CONNECTING EQUALIZER TO RECEIVER..look what I did - Page 2 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 56 Old 04-07-2009, 05:12 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
AudioBeginner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kal Rubinson View Post

Note the pairs along the bottom are marked as in or out and that each pair consists of a R and L connector. Use the Tape PB/Rec Out pair.

These are two L/R pairs. Use the line in/out pair.

If this does not work, something's wrong. I'd just look elsewhere such as changing the speakers or the room acoustics.

exactly what I did... but low was the sound that was emitting from the speakers
AudioBeginner is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 56 Old 04-07-2009, 05:14 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
AudioBeginner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Kal, were you talking about these receivers right here:

http://hometheater.about.com/od/avre...atpmidavra.htm
AudioBeginner is offline  
post #33 of 56 Old 04-07-2009, 05:20 PM
 
Lordoftherings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Victoria, B.C. Canada
Posts: 2,323
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
AudioBeginner, did you read post #27?

Bob
Lordoftherings is offline  
post #34 of 56 Old 04-07-2009, 05:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
whoaru99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 6,960
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Quote:
Originally Posted by AudioBeginner View Post

exactly what I did... but low was the sound that was emitting from the speakers


I think you have the connections right, but just in case, it should be

Receiver Rec Out > EQ Line In and EQ Line Out > Receiver Tape PB

The Tape Monitor on the receiver will have to be engaged, as will as the source you want to route through the EQ.

Be sure you have the EQ powered up, but also be sure the tape monitor on the EQ itself is turned OFF.

The only time the tape monitor on the EQ is used is if you have a source connected to the Tape jacks on the EQ, and want to listen to that source.

If there is further confusion, post a picture of the EQ controls (not the sliders, the other stuff).

Just because there is a knob doesn't mean you should turn it.
whoaru99 is offline  
post #35 of 56 Old 04-07-2009, 05:43 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
AudioBeginner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lordoftherings View Post

Yep, like Kal said, throw a shall over them.

Just kidding, I will not used an equaliser for the reasons I said before.
But if you really insist...

The tape out of your Yamaha goes to the input of your EQ; the tape in of your Yamaha goes to the output of your EQ. The tape in of your EQ goes to the tape out of your tape deck or CD-R; the tape out of your EQ goes to the tape in of your tape deck or your CD-R. Now push the tape monitor on your Yamaha, choose a source you like to listen to.
Set your EQ to Pre EQ for playback of the equalized sound. Set your EQ to Post EQ for recording the equalized sound. Set your EQ to Source for any other source that you play from your receiver.
Set the EQ switch of your EQ to the IN position for the equalized sound.
Set the EQ switch to the OUT position for the original stereo sound.

Let me know how things goes.

Bob

There's no Line OUT on my cd player. Just 1 white knob and 1 red knob(Line In) So what I did was put that cable in there and connect it to the tape out of my equalizer. Then I connected the Rec Out of my equalizer to the Tape PB of my receiver. And I connected the Tape PB of my equalizer to the Rec-Out of my Yamaha receiver.
When I pressed the Tape Monitor, Finally I could actually hear the music LOUD! BUT the equalizer had NO effect on the sound (unlike what I did the first time, the output level of the equalizer was affecting the sound of the speakers)
AudioBeginner is offline  
post #36 of 56 Old 04-07-2009, 05:46 PM
 
Lordoftherings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Victoria, B.C. Canada
Posts: 2,323
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by AudioBeginner View Post

There's no Line OUT on my cd player. Just 1 white knob and 1 red knob(Line In) So what I did was put that cable in there and connect it to the tape out of my equalizer. Then I connected the Rec Out of my equalizer to the Tape PB of my receiver. And I connected the Tape PB of my equalizer to the Rec-Out of my Yamaha receiver.
When I pressed the Tape Monitor, Finally I could actually hear the music LOUD! BUT the equalizer had NO effect on the sound (unlike what I did the first time, the output level of the equalizer was affecting the sound of the speakers)

Not your CD player, you need a CD-R recorder or a cassette tape deck.

I told you so, EQ = BAD.

Bob
Lordoftherings is offline  
post #37 of 56 Old 04-07-2009, 05:54 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
AudioBeginner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lordoftherings View Post

Not your CD player, you need a CD-R recorder or a cassette tape deck.

