*OFFICIAL* Denon AVR 1910/790 Owner's Thread - Page 314 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
Reply
Thread Tools
post #9391 of 9412 Old 02-12-2015, 06:57 PM
Newbie
 
mrnyknicks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Middletown, De
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank you

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
You're not actually "deleting" it, rather simply "hiding" it so the AVR no longer sees it as a source.

Thanks! You saved me from buying a new receiver. Now I can work on my projector
mrnyknicks is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #9392 of 9412 Old 02-13-2015, 05:49 PM
Member
 
calbearfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Haven't made any changes to my setup for several months, but I just started getting the flashing red power button, fuse-popping signal of death... Is that the end of the line for the receiver?
calbearfan is offline  
post #9393 of 9412 Old 02-13-2015, 06:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Soulburner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,679
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 194 Post(s)
Liked: 254
Check all your wiring. Mine did that when I had wires touching.
Soulburner is online now  
post #9394 of 9412 Old 02-14-2015, 01:09 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: #585-645-1006
Posts: 53,290
Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5060 Post(s)
Liked: 2609
Quote:
Originally Posted by calbearfan View Post
Haven't made any changes to my setup for several months, but I just started getting the flashing red power button, fuse-popping signal of death... Is that the end of the line for the receiver?
A flashing power light indicates a problem which may or may not be easily resolved. Please review the following post ....

The 'Official' 2013 Denon "E Series" / "X Series" AVR Model Owner's Thread & FAQ

--------
2015 Denon AVR thread ----> http://www.avsforum.com/forum/90-rec...dcp-2-2-a.html

Think your AVR is defective? Check the Owner's manual and do a factory reset 4-5 times if necessary.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #9395 of 9412 Old 02-22-2015, 12:17 PM
Member
 
rn865's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 13
What type of DACs are used in the Denon 790?

Are newer DACs appreciably better?

Thanks!
rn865 is offline  
post #9396 of 9412 Old 02-23-2015, 06:21 AM
Member
 
av-novice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Northeast Ohio, near Cleveland
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by rn865 View Post
What type of DACs are used in the Denon 790?

Are newer DACs appreciably better?

Thanks!
Most Denon AVRs at that time used the Analog Devices ADAU1328 DAC. Yes, there are some better DACs available, but too many factors influence how they sound to predict performance of one over another.
AVN
av-novice is offline  
post #9397 of 9412 Old 02-23-2015, 06:47 AM
Member
 
rn865's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by av-novice View Post
Most Denon AVRs at that time used the Analog Devices ADAU1328 DAC. Yes, there are some better DACs available, but too many factors influence how they sound to predict performance of one over another.
AVN
Thanks!
rn865 is offline  
post #9398 of 9412 Old 02-23-2015, 10:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Soulburner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,679
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 194 Post(s)
Liked: 254
Then there's the double blind testing that has shown people can't tell the difference between DACs.
Soulburner is online now  
post #9399 of 9412 Old 02-23-2015, 05:33 PM
Member
 
av-novice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Northeast Ohio, near Cleveland
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Soulburner View Post
Then there's the double blind testing that has shown people can't tell the difference between DACs.
Using high bit rate digital (96k or 192k at 24 bit) might separate some of the men from the boys, but with CD or generic digital just about any DAC can do the job. Speakers are the weak link in just about any audio system.


AVN

Last edited by av-novice; 02-23-2015 at 10:40 PM.
av-novice is offline  
post #9400 of 9412 Old 03-16-2015, 08:03 AM
Member
 
brandt35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
xbox one and 1910

Just picked up an Xbox one and I have a 1910. Xbox connected to 1910 via hdmi. When I select "multi in" the only audio seems to be coming from my subwoofer and is very poor. If I switch to something like 5 channel surround or game mode the audio will work.

I would like to use the multi in setting as I am sure that would be the best. Can anyone tell me how to get this to work, or what settings may produce optimal audio from the Xbox one?

I am not currently with the system, but I remember in the audio settings of the Xbox one it was set to 5 channel surround. I do know there was a bit stream option but I am not sure what that is.

Thank you
brandt35 is offline  
post #9401 of 9412 Old 03-16-2015, 08:08 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: #585-645-1006
Posts: 53,290
Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5060 Post(s)
Liked: 2609
^^
On the Xbox try the "bitstream" option and set Secondary Audio to OFF.

--------
2015 Denon AVR thread ----> http://www.avsforum.com/forum/90-rec...dcp-2-2-a.html

Think your AVR is defective? Check the Owner's manual and do a factory reset 4-5 times if necessary.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #9402 of 9412 Old 04-28-2015, 05:27 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Denon 1910 no sound via TV

I have to do some decorating, and speakers need to come down.

I was hoping to be able to push all my sounds through the TV instead of the speakers, however this doesn't appear to work. I have set the amp from AMP to TV, but no sound (I continue to get sound through the speakers though).

I know it can pass sound to the TV, when I turn the amp onto standby is passes the sound directly to the TV which works fine.

Anyone any ideas?

TIA
Matt Buckey is offline  
post #9403 of 9412 Old 04-28-2015, 05:31 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: #585-645-1006
Posts: 53,290
Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5060 Post(s)
Liked: 2609
That setting only works with HDMI sources. If that is what you are trying to pass, try cycling the setting a few times and if still no joy, try unplugging the power cord for 10 minutes and try again.

For more helpful information, there is a dedicated Denon 1910 Owner's thread .....

