*OFFICIAL* Denon AVR 1610/590 owner's thread - Page 2 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 5202 Old 06-17-2009, 07:09 PM
Member
 
QN52's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So I gather the only way to get vid/aud passthrough via HDMI when the receiver is off is to turn HDMI control ON?

I also read in the manual that this will work only with "compatible" devices...is there a list of these devices anywhere?

I want to be able to watch tv and whatnot sometimes without having the surrourd or stereo going.

Is it easy to switch audio modes? If my gf doesn't want 5.1 when watching tv but just wants 2.0 or 2.1--how easy is that to do? I assume just pressing a button?
QN52 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 5202 Old 06-17-2009, 08:49 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 24,700
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 909 Post(s)
Liked: 1430
Quote:
So I gather the only way to get vid/aud passthrough via HDMI when the receiver is off is to turn HDMI control ON?

correct, that is the function of the HDMI Control feature, it allows HDMI 1.3 devices with CEC control to "link up" and enables the passthrough when on standby.

Quote:
I also read in the manual that this will work only with "compatible" devices...is there a list of these devices anywhere?

I believe the display requires HDMI CEC functionality, you should check with the manual of your TV.

Quote:
Is it easy to switch audio modes? If my gf doesn't want 5.1 when watching tv but just wants 2.0 or 2.1--how easy is that to do? I assume just pressing a button?

yes, very easy. towards the bottom of the 1610 remote are a "D/ST" button, which toggles between Direct and Stereo modes (2.0 or 2.1 depending how you configure your system), and a "STD" button which engages the "standard" surround decoding mode.

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is online now  
post #33 of 5202 Old 06-18-2009, 07:45 AM
Member
 
QN52's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't see anything in the manual. My TV is Samsung LN-S4096D bought in January 2007.
QN52 is offline  
post #34 of 5202 Old 06-18-2009, 08:13 AM
Member
 
zero383's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm looking to buy the AVR-590, whenever it's available in Canada. I asked the Best Buy here and they didn't have a clue. This is my first ever receiver which I'm gonna pair up with a set of Energy Take Classics. I've done a lot of reading and it this appears to be a good setup for the price. Thanks batpig for your guides. I'm sure I'll be using them They can be used for the new models right? I heard they revamped their text based interface.

I've noticed the remote for the 590 is different than the other ones. I don't really like the "flip around to reveal more buttons" style of the other ones. I'm hoping this one has all the buttons one one side.
zero383 is offline  
post #35 of 5202 Old 06-18-2009, 09:04 AM
Newbie
 
gomdori's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by zero383 View Post

I'm looking to buy the AVR-590, whenever it's available in Canada. I asked the Best Buy here and they didn't have a clue. This is my first ever receiver which I'm gonna pair up with a set of Energy Take Classics. I've done a lot of reading and it this appears to be a good setup for the price. Thanks batpig for your guides. I'm sure I'll be using them They can be used for the new models right? I heard they revamped their text based interface.

I've noticed the remote for the 590 is different than the other ones. I don't really like the "flip around to reveal more buttons" style of the other ones. I'm hoping this one has all the buttons one one side.

I believe Best Buy will carry 1610 model in their Magnolia section and 590 model will be available only on their website.

I'm going with an almost similar setup except I got myself a 1910 instead of 1610/590. I did get Energy Take Classic 5.0 with S8.3 sub. Check out Vanns for Energy speakers. As for 590, you can pick it up for just hairline under 300 at Electronics Expo with a coupon code "RECEIVERSALE" which will get you a discount for 80 bux. Just make sure you hyphenate "-" their name when you go to their website otherwise it might take you to a porn site.....
Good luck!
gomdori is offline  
post #36 of 5202 Old 06-18-2009, 09:45 AM
Member
 
zero383's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gomdori View Post

I believe Best Buy will carry 1610 model in their Magnolia section and 590 model will be available only on their website.

