The "Official" Pioneer VSX-1019AH Owner's Thread - Page 173 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #5161 of 5178 Old 08-21-2014, 07:22 AM
Member
 
fmedrano1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Had it repaired once during the first year, been rock solid since. Passed it on to my brother recently and upgraded to an Onkyo 929.
fmedrano1977 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5162 of 5178 Old 08-21-2014, 07:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
hernanu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Boston Suburbs
Posts: 2,509
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 155
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nicholas Tang View Post
Anybody VSX919 or 1019 having problems here so far after all this years?
Nope, very happy.
hernanu is offline  
post #5163 of 5178 Old 08-21-2014, 05:25 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I want to know how is ur guys daily usage of tat amp..... For me i use it almost everyday for around 3 or 4 years already whout a single problem but yesterday something weird coming out. I am playing music through CD and switch the input to TV and i see the display on my tv turn pink and a loud hissing+humming sound come out from my right speaker. what could be the problem? as i knw if it is the HDMI board, it is nt worth the fix anymore. I am plugging my satellite receiver into the component and output thru HDMI into my tv. after i off everything and trun on, normal again and i try n try and try, but the situation nt happen anymore. Kinda worry at this point. could it be the receiver or the satellite decoder itself? and did u guys hv the same problem like when u switch input from DVD to blu ray whout turning off both the DVD and Blu ray but u switch the input on the receiver, there is a green flash on the tv for jus 1 second. Is that normal? Thanks:con fused:
Nicholas Tang is offline  
post #5164 of 5178 Old 08-21-2014, 05:46 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by fmedrano1977 View Post
Had it repaired once during the first year, been rock solid since. Passed it on to my brother recently and upgraded to an Onkyo 929.
What problem is ur receiver having?
Nicholas Tang is offline  
post #5165 of 5178 Old 08-21-2014, 06:35 PM
Member
 
fmedrano1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nicholas Tang View Post
What problem is ur receiver having?
I don't recall exactly what went bad, it would just go directly in protection mode when I would turn it on. We have an authorized Pioneer repair shop here in San Antonio, TX, took me about a week to get it fixed.
fmedrano1977 is online now  
post #5166 of 5178 Old 08-25-2014, 07:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
hernanu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Boston Suburbs
Posts: 2,509
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 155
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nicholas Tang View Post
I want to know how is ur guys daily usage of tat amp..... For me i use it almost everyday for around 3 or 4 years already whout a single problem but yesterday something weird coming out. I am playing music through CD and switch the input to TV and i see the display on my tv turn pink and a loud hissing+humming sound come out from my right speaker. what could be the problem? as i knw if it is the HDMI board, it is nt worth the fix anymore. I am plugging my satellite receiver into the component and output thru HDMI into my tv. after i off everything and trun on, normal again and i try n try and try, but the situation nt happen anymore. Kinda worry at this point. could it be the receiver or the satellite decoder itself? and did u guys hv the same problem like when u switch input from DVD to blu ray whout turning off both the DVD and Blu ray but u switch the input on the receiver, there is a green flash on the tv for jus 1 second. Is that normal? Thanks:con fused:
So you had one instance of a problem with a pink screen / static into your system, then restarting everything it went away and you haven't seen it since?

I think until it happens again, I wouldn't worry. HDMI is a touchy interface, it could be that the plug reseated itself and is working fine.

I'd make sure your HDMI connections are well set, then just enjoy it. If it happens again, then you can experiment with it.
hernanu is offline  
post #5167 of 5178 Old 08-28-2014, 02:12 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi everyone! My first post here. I've had the VSX-1019AH for about 4 years now, and up until about 6 months ago, everything worked flawlessly. I use all 4 HDMI inputs (Cable, PS3, Apple TV and Media Player) and the HDMI output to my TV. No other inputs are used.

Well, about 6 months ago, after turning on the TV, I noticed there was no sound coming from the speakers connected to the VSX-1019AH (the TV speakers are turned off on purpose). I turned everything off (without unplugging), wiggled a bit the wires in the back (I originally thought something was lose) and voi-la, it worked. I never seemed to find out exactly what the problem was. At first I thought the cleaning lady had moved the VSX-1019AH and disconnected something. Then I thought it was the speaker connection (Bose Acoustimass w/ subwoofer). Then the HDMI output.

Yesterday, it finally gave out. I tried everything but no sound whatsoever comes out. I unplugged everything (including power) and left it like that until morning. I re=plugged the speakers, but there is no sound. Not even the white noise from Manual Speaker configuration. Not even when plugging headphones, tuner, RCA cables with iPod, nada, niet, niente!

And I know both the devices and TV are working, as I had to plug them directly and it worked. Moreover, I know the audio is in fact being read by the VSX-1019AH, as when there are 5.1 surround programing, it shows all the speakers, it recognizes Dolby broadcasts, etc.

I understand about connections, but not about electronics. Is there such thing in the VSX-1019AH's board (such as an audio output transistor/chip) that could have been set lose over time? Like when I moved it in the past I got it working, but now it's completely off?

Sorry about the long post guys...

Thanks, C.
Carlos Castro Neves is offline  
post #5168 of 5178 Old 08-28-2014, 02:15 PM
Member
 
fmedrano1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Carlos Castro Neves View Post
Hi everyone! My first post here. I've had the VSX-1019AH for about 4 years now, and up until about 6 months ago, everything worked flawlessly. I use all 4 HDMI inputs (Cable, PS3, Apple TV and Media Player) and the HDMI output to my TV. No other inputs are used.

