*OFFICIAL* Denon AVR 1610/590 owner's thread - Page 61 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1801 of 5196 Old 12-30-2009, 01:22 PM
Advanced Member
 
CHolleman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Posts: 930
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

If you connect either an S-video or composite video from the source to the 1610, the manual indicates it should switch over to that output when the Menu button is pressed and display the menu over the display. Not sure whether the volume bar would display as well or not. On the older AVRs, the only way to get the volume bar is to also connect a S-video or composite to the TV as well.

sorry, just a little confused. so with composite/svideo connected and using the HDMI source to watch/listen to tv, the volume bar would be overlayed? this doesn't make sense since you'd think the input would have to switch to show the bar, which would majorly annoying and totally not worth it.
CHolleman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1802 of 5196 Old 12-30-2009, 01:40 PM
Senior Member
 
Crash11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Jackson, MI
Posts: 366
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Anyone have any recommendations for me as to where to find this receiver (1610/590) for under $300? I'm ready to buy now if I can get it under $300, otherwise I'm waiting for the Pioneer 519 to get back in stock somewhere.
Crash11 is offline  
post #1803 of 5196 Old 12-30-2009, 02:33 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,037
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 360 Post(s)
Liked: 1327
Quote:
Originally Posted by Halvo View Post

got it. any recommendations for a Blu Ray with this capability?

The Oppo 83 is often mentioned in these threads although it will set you back more than the 1610 would. Just google "BDP multi channel analog."

Quote:
Originally Posted by CHolleman View Post

sorry, just a little confused. so with composite/svideo connected and using the HDMI source to watch/listen to tv, the volume bar would be overlayed? this doesn't make sense since you'd think the input would have to switch to show the bar, which would majorly annoying and totally not worth it.

The manual (p. 12) indicates the switch to the S-video/composite input happens automatically. We need someone to confirm though by connecting up a cable to their source and the 1610 and giving it a try.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #1804 of 5196 Old 12-30-2009, 03:13 PM
Newbie
 
shafu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

The DirecTV remote will indeed power on/off the Denon AVR although you really do need to reconsider using a Harmony for the WAF. Only having to press a single button to turn whatever you want ON will get you points.


So to confirm, the Denon AVR only uses one IR code for ON and Standby? Even though the remote that comes with it has it on two seperate buttons? I dug around some Directv DVR websites and it looks like the PWR button on the Directv remote only passes on IR code for that button. This would be a deal breaker for getting the Denon and the most likely candidate then would be a Pioneer.

I'd like to get a Harmony remote but 90% of what we watch is off of the DVR and the DVR remote is best suited for that (Directv has color buttons, seperate navigation buttons and play buttons etc...).

Thanks.
shafu is offline  
post #1805 of 5196 Old 12-30-2009, 04:36 PM
Member
 
FTA_FTW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Alright so I just hooked up my 590 to three speakers: Polk Audio RTia5 (LEFT and RIGHT) and a 5.25" PA center channel. I will be getting a sub and rear surround speakers in a few months.

Ive ran the Auddessey auto setup and things went smooth. However, I am a little confused with the selection of the surround sound... Previously, I had a Sony HTIB that I ran my PS3 to via optical... that receiver at an "Auto" option where it would automatically selection Dolby Digital 5.1 or DTS 5.1...

What I want to know is, how do I put my Denon 590 to an "auto" option... I tested a blu ray on Dolby Cinema... should I selection Dolby Cinema or the DTS one? I also saw there is a Video Games selection as well. This is a little annoying to constantly change this, cant I just set it to auto?
FTA_FTW is offline  
post #1806 of 5196 Old 12-30-2009, 04:41 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,037
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 360 Post(s)
Liked: 1327
Quote:
Originally Posted by shafu View Post

So to confirm, the Denon AVR only uses one IR code for ON and Standby?

Correct. The DirecTV PWR button turns the AVR ON and OFF.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #1807 of 5196 Old 12-30-2009, 04:41 PM
Advanced Member
 
CHolleman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Posts: 930
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by shafu View Post

So to confirm, the Denon AVR only uses one IR code for ON and Standby? Even though the remote that comes with it has it on two seperate buttons? I dug around some Directv DVR websites and it looks like the PWR button on the Directv remote only passes on IR code for that button. This would be a deal breaker for getting the Denon and the most likely candidate then would be a Pioneer.

