The "Official" Pioneer VSX-1019AH Owner's Thread - Page 174 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!



Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #5191 of 5211 Old 03-26-2015, 09:45 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by DirtySudz View Post
I think I can get around this problem by utilizing a SACD decoder when streaming sacd music files on the hard drive
Disregard that statement... Been a long day!

Seriously, Do you have to pass GO to earn editing priveledges .... How do you edit a post ?
DirtySudz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5192 of 5211 Old 03-28-2015, 10:33 AM
Member
 
johnxxsmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Today I changed the hdmi out cable to a new one on the pioneer 919. Now I see receiver - volume osd on the tv when changing the volume.

Never seen that before on this receiver.
johnxxsmith is offline  
post #5193 of 5211 Old 03-28-2015, 02:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hernanu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Boston Suburbs
Posts: 3,544
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 517 Post(s)
Liked: 928
Quote:
Originally Posted by DirtySudz View Post
Greetings,

Figured I would go ahead and get my feet wet with my first post. 9 more to go and I can send messages.. ' hooray ' . I may have that many before I get the system installed as I'm green.. Question for all past and present VSX-1019 owners. First this though....Okay, so it's 2015 now and I have a VSX-1019 brand new, still in the box. Thats right, same goes for my speaker system. Klipsch floor fronts, rears, center, bass and Harmony One remote still in factory sealed boxes/packaging. I bought these end of 09 but they have been in storage ever since... Long story

I am going to be setting up the speakers soon, looking for input as to whether you would use the VSX-1019 or sell it and seek a newer AVR. I would like to be able to use the 1019 if possible
No reason not to use the 1019. I used it for quite a while as my main AVR, it did fine work driving an Energy RC setup. It is now serving as a music mostly receiver in my bedroom, with my old Oppo BDP-83 as the music source. The 1019 is reliable, has more than enough power and works well with the Oppo, a Vizio display and is just chugging along and sounds great.
Quote:
Originally Posted by DirtySudz View Post
What I am looking for? I want to be able to stream video and music from my mac and external hard drive thru the system. I have a PS3 slim I will be hooking to the system also. I understand I can stream through the PS3 using an app on my mac. However, I do want to be able to play sacd and dvd-a disc also but the slim does not support format. I think I can get around this problem by utilizing a SACD decoder when streaming sacd music files on the hard drive. At the present I've been researching BDP's .... I'm thinking the Pio BDP 62-FD might be an suitable option supporting the sacd and dvd-a formats.

Any recommendations on a reasonably priced BDP to compliment the VSX-1019 that supports sacd and dvd-a ?
Or any other suggestions?

Cheers
If the 62FD is selling at the same price range as the Oppo 103D, I'd go with the Oppo.
hernanu is offline  
post #5194 of 5211 Old 03-30-2015, 11:33 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Hdmi issues?

I was wondering if this was either a common issue or easily repaired? I found this on CL and figured I would try and haggle it down if it was an easy fix or user error.
miyanc is offline  
post #5195 of 5211 Old 04-02-2015, 02:14 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by hernanu View Post
No reason not to use the 1019. I used it for quite a while as my main AVR, it did fine work driving an Energy RC setup. It is now serving as a music mostly receiver in my bedroom, with my old Oppo BDP-83 as the music source. The 1019 is reliable, has more than enough power and works well with the Oppo, a Vizio display and is just chugging along and sounds great.


If the 62FD is selling at the same price range as the Oppo 103D, I'd go with the Oppo.
Thanks for your response. Yeah, I got my eye on the Oppo also, great recommendation as I understand the industry rates bdp performance against the Oppo from all my research. Nice setup in the b/r with the 1019 / Oppo...
At the moment anything that will play my sacd's would work until I can drop some $ on a known reliable unit. It appears I can purchase a software license for a sacd player online that will allow me to play the sacds I have on my hard drive w/o changing format prior to streaming. I shall see soon enough..

I did go ahead and install the 1019 avr combined with Klipsch speakers and a Samsung 55" led tv... All I can say is , WOW... I know many people do not care for the Klipsch and claim the lows suck... I'm gonna have to call em on it, of course I'm no audiophile... However, I'm loving the sound of the combo. I could not believe the batteries were still operational that came with the remote.

