CONNECTING EQUALIZER TO RECEIVER..look what I did - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 56 Old 04-07-2009, 11:01 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
AudioBeginner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So I got my equalizer today and this is what I did: I connected the RCA cable to the Tape PB of my equalizer and onto the Tape PB of my yamaha v490 and the Rec Out of my equalizer to the Rec Out of my yamaha v490. Pressed "Tape Monitor" on the receiver,pressed "Tape On" and "Equalizer On" on my equalizer and it didn't work! So then I tried to switch the cables around, TAPE PB of equalizer to REC OUT of receiver and REC OUT of equalizer to TAPE PB of receiver, and STILL no luck! :sighs: Any suggestions??
AudioBeginner is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 56 Old 04-07-2009, 11:07 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Kal Rubinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NYC + Connecticut
Posts: 29,500
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 802 Post(s)
Liked: 567
???
Rec OUT (Tap OUT?) of the Yamaha to the Rec IN of the EQ.
Rec OUT of the EQ to the Rec IN (Tape PB?) of the Yamaha

Kal Rubinson

"Music in the Round"
Senior Contributing Editor, Stereophile
http://www.stereophile.com/category/music-round

Kal Rubinson is offline  
post #3 of 56 Old 04-07-2009, 11:32 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
AudioBeginner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kal Rubinson View Post

???
Rec OUT (Tap OUT?) of the Yamaha to the Rec IN of the EQ.
Rec OUT of the EQ to the Rec IN (Tape PB?) of the Yamaha

yes i tried that too^ and still got no effect from my equalizer
AudioBeginner is offline  
 
post #4 of 56 Old 04-07-2009, 12:23 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
JOHNnDENVER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 13,326
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
You have L/R analog hookups as your audio source? I believe that's the only way this works.

The only other way is to use it between your pre-outs (if this avr has them) and an external amp on the front L/R channels

EQ's such as this do not integrate well at all with 5.1 systems.
JOHNnDENVER is offline  
post #5 of 56 Old 04-07-2009, 01:06 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
MichaelJHuman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 18,924
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 266 Post(s)
Liked: 151
Quote:
Originally Posted by JOHNnDENVER View Post

You have L/R analog hookups as your audio source? I believe that's the only way this works.

The only other way is to use it between your pre-outs (if this avr has them) and an external amp on the front L/R channels

EQ's such as this do not integrate well at all with 5.1 systems.

Yet another reason EQs are not popular with modern AVRs I think I mentioned this limitation in the original thread.

"But this one goes up to 11"
MichaelJHuman is offline  
post #6 of 56 Old 04-07-2009, 01:15 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JHAz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 4,587
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 307 Post(s)
Liked: 275
But hteoretically, you should be able to run a device in the tape loop and listen to the device-ified sound, right? I have thought off and on about putting a decent compressor in the tape loop for quiet music times, so I could increase overall level but keep those pesky peaks down. I think it's the same theory, just a different device in the tape loop. Not gonna work (even for 2 channel?) It's clear to me that the processor's compressor settings don't work on CD input . . .
JHAz is offline  
post #7 of 56 Old 04-07-2009, 01:16 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JHAz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 4,587
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 307 Post(s)
Liked: 275
LOOK! THe dyslexic guy posted again! "theoretically" would be more correct. Theoretically.
JHAz is offline  
post #8 of 56 Old 04-07-2009, 01:48 PM
Newbie
 
DannyMan67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have my old EQ hooked up strictly for the, as my daughter says, "bouncy lights" on my older Denon AVR 5700 ;-) Sure is pretty at night.
DannyMan67 is offline  
post #9 of 56 Old 04-07-2009, 02:04 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Kal Rubinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NYC + Connecticut
Posts: 29,500
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 802 Post(s)
Liked: 567
Quote:
Originally Posted by AudioBeginner View Post

yes i tried that too^ and still got no effect from my equalizer

Using the L/R analog connections?

Kal Rubinson

"Music in the Round"
Senior Contributing Editor, Stereophile
http://www.stereophile.com/category/music-round

Kal Rubinson is offline  
post #10 of 56 Old 04-07-2009, 02:27 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
penngray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Florida
Posts: 26,476
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by MichaelJHuman View Post

Yet another reason EQs are not popular with modern AVRs I think I mentioned this limitation in the original thread.

Is that a general term? Because I love that I have complete control with the DCX2496.

It is not "open-minded" to reject knowledge - Bob Lee
penngray is offline  
post #11 of 56 Old 04-07-2009, 02:42 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
AudioBeginner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey guys, I don't see anything on the back of my receiver that says L/R or "analog" there. I see "Phono" "LD/TV" "TAPE" and "VCR"
AudioBeginner is offline  
post #12 of 56 Old 04-07-2009, 02:59 PM
 
Lordoftherings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Victoria, B.C. Canada
Posts: 2,323
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I connect an equalizer in the past to my old Pioneer receiver, guess what, I burn out my expensive tweeters.
Since then, no more separate equalizer with any of my receivers.