I'm going with an almost similar setup except I got myself a 1910 instead of 1610/590. I did get Energy Take Classic 5.0 with S8.3 sub. Check out Vanns for Energy speakers. As for 590, you can pick it up for just hairline under 300 at Electronics Expo with a coupon code "RECEIVERSALE" which will get you a discount for 80 bux. Just make sure you hyphenate "-" their name when you go to their website otherwise it might take you to a porn site.....
Good luck!

Is that the US Best Buy you're referring to? In Canada, I've never seen any of the 4 digit models, only the 3 digit. I'm trying to avoid buying from the States because of the customs/shipping fees to Canada.

I got the Energy Takes for $399 Canadian at Future Shop. Regular was like $799.00 CDN.
zero383 is offline  
post #37 of 5202 Old 06-18-2009, 09:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Davidt1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,279
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I incorrectly said I saw the 1610 at Fry's. It was the 590 that I saw. They sell it at full price, $350. As stated elsewhere, the difference is the extra pair of speaker B on the 1610. It sure has lots of features for the price. I am also considering the 1910 because it has 2 switched outlets. But I read somewhere the HDMI has to be turned off for the switched outlets to work. Does that mean HDMI audio in standby mode will be disabled? Thanks.
Davidt1 is offline  
post #38 of 5202 Old 06-18-2009, 10:09 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 24,700
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 909 Post(s)
Liked: 1430
correct. when HDMI control is ON (which allows for audio passthrough on Standby), the "switched" outlets will cease to be switched and remain active when the Denon is in Standby.

so if you want to use the "HDMI Control" feature, you have to live with the fact that the switched outlets will not be switched.

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is online now  
post #39 of 5202 Old 06-18-2009, 11:33 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SpHeRe31459's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 1,017
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Davidt1 View Post

I incorrectly said I saw the 1610 at Fry's. It was the 590 that I saw. They sell it at full price, $350. As stated elsewhere, the difference is the extra pair of speaker B on the 1610. It sure has lots of features for the price. I am also considering the 1910 because it has 2 switched outlets. But I read somewhere the HDMI has to be turned off for the switched outlets to work. Does that mean HDMI audio in standby mode will be disabled? Thanks.

What Fry's was it? I didn't know Fry's had much of any Denon stuff.
Also I don't see Fry's on Denon's authorized dealer list... what happens if I buy it from Fry's?
SpHeRe31459 is offline  
post #40 of 5202 Old 06-18-2009, 11:36 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 24,700
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 909 Post(s)
Liked: 1430
my local Fry's in socal carry the three-digit Denon models. I got my AVR 888 there last year.

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is online now  
post #41 of 5202 Old 06-18-2009, 11:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SpHeRe31459's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 1,017
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by batpig View Post

my local Fry's in socal carry the three-digit Denon models. I got my AVR 888 there last year.

Cool, since I previously thought Denon was out of my price/feature range I probably never really noticed.

What about the authorized reseller part? Denon's list online seems to be rather small, I gather it is incomplete?
SpHeRe31459 is offline  
post #42 of 5202 Old 06-18-2009, 11:53 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 24,700
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 909 Post(s)
Liked: 1430
Fry's is definitely an authorized seller.

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is online now  
post #43 of 5202 Old 06-18-2009, 03:08 PM
Member
 
Chris_Fig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gomdori View Post

I believe Best Buy will carry 1610 model in their Magnolia section and 590 model will be available only on their website.

I'm going with an almost similar setup except I got myself a 1910 instead of 1610/590. I did get Energy Take Classic 5.0 with S8.3 sub. Check out Vanns for Energy speakers. As for 590, you can pick it up for just hairline under 300 at Electronics Expo with a coupon code "RECEIVERSALE" which will get you a discount for 80 bux. Just make sure you hyphenate "-" their name when you go to their website otherwise it might take you to a porn site.....
Good luck!

Vanns has the Energy TAKE 5.0 Classic pretty cheap which I've been tempted to buy, but have been hooked on the Orbs and am saving to get the so they go with the 1610/590.
Chris_Fig is offline  
post #44 of 5202 Old 06-20-2009, 08:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Davidt1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,279
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by SpHeRe31459 View Post

What Fry's was it? I didn't know Fry's had much of any Denon stuff.
Also I don't see Fry's on Denon's authorized dealer list... what happens if I buy it from Fry's?

