1Likes

post #3421 of 3607 Old 02-26-2012, 06:04 PM

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by NDLBox View Post

I ordered everything. How long after applying flux do you have to re-flow the solder?

PS - ordered a themometer, heatgun, flux and heatsink... total spend was approx $70. Total novice at this, so lets hope I don't end up burning my new house down!

I think sooner rather than later but I'm actually not sure, I'm more familiar with rosin fluxes. It may not matter at all.

And really, a whole minute at 470f may destroy the board. Start small. a single ounce of flux is enough to do this several times until you are successful.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #3422 of 3607 Old 02-28-2012, 09:32 AM

You mentioned your board wasn't completely stable until you reflowed a 2nd chip... what other issues were you experiencing?
post #3423 of 3607 Old 02-28-2012, 08:45 PM

Quote:

You mentioned your board wasn't completely stable until you reflowed a 2nd chip... what other issues were you experiencing?

occasionaly no audio on turn-on unless reset.

My board had gotten bad enough, before i started working on it, that it would need warmup followed by reset and sometimes the audio would drop out during use, requiring a reset.

Which really annoyed me because my center channel needs to be 6db down vs. my fronts. So bare minimum i was listening to bad surround or navigating setup menus.
post #3424 of 3607 Old 03-03-2012, 02:27 AM

I had the same no sound problem. They replaced at first the HDMI board (but that did not fix it in my case; after only one hour I got the same no sound symptoms) then 2nd repair they replaced the pre-amp board plus did a firmware upgrade. That solved it and now stable for 6 months. Therefore it might be good to realize that the problem might not be isolated to the HDMI board ICs alone. (707 sold in Netherlands Europe, so not only a USA problem)
post #3425 of 3607 Old 03-03-2012, 02:16 PM