HELP! XBOX & Receiver (Marantz) - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 15 Old 04-19-2009, 12:55 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
mister wiggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just purchased an Xbox Pro and hooked it up to the receiver via HDMI input. There is video but the sound isn't coming through from 5.1 speakers; only the TV. When i was borrowing my friends Xbox Elite, I had no issues with sound from the get-go. A simple HDMI connection to the receiver and I was immediately immersed in "gaming mode"

Is there some sort of different component in the Pro vs Elite that would make the sound pass through the receiver and output to TV?

Are there some settings in my receiver that i need to tweak? I'm running Marantz SR6003
mister wiggles is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 15 Old 04-19-2009, 01:09 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
MichaelJHuman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 18,947
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 235 Post(s)
Liked: 118
Which Elite model.

"But this one goes up to 11"
MichaelJHuman is offline  
post #3 of 15 Old 04-19-2009, 02:57 PM
Advanced Member
 
Steve Carr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 573
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mister wiggles View Post

I just purchased an Xbox Pro and hooked it up to the receiver via HDMI input. There is video but the sound isn't coming through from 5.1 speakers; only the TV. When i was borrowing my friends Xbox Elite, I had no issues with sound from the get-go. A simple HDMI connection to the receiver and I was immediately immersed in "gaming mode"

Is there some sort of different component in the Pro vs Elite that would make the sound pass through the receiver and output to TV?

Are there some settings in my receiver that i need to tweak? I'm running Marantz SR6003

mister wiggles,

go into (system settings), next click (audio), choose (Dolby Digital 5.1) that should do it....

Steve
Steve Carr is offline  
post #4 of 15 Old 04-19-2009, 02:58 PM
 
DougWinsor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,612
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
I just purchased an Xbox Pro and hooked it up to the receiver via HDMI input. There is video but the sound isn't coming through from 5.1 speakers; only the TV.

Have you gone through the audio/video options on the xbox?
DougWinsor is offline  
post #5 of 15 Old 04-20-2009, 06:14 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
mister wiggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MichaelJHuman View Post

Which Elite model.

It should be the newer model. It has the updated GUI.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve Carr View Post

mister wiggles,

go into (system settings), next click (audio), choose (Dolby Digital 5.1) that should do it....

Steve

I already did that. It seems as if the xbox is sending out signal for 5.1 into the receiver, but the receiver isn't picking up the signal and its just letting it pass through to the TV which is why the TV has sound and not 5.1. I'm thinking it may be an issue with the AVR setup, but I can't seem to find out the missing link.

Quote:
Originally Posted by DougWinsor View Post

Have you gone through the audio/video options on the xbox?

Yes I have. I did the setup for xbox from the beginning.
mister wiggles is offline  
post #6 of 15 Old 04-20-2009, 07:00 AM
 
BobL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 3,797
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Set the input to HDMI and not auto and under preferences make sure HDMI Audio is set to 'enable' and not 'through'.

Bob
BobL is offline  
post #7 of 15 Old 04-21-2009, 07:45 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
mister wiggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by BobL View Post

Set the input to HDMI and not auto and under preferences make sure HDMI Audio is set to 'enable' and not 'through'.

Bob

Thanks Bob. After reading the manual and taking your advice, I am now experiencing game play in 5.1!
mister wiggles is offline  
post #8 of 15 Old 07-11-2012, 11:19 AM
Newbie
 
danvarello's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
do you do that on the xbox or on the marantz thing. (i am currently having the same problem as mister wiggles)
danvarello is offline  
post #9 of 15 Old 07-11-2012, 11:35 AM
Newbie
 
SniperZoz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
on the marantz, or whatever your amp is ... you have to tell it were to get the audio from!
SniperZoz is offline  
post #10 of 15 Old 07-11-2012, 11:40 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 45,989
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1735 Post(s)
Liked: 1684
That would be on the Marantz thing. wink.gif

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #11 of 15 Old 07-11-2012, 11:54 AM
Newbie
 
danvarello's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
im trying to hook my xbox 360 (new slim idition) to my home theater. My audio receiver is a marantz SR7005, everytime i try to hook up my hdmi cable from my xbox to the reciever i can only get the video and no audio. I tried to use different audio imputs but nothing seems to work, not even the "GAME" imput, help please.
danvarello is offline  
post #12 of 15 Old 07-11-2012, 12:08 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 45,989
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1735 Post(s)
Liked: 1684
Then it's likely a setting on the xBox as connecting HDMI to the 7005 should be plug-n-play.

Also note there is a dedicate thread for Marantz SR7005 Owner's as well for future questions.

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1270579/the-official-marantz-sr7005-receiver-page/0_100

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #13 of 15 Old 07-11-2012, 01:09 PM
Newbie
 
danvarello's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
yes, i know what your referring to on the xbox. its just that i've tryed every setting on itsuch as the dolby digital 5.1 and the 2 others. both do not work. please tell me how to get audio on the marantz audio reciever from the xbox
danvarello is offline  
post #14 of 15 Old 07-11-2012, 01:12 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 45,989
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1735 Post(s)
Liked: 1684
Ensure the xBox is set to "straight decode" and Dolby Digital 5.1.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #15 of 15 Old 07-11-2012, 02:38 PM
Newbie
 
danvarello's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
how do i do that?
danvarello is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off