*OFFICIAL* Denon AVR 1910/790 Owner's Thread - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 9376 Old 06-09-2009, 09:35 PM
Senior Member
 
frankmar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: MONTREAL,QUEBEC
Posts: 219
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Finally installed it, thanks to Batpig, was able to get around it. I think even with a Master degree, the owner's manual is very complicated to follow.

Upscale of tv to 1080p is much better than the 480i I use to get.
Regular dvd player looks much better upscales to 1080p
PS3 fantastic, sub need to be lowered.
Where do I reduce this, I went to manual and can't find.
played cd on ps3 and dvd music is stereo with sub

both ps3 and tv are connected to the 1910 through HDMI and Hdmi to tv

Dvd is connected through component wires and sound through coax cable

hope my 12ft Hdmi wires from monoprice arrive soon.

Then I will removes tons of wires which will not be needed.

PRESENTLY:    TCP55VT60               PREVIOUSLY:    TH46PZ80
PS3 80G
IR 2 BT RE-BL
DENON AVR1910
FIBETV MOTOROLA VIP-1232
PARADIGM MONITOR 7 v6 front speakers
KLIPSCH SUBWOOFER KSW10
kLIPSCH SATELITE SS-1
kLIPSCH CENTER SC-1
HARMONY ONE

frankmar is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 9376 Old 06-09-2009, 09:51 PM
Newbie
 
dfish3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I also got a shipping notice from Electronic Expo.
Looks like it's time to buy some speakers.
Right now I'm planning on 4 HTD middies, a HTD flat panel, and a TSC ASW-10.
It's going in a 14'x14' room.
dfish3r is offline  
post #93 of 9376 Old 06-09-2009, 10:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Davidt1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,286
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Does this receive send HDMI audio to the tv in standby mode? Thanks.
Davidt1 is offline  
post #94 of 9376 Old 06-09-2009, 10:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JChin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Mesquite Tx
Posts: 8,564
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Liked: 136
Quote:
Originally Posted by Davidt1 View Post

Does this receive send HDMI audio to the tv in standby mode? Thanks.

Yes, read page 1
4. HDMI Control gets a "Standby Source" setting (see pg 28) which allows you to specify which HDMI input is "passed through" to your TV. No need to remember to switch inputs before you power down!
JChin is offline  
post #95 of 9376 Old 06-09-2009, 11:59 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 24,936
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1092 Post(s)
Liked: 1550
Quote:
PS3 fantastic, sub need to be lowered.
Where do I reduce this, I went to manual and can't find.

the instructions for adjusting speaker volume is found on pg 50 of the manual, under "Adjust the volume of different speakers". I also explain this in my FAQ.

Quote:
played cd on ps3 and dvd music is stereo with sub

you can set up 2-ch music settings separately in the "2CH Direct/Stereo" menu, this is also explained in the audio section of my FAQ.


Quote:
Question, how do you save and preset Tuner radio stations.

sorry I never use the tuner. but the instructions seem to be fairly well laid out on pg 39-40 of the manual. Also, if you search the 1909 thread for the word "tuner" using the Advanced Search function to find posts by "jdsmoothie", you will find some good instructions, he understands that stuff a lot better than I do!

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is online now  
post #96 of 9376 Old 06-10-2009, 02:51 AM
Member
 
matbl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Sweden
Posts: 165
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
About upconversion of analog video (component) to hdmi.
Since the 1910 supports deep color, will it use it when upconverting?
Is the output 36-bit color?
Since the source is analog, it would actually be quite usefull...
matbl is offline  
post #97 of 9376 Old 06-10-2009, 02:52 AM
Member
 
matbl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Sweden
Posts: 165
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can anyone that has a 1910 please measure its height? With and without feet.
Thanks in advance.
matbl is offline  
post #98 of 9376 Old 06-10-2009, 04:12 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,050
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1773 Post(s)
Liked: 1699
Quote:
Originally Posted by matbl View Post

About upconversion of analog video (component) to hdmi.
Since the 1910 supports deep color, will it use it when upconverting?
Is the output 36-bit color?
Since the source is analog, it would actually be quite usefull...

Deep color is an attribute of HDMI 1.3 and therefore the answer is no as you must use an HDMI 1.3 cable from the source. HDMI 1.3 does support 36-bit color.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #99 of 9376 Old 06-10-2009, 05:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Gary J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: 4000' or sea level
Posts: 7,646
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 97
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

Deep color is an attribute of HDMI 1.3 and therefore the answer is no as you must use an HDMI 1.3 cable from the source.

