*OFFICIAL* Denon AVR 1610/590 owner's thread - Page 174 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
Reply
Thread Tools
post #5191 of 5221 Old 04-22-2014, 01:07 PM
Newbie
 
Turismo31's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

New the the Forum/HT community!

 

I am the proud new owner of an AVR 590 and am loving it so far.

Just unboxed it last night and roughly setup the existing mediocre speakers I have, but what a difference a good receiver makes.

 

We just purchased a house of our own so its time to setup the mini man cave (upstairs) for now until I finish the basement.

I had a cheap samsung HTIB 5.1 for a while just to get off the ground and it was OK for a cheap starter.

I have some decent Sony 3 way towers hooked up in the front with the kit samsung center and surrounds which are capable

of maybe 15 watts before sounding like complete S%#*.  I can hardly turn the Denon up to -6db before the center bottoms out.

 

Just added a Polk PSW10 the other day and coming from a passive sub I am satisfied with its performance for now, but I can

see myself needing an upgrade soon with this receiver.  I have already ordered some new 12GA wire and banana jacks to rewire everything properly.

 

My next step (I think?) should be to get a set of matched front/center speakers to make everything come alive.  I will then probably move the Sony towers to the rear for the mean time.  Any good suggestions for a nice set of fronts to match with this setup?

Turismo31 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5192 of 5221 Old 04-22-2014, 01:32 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 25,375
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1420 Post(s)
Liked: 1747
Is it too late to return the Polk? Entry level Polk subs have a pretty poor performance reputation and you can do a LOT better for not much more money. Especially for a dedicated "man cave" you want powerful subwoofers, they are really the most important ingredient for a great HT experience.

That said, yes, getting a matching front soundstage is very important for HT. It's hard to make suggestions without some details like approximate budget, size of the room, etc. With an AVR 590 (btw -- where did you "unbox" it, this receiver is now about 5 years old! did you buy a refurb?) which doesn't have a ton of power, you'd probably want to get reasonable sensitive speakers so they can be driven to good levels without distorting or straining the receiver. Also if you are willing to shop used for better value, knowing your local craigslist metro area can be helpful.

Frankly for now I would disconnect the crap speakers and just run 2ch with the Sony towers until you get better gear. The HTIB speakers are probably garbage and you should just sell them with the whole HTIB set and direct the money towards your REAL setup smile.gif

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is offline  
post #5193 of 5221 Old 04-22-2014, 03:16 PM
Newbie
 
Turismo31's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

When I say unboxed I mean from the seller haha.  I know it is an older receiver but for the money I paid it is great bang for the buck.  The Polk was a CL score for $60 so Im not mad at that money spent, I know I can do much better but for starters it should do.  The budget is not huge for right now (willing to spend several hundred on USED front speakers) and the room is roughly 18x14 the TV is a 50" LED LG.  Usually the setup is only running PS4 or bluray hardly watch any TV in this room.  From what I have been seeing out there, $300-400 should net me pretty decent front monitors.

Turismo31 is offline  
post #5194 of 5221 Old 04-22-2014, 04:09 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 25,375
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1420 Post(s)
Liked: 1747
Just to be clear, is 18x14 the current room or the future basement setup? That's probably the more important part to optimize for if that will be the long term home.

Also you failed to mention your local craigslist metro area. That will help if you want someone else to scope out used deals.

For $60 the PSW10 will do fine as a temp fill-in. It would probably be the first in line for an upgrade when you do set up the basement. You could probably repurpose it in another setup (e.g. the living room) where deep, thundering bass isn't as important as the REAL setup.
Turismo31 likes this.

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is offline  
post #5195 of 5221 Old 04-22-2014, 06:43 PM
Newbie
 
Turismo31's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

That is the current size, the final setup will be more than likely double that, conservatively.  I am in the Baltimore area.  Another plus is, like you said, I can re-purpose the setup for another area which will be my garage.  I am going to do audio in there as well when I am working and use an A/B channel for outdoor speakers on the patio.

Turismo31 is offline  
post #5196 of 5221 Old 06-14-2014, 08:01 AM
Member
 
Shadowdane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 179
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Still loving my AVR-590! Couldn't really live without Audyssey so I even bought a 2nd one for my PC setup.

