*OFFICIAL* Denon AVR 1610/590 owner's thread - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5196 Old 06-05-2009, 11:49 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 23,788
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 134 Post(s)
Liked: 921

FOR GENERAL FAQ AND DENON SETUP HELP, PLEASE VISIT:
http:/batpigworld.com/


Denon AVR 1610 product page:
http://www.usa.denon.com/ProductDetails/4865.asp

Denon AVR 590 product page:
http://www.usa.denon.com/ProductDetails/4881.asp


AVR 1610 ($379) / AVR 590 ($349) Feature Summary:

- 5.1 channels (75W x 5) of built-in amplification
- Pre-outs to expand to 7.1; add a two-channel amp to power "rear" or "height" channels with PLIIx/z (respectively)
- full HD audio support including Dolby TrueHD + DTS-MA decoding
- 3 HDMI 1.3a inputs, 2 component video inputs (60 MHz bandwidth)
- 2 optical / 1 coaxial digital audio inputs
- Seven fully assignable video source "names" (TV, CBL/SAT, DVD, HDP, DVR, VCR, V-AUX)
- Full Audyssey suite (MultEQ + Dynamic EQ + Dynamic Volume) with adjustable reference level for Dynamic EQ
- Will convert analog video to HDMI output (and deinterlace 480i > 480p if your TV needs it) but no scaling
- OSD will show over HDMI, but will not overlay unless you are using an S-video / composite source
- 1610 adds "B" front speakers (590 only has "A" front speakers)
- New one-sided remote!!

"Trickle down" functionality/features that weren't on 589/1609 models:

- Source Delete / Rename
- Full OSD which will show up over HDMI (but no overlay)
- Video conversion up to HDMI (this is on automatically with no ability to adjust settings; 480i analog will be deinterlaced to 480p automatically if your TV doesn't accept 480i, but there is no scaling)
- Component video bandwidth up to 60MHz (will not degrade 720p/1080i signals)




OTHER FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS



Q. What is the difference between the three-digit models (e.g. AVR 590) and the four-digit models (e.g. AVR 1610)?

A: Essentially, NOTHING. Denon puts out two parallel receiver lineups, with four-digit and three-digit model numbers. The four-digit models are generally sold by high end stereo shops and custom installers, and the three-digit models are the "consumer" version sold in retail outlets like Circuit City and Fry's.

However, there is ZERO difference in terms of power, specs, sound quality, build quality, etc. between the two lines. Denon has been doing this for years, it is exactly analagous to the Yamaha HTR and RX-V parallel receiver lines.

There will usually be one or two minor differences to differentiate the three-digit and four-digit models. There is typically a slight cosmetic difference between the two lines, and different remotes.

In the specific case of the 1610 vs. 590, the only differences (besides the cosmetics) is that the 1610 has A/B speaker switching, whereas the 590 only has "A" front speakers

In all other respects, the 1610 and 590 are IDENTICAL.

For more info, please see the Denon Model Numbers page at batpigworld:
http://batpigworld.com/models.html


Q. What do I gain from stepping up to the 1910/790, as opposed to just buying the lower-priced AVR 1610/590 model?

A: The 1610 (aka 590) is a very full-featured entry level model that will be sufficient for most people. It has 3 HDMI inputs, full HD audio decoding, analog > digital video conversion (so you can run one HDMI cable to your TV for all sources), and the full "Audyssey suite" of MultEQ + Dynamic EQ + Dynamic Volume. The 1910 / 790 is very similar and built on the same platform / chassis. They have similar amp sections, identical processing and DAC's, etc.

The following are the "step up" features you gain from going to 1910 (aka 790):

1. The 1910 is a full 7.1 receiver. The 1610/590 is a 5.1 receiver (5 amps built in) but can be expanded to 7.1 using the "Rear/Height" pre-outs to add an external amplifier. You have your choice of 7.1 expansion methods, either PLIIx (standard 7.1 with 2 "rear" channels) or PLIIz (5.1 + 2 "height" channels).

2. The 1910 has a 4th HDMI input, and adds an extra coaxial digital audio input

3. The 1910 is spec'd for more power, 90W x 7

4. The 1910 has full video scaling, of both analog and digital video, up to 1080p, and these video settings are adjustable by input. The 1610 has no scaling, and no adjustable settings; it simply automatically converts analog video to digital. Everything else goes out at the same resolution it came in (unless your TV doesn't accept 480i over HDMI, in which case the signal is deinterlaced 480i>480p)

5. The 1910 has 2-zone/2-source capability (no multizone on 1610), and the 1910 (not 790, see above) has a "room to room" remote control jack for wired control from Zone 2.

6. The 1910 has extra inputs: a Sirius input jack, a "CD" analog input, and 7.1 multichannel analog inputs

7. The 1910 has two switched power outlets on the back

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5196 Old 06-05-2009, 11:50 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 23,788
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 134 Post(s)
Liked: 921
reserved

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is online now  
post #3 of 5196 Old 06-05-2009, 02:48 PM
Newbie
 
chriscar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My 1610 is on the UPS truck for delivery today, I can't wait! AFAIK, I'll be the first on the forum to have one.