Audyssey or an integrated Parametric EQ in the receiver is better. You have to be very careful with separate equalisers, never boost the high frequencies more than a couple dbs.
Equalisers are for bad recordings, even then it will make them worst sounding.

That's my opinion about separate equalizers.

Bob
Lordoftherings is offline  
post #13 of 56 Old 04-07-2009, 03:03 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
penngray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Florida
Posts: 26,476
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lordoftherings View Post

I connect an equalizer in the past to my old Pioneer receiver, guess what, I burn out my expensive tweeters.
Since then, no more separate equalizer with any of my receivers.

Audyssey or an integrated Parametric EQ in the receiver is better. You have to be very careful with separate equalisers, never boost the high frequencies more than a couple dbs.
Equalisers are for bad recordings, even then it will make them worst sounding.

That's my opinion about separate equalizers.

Bob

You do realize that active setups inherently have separate equalizers and that active setups are higher up the food chain in the audio world.

Audyssey is not better either (only Pro might be) but ask some PhDs in the audio world and they will explain why Audyssey is a crude fix to problems that people/rooms create.

Sucks you burned out you tweeter though.

It is not "open-minded" to reject knowledge - Bob Lee
penngray is offline  
post #14 of 56 Old 04-07-2009, 03:12 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
AudioBeginner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone know if Marantz SR-92 mk have a pre-amp out where I could connect an equalizer to it?
AudioBeginner is offline  
post #15 of 56 Old 04-07-2009, 03:36 PM
 
Lordoftherings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Victoria, B.C. Canada
Posts: 2,323
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by penngray View Post

You do realize that active setups inherently have separate equalizers and that active setups are higher up the food chain in the audio world.

Audyssey is not better either (only Pro might be) but ask some PhDs in the audio world and they will explain why Audyssey is a crude fix to problems that people/rooms create.

Sucks you burned out you tweeter though.

Audyssey is a much better solution anyway, even if it's not perfect.

My tweeters cost $200 a piece. I burn 4 of them over the years, which is not that bad ($800). But you do learn how to respect them and not to go overboard with the treble control or any type of EQ.

Bob
Lordoftherings is offline  
post #16 of 56 Old 04-07-2009, 03:38 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Sirquack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Iowa
Posts: 2,723
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Beginner, why are you wasting your time with an EQ.

___________
"Don't worry about the future, it is already tomorrow in Australia..."

My Website
Sirquack is offline  
post #17 of 56 Old 04-07-2009, 03:45 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
AudioBeginner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Okay, I tried something else. I connected the cable to the Line In of my equalizer to the Rec Out of my receiver and Line Out of my equalizer to the Tape PB of my receiver. There was sound emanating from the speaker but it was VERY low, even when I turn it up And I was playing around with the Output Level of my equalizer and it seems like it had an effect on the speakers... but like I said, the sound was barely hearable!
AudioBeginner is offline  
post #18 of 56 Old 04-07-2009, 03:46 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
AudioBeginner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sirquack View Post

Beginner, why are you wasting your time with an EQ.

I wanted to roll off the screeching highs of my Boston Acoustics cr6s
AudioBeginner is offline  
post #19 of 56 Old 04-07-2009, 03:49 PM
 
Lordoftherings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Victoria, B.C. Canada
Posts: 2,323
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by AudioBeginner View Post

I wanted to roll off the screeching highs of my Boston Acoustics cr6s

No treble control on your receiver?

Your Yamaha 490 does have a treble control, just lower it by about 3db or so.

Bob
Lordoftherings is offline  
post #20 of 56 Old 04-07-2009, 04:12 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
AudioBeginner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lordoftherings View Post

No treble control on your receiver?

Your Yamaha 490 does have a treble control, just lower it by about 3db or so.

Bob

I did....But not enough and the more I lower the treble, I less I could hear vocals. I still want vocals to remain pretty prominent
AudioBeginner is offline  
post #21 of 56 Old 04-07-2009, 04:12 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Kal Rubinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NYC + Connecticut
Posts: 29,500
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 802 Post(s)
Liked: 567
Quote:
Originally Posted by AudioBeginner View Post

Hey guys, I don't see anything on the back of my receiver that says L/R or "analog" there. I see "Phono" "LD/TV" "TAPE" and "VCR"

Those are inputs. Are they paired (e.g., L and R)? Do you have a manual? Is there a picture of the back panel?