Have my 2nd AVR-590 powering my Definitive ProMonitor 800 speakers and Outlaw M8 sub!
Shadowdane is offline  
post #5197 of 5221 Old 07-25-2014, 10:06 PM
Newbie
 
mfc90125's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Passthrough Issues

Greetings - sorry if this has been covered in a previous post...

I have the 590 connected to my BD and HTPC components which go through the 590, but I'm having issues with my HTPC being recognized by my Samsung PN58C550 when the 590 is off. When I turn the television on, I am sometimes given a NO SIGNAL. Yet I have set up the HDMI Passthrough to HDMI3 (the location of my HTPC). The signal does come when I turn the 590 on and select the SAT/CBL button, but sometimes the video will convert to 720 instead of staying at 1080. I have to minimize my Windows Media Center and then maximize it for the video issue to clear up.

I know this must be an error on my part, as there's a setting somewhere I've missed. I also took the advice of many sites to turn off the CEC on the television. If I do that, then I get no audio when I turn the 590 on. Sometimes if I turn the 590 on to get the HTPC to recognize and then shut off the 590, my screen and audio return and I can now use the HTPC.

I've really mucked this portion up pretty good!

Thanks for your help in advance.

Matt
mfc90125 is offline  
post #5198 of 5221 Old 07-26-2014, 02:39 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 48,736
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2948 Post(s)
Liked: 1969
^^
Try placing an HDMI splitter/switch between the AVR and the TV and run it for a few minutes. Then place the splitter/switch between the HTPC and the AVR.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVS - We sell Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #5199 of 5221 Old 07-27-2014, 10:23 AM
Newbie
 
mfc90125's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
UPDATE: I've been able to get it working temporarily by pressing the STANDBY button on the receiver off and then on again. But I can't see this working as a long term solution.

Samsung pn58c550; Denon AVR-590; Sony BDP-s270; WMC7 HTPC w/Hauppauge 1850 Dual Tuner; RCA Performance Series OTA; HP MediaSmart EX490; Harmony 880 Remote, Lenovo N5901 Mini Wireless Keyboard/Mouse Combo
mfc90125 is offline  
post #5200 of 5221 Old 08-04-2014, 11:47 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi - we finally moved and unpacked our Denon receiver. I'm getting sound if I hook up a source via HDMI, but not if I connect by analog cables. I made sure to go into settings and make sure HDMI isn't one of input settings for the input modes I'm selecting. Help! Thanks.
sunchung is offline  
post #5201 of 5221 Old 08-04-2014, 12:37 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
afrogt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 23,708
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 406 Post(s)
Liked: 453
What's kind of source is it and what input is it connected to?

Afro GT
afrogt is online now  
post #5202 of 5221 Old 08-26-2014, 06:24 PM
Newbie
 
reet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My receiver suddenly lost all video output yesterday. I can't get anything out of hdmi or component. I tried resetting but that didn't do anything but erase my audyssey settings. Anyone have any idea or is time to get in the market for a new receiver?
reet is offline  
post #5203 of 5221 Old 12-04-2014, 05:47 PM
Newbie
 
doublejz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just bought a 4k tv and should be here this weekend. I'm trying to figure out if I need to change up my wiring.

Does anyone know if running my inputs through the 1610 will decrease the quality? Debating if I need to rewire everything so the input sources go directly (HDMI) to the TV and then run optical from the inputs to the AVR.
doublejz is offline  
post #5204 of 5221 Old 12-04-2014, 05:59 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 25,375
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1420 Post(s)
Liked: 1747
Quote:
Originally Posted by doublejz View Post
I just bought a 4k tv and should be here this weekend. I'm trying to figure out if I need to change up my wiring.

Does anyone know if running my inputs through the 1610 will decrease the quality? Debating if I need to rewire everything so the input sources go directly (HDMI) to the TV and then run optical from the inputs to the AVR.
It depends on the source. If you don't have any 4k sources, then they can continue to pass through the 1610 just fine, and the 4k display will then scale the signals (1080p or less) when it arrives. There shouldn't be any degradation when passing through video signals, but this factor is independent of whether your TV is 1080p or 4k native resolution.

If you also are going to add 4k sources, they cannot pass through the receiver. The 1610 is too old to support 4k passthrough. So a 4k source would need to connect directly to the TV.