C
chriscar is offline  
post #4 of 5196 Old 06-10-2009, 02:28 AM
Member
 
matbl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Sweden
Posts: 165
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by chriscar View Post

My 1610 is on the UPS truck for delivery today, I can't wait! AFAIK, I'll be the first on the forum to have one.

C

When you do get it. Can you please measure its height with and without feet?
I think the specifications on the US denon web-site is wrong.
Thanks in advance.
matbl is offline  
post #5 of 5196 Old 06-10-2009, 01:21 PM
Member
 
gusbuf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
First off, I have a Frenchie, so I love the Frenchie on your site. Secondly, will the 590/1610 pass audio and video over HDMi or just video like last year's models did? IF you mentioned it in your breif synopsis of the model and I misread, I apologize. Regardless, this inof would b helpful. Thanks.
gusbuf is offline  
post #6 of 5196 Old 06-10-2009, 02:06 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 23,788
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 134 Post(s)
Liked: 921
yes, the entire 2010 Denon line has full HD audio support. I added this to the first post to be clear.

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is online now  
post #7 of 5196 Old 06-12-2009, 07:31 PM
Newbie
 
deljaso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just got my 1610 yesterday and got a chance to set it up.
I decided to wing it on the setup, then check myself against batpig's guide -- great info in there, thanks a lot!

Can anyone else confirm that when the receiver is in standby, even with HDMI control on, you get video passed through to your tv but no audio?
deljaso is offline  
post #8 of 5196 Old 06-12-2009, 08:05 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 23,788
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 134 Post(s)
Liked: 921
both video + audio should pass through in Standby when HDMI Control is set to "on". Only will work with HDMI sources though.

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is online now  
post #9 of 5196 Old 06-12-2009, 09:05 PM
Newbie
 
deljaso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the quick response, batpig. I went back and have been testing for the last hour.
Wacky things seem to happen with my digital cable dvr box (motorola dch6416), connected to the receiver and then my Samsung A550 lcd. Xbox and PS3 work fine going through without the receiver on.

I keep audio if I turn off the 1610 after already having cable box/tv up and synced, but if the receiver is off when either the tv or cable box is power cycled, I get weird results depending on the order of power up of the two devices (once or twice got the "your hdmi repeater is not protecting the signal and we're not gonna send video" from the dvr).
Tried turning off ANYNET on the A550, but it didn't help. I like leaving anynet on, so my harmony when in tv mode will control the receiver volume. I know I can just remove the buttons/move them around, but my family is used to using the soft buttons I put on the screen for volume/channel

Not a big deal. I really like the receiver. Maybe I'll start complaining to my cable company and see if they have anything newer (that hopefully doesn't run at 1000 degrees all day long, even when off ).
deljaso is offline  
post #10 of 5196 Old 06-13-2009, 09:10 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 23,788
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 134 Post(s)
Liked: 921
hmmm, sounds like some funny handshake issue between the cable box and TV. did you ever get this issue running HDMI straight to the TV from the cable box?

definitely check to see if there is a firmware update for your TV and your cable box, and also see if the cable company will swap out the box for something newer. unsurprisingly, the crappy box the cable company "loans" you isn't built to the most exacting standards

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is online now  
post #11 of 5196 Old 06-15-2009, 07:27 AM
Member
 
kingraf68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 83
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just received my 1610, but I havent had a chance to set it up. I will report back with my experience soon
kingraf68 is offline  
post #12 of 5196 Old 06-15-2009, 10:05 PM
Member
 
DavidTigerFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Goose Creek, SC, USA
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just got a 1610 from amazon to try to fix the HDMI problems I'm having with an Onkyo tx-sr507 I am having. We'll see what works.
DavidTigerFan is offline  
post #13 of 5196 Old 06-16-2009, 01:46 PM
Member
 
Kartoon2005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Brooklyn
Posts: 131
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DavidTigerFan View Post

I just got a 1610 from amazon to try to fix the HDMI problems I'm having with an Onkyo tx-sr507 I am having. We'll see what works.

What problem are you having with the SR507? I am debating whether to get a Onkyo or Denon specifically either this model 16010/590 or the SR507. Please let us know how things go with the 1610 and the SR 507. Looking forward for a good review.
Kartoon2005 is offline  
post #14 of 5196 Old 06-16-2009, 02:40 PM
Member
 
DavidTigerFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Goose Creek, SC, USA
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kartoon2005 View Post

What problem are you having with the SR507? I am debating whether to get a Onkyo or Denon specifically either this model 16010/590 or the SR507. Please let us know how things go with the 1610 and the SR 507. Looking forward for a good review.

