*OFFICIAL* Denon AVR 1610/590 owner's thread - Page 103 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3061 of 5202 Old 03-26-2010, 12:26 PM
Advanced Member
 
mikeyraw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: philadelphia
Posts: 787
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

Correct, zero change in sound. My understanding is that only certain batches were effected with the LPCM issue for some reason.

im curious now, i might try LPCM just to see if it works

PSN ID - MikeyRaw8
mikeyraw is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3062 of 5202 Old 03-26-2010, 03:13 PM
Newbie
 
billlclark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So I got my new center speaker today (Polk CS1), and now I can't find my tripod... gah! Oh well, I should probably hold off until my fronts come in on Tuesday before I re-run Audyssey anyhow. No sense in doing it twice in a week. Oh well, what can you do?
billlclark is offline  
post #3063 of 5202 Old 03-26-2010, 06:16 PM
Member
 
etc860's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: CT
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by billlclark View Post

So I got my new center speaker today (Polk CS1), and now I can't find my tripod... gah! Oh well, I should probably hold off until my fronts come in on Tuesday before I re-run Audyssey anyhow. No sense in doing it twice in a week. Oh well, what can you do?

Someone here mentioned to use a lamp. The mic will screw on where the shade mounts.
That's what I did

PSN ID: KrakHed69
etc860 is offline  
post #3064 of 5202 Old 03-26-2010, 10:34 PM
Newbie
 
Wayne Riggins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quick question:
Just bought the AVR 590. Need to be able to use it as a 2 zone amp. There is no A,B, A/B selection option like there were on old two channel amps. Is it possible to set it up in a manner that will allow two channel A&B speaker (two zone) use?? Thanks
Wayne Riggins is offline  
post #3065 of 5202 Old 03-26-2010, 11:19 PM
Advanced Member
 
mikeyraw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: philadelphia
Posts: 787
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wayne Riggins View Post

Quick question:
Just bought the AVR 590. Need to be able to use it as a 2 zone amp. There is no A,B, A/B selection option like there were on old two channel amps. Is it possible to set it up in a manner that will allow two channel A&B speaker (two zone) use?? Thanks

hello, and welcome....i suggest that you take your 590 back, and get a 1610, which is identical, BUT has a option that allows for 2 speaker zone 2 usage......

PSN ID - MikeyRaw8
mikeyraw is offline  
post #3066 of 5202 Old 03-27-2010, 05:55 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 44,506
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1037 Post(s)
Liked: 1510
Quote:
Originally Posted by etc860 View Post

Someone here mentioned to use a lamp. The mic will screw on where the shade mounts.
That's what I did

That would be me .... I used a lamp (sans lamp shade)for almost 2 years whenever running AUTO SETUP until I finally picked up a tripod at a neighbor's garage sale. The readings were virtually identical.

---------------------------------
"JD" –
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Mon - Fri: 10am – 10pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Parasound
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #3067 of 5202 Old 03-27-2010, 06:06 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 44,506
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1037 Post(s)
Liked: 1510
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wayne Riggins View Post

Quick question:
Just bought the AVR 590. Need to be able to use it as a 2 zone amp. There is no A,B, A/B selection option like there were on old two channel amps. Is it possible to set it up in a manner that will allow two channel A&B speaker (two zone) use?? Thanks

Welcome to AVS Forum. No, this is not possible with the 590. As Mikeyraw noted, if you want to simply add another set of speakers to another room playing the same source and same volume as in the main zone, you'll need to replace the 590 with a 1610 which is identical to the 590 except it has the added front "B" speaker posts. Note that the "A" and "B" speakers draw from the same amp, which is not a problem if you play them separately as "A" or "B". However, if you use the "A+B" setting, you are cautioned to use only 8 ohm speakers as their impedance will drop by 1/2 to 4 ohms when using "A+B" and you will be limited to volume else the AVR will shut down and go in to Protection Mode.

Neither of these models can do a true independent source/volume Zone 2. For that, you'll need to upgrade to either the 1910 or 790 which both offer on board Zone 2 speaker posts as well as Zone 2 pre-outs.