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is offline  
post #5205 of 5221 Old 12-07-2014, 04:45 PM
Member
 
murph3699's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
3.1 Set up

I'm moving next month and the good news is I grabbed a nice set of Paradigms (upgrade from Cambridge Soundworks) for the front, center, front to go along with my SVS sub but the bad news is I probably won't be able to have rear speakers. Is there a good setting for 3.1 with the 1610? Will Audessy automatically compensate?
murph3699 is offline  
post #5206 of 5221 Old 12-07-2014, 05:27 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 48,736
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2948 Post(s)
Liked: 1969
^^
Yes. Just run Audyssey and the AVR will down mix all content to 3.1.
murph3699 likes this.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVS - We sell Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #5207 of 5221 Old 12-07-2014, 06:57 PM
Member
 
murph3699's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank you. I've had it set up for five years and haven't messed with it once. Its like getting it brand new all over again.
murph3699 is offline  
post #5208 of 5221 Old 12-09-2014, 04:22 PM
Newbie
 
tdroz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm having a recurring problem with my 590. The rear right speaker will occasionally go silent with a faint hissing sound. To remedy the problem for a while, I go into setup and check the speaker levels and play the test tone to all speakers. I've also done 2 resets, changed the speaker wires and speakers, and it's always the rear right speaker. Any suggestions? (I'm eyeing a $299 Sony STR-DN840 at Costco for a replacement, but would rather fix my 590 ).

Thanks,
Tim
tdroz is offline  
post #5209 of 5221 Old 12-09-2014, 06:12 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 48,736
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2948 Post(s)
Liked: 1969
^^
A repair is likely to cost at least $200 although if you have an authorized repair facility nearby perhaps they can give you an estimate.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVS - We sell Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #5210 of 5221 Old 12-30-2014, 09:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
TH3_FRB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Posts: 1,471
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 120 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quoting from WAAAAAY back but I just started at the beginning of the thread hoping I would find my answer in some of the initial discussion of features. I've had my 590 for years but recently moved and added a projector to my system so I'm trying to figure out the most simple way to get everything running. Does the HDMI audio/video pass-through work with all HDMI inputs? I'll have a Fios box, Roku3, and BluRay player and I'd like the option of using any of them with only the TV speakers OR firing up the AVR sound system. I don't remember why exactly but I believe in the past I ran HDMI from my Fios directly to the TV and then also optical from the Fios to the AVR but that still forced me to use the AVR sound system for everything except the Fios box audio. I may have had a problem with the audio pass through or just didn't understand how to set it up correctly. My TV is a Samsung PN58C8000 with Anynet+ (HDMI-CEC). I want to avoid running multiple HDMI to my TV because I need a single output that I can split to the TV and the PJ for all sources so passing the audio through the AVR tot he TV is ideal.


Quote:
Originally Posted by batpig View Post
Quote:So I gather the only way to get vid/aud passthrough via HDMI when the receiver is off is to turn HDMI control ON?


correct, that is the function of the HDMI Control feature, it allows HDMI 1.3 devices with CEC control to "link up" and enables the passthrough when on standby.

Quote:I also read in the manual that this will work only with "compatible" devices...is there a list of these devices anywhere?


I believe the display requires HDMI CEC functionality, you should check with the manual of your TV.

Quote:Is it easy to switch audio modes? If my gf doesn't want 5.1 when watching tv but just wants 2.0 or 2.1--how easy is that to do? I assume just pressing a button?


