*OFFICIAL* Denon AVR 1610/590 owner's thread - Page 166 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4951 of 5196 Old 01-19-2012, 05:51 PM
Member
 
mgproudfit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Jdsmoothie -

I had made a post on the previous page explaining an issue I'm having with the (I think) HDMI ports on my 1610. This characteristics are a "blown speaker" sound, primarily when I play CD's through my PS3. I have reset the microprocessor per your instructions, rerun Audyssey twice, all to no avail. I really only notice this while playing CD's but I do that a lot, so it's really frustrating. At other insight or points?

Thanks,
Matt
mgproudfit is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4952 of 5196 Old 01-19-2012, 05:58 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 42,997
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 349 Post(s)
Liked: 1317
^^
I thought you resolved the issue by setting the AVR to STEREO? No?

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #4953 of 5196 Old 01-19-2012, 06:01 PM
Member
 
mgproudfit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Nope, that's not doing it now. :-(
mgproudfit is offline  
post #4954 of 5196 Old 01-20-2012, 06:49 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 42,997
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 349 Post(s)
Liked: 1317
^^
You said you raised the speaker crossovers to 80hz, but you also need to change them from LARGE to SMALL in order for the sub to fire. Ensure ALL speakers are set to SMALL.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #4955 of 5196 Old 01-20-2012, 10:06 AM
Member
 
mgproudfit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
^^Ok, Ill do that tonight. Im 99% sure they're under the correct settings, but they may have gotten jacked up when I reset the Microprocessor. I wish the Denon menu would show up on my TV, I hate that I have to use the Denon's screen as the menu.

-Matt
mgproudfit is offline  
post #4956 of 5196 Old 01-20-2012, 10:17 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 42,997
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 349 Post(s)
Liked: 1317
^^
After running AUTO SETUP, if the AVR sets the speaker crossovers to 40hz, it also set them to LARGE, so the crossover actually has not impact unless the sub setting is changed to LFE+MAIN (which is not recommended). Rather much better to simply set the speaker to SMALL and raise the crossover up to either 60hz or 80hz, whichever you prefer.

Also, your menu display issue got passed over for the audio related issue. What devices to you have connected and have you tried replacing the HDMI cable from the AVR to the TV?

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #4957 of 5196 Old 01-20-2012, 11:18 AM
Member
 
mgproudfit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
^^

My setup current is:

PS3 via HDMI
Xbox 360 via component
Fisher turntable via phono line in
Time Warner cable box via HDMI

And no, I haven't changed the HDMI cable from ps3 to avr. I'll do that tonight and report back. Thanks for the help. Oh, I'll also verify that the speaker settings are setup correctly.
mgproudfit is offline  
post #4958 of 5196 Old 01-20-2012, 12:44 PM
Member
 
mgproudfit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok, my settings were at:

L,R Speaker Size: Small - 80hz x-over
Center: n/a
Rears: Small - 80hz x-over
Subwoofer: Yes

Mode: LFE

SW Crossover: 80Hz
mgproudfit is offline  
post #4959 of 5196 Old 01-20-2012, 01:04 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 42,997
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 349 Post(s)
Liked: 1317
Quote:
Originally Posted by mgproudfit View Post

^^

My setup current is:

PS3 via HDMI
Xbox 360 via component
Fisher turntable via phono line in
Time Warner cable box via HDMI

And no, I haven't changed the HDMI cable from ps3 to avr. I'll do that tonight and report back. Thanks for the help. Oh, I'll also verify that the speaker settings are setup correctly.

Note I suggested changing the HDMI cable from the "AVR" to the "TV" not from the PS3 to the AVR. So you're not getting the menu display from any of the sources? Also note there is no Phono line in, rather only analog inputs.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #4960 of 5196 Old 01-20-2012, 01:10 PM
Member
 
mgproudfit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Good catch, my bad...turntable via analog input.

Ill change both of the HDMI cables.

To be clear, the speakers break up under higher noises, not the lower bass-y notes. Thanks for the help.

-Matt
mgproudfit is offline  
post #4961 of 5196 Old 01-21-2012, 05:13 PM
Member
 
mgproudfit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Finally spoke with Denon themselves. Im still under 2-year warranty and the guy at Denon agreed that this is something completely not right. Ill be taking it to the local service center on Monday and getting it repaired.

-Matt
mgproudfit is offline  
post #4962 of 5196 Old 02-08-2012, 09:20 AM
Member
 
mgproudfit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mgproudfit View Post

Finally spoke with Denon themselves. Im still under 2-year warranty and the guy at Denon agreed that this is something completely not right. Ill be taking it to the local service center on Monday and getting it repaired.