Baloney. You don't need a HDMI cable that says "1.3".
Gary J is offline  
post #100 of 9376 Old 06-10-2009, 05:28 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,050
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1773 Post(s)
Liked: 1699
Actually ... you do. Although now that HDMI 1.4 is out, either HDMI 1.3 or 1.4 is required as the 1.3 spec is the first to support Deep Color.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #101 of 9376 Old 06-10-2009, 05:28 AM
Senior Member
 
frankmar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: MONTREAL,QUEBEC
Posts: 219
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by matbl View Post

Can anyone that has a 1910 please measure its height? With and without feet.
Thanks in advance.

receiver without feet is 6"
with feet is 6 1/2 "

PRESENTLY:    TCP55VT60               PREVIOUSLY:    TH46PZ80
PS3 80G
IR 2 BT RE-BL
DENON AVR1910
FIBETV MOTOROLA VIP-1232
PARADIGM MONITOR 7 v6 front speakers
KLIPSCH SUBWOOFER KSW10
kLIPSCH SATELITE SS-1
kLIPSCH CENTER SC-1
HARMONY ONE

frankmar is offline  
post #102 of 9376 Old 06-10-2009, 05:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Gary J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: 4000' or sea level
Posts: 7,646
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 97
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

Actually ... you do. Although now that HDMI 1.4 is out, either HDMI 1.3 or 1.4 is required as the 1.3 spec is the first to support Deep Color.

Pay attention. You said cable. I said cable. A quick Google reveals "One encouraging thing to come out of the press event however: When directly asked whether HDMI 1.3 will require new cables, the HDMI spokesman let slip a detail that's sure to make the people at Monster Cable weep. He said 98 percent of existing HDMI cables would work fine with HDMI 1.3. So at least something's not obsolete."
Gary J is offline  
post #103 of 9376 Old 06-10-2009, 05:51 AM
Member
 
matbl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Sweden
Posts: 165
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

Deep color is an attribute of HDMI 1.3 and therefore the answer is no as you must use an HDMI 1.3 cable from the source. HDMI 1.3 does support 36-bit color.

I'm fully aware the Deep color is a HDMI feature.
Maybe my question was a little unclear. I'll try to ask it again with more detail.
If I feed analog component video and the 1910 upconverts it to hdmi the circuits inside the 1910 will sample the analog signal to make a digital one out of it. When sampling, the samples are probably higher precision than 12 bits per sample per color (which is what 36-bit deep color is). The question is if the samples are converted to standard color depth (24-bit or 8-bit per color) or if the 1910 actually output them at 30- or 36-bit? (10 or 12 bits per color per pixel)
(The TV must of course be able to handle deep color, but say that it is).
This is quite important, it is one of the few uses for deep color besides digital material that has been authored in it (newer blu-ray's maybe).
matbl is offline  
post #104 of 9376 Old 06-10-2009, 06:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Gary J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: 4000' or sea level
Posts: 7,646
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 97
Blu-ray discs will never have Deep Color because it is not in the Blu-ray spec. There are a few high end Blu-ray players (and no AVRs that I know of) that will create Deep Color by interpolation of pixels.
Gary J is offline  
post #105 of 9376 Old 06-10-2009, 06:51 AM
Member
 
hillguy2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dfish3r View Post

I also got a shipping notice from Electronic Expo.
Looks like it's time to buy some speakers.
Right now I'm planning on 4 HTD middies, a HTD flat panel, and a TSC ASW-10.
It's going in a 14'x14' room.

I also got a shipping notice from Electronic Expo. I'm looking for some new speakers to go with the receiver and someone else mentioned HTD. Have you bought from HTD before?
hillguy2002 is offline  
post #106 of 9376 Old 06-10-2009, 07:15 AM
Member
 
matbl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Sweden
Posts: 165
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary J View Post

Blu-ray discs will never have Deep Color because it is not in the Blu-ray spec. There are a few high end Blu-ray players (and no AVRs that I know of) that will create Deep Color by interpolation of pixels.

Ok. Then its when converting analog sources that it is actually usuable. That is because the analog signal has close to an "infinite" number of bits per pixel, so the more that can be out in digital form, the better...
matbl is offline  
post #107 of 9376 Old 06-10-2009, 07:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Gary J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: 4000' or sea level
Posts: 7,646
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 97
Well, analog film has much greater resolution than digital but if you are talking about typical sources like overly compressed analog TV signals forget about any magical picture quality materializing. It is mostly about converting everything to the HDMI "one wire solution".
Gary J is offline  
post #108 of 9376 Old 06-10-2009, 07:54 AM
Member
 
matbl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Sweden
Posts: 165
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary J View Post

Well, analog film has much greater resolution than digital but if you are talking about typical sources like overly compressed analog TV signals forget about any magical picture quality materializing. It is mostly about converting everything to the HDMI "one wire solution".

Not all TV-signals are overly compressed. Depends on what country you live in...

Anyway, the question is still the same. Will the 1910 use deep color (30- or 36-bit) when upconverting an analog component signal?
(Instead of truncating the values to 8-bit per color).
matbl is offline  
post #109 of 9376 Old 06-10-2009, 08:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Gary J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: 4000' or sea level
Posts: 7,646
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 97
No. It is simply a conversion of signal type from analog to digital resulting in no change or worse picture quality.
Gary J is offline  
post #110 of 9376 Old 06-10-2009, 08:53 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,050
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1773 Post(s)
Liked: 1699
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary J View Post

Baloney. You don't need a HDMI cable that says "1.3".