I told you so, EQ = BAD.

Bob

oh. the only thing I have was the yamaha cdc 655 5 disc player. I don't have any recording components. I thought that was only meant for producers or audio engineers
AudioBeginner is offline  
post #38 of 56 Old 04-07-2009, 05:55 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
AudioBeginner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by whoaru99 View Post

I think you have the connections right, but just in case, it should be

Receiver Rec Out > EQ Line In and EQ Line Out > Receiver Tape PB

The Tape Monitor on the receiver will have to be engaged, as will as the source you want to route through the EQ.

Be sure you have the EQ powered up, but also be sure the tape monitor on the EQ itself is turned OFF.

The only time the tape monitor on the EQ is used is if you have a source connected to the Tape jacks on the EQ, and want to listen to that source.

If there is further confusion, post a picture of the EQ controls (not the sliders, the other stuff).

If I use the Line in and Line out for the receiver connections, where do I put the cd player then??
AudioBeginner is offline  
post #39 of 56 Old 04-07-2009, 05:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
whoaru99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 6,960
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Quote:
Originally Posted by AudioBeginner View Post

If I use the Line in and Line out for the receiver connections, where do I put the cd player then??

To the CD inputs on the receiver, if I understand the question properly.

Just because there is a knob doesn't mean you should turn it.
whoaru99 is offline  
post #40 of 56 Old 04-07-2009, 05:59 PM
 
Lordoftherings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Victoria, B.C. Canada
Posts: 2,323
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by AudioBeginner View Post

If I use the Line in and Line out for the receiver connections, where do I put the cd player then??

Post #27 have all the answers.

If you cannot do, don't try. Forget about equalizer and concentrate on good music. If your Yamaha is not performing to your taste, time for new speakers.

Bob
Lordoftherings is offline  
post #41 of 56 Old 04-07-2009, 06:01 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
AudioBeginner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by whoaru99 View Post

To the CD inputs on the receiver, if I understand the question properly.

that's the first thing I did... all I got was low sound.

I think Lord is right, I should just forget about this
AudioBeginner is offline  
post #42 of 56 Old 04-07-2009, 06:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
whoaru99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 6,960
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Post 27 may have the answers, I didn't check it 100%. But the terms used are going to be confusing because they're generally what you'd see on a pro audio setup, not a home EQ.

Just because there is a knob doesn't mean you should turn it.
whoaru99 is offline  
post #43 of 56 Old 04-07-2009, 06:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
whoaru99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 6,960
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Quote:
Originally Posted by AudioBeginner View Post

that's the first thing I did... all I got was low sound.

I think Lord is right, I should just forget about this

So then you pushed the CD button on the receiver, and the Tape Monitor button the receiver, and was sure the EQ was powered on, and the Tape Monitor button on the EQ was off?

Why don't you post us a picture of those EQ controls (again, not the sliders, the other controls).

Just because there is a knob doesn't mean you should turn it.
whoaru99 is offline  
post #44 of 56 Old 04-07-2009, 06:16 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
AudioBeginner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by whoaru99 View Post

So then you pushed the CD button on the receiver, and the Tape Monitor button the receiver, and was sure the EQ was powered on, and the Tape Monitor button on the EQ was off?

Why don't you post us a picture of those EQ controls (again, not the sliders, the other controls).

wait... i'm getting a response..hold
AudioBeginner is offline  
post #45 of 56 Old 04-07-2009, 06:17 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kal Rubinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NYC + Connecticut
Posts: 28,475
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 88 Post(s)
Liked: 140
Quote:
Originally Posted by AudioBeginner View Post

Kal, were you talking about these receivers right here:

http://hometheater.about.com/od/avre...atpmidavra.htm

I wasn't talking about any receivers.

Kal Rubinson

"Music in the Round"
Senior Contributing Editor, Stereophile
http://www.stereophile.com/category/music-round

Kal Rubinson is online now  
post #46 of 56 Old 04-07-2009, 06:42 PM
 
Lordoftherings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Victoria, B.C. Canada
Posts: 2,323
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by whoaru99 View Post

Post 27 may have the answers, I didn't check it 100%. But the terms used are going to be confusing because they're generally what you'd see on a pro audio setup, not a home EQ.

