Multi purpose amp/receiver - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 04-08-2009, 11:27 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
sparrow171's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: new york, NY
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Greetings,
A friend of mine (really) is looking for a receiver with the following characteristics - one simple, one not so simple (I think):
HDMI switching (prefably 3 or more inputs)
The ability to power one set of speakers (5.1 is fine) for his surround sound and also another set of 4 speakers for the rest of his apartment. Ideally he'd be able to choose between which set is active though that is not a requirement - either the 5.1 set alone or all the speakers at the same time is fine too. I've been looking at a variety of amps but so far no luck.
Is there such an animal out there or is the only way to deal with his requirements 2 separate systems?
Thanks for all input,
Sparrow

Eagles may soar but weasels do not get sucked into jet engines
sparrow171 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 04-08-2009, 11:33 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
MLKstudios's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Hollywood, CA
Posts: 1,986
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
MLKstudios is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 04-08-2009, 11:38 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
brandonnash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: murfreesboro, tn
Posts: 3,937
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 33
The high end denon and Yamaha receivers have all the options you listed, but they are really expensive. $5k. The cheaper and easier route would be just two receivers.
brandonnash is offline  
 
post #4 of 7 Old 04-08-2009, 12:07 PM
Senior Member
 
duffman13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 231
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
something like a few external mechanical speaker switches should do the trick if they're not going to be driven simultaneously.

If they are, either 2 receivers or one of the hyper-expensive ones is his only real bet
duffman13 is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 04-08-2009, 12:38 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
MichaelJHuman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 18,924
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 266 Post(s)
Liked: 151
Why not a receiver with two zones, and a few cheap amps? It depends on your needs, really. You don't even need amps if you are ok with zones "stealing" amps from the main zone.

For example, my Yamaha RX-V3900 can power the fronts along with stereo in two zones. You just need to hook up analog connections for anything you want to hear in either zone.

If you want to be able to hear the same source on all 9 speakers, zones can do that as well. Just buy amps as needed. I saw an affordable Audio Source amp that looked like it would be fine for use as a zone amp.

Or, you could find an speaker box with impedance matching and hook up multiple speakers to the same speaker terminal. There are limits to how much you can push a receiver using this sort of setup, but if all you need is background music on your auxillary speakers, that's a simple cost affective solution. For example hook the speaker box up to your L/R terminals, and hook 6 speakers to it. Look at the Niles brand speaker boxes.

Example -

http://www.buy.com/retail/product.as...85&dcaid=17902

"But this one goes up to 11"
MichaelJHuman is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 04-08-2009, 01:23 PM
 
Lordoftherings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Victoria, B.C. Canada
Posts: 2,323
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes, like Michael said, just a simple A/V receiver with 2 additional zones will do.
The only thing that you might need is an additional stereo integrated amp.

Bob
Lordoftherings is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 04-09-2009, 04:52 AM
Advanced Member
 
Filthy McNasty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 682
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Most AVRs cannot output digital inputs to zone 2 or 3.
Filthy McNasty is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off