*OFFICIAL* Denon AVR 1910/790 Owner's Thread

--------
2015 Denon AVR thread ----> http://www.avsforum.com/forum/90-rec...dcp-2-2-a.html

Think your AVR is defective? Check the Owner's manual and do a factory reset 4-5 times if necessary.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #9404 of 9412 Old 07-16-2015, 11:44 PM
Newbie
 
sseyfried's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Saugus, California
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a 1910. Just figured out how to get zone 2 to work and now have my music player on zone 2 with a Bose 2 channel speaker system. Is there a way to adjust the tone levels on the 1910 in zone 2 ? Hope this is not a stupid question, I am new at this.

Love Scott on TWIT, Home Theater Geeks show the best.

Steve
sseyfried is offline  
post #9405 of 9412 Old 07-17-2015, 02:52 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: #585-645-1006
Posts: 53,290
Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5060 Post(s)
Liked: 2609
Quote:
Originally Posted by sseyfried View Post
I have a 1910. Just figured out how to get zone 2 to work and now have my music player on zone 2 with a Bose 2 channel speaker system. Is there a way to adjust the tone levels on the 1910 in zone 2 ? Hope this is not a stupid question, I am new at this.

Love Scott on TWIT, Home Theater Geeks show the best.

Steve
Sorry, but adjusting Tone Control for Zone 2 is not a feature on the 1910. If you don't use the STEREO mode normally, you could set them up as Front B speakers (setting the Front Speaker Setup - Stereo/Direct - B, p. 27 Owner's manual) and use the main zone Tone Control settings.

--------
2015 Denon AVR thread ----> http://www.avsforum.com/forum/90-rec...dcp-2-2-a.html

Think your AVR is defective? Check the Owner's manual and do a factory reset 4-5 times if necessary.

Last edited by jdsmoothie; 07-17-2015 at 02:57 AM.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #9406 of 9412 Old 08-20-2015, 06:38 AM
Newbie
 
swizzlea44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by batpig View Post
Unfortunately this sounds like an HDMI handshake conflict with the old DVI display, probably the EDID info that the DVI input is "video only" is traveling down the chain and fooling the chromecast into not sending audio over HDMI. Assuming you aren't going to replace the TV over this, the best solution seems to be inserting a powered HDMI switch in between the receiver and the TV. The EDID of the switch then can override the display and will often resolve these types of issues.
I know this is a little old but I'm having a similar issue. I was just wondering if you (or anyone else) had any recommendations on a powered HDMI switch to get?
swizzlea44 is offline  
post #9407 of 9412 Old 08-20-2015, 06:45 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: #585-645-1006
Posts: 53,290
Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5060 Post(s)
Liked: 2609
Quote:
Originally Posted by swizzlea44 View Post
I know this is a little old but I'm having a similar issue. I was just wondering if you (or anyone else) had any recommendations on a powered HDMI switch to get?
Monoprice has several models available for purchase.


http://www.monoprice.com/Category?c_id=109&cp_id=10110

--------
2015 Denon AVR thread ----> http://www.avsforum.com/forum/90-rec...dcp-2-2-a.html

Think your AVR is defective? Check the Owner's manual and do a factory reset 4-5 times if necessary.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #9408 of 9412 Old 08-20-2015, 06:55 AM
Newbie
 
swizzlea44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Monoprice has several models available for purchase.


http://www.monoprice.com/Category?c_id=109&cp_id=10110
Thanks for the quick reply! I always forget about monoprice unless I need cables.
swizzlea44 is offline  
post #9409 of 9412 Old Yesterday, 10:17 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hey everyone. New to the forum. Great stuff. I've read through and can't find an answer to my problem other than compressed air in the headphone jack.

My 1910 will not put out any sound through either the speakers or the headphone jack. I have recently retried to set it up after a year of using an older onkyo but would love to get the demon back running.

I get some noise out of the sub but nothing through the speakers. All wiring looks in tact, fuses look good.

Please help.
InterJJ is online now  
post #9410 of 9412 Old Today, 01:33 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: #585-645-1006
Posts: 53,290
Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5060 Post(s)
Liked: 2609
Quote:
Originally Posted by InterJJ View Post
Hey everyone. New to the forum. Great stuff. I've read through and can't find an answer to my problem other than compressed air in the headphone jack.

My 1910 will not put out any sound through either the speakers or the headphone jack. I have recently retried to set it up after a year of using an older onkyo but would love to get the demon back running.

I get some noise out of the sub but nothing through the speakers. All wiring looks in tact, fuses look good.

Please help.
Try resetting the AVR (p. 64 Owner's manual) a few times in a row.

--------
2015 Denon AVR thread ----> http://www.avsforum.com/forum/90-rec...dcp-2-2-a.html

Think your AVR is defective? Check the Owner's manual and do a factory reset 4-5 times if necessary.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #9411 of 9412 Unread Today, 08:29 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I tried the multiple resets which fixed my blinking red light and quick shut down. Now I need the audio back.

Thanks!
InterJJ is online now  
post #9412 of 9412 Unread Today, 09:20 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: #585-645-1006
Posts: 53,290
Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5060 Post(s)
Liked: 2609
If it doesn't even work with the AM/FM Tuner selected, will likely need repair.

--------
2015 Denon AVR thread ----> http://www.avsforum.com/forum/90-rec...dcp-2-2-a.html

Think your AVR is defective? Check the Owner's manual and do a factory reset 4-5 times if necessary.
jdsmoothie is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Denon Avr1910 7 1 Channel Multi Zone Home Theater Receiver With 1080p Hdmi Connectivity , Denon Avr790 7 1 Channel Multi Zone Home Theater Receiver With 1080p Hdmi Connectivity
Gear in this thread - Avr1910 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off