I'd like to get a Harmony remote but 90% of what we watch is off of the DVR and the DVR remote is best suited for that (Directv has color buttons, seperate navigation buttons and play buttons etc...).

Thanks.

even though it has two buttons, they only perform their respective assignments. i just tested it on mine. OFF turns the AVR off, PWR turns it on. ridiculous, i know...

i've successfully programed my fios remote to turn the AVR off and on and control the volume(i probably does more, but i haven't delved that far into it). seeing that the latest generation pioneers have tested poorly with regards to power output, i think it would be a dis-service to yourself to not select an excellent receiver because of a perceived button issue.
CHolleman is offline  
post #1808 of 5196 Old 12-30-2009, 04:43 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,037
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 360 Post(s)
Liked: 1327
Quote:
Originally Posted by FTA_FTW View Post

What I want to know is, how do I put my Denon 590 to an "auto" option... I tested a blu ray on Dolby Cinema... should I selection Dolby Cinema or the DTS one? I also saw there is a Video Games selection as well. This is a little annoying to constantly change this, cant I just set it to auto?

The best "auto" mode is simply pressing the STD (Standard) button on the remote. It will then play DD/DTS/MULT CH/bitstream when 5.1 audio is received and DD PLII - Cinema when a stereo source is received (commercials and SD channels).

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #1809 of 5196 Old 12-30-2009, 04:46 PM
Member
 
FTA_FTW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

The best "auto" mode is simply pressing the STD (Standard) button on the remote. It will then play DD/DTS/MULT CH/bitstream when 5.1 audio is received and DD PLII - Cinema when a stereo source is received (commercials and SD channels).

Ok which option though, Dolby or DTS Neo:6?


And will this be okay for blu-ray movies and ps3 games?
FTA_FTW is offline  
post #1810 of 5196 Old 12-30-2009, 04:50 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,037
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 360 Post(s)
Liked: 1327
You're welcome to try all those different surround modes and see which you prefer. However, if as you said, you want to set it and forget it, just leave it on Dolby. It will still play the HD DTS audio tracks, DTS NEO is just another simulation surround mode.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #1811 of 5196 Old 12-30-2009, 08:35 PM
Member
 
blynott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crash11 View Post

Anyone have any recommendations for me as to where to find this receiver (1610/590) for under $300? I'm ready to buy now if I can get it under $300, otherwise I'm waiting for the Pioneer 519 to get back in stock somewhere.

I have heard that some people got the 1610 for $299 or even $279 from either Electronics Expo or 6th Ave by calling them. Check online for possible coupon codes. I paid $319 at OneCall after I put in a desired price of $299 on their website. Even though they advertised $379 they emailed me a better price. I tried an online chat at EE, but they would only come down to $329 for me! Give a call and tell them what you want to pay, it can't hurt. BTW, the 590 should be less.

Bob
blynott is offline  
post #1812 of 5196 Old 12-30-2009, 08:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JChin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Mesquite Tx
Posts: 8,431
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 122
Quote:
Originally Posted by blynott View Post

I have heard that some people got the 1610 for $299 or even $279 from either Electronics Expo or 6th Ave by calling them. Check online for possible coupon codes. I paid $319 at OneCall after I put in a desired price of $299 on their website. Even though they advertised $379 they emailed me a better price. I tried an online chat at EE, but they would only come down to $329 for me! Give a call and tell them what you want to pay, it can't hurt. BTW, the 590 should be less.

+1 and don't forget to call J&R Electronics
JChin is offline  
post #1813 of 5196 Old 12-30-2009, 09:42 PM
Member
 
matryx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 198
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Pre-outs to expand to 7.1; add a two-channel amp to power "rear" or "height" channels with PLIIx/z (respectively)

Does this mean I can use the preamp outputs to connect an external amp to power the front speakers instead of adding to the 7.1?
matryx is offline  
post #1814 of 5196 Old 12-31-2009, 02:07 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,037
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 360 Post(s)
Liked: 1327
Sorry, but no. It means those pre-outs are for either adding "front height" or "rear surround" speakers. The lowest level 2010 model with "front main" pre-outs is the 3310 (or 2809 for 2009 models).