Fry's not only has Denon receivers but also Martin Logan speakers and subs -- the higher end stuff. I was over there again today. I did the hand on top temperature test among various low end receivers they have. Denon was the coolest, then Yamaha, then HK, then Onkyo.

The low end receivers are pretty capable and feature-rich, so it's hard to pick a complete standout. One brand might have something the others don't. It's like an agreement among themselves to leave out certain features. Buyers will just have to decide which features they can do without.

The 1610 is still my top pick because I like the design and the remote control compared to that dumbass 1910 remote. I think the quick source select buttons on Denon receivers and redundant and unnecessary. There is already knob for selecting the sources. They could have used those 3 buttons for other things.
Davidt1 is offline  
post #45 of 5202 Old 06-20-2009, 08:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SpHeRe31459's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 1,017
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the info on the temperature. I think I'm going to go to Fry's on Monday and see if I can snag a 590. No one has the 1610 in stock near me, and really there isn't a significant difference between them, especially because I don't care to run A/B sets of speakers.
SpHeRe31459 is offline  
post #46 of 5202 Old 06-21-2009, 06:37 AM
Member
 
Kartoon2005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Brooklyn
Posts: 131
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Placed an order from Electronics-expo yesterday for the Denon 1610 + Energy Speakers for $500 including shipping with their receiver sale code.

Can't wait to hook them up with the SVS PB12-NDS
Kartoon2005 is offline  
post #47 of 5202 Old 06-23-2009, 06:05 AM
Member
 
Dingo76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just received the AVR-1610 yesterday. I have not been able to hook it up yet, I am waiting for new HDMI cables. First impression, it is not as deep (front to back) as I thought it would be or what the Denon site mentioned. It is definitely not 17.1 inches in depth and that is including knobs and speaker terminals. I will measure tonight and give a more accurate measurement but I think it is closer to 15 inches in depth. Otherwise it is a nice looking receiver. I am going to hook it up and do all the calibrations on Thursday, assuming I get my cables in time. Will keep you updated.
Dingo76 is offline  
post #48 of 5202 Old 06-23-2009, 09:36 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 24,700
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 909 Post(s)
Liked: 1430
the dimension specs on Denon's site are clearly a typo, I think another owner has already confirmed it is taller than listed. If you look at the pictures the 1610/590 uses the exact same chassis as the 1910/790 (just like last year) so the dimensions should be identical to the 1910 (6.7" high and 14.9" deep).

Also, the manual lists the correct dimensions: 17.1" wide, 6.7" high, 14.9" deep

It would be awesome if you could measure and confirm though, just to put this puppy to rest.

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is online now  
post #49 of 5202 Old 06-23-2009, 10:22 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 12,284
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 470 Post(s)
Liked: 645
Cleveland Plasma is offline  
post #50 of 5202 Old 06-23-2009, 10:41 AM
Member
 
Chris_Fig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I read around the forums that some models in the past generation of Denon AVRs had some handshaking issues with Sony TVs, I've got a Sony 40" XBR4 and really like the 1610, but haven't pulled the trigger due to this Sony-Denon past.

Can anyone confirm if this has been corrected with this new lineup? Thanks.
Chris_Fig is offline  
post #51 of 5202 Old 06-23-2009, 01:52 PM
Member
 
Dingo76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Batpig's numbers are pretty much right on. The size of the receiver is this:

15" Depth with back speaker terminals and front volume knob
13" Depth without back speaker terminals and front volume knob
6 5/8" Tall with feet
5 7/8" Tall without feet
17" Wide
Dingo76 is offline  
post #52 of 5202 Old 06-23-2009, 01:59 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 24,700
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 909 Post(s)
Liked: 1430
Chris_Fig -- I'm sorry to say that there have been reports of Sony TV issues in the 1910/790 thread. You should read through it and see what you think.

