The "Official" Pioneer VSX-1019AH Owner's Thread - Page 172 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #5131 of 5157 Old 05-16-2014, 11:01 AM
Advanced Member
 
cyberized's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Beaverton, OR, USA
Posts: 618
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Can someone PLEASE help me understand the directions for turning on "UP MIX" on Page 57? "1. Switch the receiver to standby." WHAT??? Where is the "standby" setting, key....? Unable to do trying to
follow these instructions.

Another ? while here and hopefully get an answer: I presently have my system setup in 7.1, with the Surround Speakers to right and left of listener; lately am seeing some touting mounting speakers
up above Front R and L............am thinking about moving my present SIDE L & R Surrounds to the FRONT High placement...........what do you think?

TKS michael
cyberized is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5132 of 5157 Old 05-16-2014, 11:31 AM
Advanced Member
 
nikknightt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: L.A.
Posts: 746
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 23
DOn't know anything about the bulk of your post but the standby button is the on/off button on the upper left of the unit..
At least it is on my 919.
nikknightt is offline  
post #5133 of 5157 Old 05-19-2014, 01:16 PM
Senior Member
 
bmurray716's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Kenmore NY
Posts: 314
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cyberized View Post

Can someone PLEASE help me understand the directions for turning on "UP MIX" on Page 57? "1. Switch the receiver to standby." WHAT??? Where is the "standby" setting, key....? Unable to do trying to
follow these instructions.

Another ? while here and hopefully get an answer: I presently have my system setup in 7.1, with the Surround Speakers to right and left of listener; lately am seeing some touting mounting speakers
up above Front R and L............am thinking about moving my present SIDE L & R Surrounds to the FRONT High placement...........what do you think?

TKS michael

Actually, way back when I first bought the AVR and set up my speakers (5.1) I noticed the upmix light indicator light on on the display and thought to myself "what the heck is that?". Realizing is is for those who have 7.1 systems, I disabled it. From what I can recall, you put the avr in standby (off), front panel, hold the enter button then hit the standby/on button. The display on the avr should now show Reset < No >. Follow instructions on pg 57 of user manual to get to upmix and then turn it on.

I don't have a 7.1 so no side speakers for me, but moving yours to above the front L/R doesn't make much sense (shrug). For movies that actually use the side (L/R) channels, that audio is meant for effects which are happening to the side of the listener. Placing those speakers in front would defeat the purpose of having them in the first place.

Sony Bravia KDL32S3000 HDTV | Pioneer VSX-1019AH-K AVR | Scientific Atlanta Explorer 8300 HDC HD Cable Box | Sony BDP-S390 BD | Harmony 700| Logitech Squeezbox Classic | Squeezebox Radio | Polk T15 (front - L/R) | Polk OWM 3 (rear) | DefTech ProCenter1000 (center) | Polk DSW Pro 400 Sub
bmurray716 is offline  
post #5134 of 5157 Old 05-24-2014, 05:04 PM
Newbie
 
KeithLing's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Alpharetta GA
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Is manual control of individual channel volumes while playing program material  possible with the 1019?  I saw a post where someone mentioned the channel volume controls.  My remote ahas a "TV control" box next to the master volume.  It has a power button, Input button, channel plus and minus buttons, and volume plus and minus buttons.  These don't seem to do anything.  I really want to be able to tweek the volume on each individual channel during playback.

If this is not possible with this receiver, can someone recommend a 5.1 (or higher) receiver that can?
Thanks

KeithLing is offline  
post #5135 of 5157 Old 05-27-2014, 04:46 PM
Newbie
 
bdub1978's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry, I am new here and looking for help. I'm trying to use a Mac mini 2012 as a media center. It works when I hook it to my tv via hdmi but when I route it through my receiver the picture is a complete and unusable blur. Any advice please?
bdub1978 is offline  
post #5136 of 5157 Old 05-27-2014, 09:36 PM
Advanced Member
 
nikknightt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: L.A.
Posts: 746
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by KeithLing View Post

Is manual control of individual channel volumes while playing program material  possible with the 1019?  I saw a post where someone mentioned the channel volume controls.  My remote ahas a "TV control" box next to the master volume.  It has a power button, Input button, channel plus and minus buttons, and volume plus and minus buttons.  These don't seem to do anything.  I really want to be able to tweek the volume on each individual channel during playback.
If this is not possible with this receiver, can someone recommend a 5.1 (or higher) receiver that can?
Thanks

In the Advanced MCACC menu under manual MCACC you can adjust the output of individual speakers. Is that what you're looking for?
nikknightt is offline  
post #5137 of 5157 Old 05-28-2014, 07:38 AM
Newbie
 
bdub1978's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank you. But no, it has everything to do with picture resolution and nothing to do with sound.
bdub1978 is offline  
post #5138 of 5157 Old 05-28-2014, 09:31 AM
Newbie
 
KeithLing's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Alpharetta GA
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by nikknightt View Post


In the Advanced MCACC menu under manual MCACC you can adjust the output of individual speakers. Is that what you're looking for?