Also, review the 1st post in this thread for more information on the 1610/590.

---------------------------------
"JD" –
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Mon - Fri: 10am – 10pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Parasound
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #3068 of 5202 Old 03-27-2010, 08:07 AM
Member
 
supturb89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My setup is as follows:

Denon 1610
F/L/C speakers EMP EF30C
rear surrounds Monoprice in-ceiling 6.5 in kevlars
sub TSC ASW-10

Ran Audyssey auto setup and got these results

Front sp.: small
Center sp.: small
Subwoofer: yes
Surround sp.: small

Distance
Front L: 9.0ft
Front R: 9.0ft
Center: 8.3ft
Subwoofer: 12.4ft
Surround L: 8.7ft
Surround R: 8.7ft
(these seem to be spot on with the exception of the sub)

Channel Level
Front L: +1.0dB
Center: -3.5dB
Front R: -0.5dB
Surround R: +0.5dB
Surround L: -0.5dB
Subwoofer: -5.5dB

Crossover Freq
Front: 60Hz
Center: 40Hz
Surround: 150Hz

Not sure if these are ok or need to be tweaked. Thanks!
supturb89 is offline  
post #3069 of 5202 Old 03-27-2010, 08:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SoundofMind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SE MI
Posts: 7,962
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 161
Quote:
Originally Posted by supturb89 View Post

..Not sure if these are ok or need to be tweaked. Thanks!

Hi, welcome. Looks good. Follow the Audyssey setup guide procedures resetting the front xovers up to 80 and the LFE LPF to 120. How's it sound then?

Yes, I still like playing with Dalis.

SoundofMind is offline  
post #3070 of 5202 Old 03-27-2010, 03:30 PM
Member
 
supturb89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SoundofMind View Post

Hi, welcome. Looks good. Follow the Audyssey setup guide procedures resetting the front xovers up to 80 and the LFE LPF to 120. How's it sound then?

Sounds great! Just watched the beginning of Star Trek and it sounded great. Thanks for the advice, although I should have just read batpig's guide all the way through in the first place.
supturb89 is offline  
post #3071 of 5202 Old 03-27-2010, 03:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SoundofMind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SE MI
Posts: 7,962
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 161
Quote:
Originally Posted by supturb89 View Post

Sounds great! Just watched the beginning of Star Trek and it sounded great...

Excellent. That is the best ST movie ever!

Yes, I still like playing with Dalis.

SoundofMind is offline  
post #3072 of 5202 Old 03-27-2010, 11:29 PM
Member
 
rscherer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi all,
I'm considering at 1610 and have two questions.
First, this is going into a 3.1 set uphow does the 1610 handle that for movies? Am I losing the back two channels entirely or are they mixed into the R & L speakers?
and...
Second, how well does the 1610 integrate an iPod and iPhone? Like many people, I have become somewhat attached to those devices, so I'd like the receiver to play nice with them.
thanks!
rscherer is offline  
post #3073 of 5202 Old 03-27-2010, 11:47 PM
Member
 
rscherer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

Note that the "A" and "B" speakers draw from the same amp, which is not a problem if you play them separately as "A" or "B". However, if you use the "A+B" setting, you are cautioned to use only 8 ohm speakers as their impedance will drop by 1/2 to 4 ohms when using "A+B" and you will be limited to volume else the AVR will shut down and go in to Protection Mode.

Can you explain a little of what you mean about the impedance dropping and any consequences? I'm considering the 1610 & 1910, but I know I'll use A+B a lot. I do have 8 ohm speakers, though...

thanks!
rscherer is offline  
post #3074 of 5202 Old 03-28-2010, 01:24 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 44,506
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1037 Post(s)
Liked: 1510
Quote:
Originally Posted by rscherer View Post

Hi all,
I'm considering at 1610 and have two questions.
First, this is going into a 3.1 set up—how does the 1610 handle that for movies? Am I losing the back two channels entirely or are they mixed into the R & L speakers?

No, the surrounds channels will be downmixed to the FR/FL speakers.