It took me a few to get used to the unit and navigate the manual. As for the ipod, the connector would not fit my iPhone but fortunately I had an older iPhone 4 with cracked screen that I can now use as a dedicated ipod player. I was surprised at how well the unit and speakers sounded from the iPhone playing AAC files. Regardless, if I was standing 3 feet in front of the system or on the other side of the house, the music was clear and crisp. Yeah, I;m happy so far withe 1019

I did note the 1019 does get quite warm in the cabinet. I need to purchase a small fan to accommodate the unit. I've ordered online, a optical cable/Toslink and a displayport cable/hdmi so I can stream movies and music from my iMac thru the 1019. Nobody local had a clue as to what the cables were that I was requesting

Makes me wonder how much heat the Pioneer BDP's put out? I'm sure not any where near the amount the AVR does. Any heat issues with the Oppo? Also, since this the AVR had been in storage since it was purchased in 12/08, I'm sure the firmware is outdated. Any need to install updated firmware? Normally, I don't update firmware unless I'm having an issue with a component.
I know this post is unusual, me just now installing a 1019 when many have already upgraded and moved on...
DirtySudz is offline  
post #5196 of 5211 Old 04-03-2015, 02:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
hernanu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Boston Suburbs
Posts: 3,544
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 517 Post(s)
Liked: 928
Quote:
Originally Posted by DirtySudz View Post
Thanks for your response. Yeah, I got my eye on the Oppo also, great recommendation as I understand the industry rates bdp performance against the Oppo from all my research. Nice setup in the b/r with the 1019 / Oppo...
At the moment anything that will play my sacd's would work until I can drop some $ on a known reliable unit. It appears I can purchase a software license for a sacd player online that will allow me to play the sacds I have on my hard drive w/o changing format prior to streaming. I shall see soon enough..

I did go ahead and install the 1019 avr combined with Klipsch speakers and a Samsung 55" led tv... All I can say is , WOW... I know many people do not care for the Klipsch and claim the lows suck... I'm gonna have to call em on it, of course I'm no audiophile... However, I'm loving the sound of the combo. I could not believe the batteries were still operational that came with the remote.

It took me a few to get used to the unit and navigate the manual. As for the ipod, the connector would not fit my iPhone but fortunately I had an older iPhone 4 with cracked screen that I can now use as a dedicated ipod player. I was surprised at how well the unit and speakers sounded from the iPhone playing AAC files. Regardless, if I was standing 3 feet in front of the system or on the other side of the house, the music was clear and crisp. Yeah, I;m happy so far withe 1019

I did note the 1019 does get quite warm in the cabinet. I need to purchase a small fan to accommodate the unit. I've ordered online, a optical cable/Toslink and a displayport cable/hdmi so I can stream movies and music from my iMac thru the 1019. Nobody local had a clue as to what the cables were that I was requesting

Makes me wonder how much heat the Pioneer BDP's put out? I'm sure not any where near the amount the AVR does. Any heat issues with the Oppo? Also, since this the AVR had been in storage since it was purchased in 12/08, I'm sure the firmware is outdated. Any need to install updated firmware? Normally, I don't update firmware unless I'm having an issue with a component.
I know this post is unusual, me just now installing a 1019 when many have already upgraded and moved on...
I had the 1019 in an enclosed area with back venting, I installed a fan array with an internal heat sensor (only turns on when above a target temperature), worked well. Now it's on an open shelf, so gets plenty of venting.

No heat issues at all with the Oppo, had reasonable venting. I never updated the firmware, and it seems to work well. I think updating the firmware on this unit requires sending it to a service location, so it's not simple.

No problem IMO with using older AVR's, I use the Oppo for playing all sorts of media and accessing my network music and video files, so the 1019 is mostly used for room correction, HDMI / other inputs and amplification. It does those very well.
hernanu is offline  
post #5197 of 5211 Old 04-09-2015, 04:45 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by hernanu View Post
I had the 1019 in an enclosed area with back venting, I installed a fan array with an internal heat sensor (only turns on when above a target temperature), worked well. Now it's on an open shelf, so gets plenty of venting.

No heat issues at all with the Oppo, had reasonable venting. I never updated the firmware, and it seems to work well. I think updating the firmware on this unit requires sending it to a service location, so it's not simple.

No problem IMO with using older AVR's, I use the Oppo for playing all sorts of media and accessing my network music and video files, so the 1019 is mostly used for room correction, HDMI / other inputs and amplification. It does those very well.
You are correct on the firmware update for the VSX-1019, not available online... I've found some cheap fans online and from reviews they are super quiet so I will be ordering 1 or 2 of them. I did adjust the shelving to allow for more ventilation.