Well, about 6 months ago, after turning on the TV, I noticed there was no sound coming from the speakers connected to the VSX-1019AH (the TV speakers are turned off on purpose). I turned everything off (without unplugging), wiggled a bit the wires in the back (I originally thought something was lose) and voi-la, it worked. I never seemed to find out exactly what the problem was. At first I thought the cleaning lady had moved the VSX-1019AH and disconnected something. Then I thought it was the speaker connection (Bose Acoustimass w/ subwoofer). Then the HDMI output.

Yesterday, it finally gave out. I tried everything but no sound whatsoever comes out. I unplugged everything (including power) and left it like that until morning. I re=plugged the speakers, but there is no sound. Not even the white noise from Manual Speaker configuration. Not even when plugging headphones, tuner, RCA cables with iPod, nada, niet, niente!

And I know both the devices and TV are working, as I had to plug them directly and it worked. Moreover, I know the audio is in fact being read by the VSX-1019AH, as when there are 5.1 surround programing, it shows all the speakers, it recognizes Dolby broadcasts, etc.

I understand about connections, but not about electronics. Is there such thing in the VSX-1019AH's board (such as an audio output transistor/chip) that could have been set lose over time? Like when I moved it in the past I got it working, but now it's completely off?

Sorry about the long post guys...

Thanks, C.
Try a hard reset of the system. I no longer have this unit, but I do recall once having a no audio issue out of the blue and that fixed it for me.
Sent from my HTC One_M8
fmedrano1977 is online now  
post #5169 of 5178 Old 08-28-2014, 02:23 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by fmedrano1977 View Post
Try a hard reset of the system. I no longer have this unit, but I do recall once having a no audio issue out of the blue and that fixed it for me.
Sent from my HTC One_M8
You mean pressing Enter + Standby? If so, did that to no avail...

Quick question: if I were to just plug my Receiver to an outlet and set it to Tuner (without the antenna) and plug NOTHING ELSE, not even the speakers, would I be able to hear the white noise (as there's no antenna) by using a set of headphones? 'Cause I tried that too and ZIP...
Carlos Castro Neves is offline  
post #5170 of 5178 Old 08-28-2014, 02:42 PM
Member
 
fmedrano1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Yeah I meant that and you should hear white noise on tuner with no antenna. Might be in need of repair.

Sent from my HTC One_M8
fmedrano1977 is online now  
post #5171 of 5178 Old 08-28-2014, 02:44 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by fmedrano1977 View Post
Yeah I meant that and you should hear white noise on tuner with no antenna. Might be in need of repair.

Sent from my HTC One_M8
Thanks for the quick responses... I'm thinking of upgrading my receiver. What do you suggest?
Carlos Castro Neves is offline  
post #5172 of 5178 Old 08-28-2014, 02:50 PM
Member
 
fmedrano1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 12
If your happy with that one, can't go wrong with the up to date one, the VSX-1123 I believe. I myself went with an Onkyo NR-929 which is getting Dolby Atmos in a firmware update.

Sent from my HTC One_M8
fmedrano1977 is online now  
post #5173 of 5178 Old 08-30-2014, 10:28 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
1019 won't turn on

Went to turn on my 1019 and it just clicks and goes off, tried to do the reset and I couldn't even get to the reset. There is a blue light that is flashing does that mean anything? Need help
phil84 is offline  
post #5174 of 5178 Old 08-30-2014, 11:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JChin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Mesquite Tx
Posts: 8,526
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 86 Post(s)
Liked: 132
Quote:
Originally Posted by phil84 View Post
Went to turn on my 1019 and it just clicks and goes off, tried to do the reset and I couldn't even get to the reset. There is a blue light that is flashing does that mean anything? Need help

Hi phil84, don't know if this will help but try this. Press and hold the "Multi-Zone On/Off" and the "Tune Down (-)" buttons for about 4-5 seconds and see if it power on.
JChin is offline  
post #5175 of 5178 Old 08-31-2014, 06:03 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by JChin View Post
Hi phil84, don't know if this will help but try this. Press and hold the "Multi-Zone On/Off" and the "Tune Down (-)" buttons for about 4-5 seconds and see if it power on.
thanks for the help but that didn't work either, i don't know if this will helps but I left it on in my cabinet and it got really hot in there. Then after that it started not turning on and clicking
phil84 is offline  
post #5176 of 5178 Old 08-31-2014, 06:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JChin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Mesquite Tx
Posts: 8,526
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 86 Post(s)
Liked: 132
Quote:
Originally Posted by phil84 View Post
thanks for the help but that didn't work either, i don't know if this will helps but I left it on in my cabinet and it got really hot in there. Then after that it started not turning on and clicking

Could try removing the power cord for a few hours.
JChin is offline  
post #5177 of 5178 Old 09-02-2014, 07:07 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by JChin View Post
Could try removing the power cord for a few hours.
tried that too, maybe something internal I need to replace?
phil84 is offline  
post #5178 of 5178 Old 09-06-2014, 10:48 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Ever since storm last night when running either directv or dvd player through reciever I get mode not supported on my tv. Direct contecting directv to tv or dvd to tv does not do these. Seems as if electric surge changed resolution setting. Do you know how I can correct this? Thank you
dafreak4321 is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off