Quote:
Originally Posted by rscherer View Post

Second, how well does the 1610 integrate an iPod and iPhone? Like many people, I have become somewhat attached to those devices, so I'd like the receiver to play nice with them.
thanks!

Can't speak to how "well" it integrates; however, there is a dedicated power and S-Video plug for the iPod docking station. This chart indicates how compatible the various devices are with Denon AVRs.

---------------------------------
"JD" –
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Mon - Fri: 10am – 10pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Parasound
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #3075 of 5202 Old 03-28-2010, 01:30 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 44,506
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1037 Post(s)
Liked: 1510
Quote:
Originally Posted by rscherer View Post

Can you explain a little of what you mean about the impedance dropping and any consequences? I'm considering the 1610 & 1910, but I know I'll use A+B a lot. I do have 8 ohm speakers, though...

thanks!

What else can I say? With either model, when using "A+B" be aware that if the volume is set to high, the AVR may shut down in Protection Mode. If it does, simply don't raise the volume above that point in the future. There is a Max Volume setting that can be set to -20, -10, or 0 which can be used if necessary, although if little ones are around, I would recommend using it regardless to ensure the volume cannot be raised too high and possibly clip the speakers.

Edit: Some folks confuse the "A" to mean Zone 1 and "B" to mean Zone 2 which is not the case. Although the "B" speakers can be placed in another room, they are normally placed in Zone 1 and used when more ideally suited for music only listening (STEREO mode). If you want to send the exact same source audio to both zones with no independent volume control over Zone 2 then you would use the "A+B" configuration. However, if you want to use Zone 2 speakers w/independent source/volume controls (limited to "analog" sources only), you would need to get the 1910 which has on board Zone 2 speaker jacks (separate amp so no impedance issues) and Zone 2 pre-outs (requires external amp).

---------------------------------
"JD" –
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Mon - Fri: 10am – 10pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Parasound
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #3076 of 5202 Old 03-28-2010, 02:40 AM
Member
 
rscherer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

What else can I say? With either model, when using "A+B" be aware that if the volume is set to high, the AVR may shut down in Protection Mode. If it does, simply don't raise the volume above that point in the future. There is a Max Volume setting that can be set to -20, -10, or 0 which can be used if necessary, although if little ones are around, I would recommend using it regardless to ensure the volume cannot be raised too high and possibly clip the speakers.

Edit: Some folks confuse the "A" to mean Zone 1 and "B" to mean Zone 2. If you want to send the exact same "digital" audio to both zones with no independent volume control over Zone 2 then you would use the "A+B" configuration. However, if you want to use Zone 2 speakers w/independent source/volume controls (limited to "analog" sources only), you would need to get the 1910 which has on board Zone 2 speaker jacks (separate amp) and Zone 2 pre-outs (requires external amp).

thanks for the info. Is this true of all multi-zone receivers or only the A/B speaker set up?
Thanks again.
rscherer is offline  
post #3077 of 5202 Old 03-28-2010, 02:46 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 44,506
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1037 Post(s)
Liked: 1510
Not sure what you're asking? Multi Zone AVRs don't use the "B" speaker posts to provide Multi zone capability.

---------------------------------
"JD" –
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Mon - Fri: 10am – 10pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Parasound
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #3078 of 5202 Old 03-28-2010, 10:31 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 24,376
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 637 Post(s)
Liked: 1275
Quote:
Originally Posted by rscherer View Post

Second, how well does the 1610 integrate an iPod and iPhone? Like many people, I have become somewhat attached to those devices, so I'd like the receiver to play nice with them.
thanks!

if you are already committed to the "iTunes universe", I strongly suggest not wasting your money on the Denon ipod docks and instead get an Apple TV (or Airport Express if you have an "always on" computer to stream from). You can control all your music wirelessly from your iPhone using the "Remote" app and don't have to deal with with any clunky docks.