yes, very easy. towards the bottom of the 1610 remote are a "D/ST" button, which toggles between Direct and Stereo modes (2.0 or 2.1 depending how you configure your system), and a "STD" button which engages the "standard" surround decoding mode.
TH3_FRB is online now  
post #5211 of 5221 Old 12-30-2014, 09:50 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 48,736
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2948 Post(s)
Liked: 1969
Quote:
Originally Posted by TH3_FRB View Post
Quoting from WAAAAAY back but I just started at the beginning of the thread hoping I would find my answer in some of the initial discussion of features. I've had my 590 for years but recently moved and added a projector to my system so I'm trying to figure out the most simple way to get everything running. Does the HDMI audio/video pass-through work with all HDMI inputs? I'll have a Fios box, Roku3, and BluRay player and I'd like the option of using any of them with only the TV speakers OR firing up the AVR sound system. I don't remember why exactly but I believe in the past I ran HDMI from my Fios directly to the TV and then also optical from the Fios to the AVR but that still forced me to use the AVR sound system for everything except the Fios box audio. I may have had a problem with the audio pass through or just didn't understand how to set it up correctly. My TV is a Samsung PN58C8000 with Anynet+ (HDMI-CEC). I want to avoid running multiple HDMI to my TV because I need a single output that I can split to the TV and the PJ for all sources so passing the audio through the AVR tot he TV is ideal.
The HDMI Standby Source setting can be set for either the LAST source used or a specific input HDMI1/HDMI2/HDMI3. With the 590 powered ON, you can change the HDMI Audio Out setting to "TV" to pass audio from one of the HDMI sources to the TV instead of using the surround speakers. Cable/sat boxes often have HDMI handshake issues with AVRs with the work around being box (HDMI) --> TV and box (optical) --> AVR.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVS - We sell Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #5212 of 5221 Old 12-30-2014, 10:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
TH3_FRB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Posts: 1,471
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 120 Post(s)
Liked: 27
So it sounds like what I want can't cleanly be done. It will pass through whatever the last source used was. I guess my plan B would be a 4X2 matrix switch with remote. I can run all sources into the switch and then send audio/video to the TV via a single HDMI and route audio from the TV to the AVR via optical for when I want to run the full system. I can also run the other switch output to the AVR and out from the AVR to my projector. My Harmony remote should be able to handle learning codes for the switch and everything can be automated. The matrix feature is useless to me but I don't know if I can find an HDMI switch with a splitter built in and no sense in having an additional splitter in the mix.

EDIT - despite the added clutter of having both a switch and a splitter, I already have a 2X splitter and found a very highly rated 4X1 switch for a good price. Going this route would allow me to eliminate the need for the optical link. I'd run everything through the switch and then to the AVR. Then from the AVR to the splitter and out to the TV and projector. Using a single HDMI input on the AVR would let me assign a permanent pass through channel and accomplish everything I'm looking to do. I should be able to set up my Harmony One to learn the switch IR codes to change sources and never need to change the source on the AVR.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
The HDMI Standby Source setting can be set for either the LAST source used or a specific input HDMI1/HDMI2/HDMI3. With the 590 powered ON, you can change the HDMI Audio Out setting to "TV" to pass audio from one of the HDMI sources to the TV instead of using the surround speakers. Cable/sat boxes often have HDMI handshake issues with AVRs with the work around being box (HDMI) --> TV and box (optical) --> AVR.

Last edited by TH3_FRB; 12-31-2014 at 11:47 AM.
TH3_FRB is online now  
post #5213 of 5221 Old 01-14-2015, 05:44 PM
Newbie
 
tdroz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tdroz View Post
I'm having a recurring problem with my 590. The rear right speaker will occasionally go silent with a faint hissing sound. To remedy the problem for a while, I go into setup and check the speaker levels and play the test tone to all speakers. I've also done 2 resets, changed the speaker wires and speakers, and it's always the rear right speaker. Any suggestions? (I'm eyeing a $299 Sony STR-DN840 at Costco for a replacement, but would rather fix my 590 ).

Thanks,
Tim
Since this post I've tried the Sony STR-DN840 at Costco and I ended up returning it since I had issues with HDMI switching. I put my 590 back into action and turned the 590 HDMI control setting for my TiVo OFF, and my speaker issue has gone away for now. I'll report back later to update on whether this is my solution!
tdroz is offline  
post #5214 of 5221 Old 01-16-2015, 02:33 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Nuisance Shutdown Issue

Yikes, over 5200 posts in this thread! I can't find a result by searching the thread alone, so I'll just dive in and ask the question.

I have an AVR-1610. Occasionally, when playing a movie via HDMI from a Sony BDP-BX57 blu-ray player, at relatively high audio levels, I get what sounds like clipping from the center speaker, and if the level isn't reduced, the unit will shut down. I don't think it's an overheat issue: the unit can be immediately turned back on, and it restarts with no delay, so there's no cooldown/reset process going on. Plus, when playing a digital audio source on another input (not HDMI), I can play at much higher levels with no shutdown issues.

My wife watches more movies than I do, and she says it only happens when playing a movie from disk, but not when using the same wifi-enabled blu-ray player to stream a movie.