-Matt

To follow up, this was not a Denon issue. The default volume on my PS3 was set to +4 somehow. All I had to do was turn that down and it seems to have fixed the issue. Woohoo!

-Matt
mgproudfit is offline  
post #4963 of 5196 Old 02-08-2012, 09:38 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 42,997
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 349 Post(s)
Liked: 1317
Great! No repair required. Thanks for reporting back.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #4964 of 5196 Old 02-09-2012, 10:32 AM
Newbie
 
leffegnu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello guys

I have a most annoying problem with my AVR-1610. In movies I have good sound from all my speakers except my center, I have a 5.1 system, (Dynavoice Challenger M-65 EX and a XTZ subwoofer).

I have done the speaker configurations a few times and the settings seems to be good but as soon I watch a movie I have to turn up the volume quite a bit to hear what´s being said.

I watch movies trough a PS3 system.

Appreciate any help
leffegnu is offline  
post #4965 of 5196 Old 02-09-2012, 12:32 PM
Senior Member
 
allbaugh_04's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 377
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
There's a button you can push which cycles through all the gains on each speaker including the subwoofer.

The channel level is the button. See what that says and cycle to until you get to the center channel.
allbaugh_04 is offline  
post #4966 of 5196 Old 02-09-2012, 12:39 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 42,997
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 349 Post(s)
Liked: 1317
Quote:
Originally Posted by leffegnu View Post

Hello guys

I have a most annoying problem with my AVR-1610. In movies I have good sound from all my speakers except my center, I have a 5.1 system, (Dynavoice Challenger M-65 EX and a XTZ subwoofer).

I have done the speaker configurations a few times and the settings seems to be good but as soon I watch a movie I have to turn up the volume quite a bit to hear what´s being said.

I watch movies trough a PS3 system.

Appreciate any help

In addition to using the "CH Level" button on the remote to bump up the center channel a few db to suit your preference, also ensure the center speaker is pulled out (if stuck inside a cabinet) to the edge as well as angled up/down as necessary to be pointing directly at your head when seated in the #1 mic position (ie. main listening position). If you do make any speaker placement adjustments, be sure to run AUTO SETUP again.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #4967 of 5196 Old 02-10-2012, 01:31 AM
Newbie
 
leffegnu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi

Great tip about raising the center with the CH Level button, I have it at +7,5 now and now I hear what´s going on =)

My center speaker is positioned above my 50” television on a slight tilting downwards the sofa so it is clear from any obstacles.

A new questing pops in my head now, should I re-run the auto setup once more or will it just scale down the center adjustments I just made?

Really thankful for all help already received from you guys =)
leffegnu is offline  
post #4968 of 5196 Old 02-10-2012, 06:02 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 42,997
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 349 Post(s)
Liked: 1317
^^
Making channel level adjustments doesn't require rerunning AUTO SETUP, rather only adding new speakers or repositioning the current ones would.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #4969 of 5196 Old 02-10-2012, 10:00 AM
Senior Member
 
allbaugh_04's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 377
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Auto setup is for distance only, just from my memory, don't quote me.

If you find the dialogue weak, just use channel adjustment, at least that's what I do.
allbaugh_04 is offline  
post #4970 of 5196 Old 02-11-2012, 10:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mr.kludge's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,946
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by allbaugh_04 View Post

Auto setup is for distance only, just from my memory, don't quote me.

If you find the dialogue weak, just use channel adjustment, at least that's what I do.

Sorry, can't resist quoting you ;-). Not true A.S. determines distance, level, multiband EQ, phase and depending on the level of Audessey in the Denon sets a host of sub characteristics. Also x-overs, LFE cutoff, speaker size and I'm sure a few other things are set as well that I have forgot about.