No.  What I am looking for involves being able to adjust the volume of individual channels while LISTENING to Analog 5.1. 

Thanks anyway.

KeithLing is offline  
post #5139 of 5157 Old 05-30-2014, 10:59 AM
Senior Member
 
bmurray716's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Kenmore NY
Posts: 314
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
not possible w/this AVR. I don't know of any that has that capability, but worth a post in the general AVR thread.

Sony Bravia KDL32S3000 HDTV | Pioneer VSX-1019AH-K AVR | Scientific Atlanta Explorer 8300 HDC HD Cable Box | Sony BDP-S390 BD | Harmony 700| Logitech Squeezbox Classic | Squeezebox Radio | Polk T15 (front - L/R) | Polk OWM 3 (rear) | DefTech ProCenter1000 (center) | Polk DSW Pro 400 Sub
bmurray716 is offline  
post #5140 of 5157 Old 05-30-2014, 11:01 AM
Senior Member
 
bmurray716's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Kenmore NY
Posts: 314
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bdub1978 View Post

Sorry, I am new here and looking for help. I'm trying to use a Mac mini 2012 as a media center. It works when I hook it to my tv via hdmi but when I route it through my receiver the picture is a complete and unusable blur. Any advice please?

Probably need to mess with the settings on your Mac's graphics adapter. Are you getting sound ok?

Sony Bravia KDL32S3000 HDTV | Pioneer VSX-1019AH-K AVR | Scientific Atlanta Explorer 8300 HDC HD Cable Box | Sony BDP-S390 BD | Harmony 700| Logitech Squeezbox Classic | Squeezebox Radio | Polk T15 (front - L/R) | Polk OWM 3 (rear) | DefTech ProCenter1000 (center) | Polk DSW Pro 400 Sub
bmurray716 is offline  
post #5141 of 5157 Old 05-30-2014, 12:38 PM
Advanced Member
 
nikknightt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: L.A.
Posts: 746
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by KeithLing View Post

No.  What I am looking for involves being able to adjust the volume of individual channels while LISTENING to Analog 5.1. 
Thanks anyway.

You're talking about TV Channels and not speaker channels I assume..
The only thing I've seen that will adjust the volume is the 'Dialog Enhance' setting under audio parameters. Whenever I change the channel on my DVR it pops up with 'Dialog EN +1' or something to that effect.
However, It's automatic and not something that I'm aware of that you can adjust manually.
nikknightt is offline  
post #5142 of 5157 Old 05-30-2014, 01:37 PM
Newbie
 
KeithLing's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Alpharetta GA
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by nikknightt View Post


You're talking about TV Channels and not speaker channels I assume..
The only thing I've seen that will adjust the volume is the 'Dialog Enhance' setting under audio parameters. Whenever I change the channel on my DVR it pops up with 'Dialog EN +1' or something to that effect.
However, It's automatic and not something that I'm aware of that you can adjust manually.

No, I'm referring to Left. Right, Center, rear left, rear right. and sub.

KeithLing is offline  
post #5143 of 5157 Old 05-30-2014, 02:36 PM
Newbie
 
bdub1978's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It works great when plugged into the tv via hdmi. Sound too. It just doesn't work with the receiver. Tweaked every setting graphically I could and still not working.
bdub1978 is offline  
post #5144 of 5157 Old 06-05-2014, 01:09 PM
Advanced Member
 
cyberized's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Beaverton, OR, USA
Posts: 618
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I see that one of the latest Features offered on most new AV Receivers is DPL IIz for 2 more Speakers placed HIGH up front.....and from reading quite abit about it it appears that the "Back Surround" feed is fed into those speakers. I am seriously considering in my 7.1 setup.....with my 1019AH, moving my present S.Back Speakers up high in front to see IF I like it. My Side Surrounds really Kick the way it is already. WHAT do you think?

TKS michael:rolleyes:
cyberized is offline  
post #5145 of 5157 Old 06-30-2014, 04:19 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi, i have a question here. I have a Pioneer VSX-919AH and i plan to buy a blu ray player as i haven buy it earlier. However, blu ray player nowadays comes with version 1.4 HDMI and 3D. Will my reveiver able to support the blu ray player as i know my receiver is vesion 1.3 HDMI? I dont need the 3D. I jus need the full HD function as my tv is not 3D too. Thanks.
Nicholas Tang is offline  
post #5146 of 5157 Old 06-30-2014, 04:59 AM
Member
 
