTPC (Kodi/Win10-64) Media-Server ~ Synology DS412+ 16tb Raid-5 NAS
Polk Audio Monitor Series-II CS-2 Center & 60,40 Pairs / PSW-505 12-Inch Subwoofer
Tesla1856 is offline  
post #2680 of 2680 Old 10-09-2017, 01:00 PM
pnw
Advanced Member
 
pnw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 536
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tesla1856 View Post
Yeah, neither Morpheus or myself can get the Setup/Program mode OSD to work on our 607 AVRs.

You have a display connected to HDMI-Out, right?

Right, while most programming is accessible from the LED display, it's very difficult compared to the OSD I used to have working. Other things like Audyssey Calibration ... I can't imagine how that would go without the full OSD.

Please let us know if you make any progress. My 607 works fine except for this issue.
Yes, HDMI connections are correct.
pnw is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Onkyo Tx Sr607 Receiver

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off