ATV or AE is the best way to integrate your iTunes content seamlessly with your AV setup. Trust me

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
batpig is online now  
post #3079 of 5202 Old 03-28-2010, 10:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JChin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Mesquite Tx
Posts: 8,528
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 86 Post(s)
Liked: 133
Quote:
Originally Posted by batpig View Post

ATV or AE is the best way to integrate your iTunes content seamlessly with your AV setup. Trust me

Does this work as well for the i-Touch? Still learning on this new i-thingy.
JChin is offline  
post #3080 of 5202 Old 03-29-2010, 02:19 PM
Senior Member
 
twin2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 255
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey everyone, I've already decided to get the 1610 next fall when I get an apartment but I was considering getting one for the HT at my house for the few months out of the year I'm not in college.

Right now, unfortunately, we have a Yamaha HTR-6230 and it was adequate with the Paradigm Atom V.1's that were connected to it, until one of the woofers blew. But thats what I get for buying used speakers. The only other speakers we had were a pair of B&W DM610i's that are connected to a HK 3480. They really didn't get used so I hooked them up to the Yamaha and they sound OK at best. The 610's are 4 ohm speakers and, besides being underpowered, I don't think the entry level Yamaha was built to handle 4 ohm speakers very well. Here's a link to the 610's specs: http://www.htguide.com/forum/attachm...achmentid=4646

Would the 1610 be a good choice? Any suggestions are greatly appreciated. My only specification is that I want HDMI audio/video passthrough for my HD tivo and PS3. It'll be used mostly for TV/Movies but occasionally some music, probably 90/10. Thanks.
twin2 is offline  
post #3081 of 5202 Old 03-29-2010, 02:31 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 44,506
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1037 Post(s)
Liked: 1510
The 1610 should meet your needs with the limitation that you'll need to keep the volume at average levels only (ie. no raising the roof) with those 4 ohm speakers, as the AVR is designed for 6+ ohm speakers.

---------------------------------
"JD" –
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Mon - Fri: 10am – 10pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Parasound
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #3082 of 5202 Old 03-29-2010, 02:43 PM
Senior Member
 
twin2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 255
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
For reference, what would be considered an "average" db level. I'm a teenager and college student and will, time to time, listen at higher volumes. I know this is more based on personal opinion and everyone will have a different answer, but do you think it would be better to just buy a new pair of Atoms? It would cost the same or less as buying a new receiver. I know they're smaller but they're 8ohms and pretty efficient little speakers.

Sorry this isn't in the speaker forum but it pertains to my previous post and I don't want to have to explain all over again. Thanks.
twin2 is offline  
post #3083 of 5202 Old 03-29-2010, 04:33 PM
Advanced Member
 
mikeyraw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: philadelphia
Posts: 787
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by twin2 View Post

For reference, what would be considered an "average" db level. I'm a teenager and college student and will, time to time, listen at higher volumes. I know this is more based on personal opinion and everyone will have a different answer, but do you think it would be better to just buy a new pair of Atoms? It would cost the same or less as buying a new receiver. I know they're smaller but they're 8ohms and pretty efficient little speakers.

Sorry this isn't in the speaker forum but it pertains to my previous post and I don't want to have to explain all over again. Thanks.

for me, after running audyssey, mind you i have 8 ohm speakers, my AVERAGE volume level for direct tv is is aound -10db, for my ps3, which is way louder at that same level for some unknown reason to me, is around -25db...if i wanna crank it up real loud, my direct tv hits that around 0db, and my playstation around -12....mind you some different people have different opinions on what "loud" is

PSN ID - MikeyRaw8
mikeyraw is offline  
post #3084 of 5202 Old 03-29-2010, 06:06 PM
Senior Member
 
twin2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 255
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Do you think any of those volumes would put a 1610 driving 4ohm speakers into protection mode?
twin2 is offline  
post #3085 of 5202 Old 03-29-2010, 06:55 PM
 
Splicer010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 7,819
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikeyraw View Post

for me, after running audyssey, mind you i have 8 ohm speakers, my AVERAGE volume level for direct tv is is aound -10db, for my ps3, which is way louder at that same level for some unknown reason to me, is around -25db...if i wanna crank it up real loud, my direct tv hits that around 0db, and my playstation around -12....mind you some different people have different opinions on what "loud" is