fmedrano1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nicholas Tang View Post
Hi, i have a question here. I have a Pioneer VSX-919AH and i plan to buy a blu ray player as i haven buy it earlier. However, blu ray player nowadays comes with version 1.4 HDMI and 3D. Will my reveiver able to support the blu ray player as i know my receiver is vesion 1.3 HDMI? I dont need the 3D. I jus need the full HD function as my tv is not 3D too. Thanks.
Yes it will, I myself had the 1019, also HDMI 1.3, hooked up to a 3D Sammy Bluray player and it worked fine
fmedrano1977 is offline  
post #5147 of 5157 Old 06-30-2014, 02:24 PM
Member
 
shvederick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Long Island
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nicholas Tang View Post
Hi, i have a question here. I have a Pioneer VSX-919AH and i plan to buy a blu ray player as i haven buy it earlier. However, blu ray player nowadays comes with version 1.4 HDMI and 3D. Will my reveiver able to support the blu ray player as i know my receiver is vesion 1.3 HDMI? I dont need the 3D. I jus need the full HD function as my tv is not 3D too. Thanks.

Have a Panasonic DMP-BDT 220 hooked to it, no problems works great.
shvederick is offline  
post #5148 of 5157 Old 07-01-2014, 08:06 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I plan to buy a pioneer BDP-150 or 160 blu ray player. Is it recommended wh my receiver?
Nicholas Tang is offline  
post #5149 of 5157 Old 07-06-2014, 11:50 AM
Member
 
Ebola Cereal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: CT
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I tried searching through this massive thread but couldn't find the answer to my problem.

I have an LG BD570 Blue Ray DVD player hooked up to the 1019 using a good HDMI cable. When listening to Pandora radio via the DVD player at only modest levels I get repeated, brief (1 second) sound drop outs. If I then go on to watch a DVD or Nexfix through the DVD player, the drop outs continue until I power the system off and on again. It doesn't happen any other time, like if I go straight to a DVD or Netflix. I am using decent Home Theater Direct speakers and I'm not driving them or the AVR hard when this problem occurs.

Anyone have any thoughts on what's going on here and if there's some setting I can use to correct the issue?
Ebola Cereal is offline  
post #5150 of 5157 Old 07-06-2014, 03:29 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
OK, seriously hoping someone can help me here.

I have a BDP-51FD connected by HDMI to a VSX-919AH.

I can not get PQLS to function no matter what I try.

Tried disconnecting all other units (including TV), numerous hard re-starts of both units.

Tried updating firmware to latest versions on both units. (1.74 on BDP and StM 1056 for the AVR)

I have checked all Kuro settings on both units and verified the sound fields are appropriate for 2 channel PQLS playback.

I've posted this question in the BDP-51FD forum as well.

At wits end, any and all suggestions appreciated.

Thanks.
pitfa17 is offline  
post #5151 of 5157 Old 07-10-2014, 07:47 AM
Senior Member
 
bmurray716's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Kenmore NY
Posts: 314
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ebola Cereal View Post
I tried searching through this massive thread but couldn't find the answer to my problem.

I have an LG BD570 Blue Ray DVD player hooked up to the 1019 using a good HDMI cable. When listening to Pandora radio via the DVD player at only modest levels I get repeated, brief (1 second) sound drop outs. If I then go on to watch a DVD or Nexfix through the DVD player, the drop outs continue until I power the system off and on again. It doesn't happen any other time, like if I go straight to a DVD or Netflix. I am using decent Home Theater Direct speakers and I'm not driving them or the AVR hard when this problem occurs.

Anyone have any thoughts on what's going on here and if there's some setting I can use to correct the issue?
just for trouble shooting, try connecting the bd player to the avr using an audio cable instead of hdmi (i.e., toslink/optical or coax) and see if your experiencing the same issue.

Sony Bravia KDL32S3000 HDTV | Pioneer VSX-1019AH-K AVR | Scientific Atlanta Explorer 8300 HDC HD Cable Box | Sony BDP-S390 BD | Harmony 700| Logitech Squeezbox Classic | Squeezebox Radio | Polk T15 (front - L/R) | Polk OWM 3 (rear) | DefTech ProCenter1000 (center) | Polk DSW Pro 400 Sub
bmurray716 is offline  
post #5152 of 5157 Old 07-10-2014, 08:06 AM
Senior Member
 
bmurray716's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Kenmore NY
Posts: 314
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by pitfa17 View Post
OK, seriously hoping someone can help me here.

I have a BDP-51FD connected by HDMI to a VSX-919AH.

I can not get PQLS to function no matter what I try.

Tried disconnecting all other units (including TV), numerous hard re-starts of both units.

Tried updating firmware to latest versions on both units. (1.74 on BDP and StM 1056 for the AVR)

I have checked all Kuro settings on both units and verified the sound fields are appropriate for 2 channel PQLS playback.

I've posted this question in the BDP-51FD forum as well.

At wits end, any and all suggestions appreciated.