Nope, same for Pro or home.

Bob
Lordoftherings is offline  
post #47 of 56 Old 04-07-2009, 06:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
whoaru99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 6,960
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Sorry, I disagree.

I've never seen a "home" EQ with buttons labeled as described.

Mine (from days past) have all been labeled with terms like EQ Bypass, EQ Record, Tape Mon 1, Tape Mon 2, Dubbing 1>2, Dubbing 2>1, etc.

None of the post EQ, pre EQ sort of thing like I've seen on pro gear. Of course, I have not seen all EQs, but I have seen quite a few.

Anyway, it's minor quibbling over terms. Hopefully AudioBeginner is off listening to his equalized tunes.

Just because there is a knob doesn't mean you should turn it.
whoaru99 is offline  
post #48 of 56 Old 04-07-2009, 07:03 PM
 
Lordoftherings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Victoria, B.C. Canada
Posts: 2,323
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by whoaru99 View Post

Sorry, I disagree.

I've never seen a "home" EQ with buttons labeled as described.

Mine (from days past) have all been labeled with terms like EQ Bypass, EQ Record, Tape Mon 1, Tape Mon 2, Dubbing 1>2, Dubbing 2>1, etc.

None of the post EQ, pre EQ sort of thing like I've seen on pro gear. Of course, I have not seen all EQs, but I have seen quite a few.

Anyway, it's minor quibbling over terms. Hopefully AudioBeginner is off listening to his equalized tunes.

Means exactly the same thing. But anyway like you said.

Bob
Lordoftherings is offline  
post #49 of 56 Old 04-07-2009, 07:06 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
AudioBeginner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am listening to my equalized tunes alright...but it seems like they are just sounding all muffled lol. I think I might need an audio engineer to help me out and simulate the sound of the Bose Wave System
AudioBeginner is offline  
post #50 of 56 Old 04-07-2009, 07:12 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
AudioBeginner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
thanks you guys for helping me connect the cables though What would I do without you
AudioBeginner is offline  
post #51 of 56 Old 04-07-2009, 07:13 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kal Rubinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NYC + Connecticut
Posts: 28,475
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 88 Post(s)
Liked: 140
Quote:
Originally Posted by AudioBeginner View Post

I am listening to my equalized tunes alright...but it seems like they are just sounding all muffled lol. I think I might need an audio engineer to help me out and simulate the sound of the Bose Wave System

That's pretty funny.

Kal Rubinson

"Music in the Round"
Senior Contributing Editor, Stereophile
http://www.stereophile.com/category/music-round

Kal Rubinson is online now  
post #52 of 56 Old 04-07-2009, 09:20 PM
 
Lordoftherings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Victoria, B.C. Canada
Posts: 2,323
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It is indeed.

Bob
Lordoftherings is offline  
post #53 of 56 Old 04-08-2009, 05:13 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
penngray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Florida
Posts: 26,779
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kal Rubinson View Post

That's pretty funny.

You guys are aware of his previous BOSE thread? This is just an extension of that thread.

It is not "open-minded" to reject knowledge - Bob Lee
penngray is offline  
post #54 of 56 Old 04-08-2009, 05:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
phantom52's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: TX
Posts: 7,089
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 83
Quote:
Originally Posted by penngray View Post

You guys are aware of his previous BOSE thread? This is just an extension of that thread.

No, I was not aware, but this is the first post for me in this thread. I didn't post because I couldn't understand why someone would want to add an equalizer to a receiver that already problably has one built into it. Lets eq an eq'd receiver. Sounds like the ticket to me.
phantom52 is online now  
post #55 of 56 Old 04-08-2009, 05:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
whoaru99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 6,960
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 67
OP's receiver does not have GEQ/PEQ built-in. It has bass and treble controls.

Just because there is a knob doesn't mean you should turn it.
whoaru99 is offline  
post #56 of 56 Old 04-08-2009, 08:44 PM
 
Lordoftherings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Victoria, B.C. Canada
Posts: 2,323
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey phantomas,

The OP have a Yamaha RX-V490, 10 years old A/V receiver.

Bob
Lordoftherings is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off