I wouldn't be too scared, just buy from a place with a good return policy just in case. I think many people have zero issues and you never hear them on these forums, only the people with problems are actually posting.

HDMI is simply a goofy format where usability has been compromised for the end user thanks to the stranglehold of digital copy protection (HDCP) garbage. For most people, and most devices, there are no problems, but once you start switching the HDMI sources through a switch you never know what kind of problems can result. It's almost always with cable boxes, but in many ways it's just luck of the draw.

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is online now  
post #53 of 5202 Old 06-23-2009, 04:29 PM
Newbie
 
Pesto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just got my Denon 1610 2-hours ago! i have it all hooked up to my two front speakers and sub (Klipsch RF-52/RW-10d) and i don't hear the sub at all. I did the Audyssey set-up and followed the batpig set-up guide, so i think its all set-up right (unless i totally goofed something up). This is my first set-up in my new house, and i'm waiting on the rear and center speakers to come in (RS-10, RC-10). Any ideas why the sub isn't putting out?

I've tried a few types of inputs, FM Radio, Xbox360 on HDMI, and my DVR on Component/Optical.

Thanks!
Pesto is offline  
post #54 of 5202 Old 06-23-2009, 04:52 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 24,700
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 909 Post(s)
Liked: 1430
I am assuming Audyssey recognized the sub during the test tone chirps, correct?

Go to MANUAL SETUP > SPEAKER SETUP and check: are your speakers set to LARGE or SMALL? if they are set to large, change them to small and then set a crossover frequency to 80Hz and you should hear the sub.

The "small/large" setting is not about the physical size of your speakers, it is telling your receiver to redirect the low bass from your main speakers to the subwoofer. If the speakers are set to large, no bass is being redirected to the sub.

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is online now  
post #55 of 5202 Old 06-23-2009, 05:06 PM
Newbie
 
Pesto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
yup, it sure did.. i heard its subtle thumping, and made sure the speakers were set to Small.
Pesto is offline  
post #56 of 5202 Old 06-23-2009, 06:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SpHeRe31459's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 1,017
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Woot just got my 590 from Fry's this afternoon. Tomorow morning when things are cooler (no need for A/C) and quieter around my complex I'll be setting it up
SpHeRe31459 is offline  
post #57 of 5202 Old 06-23-2009, 06:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SpHeRe31459's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 1,017
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pesto View Post

yup, it sure did.. i heard its subtle thumping, and made sure the speakers were set to Small.

What's the crossover on the sub itself? Maybe it is set incorrectly?
SpHeRe31459 is offline  
post #58 of 5202 Old 06-23-2009, 06:45 PM
Newbie
 
Pesto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My sub itself is set to Lowpass: 120hz and volume is at default value of 0db (range is -38db to +11db).

Still messing around with it trying to figure out what setting i'm overlooking..
Pesto is offline  
post #59 of 5202 Old 06-23-2009, 07:16 PM
Newbie
 
Pesto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pesto View Post

My sub itself is set to Lowpass: 120hz and volume is at default value of 0db (range is -38db to +11db).

Still messing around with it trying to figure out what setting i'm overlooking..

Actually i found the Lowpass can be changed to OFF, so it rely's on the Denon 1610 crossover. I played with several settings (so i dont know what it is that fixed it) but i got it working now and everything sounds AWESOME!
Pesto is offline  
post #60 of 5202 Old 06-23-2009, 08:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SpHeRe31459's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 1,017
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pesto View Post

Actually i found the Lowpass can be changed to OFF, so it rely's on the Denon 1610 crossover. I played with several settings (so i dont know what it is that fixed it) but i got it working now and everything sounds AWESOME!

Yeah I was going to ask you about that, I looked up your sub's manual and found that it can be turned off
SpHeRe31459 is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Denon Avr1610 5 1 Channel Home Theater Receiver With 1080p Hdmi Connectivity , Denon Avr590 5 1 Channel Home Theater Receiver
Gear in this thread - Avr590 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off