Kal Rubinson

"Music in the Round"
Senior Contributing Editor, Stereophile
http://www.stereophile.com/category/music-round

Kal Rubinson is offline  
post #22 of 56 Old 04-07-2009, 04:13 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
AudioBeginner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kal Rubinson View Post

Those are inputs. Are they paired (e.g., L and R)? Do you have a manual? Is there a picture of the back panel?

I guess I could take a pic of the back of my eq and my yamaha v490 for you then...hold on
AudioBeginner is offline  
post #23 of 56 Old 04-07-2009, 04:14 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Kal Rubinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NYC + Connecticut
Posts: 29,500
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 802 Post(s)
Liked: 567
Quote:
Originally Posted by AudioBeginner View Post

I wanted to roll off the screeching highs of my Boston Acoustics cr6s

Throw a shawl over them.

Kal Rubinson

"Music in the Round"
Senior Contributing Editor, Stereophile
http://www.stereophile.com/category/music-round

Kal Rubinson is offline  
post #24 of 56 Old 04-07-2009, 04:44 PM
 
Lordoftherings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Victoria, B.C. Canada
Posts: 2,323
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kal Rubinson View Post

Throw a shawl over them.

??//!!!!////!!!!!??????
Lordoftherings is offline  
post #25 of 56 Old 04-07-2009, 04:47 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
AudioBeginner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here is the back of my receiver:

http://i44.tinypic.com/wcjt42.jpg

And the back of my equalizer:

http://i40.tinypic.com/2eoy0hs.jpg
AudioBeginner is offline  
post #26 of 56 Old 04-07-2009, 04:48 PM
 
Lordoftherings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Victoria, B.C. Canada
Posts: 2,323
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by AudioBeginner View Post

I did....But not enough and the more I lower the treble, I less I could hear vocals. I still want vocals to remain pretty prominent

How old is your 490?

Vocals are more concentred aound the midrange area (from about 300hz to 2khz). No midrange control on your Yamaha?

Maybe a new receiver is in your dreams?

Bob
Lordoftherings is offline  
post #27 of 56 Old 04-07-2009, 04:52 PM
 
Lordoftherings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Victoria, B.C. Canada
Posts: 2,323
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by AudioBeginner View Post

Here is the back of my receiver:

http://i44.tinypic.com/wcjt42.jpg

And the back of my equalizer:

http://i40.tinypic.com/2eoy0hs.jpg

Yep, like Kal said, throw a shall over them.

Just kidding, I will not used an equaliser for the reasons I said before.
But if you really insist...

The tape out of your Yamaha goes to the input of your EQ; the tape in of your Yamaha goes to the output of your EQ. The tape in of your EQ goes to the tape out of your tape deck or CD-R; the tape out of your EQ goes to the tape in of your tape deck or your CD-R. Now push the tape monitor on your Yamaha, choose a source you like to listen to.
Set your EQ to Pre EQ for playback of the equalized sound. Set your EQ to Post EQ for recording the equalized sound. Set your EQ to Source for any other source that you play from your receiver.
Set the EQ switch of your EQ to the IN position for the equalized sound.
Set the EQ switch to the OUT position for the original stereo sound.

Let me know how things goes.

Bob
Lordoftherings is offline  
post #28 of 56 Old 04-07-2009, 04:55 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
AudioBeginner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lordoftherings View Post

How old is your 490?

Vocals are more concentred aound the midrange area (from about 300hz to 2khz). No midrange control on your Yamaha?

Maybe a new receiver is in your dreams?

Bob

My yamaha is about 10 years old.. still in very nice condition though

and whaaaatt?? there's actually a receiver out there that has a "Midrange Control" knob like there is a Treble/Bass control on my v490??
AudioBeginner is offline  
post #29 of 56 Old 04-07-2009, 04:58 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
AudioBeginner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
my receiver of my dreams would DEFINITELY consist that of a Midrange Control! And IF there is one existing already, please show me a link/pic!!
AudioBeginner is offline  
post #30 of 56 Old 04-07-2009, 05:00 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Kal Rubinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NYC + Connecticut
Posts: 29,500
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 802 Post(s)
Liked: 567
Quote:
Originally Posted by AudioBeginner View Post

Here is the back of my receiver:

http://i44.tinypic.com/wcjt42.jpg

Note the pairs along the bottom are marked as in or out and that each pair consists of a R and L connector. Use the Tape PB/Rec Out pair.

Quote:


And the back of my equalizer:

http://i40.tinypic.com/2eoy0hs.jpg

These are two L/R pairs. Use the line in/out pair.

If this does not work, something's wrong. I'd just look elsewhere such as changing the speakers or the room acoustics.

Kal Rubinson

"Music in the Round"
Senior Contributing Editor, Stereophile
http://www.stereophile.com/category/music-round

Kal Rubinson is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off