Onkyo TX-SR507 Owners Thread and First Impressions - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 517 Old 04-23-2009, 01:07 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm the proud new owner of an Onkyo TX-SR507 receiver. It's hooked up to Energy Take Classic speakers, a Panasonic 42" EDTV plasma and an Xbox 360 (HDMI). The 507 and speakers replace a Panasonic HTiB so take my comments with a grain of salt -- I am new to these things.

I'm still playing with the settings. Right now it is set up with auto calibration settings. I am listening to music right now, which is blowing me away. I put on some opera for some dynamic range and it gave me goosebumps. I also put in a movie ("The Last Samurai"), but I found the volume range a bit too big for me -- i.e., lowering the volume so that explosions would not be too loud made the dialogue too quiet. I dunno what to do with that. I also put in Madden 2009 and noticed that the rear surrounds were disproportionately loud and I could barely hear the front speakers. Again, I may be in the wrong mode or maybe I botched the auto calibration.

One thing I should note is my rear surrounds are at ear level and right at the edges of the couch -- this is due to space limitations and height limitations of my stand (Omnimount EL0).

Overall, I am very happy and I'm looking forward to playing with more settings to maximize the experience. Please feel free to ask questions if you are thinking of buying a 507.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 517 Old 04-23-2009, 03:33 AM

]"but I found the volume range a bit too big for me -- i.e., lowering the volume so that explosions would not be too loud made the dialogue too quiet. I dunno what to do with that."

Have you tried to just raise the center speaker volume only? That's where
most of the dialogue originates.
post #3 of 517 Old 04-23-2009, 06:43 AM