So far, I've put the sound of the VSX-1019 and Klipsch speakers to test since my installation by watching some older movies that I haven't seen in awhile ...Transformers - Revenge of the Fallen, House of Daggers, Pirates of the Caribbean - Dead Mans Chest and a few episodes of Band of Brothers.

Hopefully I can configure my Harmony One remote so I can watch tv using internal speakers late at night w/o losing any ports and adding additional cables when I go to install it. So far the only con to the 1019 I note is ' not having pass through ' and Airplay. I have a lot of data stored on a external hard drive so I may give the $80 WDTV a spin...
DirtySudz is offline  
post #5198 of 5211 Old 04-09-2015, 07:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
hernanu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Boston Suburbs
Posts: 3,544
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 517 Post(s)
Liked: 928
Quote:
Originally Posted by DirtySudz View Post
You are correct on the firmware update for the VSX-1019, not available online... I've found some cheap fans online and from reviews they are super quiet so I will be ordering 1 or 2 of them. I did adjust the shelving to allow for more ventilation.

So far, I've put the sound of the VSX-1019 and Klipsch speakers to test since my installation by watching some older movies that I haven't seen in awhile ...Transformers - Revenge of the Fallen, House of Daggers, Pirates of the Caribbean - Dead Mans Chest and a few episodes of Band of Brothers.

Hopefully I can configure my Harmony One remote so I can watch tv using internal speakers late at night w/o losing any ports and adding additional cables when I go to install it. So far the only con to the 1019 I note is ' not having pass through ' and Airplay. I have a lot of data stored on a external hard drive so I may give the $80 WDTV a spin...
I'm using a Harmony 670 to control it, used a Harmony One before. I don't think that will be a problem. If you want to only use the TV speakers, have it set to THROUGH and the sound will be passed to the TV without any sound from the 1019.

If you want to pass through the video signal without processing, look at page 67 of the manual, you probably want to select V.CONV to off and RES to PURE. This would let your screen or your source (bluray, WDTV) do the video functions.

I run a NAS drive to my Oppo or to my Vizio TV, since both have DLNA clients. I run an optical line back to the 1019 from the TV and get good sound from it.
hernanu is offline  
post #5199 of 5211 Old 07-10-2015, 02:38 PM
Member
 
spaceace414's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Sorry if this has been discussed before, but I am having trouble with my Optical input setting.

I bought a new receiver for my Entertainment Center and have moved my VSX-1019 to my office and have it hooked up to my PC. I am running Optical from my PC to the TV/SAT input on the receiver. I have to go into the SETUP menu and turn on the Opt-1 for sound to be delivered. A few days later I had to and reset the TV/SAT input to Opt-1 again. I have had to do this now about three times over the last month.

Does the receiver lose the audio setup settings if the power goes out? That is the only thing I can think of that could be happening...unless there is a known issue with the receiver?

Thanks.
spaceace414 is offline  
post #5200 of 5211 Old 08-09-2015, 05:44 PM
Newbie
 
HenryR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No 5.1 decoding from either optical input

I'm having a lot of problems getting my VSX-1019AH to recognize optical inputs as more than 2-channel. This used to work, so I'm presuming that there's a configuration change that I've made somewhere that's triggered the problem.

I have two optical inputs. One comes from the mini-box from my Samsung tv. The other comes from my AppleTV. The AppleTV signal is split into a analog and digital signal so that the zone 2 speakers can pick it up.

No matter what I try, media that I know is 5.1 encoded is not recognized as such. All I see on the display is 'PCM', and if I use auto-surround detection, I get stereo out. The multi-channel input lights aren't lighting up. This all points to configuration problems with the upstream signal, but a) it used to work and b) this seems unlikely given that two separate sources (TV and AppleTV) are experiencing the same problem.

I've tried auto-detecting the signal, manually selecting a decoding type, unplugging various components.. but I can't get it working again.

The only change I've made lately in hardware is to switch out an old Comcast cable box for the newer xfinity DVR, but I've had working surround sound since I made that change.

Last thing - the 'demo' option plays sounds out of every speaker correctly, so it's not the case that the receiver has just forgotten those speakers exist (and again, it looks more like an upstream issue).