Thanks.
I've never used this function so not sure how much help I can be, but I assume you have the HDMI control on the bd player set to on or active as well as pqls to auto. device has to be connected by hdmi to avr, and avr has to have kuro link on as well as pqls on auto. When you try and play a cd, does the pqls indicator light come on on the avr?

Sony Bravia KDL32S3000 HDTV | Pioneer VSX-1019AH-K AVR | Scientific Atlanta Explorer 8300 HDC HD Cable Box | Sony BDP-S390 BD | Harmony 700| Logitech Squeezbox Classic | Squeezebox Radio | Polk T15 (front - L/R) | Polk OWM 3 (rear) | DefTech ProCenter1000 (center) | Polk DSW Pro 400 Sub
bmurray716 is offline  
post #5153 of 5157 Old 07-12-2014, 02:11 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by bmurray716 View Post
I've never used this function so not sure how much help I can be, but I assume you have the HDMI control on the bd player set to on or active as well as pqls to auto. device has to be connected by hdmi to avr, and avr has to have kuro link on as well as pqls on auto. When you try and play a cd, does the pqls indicator light come on on the avr?
Hi bmurray716

HDMI control (Kuro Link) in the BDP-51 is on (it has to be to set to on to allow the PQLS to be set to Auto, otherwise it greys out) and yes, PQLS is set to Auto.

AVR is also set to Kuro link on, no other devices are assigned to HDMI (Which is a total pain, but I've been waiting to resolve this issue).

PQLS is set to Auto on the AVR and verified using the PQLS function button on the remote.

Neither the BDP-51FD OR the VSX-919 (both have them) light up the PQLS when playing a CD.

The AVR is set to PCM input on pure direct (although PQLS apparently also works on Auto Surround, A.L.C. and Direct modes as well.) No AVR PQLS indicator light on any setting. OR on the BDP-51FD for that matter.

The HDMI lead is 1.4 (I even tried switching to an old 1.3 to make sure the native high speed setting wasn't an issue) and I have tired several CD's (all commercial, not CD-R etc).

I find it interesting that on the later model BDP-450 and VSX-921 both advertise PQLS capability yet neither of these units have any form of PQLS indicator at all. How the hell would you EVER know it was working?

Common answer is to factory reset the AVR, I've done this at least four times.

I'm considering trying to find someone that will let me audition a BDP-450 to see whether the sub out HDMI on audio only activates the PQLS AVR indicator.

What annoys me there is the difference in form factor aesthetics (420mm wide to 435mm wide).

Hoping someone can weigh in with a simple answer that will make me feel like an idiot (but at least a happy idiot with access to PQLS playback )

Thank you all.
pitfa17 is offline  
post #5154 of 5157 Old 07-14-2014, 04:49 AM
Member
 
RPicard_1963's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Chelsea, QC, Canada
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by KeithLing View Post
Is manual control of individual channel volumes while playing program material possible with the 1019? I saw a post where someone mentioned the channel volume controls. My remote ahas a "TV control" box next to the master volume. It has a power button, Input button, channel plus and minus buttons, and volume plus and minus buttons. These don't seem to do anything. I really want to be able to tweek the volume on each individual channel during playback.
If this is not possible with this receiver, can someone recommend a 5.1 (or higher) receiver that can?
Thanks
I have that option when I use my Harmony remote. I can scroll through each individual channel and raise or lower the level of each speaker. Strangely, I don't seem to have this option with the OEM remote for my 919, though.


Hope that helps.


Rich
RPicard_1963 is offline  
post #5155 of 5157 Old 07-14-2014, 05:03 AM
Member
 
fmedrano1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Raising and lowering channel levels during playback, absolutely possible with OEM remote on 1019.

Sent from my Nexus 7
fmedrano1977 is offline  
post #5156 of 5157 Old 07-19-2014, 07:40 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Vsx-1019 ah

This receiver has been in for repair twice...now I cannot even turn it up...The unit is turning off at half volume..reset everything...removed speakers etc...I am assuming it is shutting off to protect itself of course...any ideas??
Chazb690 is offline  
post #5157 of 5157 Old Yesterday, 12:15 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi all

I have had my Pioneer VSX-1019Ah-K for some time, and recently had to shift home. Prior to my last shift I was able to successfully turn on and off the Receiver with the TV Remote (I assume this is via the Kuro Link), When turning it on it would always go to HDMI1 which is what my Austar (Foxtel) box is connected into.

Now it always defaults to TV/SAT which means that I have to manually select HDMI1 on the receiver to get a signal on my LG 60LM9600 TV.

I am baffled as to what has changed and how I can get it back to how it was before.

Last edited by Spurs2014; Yesterday at 12:51 AM. Reason: Have fixed the problem - I needed to plug Foxtel directly into the TV
Spurs2014 is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off