Are you friggin deaf? That is the only reason I can see to have the volume at that level. Just watching TV my 789 is -35dB and that is during the daytime. Granted the 789 has more power than the 1610 but not to the extent of 25dB difference! Even 10dB difference is ALOT more. In my opinion, either you seriously need to see a hearing specialist or you have some super inefficient speakers.
Splicer010 is offline  
post #3086 of 5202 Old 03-29-2010, 08:52 PM
Advanced Member
 
mikeyraw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: philadelphia
Posts: 787
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Splicer010 View Post

Are you friggin deaf? That is the only reason I can see to have the volume at that level. Just watching TV my 789 is -35dB and that is during the daytime. Granted the 789 has more power than the 1610 but not to the extent of 25dB difference! Even 10dB difference is ALOT more. In my opinion, either you seriously need to see a hearing specialist or you have some super inefficient speakers.

maybe i just like to watch tv at loud volumes, you ever think of that? maybe you shouldn't worry so much about how loud i watch my television, everyone likes different volumes

PSN ID - MikeyRaw8
mikeyraw is offline  
post #3087 of 5202 Old 03-29-2010, 08:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JChin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Mesquite Tx
Posts: 8,528
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 86 Post(s)
Liked: 133
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikeyraw View Post

maybe i just like to watch tv at loud volumes, you ever think of that? maybe you shouldn't worry so much about how loud i watch my television, everyone likes different volumes

mikeyraw don't worry, I kind of deaf too as I listen at -15 to -10 when watch tv .
JChin is offline  
post #3088 of 5202 Old 03-29-2010, 09:58 PM
 
Splicer010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 7,819
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 32
mikeyraw, please don't think I am bitching at you or trying to tell you that you don't realize what you like. I'm not. And you can believe I don't "worry" about how loud you listen to the television. But you might do well to heed my advice brother; be careful of your hearing. Once it's gone, that's it, you aren't getting it back. I like loud volumes too...at times. But there are definately some things that shouldn't be listened to loudly. Television is one of them. The sound quality just doesn't justify the risk. Quality movies, properly recorded music however can be listened to at higher levels.

Do as you wish, but coming from an audiophile, I want to make sure my hearing lasts me a lifetime if possible so I can enjoy things like television, movies, music and video games. Sorry, but I did not intend to offend you.
Splicer010 is offline  
post #3089 of 5202 Old 03-29-2010, 10:22 PM
Advanced Member
 
mikeyraw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: philadelphia
Posts: 787
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Splicer010 View Post

mikeyraw, please don't think I am bitching at you or trying to tell you that you don't realize what you like. I'm not. And you can believe I don't "worry" about how loud you listen to the television. But you might do well to heed my advice brother; be careful of your hearing. Once it's gone, that's it, you aren't getting it back. I like loud volumes too...at times. But there are definately some things that shouldn't be listened to loudly. Television is one of them. The sound quality just doesn't justify the risk. Quality movies, properly recorded music however can be listened to at higher levels.

Do as you wish, but coming from an audiophile, I want to make sure my hearing lasts me a lifetime if possible so I can enjoy things like television, movies, music and video games. Sorry, but I did not intend to offend you.

i am not offended, and i did not mean to come off as offended...no problem at all

PSN ID - MikeyRaw8
mikeyraw is offline  
post #3090 of 5202 Old 03-30-2010, 05:09 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 44,506
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1037 Post(s)
Liked: 1510
Quote:
Originally Posted by twin2 View Post

Do you think any of those volumes would put a 1610 driving 4ohm speakers into protection mode?

Prior posters with 4 ohm speakers have indicated no issue at "average" volume levels which would most likely be no higher than -30 to -20. There is a 'max volume limit' setting you can set to ensure the volume is never raised above -20 as a safety measure. Although the 1610 would shut down in Protection Mode before any harm is done when driving the speakers too hard, you would certainly be able to "crank the volume" higher with 8 ohm speakers.

---------------------------------
"JD" –
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Mon - Fri: 10am – 10pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Parasound
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Denon Avr1610 5 1 Channel Home Theater Receiver With 1080p Hdmi Connectivity , Denon Avr590 5 1 Channel Home Theater Receiver
Gear in this thread - Avr590 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off