Batpig and JDSmoothie are for sure rolling their eyes and can chime in if I missed something or called something the wrong thing.
mr.kludge is offline  
post #4971 of 5196 Old 02-17-2012, 02:50 PM
Member
 
bottlefed1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just bought a new TV and now I have a problem with the receiver. Before I switched TV's when I would turn everything off for the night and then turn on just the TV in the morning the receiver would be on the input it was on when i turned it off now the receiver defaults to the TV input and I get no signal on my screen. I have to turn on the receiver and change it from the TV input back to sat/cable. I also loose sound every so often when just watching TV normally. It just cuts out and i have to either turn the receiver on and off again or just leave it on.
bottlefed1 is offline  
post #4972 of 5196 Old 02-17-2012, 03:42 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 42,997
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 349 Post(s)
Liked: 1317
^^
This occurs because you have HDMI-CEC (Anynet+) on the TV enabled so disable it as the ARC feature will not pass audio to the AVR.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #4973 of 5196 Old 02-29-2012, 02:00 PM
Newbie
 
coditero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bugeyedcivic View Post

Hi,

I was peeping into my AVR1610 internals for the first time through the ventilation hole when I thought I saw something unfamiliar. Opened up the casing and saw this cured yellowish coating on some of the parts (including some small lengths of wire)





Is this some lacquer coating on the transformer, e.g? Is this normal or my AVR is overheating? Appreciate any advice. Thanks.

I noticed same thing in my receiver. What is this?! Receiver works normal.
coditero is offline  
post #4974 of 5196 Old 03-11-2012, 04:34 PM
Member
 
tibz35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Looking for anyone who has experience with the AVR590 receiver and the Sharp LC70LE732 (70LE732) 70" TV.

I had my setup working perfectly on my LG 50" TV (Satelite and HTPC). I've now mounted this 70" monster and I cannot get it to display through the receiver. I have hooked the HTPC directly to the TV via HDMI and it works (somewhat, resolutions look like ass).

Does anyone have any experience with these two units?

Please help
tibz35 is offline  
post #4975 of 5196 Old 03-24-2012, 11:43 AM
Newbie
 
meatee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have an AVR-590, and HDMI video is 'blurring' slightly when running through the receiver (it seems to affect red colors specifically). If I turn my receiver off and let the video pass-through while it's on standby, the red blurring goes away. I assume this is caused by some sort of video processing in the receiver, that is turned off when it goes into standby.

Is this affecting anyone else with this model, or is there an option that I can turn off somewhere that will disable the video processing possibly? I've hunted around in the menu looking for something, but I can't find anything.

I also suspect that the video processor that creates the on-screen menu may be causing the red blurring as well. Is there a way to completely disable the on-screen menu?
meatee is offline  
post #4976 of 5196 Old 03-24-2012, 12:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
spivonious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Lancaster, PA, USA
Posts: 1,941
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
@meatee - afaik, the 590 does no video processing and is simply an HDMI switch.
spivonious is offline  
post #4977 of 5196 Old 03-24-2012, 12:21 PM
Newbie
 
meatee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by spivonious View Post

@meatee - afaik, the 590 does no video processing and is simply an HDMI switch.

This is what I thought too, but something is causing the blurring effect. It only happens while the receiver is turned on, so I'm not sure what else could be the problem. Could some sort of interference inside the receiver be degrading the HDMI signal?

This is connected to a Sony KDL-40V3000 lcd tv, and the problem occurs with every device I have connected to the receiver (PS3, Xbox 360, and HTPC with Nvidia GeForce GTX 560-Ti).

I've had this issue for a couple years now, but just decided today to ask about it. The blurring isn't really visible from my couch, you can only notice it when you're right in front of the TV, so that's why I haven't really worried about it. But, I would still like to figure out the problem if possible!
meatee is offline  
post #4978 of 5196 Old 03-24-2012, 04:50 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 42,997
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 349 Post(s)
Liked: 1317
^^
Have you tried adjusting the video parameters on the TV's HDMI input (or tried the other HDMI inputs) at all to resolve the issue?

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #4979 of 5196 Old 04-01-2012, 09:50 AM
Member
 
haberskir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Detroit, MI
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
This morniing I turnd on the TV and ... no Sound. Also when I went to the setup menu it looked like this...

Parameter
Information
.
Manual Setup
Input Setup

I tried everything including reseting the micro processor. I guess i should have searched this forum before I did all that.

After just one search I found my answer....dust in the headphone jack

THANKS GUYS

I may not post much but I love reading these forums.

Robert from Detroit
haberskir is offline  
post #4980 of 5196 Old 04-03-2012, 05:02 PM
Member
 
baller4ever85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

As JChin notes ... the majority of posters with this issue were able to resolve it by either blowing compressed air into the headphone jack or inserting/removing a headphone plug into the headphone jack a few times.

I had the same problem and the headphone trick worked, thanks
baller4ever85 is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Denon Avr1610 5 1 Channel Home Theater Receiver With 1080p Hdmi Connectivity , Denon Avr590 5 1 Channel Home Theater Receiver
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off