Having the 1610 shut down right in the middle of an important scene is really irritating. In my searching around for an answer to this issue, I saw some mention of a firmware update, but couldn't find any more about it and finally ended up on this thread. Is this a known issue? Is it related to input level issues rather than output levels? Thanks to anybody who has any ideas on this...

Gnortsboy
Gnortsboy is offline  
post #5215 of 5221 Old 01-16-2015, 04:42 PM
Member
 
westgstreet's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have an AVR-1610 that is in perfect condition. I still have the box and all the accessories. Decided to downgrade to a soundbar. PM me if anyone of you is in the San Diego area and interested
westgstreet is offline  
post #5216 of 5221 Old 01-16-2015, 05:17 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 48,736
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2948 Post(s)
Liked: 1969
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gnortsboy View Post
Yikes, over 5200 posts in this thread! I can't find a result by searching the thread alone, so I'll just dive in and ask the question.

I have an AVR-1610. Occasionally, when playing a movie via HDMI from a Sony BDP-BX57 blu-ray player, at relatively high audio levels, I get what sounds like clipping from the center speaker, and if the level isn't reduced, the unit will shut down. I don't think it's an overheat issue: the unit can be immediately turned back on, and it restarts with no delay, so there's no cooldown/reset process going on. Plus, when playing a digital audio source on another input (not HDMI), I can play at much higher levels with no shutdown issues.

My wife watches more movies than I do, and she says it only happens when playing a movie from disk, but not when using the same wifi-enabled blu-ray player to stream a movie.

Having the 1610 shut down right in the middle of an important scene is really irritating. In my searching around for an answer to this issue, I saw some mention of a firmware update, but couldn't find any more about it and finally ended up on this thread. Is this a known issue? Is it related to input level issues rather than output levels? Thanks to anybody who has any ideas on this...

Gnortsboy
Check there are no loose speaker wires from one speaker post touching another, otherwise, sounds like your center speaker has a blown tweeter.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVS - We sell Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #5217 of 5221 Old 01-21-2015, 05:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TH3_FRB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Posts: 1,471
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 120 Post(s)
Liked: 27
I can't seem to decipher the instructions to adjust audio delay in the manual on page 43. The first thing it says is to press the triangle (up?) button to set the OSD to off. Am I supposed to be in some specific menu to begin with? I have to be missing something stupid obvious here.
TH3_FRB is online now  
post #5218 of 5221 Unread Today, 05:46 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
How do I connect to a PC? Specifically Alienware Optical S/PDIF Output...?

Hi Everyone,

I have been searching far and wide for a solution and stumbled upon this thread. I am somewhat of an Audio Technical noob however was hoping someone could answer what I think is a simple question.

I recently moved house where I was previously running my AVR-1610 on a dedicated secondary Xbox / Plasma setup. Now we have downgraded to a single TV I figured I should try to find a use for my 1610 rather than selling it.

I have an Alienware PC which has two digital audio outputs - (1x) SPDIF Digital Output (TOSLINK) and (1x) SPDIF Digital Output (Coax).

Is it possible for me to run an optical output from the PC to the Amp? I notice there is only 2 x Optical ports on the Amp - OPT-1 (TV) and OPT-2 (DVR).

I have attempted to run the cable into both ports and turned the Amp to those Sources without any luck. I have no idea if this is because a) it is not possible or b) I need to ammed settings on the Audio settings on the PC or Amp in some way.

Any guidance or education would be welcomed!

Thanks
Brozwell is offline  
post #5219 of 5221 Unread Today, 06:02 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 48,736
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2948 Post(s)
Liked: 1969
^^
PC connections don't always work, but at a minimum PC firmware should be up to date and PC settings correctly set to pass audio from the optical output as opposed to the PC speakers.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVS - We sell Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #5220 of 5221 Unread Today, 06:15 AM
Senior Member
 
dbrons's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: La Costa CA
Posts: 214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
and PC settings correctly set to pass audio from the optical output as opposed to the PC speakers

On my taskbar at bottom of screen there is the little speaker icon. Click on it and the volume mixer pops up. On the left is the "device" with a drop down menu that will let you switch from speakers to s/pdif
dbrons is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Denon Avr1610 5 1 Channel Home Theater Receiver With 1080p Hdmi Connectivity , Denon Avr590 5 1 Channel Home Theater Receiver
Gear in this thread - Avr590 by PriceGrabber.com



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off