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #1815 of 5196 Old 12-31-2009, 03:39 AM
Advanced Member
 
wmarkw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 639
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Maybe 6th ave will have their name your price promo again in JAN. I got mine in Sept. for $265.
wmarkw is offline  
post #1816 of 5196 Old 12-31-2009, 06:12 AM
Member
 
slaughinghouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by blynott View Post

I have heard that some people got the 1610 for $299 or even $279 from either Electronics Expo or 6th Ave by calling them. Check online for possible coupon codes. I paid $319 at OneCall after I put in a desired price of $299 on their website. Even though they advertised $379 they emailed me a better price. I tried an online chat at EE, but they would only come down to $329 for me! Give a call and tell them what you want to pay, it can't hurt. BTW, the 590 should be less.

Got mine for $260 + $19.99 shipping at EE, but that was just after Thanksgiving. There's a code you can use at EE that usually gives a discount, too. PM me for it, unless it's alright to post here. I've heard 6th Ave is a good place to order from as well also.

Somebody lemme know if my post is inappropriate.

Got my blue light....got yours?
slaughinghouse is offline  
post #1817 of 5196 Old 12-31-2009, 06:48 AM
Advanced Member
 
CHolleman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Posts: 930
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
alright, i need a better explanation of the term "front height". i searched a bit on here and could only find that it's a feature of Dolby PLIIz. can someone explain it better and why i would want to set my front's to that? thanks.

edit: never mind i found what i was looking for. only used with 7.1
CHolleman is offline  
post #1818 of 5196 Old 12-31-2009, 06:59 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,037
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 360 Post(s)
Liked: 1327
Front height speakers are used "in lieu of" 7.1. By connecting an external amp to the 1610 pre-out jacks you can add either rear surround speakers (7.1) or front height speakers (5.1+2).

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #1819 of 5196 Old 12-31-2009, 07:11 AM
Member
 
blynott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by slaughinghouse View Post

Got mine for $260 + $19.99 shipping at EE, but that was just after Thanksgiving. There's a code you can use at EE that usually gives a discount, too. PM me for it, unless it's alright to post here. I've heard 6th Ave is a good place to order from as well also.

Somebody lemme know if my post is inappropriate.

Slaughinghouse - Unfortunately I saw your code on the other thread right after I received my 1610. However I'm having so much fun with it that I don't care about paying a little extra. I just watched Transporter 3 in Bluray and it was a "Blast"!

Bob
blynott is offline  
post #1820 of 5196 Old 12-31-2009, 07:30 AM
Member
 
slaughinghouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes, the 1610 is a great receiver. I've had no problems with it so far.

Got my blue light....got yours?
slaughinghouse is offline  
post #1821 of 5196 Old 12-31-2009, 08:06 AM
Member
 
slessard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crash11 View Post

Anyone have any recommendations for me as to where to find this receiver (1610/590) for under $300? I'm ready to buy now if I can get it under $300, otherwise I'm waiting for the Pioneer 519 to get back in stock somewhere.

I bought mine here: http://www.antonline.com/p_AVR590-NX_638930.htm
slessard is offline  
post #1822 of 5196 Old 12-31-2009, 12:46 PM
Newbie
 
chastjw71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I hooked up my 590 yesterday, works great with PS3 and the direct tv dvr, everything is hooked up with HDMI cables, now to my problem, the blu ray player, a samsung 4600, when playing the previews and menu the volume works fine, once the main movie starts the volume is so low you can barely hear it even with volume up all the way, the blue light, hd audio is lit, I press source a few times and then I get volume, I'll save it to the quick present but when I come back to another movie I dont always get proper volume, and once again I'll press source a few times and it will work, there doesnt seem to be any specific setting that causes the volume to work again?????? anyone else with this problem??? I've read most of this thread and seen some simular volume issues but with the cable boxes not blu ray. thanks in advance
chastjw71 is offline  
post #1823 of 5196 Old 12-31-2009, 12:56 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,037
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 360 Post(s)
Liked: 1327
This is a known issue as noted here. You can either set your BD player to PCM (and get the same HD audio but with no blue light) or send in the 590 for the firmware update.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #1824 of 5196 Old 12-31-2009, 01:15 PM
Newbie
 
chastjw71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
thanks, that worked like a charm
chastjw71 is offline  
post #1825 of 5196 Old 12-31-2009, 01:48 PM
Newbie
 
dpbohr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Michigan
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello All,

Been reading through this forum, and gaining a lot of insight and I want to first thank all of you for a great forum, as I have learned more here then I thought I would.