Any ideas? What could I have changed that would affect both optical inputs like this?
HenryR is offline  
post #5201 of 5211 Old 09-16-2015, 07:48 AM
Member
 
DoomBot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
As long as I've had this receiver, i could never get it to properly decode DTS-HD Master 2.0 that i know should be dolby surround. It always plays as stereo from the 2 front speakers. Only way to get surrounds is to have the player decode the DTS 2.0. Anyone else experience this or maybe something i never set correctly?
I have a Yamaha that decodes the DTS-HD Master 2.0 to surrounds using the same media player.
DoomBot is offline  
post #5202 of 5211 Old 09-24-2015, 06:55 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 2
There is talk of a firmware update on page 139 of this thread.. Click on ' Pioneer Faq ' in Hkan's signature to go to the link. Note British flag represents North America... eventually you'll end up at link below, type in model number in search bar of link

http://www.pioneerfaq.info/index.php?question=Firmwares

You would have to go back and read what the firmware addresses, not sure if it pertains to your fault or not

Edit: From post #4140
Firmware Fixes_
1 The power sometimes cannot be turned on by remote controller.
2 Dropouts in DD+ audio tracks.
3 Volume down when playing DTS HD Master audio 2ch LtRt signal.
4 iPhone & iPod Touch (firmware Ver.3.0-) cannot be recognized.

Last edited by DirtySudz; 10-02-2015 at 09:43 PM. Reason: Firmware Fix
DirtySudz is offline  
post #5203 of 5211 Old 09-24-2015, 07:03 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 2
One thing I've found that really bites is when using iPhone/iPod the iPhone controller is disabled when plugged into usb port. I have to have tv on to select music choice unless I select playlist and start playing on the iPhone before plugging into usb port of AVR. Anybody find a workaround?
DirtySudz is offline  
post #5204 of 5211 Old 11-11-2015, 11:13 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 2
I have a question for those still following this thread...
When I'm watching movies late at night and the gf can be upstairs, she says it sounds like it is thundering outside at times and the dog panics. The only thing the dog is scared of is thunder...

So I've read in the manual that ' midnight mode ' is the answer for respecting others while viewing movies late at night

The manual states to press the 'receiver' button, then press 'audio parameter'.....which is what I have done, I've scrolled thru all the selections but the option for 'midnight viewing' is not present. I've tried this with both the original remote and Harmony One with same end results. The manual states that if the option does not appear, it is not available due to source or other configured settings....

I need to resolve this issue so the gf can get a good nights sleep, I depend on her to be up early mornings to cook me breakfast, lay my work clothes out while I shower and have the truck running/warming up on cold mornings

Any ideas on what I'm doing wrong ?
DirtySudz is offline  
post #5205 of 5211 Old 11-12-2015, 03:50 PM
Advanced Member
 
nikknightt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: L.A.
Posts: 829
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by DirtySudz View Post
I have a question for those still following this thread...
When I'm watching movies late at night and the gf can be upstairs, she says it sounds like it is thundering outside at times and the dog panics. The only thing the dog is scared of is thunder...

So I've read in the manual that ' midnight mode ' is the answer for respecting others while viewing movies late at night

The manual states to press the 'receiver' button, then press 'audio parameter'.....which is what I have done, I've scrolled thru all the selections but the option for 'midnight viewing' is not present. I've tried this with both the original remote and Harmony One with same end results. The manual states that if the option does not appear, it is not available due to source or other configured settings....

I need to resolve this issue so the gf can get a good nights sleep, I depend on her to be up early mornings to cook me breakfast, lay my work clothes out while I shower and have the truck running/warming up on cold mornings

Any ideas on what I'm doing wrong ?
On my 919 it's under the loudness setting. Go to audio parameters and scroll down to loudness. Click right.
nikknightt is offline  
post #5206 of 5211 Old 11-12-2015, 04:53 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Thanks for reply nikknightt,
I actually found it like 30 minutes after posting... On my 1019 ' Loudness ' mode was not displayed either when scrolling thru ' Parameter Audio ' selections. What I found is I had to press the ' Audio Parameter ' button twice to bring up additional available modes. Interestingly, after turning on the ' Midnight ' mode it along with all the other series of mode options appeared on my Harmony One remote when pushing ' Audio Parameter ' button only once which prieviously was not present, if I press twice the Harmony One remote exits out of ' Audio Parameter ' unlike the Pio remote...

So I'm good, gf and dog are happy now. Pretty sweet feature I might add...
nikknightt likes this.
DirtySudz is offline  
post #5207 of 5211 Old 11-21-2015, 05:49 PM
Newbie
 
rustycolby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Setup: 1019AH-k, Verizon Fios box connected via HDMI1.

Issue: When Kuro Link is on, the 1019AH-K input changes from HDMI1 to Sat/Ant whenever I power on. I'd like for the AVR to stick to HDMI1 as default on Power-on.
The only way to get around this seem to be disabling Kuro Link.