I stand corrected. Even though not tested for the HDMI 1.3 spec, a cable that was tested for the earlier versions HDMI 1.1 or HDMI 1.2 should handle Deep Color. However, in order to take advantage of the new HDMI 1.4 Ethernet spec, one of several totally new HDMI cables designed for the HDMI 1.4 spec will have to be purchased.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #111 of 9376 Old 06-10-2009, 09:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Davidt1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,286
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Does this receive retain all the settings when the power is unplugged?

I have an old HK receiver that loses all the setting every time the power is cutoff. It's been frustrating. Then I bought an returned the Panasonic digital receiver. This thing never lost its settings when power was cutoff. I am hoping the new Denon receivers are like that.
Davidt1 is offline  
post #112 of 9376 Old 06-10-2009, 09:25 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,050
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1773 Post(s)
Liked: 1699
In theory, the settings are supposed to be retained for 1 week when the AVR is unplugged ... although I don't believe anyone has posted as testing that theory yet.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #113 of 9376 Old 06-10-2009, 09:33 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 24,936
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1092 Post(s)
Liked: 1550
I have unplugged my receiver over the weekend sometimes when I'm out of town (I will shut off the whole powerstrip where my AV gear is plugged in) and it's fine when I turn it back on.

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is online now  
post #114 of 9376 Old 06-10-2009, 09:45 AM
Newbie
 
kojak711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey guys,

A lot of great info here! Just a couple of quick questions:

1910 Owners - Any comparison/review on the 1910 vs the 1909?

1610 - Does the 1610 accept PCM? i.e. from a PS3?

Thanks
kojak711 is offline  
post #115 of 9376 Old 06-10-2009, 10:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Davidt1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,286
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

In theory, the settings are supposed to be retained for 1 week when the AVR is unplugged ... although I don't believe anyone has posted as testing that theory yet.

If that's the case, then a battery or capacitor is used to retain the memory. Over time a battery will lose its power. Capacitor? I am not sure. That is probably why my HK receivers is behaving the way it does. I remember now. The were no setting loss for the first few years. Now either the internal power source has lost its charge over the years or failed completely and is now unable to keep the settings.
Davidt1 is offline  
post #116 of 9376 Old 06-10-2009, 10:14 AM
Newbie
 
arbum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I got my Denon 1910 a week ago, and I have everything setup already. But every time when I turn on the receiver (using either ON or Quick Start button), it will set the input to TV. I have to press the quick start 2nd time to go to the source I wanted. How can I change it?

My current connection is:
HDMI1: Blue-ray
HDMI2: Xbox
HDMI3: Cable box
Optical1: Audio out from Samsung TV.

Quick Start1: Watch BD (HDMI1)
Quick Start2: Play Game (HDMI2)
Quick Start3: Watch TV (HDMI3)
arbum is offline  
post #117 of 9376 Old 06-10-2009, 10:57 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 24,936
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1092 Post(s)
Liked: 1550
I'm pretty sure this has to do with the HDMI Control (CEC) feature. I assume you have this feature enabled? Guess what, as one of the first 1910 owners you get to test something out for the good of the general public!

Try going to MANUAL SETUP > HDMI SETUP and change the "Standby Source" to one designated HDMI input. See if that affects which input is powered on. (see pg 28 of the manual).

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is online now  
post #118 of 9376 Old 06-10-2009, 10:59 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 24,936
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1092 Post(s)
Liked: 1550
Quote:
Originally Posted by kojak711 View Post

1910 Owners - Any comparison/review on the 1910 vs the 1909?

the 1910 is just trickling out, I highly doubt there are any A/B comparisons. you can safely assume they will sound virtually identical, and make your decision based upon the features comparison I detail in post #1.

Quote:


1610 - Does the 1610 accept PCM? i.e. from a PS3?

yes. see also from post #1:

"The 1610 (aka 590) is a very full-featured entry level model that will be sufficient for most people. It has 3 HDMI inputs, full HD audio decoding, analog > digital video conversion (so you can run one HDMI cable to your TV for all sources), and the full "Audyssey suite" of MultEQ + Dynamic EQ + Dynamic Volume."

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is online now  
post #119 of 9376 Old 06-10-2009, 11:10 AM
Newbie
 
kojak711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Oops... I read that post a few days ago... sorry to have you repeat yourself yet again.

Thanks for the info!
kojak711 is offline  
post #120 of 9376 Old 06-10-2009, 11:14 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 24,936
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1092 Post(s)
Liked: 1550
yes, it's kind of cool, the entire Denon lineup now features full HD audio support and analog > digital video conversion. no more need to pore over confusing spec sheets trying to decide if the receiver has the audio support you need, we have basically reached the point where HD audio decoding is as ubiquitous as regular DD/DTS decoders.

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Denon Avr1910 7 1 Channel Multi Zone Home Theater Receiver With 1080p Hdmi Connectivity , Denon Avr790 7 1 Channel Multi Zone Home Theater Receiver With 1080p Hdmi Connectivity
Gear in this thread - Avr1910 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off