I just bought my first Denon. This is replacing my old Sony Dreamsystem. Now I actually bought the DHT-590BA. Yes, I do understand that the BA MCS 90 speakers are not the best. I do plan to upgrade in future, but so far, in my apartment they do sound decent. However, I was reading through the speaker manual, and it states that the suggested crossover frequency for the subwoofer should be set at 150Hz. I read through both the Denon manual and BatPigs manual, and I don't see where to set this. I was wanting to know if this is setup in the LPF for LFE under Bass Setting. Currently after running Auto setup, it has all my speakers as small, and crossover for the front and center set at 100Hz and surround set at 80Hz. So far it sounds pretty good, however my friend states that it is lacking in the Mids. I assume that this is more the speakers then the receiver. He tells me that Denon's typically run more in the highs.

I guess I am just wanting to learn more about what I have dived into and would welcome any additional information you can provide.

Thanks for you help!
dpbohr is offline  
post #1826 of 5196 Old 12-31-2009, 01:56 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,037
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 360 Post(s)
Liked: 1327
Yes, the LPF for LFE setting is where you want to make that setting, however, it's generally recommended to set the LPF for LFE to 120hz vice 150hz. All speakers should be set to SMALL as they are now set. As your surrounds are the same type speakers as your mains, you might want to bump up their crossover from 80hz to 100hz as well. Make sure that Audyssey Dyn EQ is turned ON. And generally recommended to use Dyn Vol (Evening setting) for TV watching.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #1827 of 5196 Old 12-31-2009, 02:10 PM
Newbie
 
dpbohr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Michigan
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank you for the info! I will give that a shot and let you know!
dpbohr is offline  
post #1828 of 5196 Old 01-01-2010, 01:41 AM
Newbie
 
Nebau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi guys, I bought the AVR-590 a few days ago and am very happy with it so far...Just a couple of things that have been eating away at my mind (haha - sad but true):

1) Is it normal on these units for the AC cord connection to be slightly loose? It's not about to just fall out, and does stay in place, but can be wobbled downwards with a little force, that's not to say it can be pulled out with a little force, just that it's not quite as snug as my PS3 or PC PSU AC cords are.

2) Is it normal for the unit to make a clicking noise when muting, similiar to the relay noise after power on?

3) Where I live it gets up to 40 degrees celsius (in Summer), and our air-con is broken. It's in a TV cabinet with enough clearance & I keep the cabinet door open when in use. Is it OK to use in these temps?

Thanks =)
Nebau is offline  
post #1829 of 5196 Old 01-01-2010, 04:10 AM
Newbie
 
morphmkd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,
I just bought this receiver and so far it is really great.
There is one thing that is bothering me and I can't seem to be able to fix it.

I have connected my computer to the coax digital input of the 1610 and have mapped this input to the VCR input of the 1610.
I set it to use auto as the input mode.
If i go to VCR using the yellow VCR button then the input is set to Auto and this is fine. But if I go to VCR/iPod using the quick select button then the audio input is set to Analog and I have to manually set it to auto or digital.
Can this be fixed so that the quick select buttons will remember to use auto as input mode?
Can quick select buttons be set to use other inputs other then the predefined ones? The only setting I found for quick select buttons is to change the displayed names.
morphmkd is offline  
post #1830 of 5196 Old 01-01-2010, 05:22 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,037
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 360 Post(s)
Liked: 1327
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nebau View Post

Hi guys, I bought the AVR-590 a few days ago and am very happy with it so far...Just a couple of things that have been eating away at my mind (haha - sad but true):

1. A few posters of made this comment, so although not normal, some have noted this as well. If it concerns you, and is easily exchanged, do so, otherwise, you should be fine.

2. Yes.

3. If the AVR gets too hot it will go in to Protection Mode and shut down to protect itself from overheating. As long as this doesn't happen, you're good to go. Otherwise, you may want to consider picking up a small fan that can exhaust the warm air out of the cabinet.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Denon Avr1610 5 1 Channel Home Theater Receiver With 1080p Hdmi Connectivity , Denon Avr590 5 1 Channel Home Theater Receiver
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off