Suggestions?
This was raised in post 5157 on page 172, but his solution is not a good one for me.

Thanks!
rustycolby is offline  
post #5208 of 5211 Old 01-29-2016, 12:41 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Too much bass (not from sub)

So I've messed with every setting I can find and tried to the MCACC mic. There's still sooooo much bass even with the sub off. Can someone please help me? I know almost nothing about speakers and the manual is really bad at explaining things. I'd like to watch movies at night, but the speakers wake everyone up OR I can't hear vocals.

It's on auto surround - stereo - and unplugged. I tried turning bass to -6 in one of the settings, but I barely noticed a difference. Is there an easy to use equalizer maybe? Thanks for any help.
Raisinbrannan is offline  
post #5209 of 5211 Old 02-12-2016, 08:39 PM
Newbie
 
Brian Milner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
All HDMI suddenly stopped working

Hi there.

I've been an owner for about 2 years now and have been more than pleased with the unit. It's worked very well and never had a problem with it...until today. Seems we had a brief 3 second or so power outage and now none of the HDMI inputs are displaying image or playing audio. I know the devices work because I can plug them directly into my TV set and they work fine. My receiver has one out to my TV and that is an HDMI cable. I have several devices that do not use HDMI inputs and those appear on the TV fine. ALL the HDMI ones though show nothing and don't play audio. I tried to see if I could change the input type using the remote and it only says something like SEIGAL HDMI. No idea what that means either. Would REALLY appreciate any help I can get on this.

I REALLY hope this is just a setting that I'm not familiar with.
Brian Milner is offline  
post #5210 of 5211 Old 03-23-2016, 06:32 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian Milner View Post
Hi there.

I've been an owner for about 2 years now and have been more than pleased with the unit. It's worked very well and never had a problem with it...until today. Seems we had a brief 3 second or so power outage and now none of the HDMI inputs are displaying image or playing audio. I know the devices work because I can plug them directly into my TV set and they work fine. My receiver has one out to my TV and that is an HDMI cable. I have several devices that do not use HDMI inputs and those appear on the TV fine. ALL the HDMI ones though show nothing and don't play audio. I tried to see if I could change the input type using the remote and it only says something like SEIGAL HDMI. No idea what that means either. Would REALLY appreciate any help I can get on this.

I REALLY hope this is just a setting that I'm not familiar with.
Deja vu all over again! Exact same problem as B Milner, with the addition that the tuner (radio) does not output either. Unit was working fine last nite, but was out of order this morning. Tried to reset unit using the following:
Resetting the system: Use this procedure to reset all the receiver's settings to the factory default. Use the front panel controls to do this. 1Switch the receiver into standby. 2While holding down the front panel STEREO/A.L.C button, press and hold  STANDBY/ON for about two seconds. The display shows RESET?. 3Press the front panel AUTO SURR/STREAM DIRECT button. The display shows OK. 4Press SOUND RETRIEVER to confirm. OK appears in the display to indicate that the receiver has been reset to the factory default settings.
This did not work at all.

So, assuming unit is toast, would it be wise to buy a Marantz SR 5010? Pretty sure this would be an upgrade from the Pioneer. Originally had Definitive Tech ProMonitor 80 speaker set connected to Pioneer & sound was pretty good. Then stepped up speakers to Atlantic Tech System 2400 speaker set & made a big improvement in clarity: very happy with them.
Would the Marantz further improve the Atlantic speaker sound significantly, or should I get a unit comparable to the Pioneer 1019AH? Cost difference is appr $400 -$500.
aajj99 is offline  
post #5211 of 5211 Old 04-16-2016, 12:01 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Unhappy Switching HDMI inputs on its own

I have a Tivo on HDMI 1, an Apple TV on HDMI 2, and a Raspberry Pi on HDMI 3 for the past week.

However when either using my Harmony 650 remote, or by using the dial on the receiver, if I switch to Apple TV on HDMI 2, after about half a second it automatically switches to the Raspberry Pi on HDMI 3.

If I switch to the Tivo on HDMI 1, no problem - it stays there.

If I unplug the Raspberry Pi, no problem there, it will stay on HDMI 2 for the Apple TV.

Trying to work out if this is a receiver issue, the remote, the Apple TV, or the Raspberry Pi.

Anyone have any pointers?

What I am not hearing is that mechanical switch/relay sound you normally hear when switching between HDMI ports - could that be an issue?
stoop is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off