More info Here, but the gist is that I can't a Tivo series3 to pass any video or audio through the receiver. It looks like it can see the signal because the HDMI light comes on, but nothing on the TV. Directly connected the Tivo to the TV and everything works right.
DavidTigerFan is offline  
post #15 of 5196 Old 06-16-2009, 02:45 PM
Member
 
Kartoon2005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Brooklyn
Posts: 131
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I see, well please let us know how the Denon works out.
Kartoon2005 is offline  
post #16 of 5196 Old 06-16-2009, 02:59 PM
Newbie
 
deljaso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by matbl View Post

When you do get it. Can you please measure its height with and without feet?
I think the specifications on the US denon web-site is wrong.
Thanks in advance.

6 3/4" - 6 7/8" with feet (closer to 3/4).
I can't take the feet off, but in the cabinet, the feet are showing me about 5/8" tall.
deljaso is offline  
post #17 of 5196 Old 06-16-2009, 04:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SpHeRe31459's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 1,017
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So there's no way to defeat the 480i to 480p thing? I'd rather it leave it alone so I can let my Panny plasma do 480i and use its own non-linear stretch mode (pretty sure I can apply it to any resolution though, so it should be OK).
SpHeRe31459 is offline  
post #18 of 5196 Old 06-16-2009, 07:40 PM
Member
 
andtime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SpHeRe31459 View Post

So there's no way to defeat the 480i to 480p thing? I'd rather it leave it alone so I can let my Panny plasma do 480i and use its own non-linear stretch mode (pretty sure I can apply it to any resolution though, so it should be OK).

Oh crap, what's the story behind this? I'm on the fence between 1610 and 1910 and this conversion seems like the big difference... is this going to be an issue? What's your source?
andtime is offline  
post #19 of 5196 Old 06-16-2009, 08:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SpHeRe31459's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 1,017
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by andtime View Post

Oh crap, what's the story behind this? I'm on the fence between 1610 and 1910 and this conversion seems like the big difference... is this going to be an issue? What's your source?

I'm intending to use component from my Motorola DVR since HDMI isn't 100% perfect with it. It sends the SD signals through as 480i so I can let my plasma handle the aspect ratio.

Apparently the 1610 always deinterlaces 480i signals? The user manual in incredibly vauge.
SpHeRe31459 is offline  
post #20 of 5196 Old 06-16-2009, 11:10 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 23,788
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 134 Post(s)
Liked: 921
it's a non-defeatable 480i>p deinterlace. there are NO adjustible options for video conversion.

the 480i/p deinterlace is actually a GOOD thing. many TV's either don't accept 480i over HDMI and/or don't do a good job with SD processing. Scaling 480p > 1080p is a much easier process that any TV can do well; I'm confident the Denon will do a good job at 480i/p.

it won't affect your aspect ratio choices with your Panny plasma -- it will still "see" the 480p input as an SD channel and automatically apply your favorite stretch mode. With my Panny plasma I set my video conversion (with Denon 789) for 480i>p only, with HD channels left untouched, so the Panny recognizes and stretches the SD channels.

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is online now  
post #21 of 5196 Old 06-17-2009, 06:57 AM
Member
 
QN52's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I ordered this today as part of my new 5.1 system---dealer in Canada said it would not be available until early July?
QN52 is offline  
post #22 of 5196 Old 06-17-2009, 09:35 AM
Member
 
DavidTigerFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Goose Creek, SC, USA
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DavidTigerFan View Post

More info Here, but the gist is that I can't a Tivo series3 to pass any video or audio through the receiver. It looks like it can see the signal because the HDMI light comes on, but nothing on the TV. Directly connected the Tivo to the TV and everything works right.

Ok I'll be returning the Denon, not because it isn't a good receiver, but rather I got the Onkyo working. Turns out that one of the brand new HDMI 1.3a cables I bought from walmart is a POS. I swapped out to monoprice cables and everything works great.
DavidTigerFan is offline  
post #23 of 5196 Old 06-17-2009, 10:03 AM
Newbie
 
gomdori's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hi guys,
first of all, i gotta tell ya, this thread and forum helped me a lot to make my decision to move forward this my upgrade and purchases and i thank you for that!

now i decided on upgrading to ht system with my receiver and a set of speakers. i pre-ordered 590 from amazon.com and ordered my energy speakers from vanns.com are on the way. i was contemplating on whether to take energy take classic or c-50's. i like the bundle price from vanns for the classic plus s8.3 sub at 299 as well as the price from wwsound for c-50's plus s8.3 at 399. i'm kicking myself now that i ordered the former not the latter. i called vanns next day to cancel my order, but they said it's already been process and shipped. my initial thought process of going with the take classic was what if my wife disapprove having full size bookshelf around the livingroom rather than satelites. that's why i went with take classic rather than c-50's and like i said i'm kicking myself in the head now.

on the other hand, i calm myself down saying i'm upgrading from my sammy lcd tv speakers to 5.1 ht system, so i should just be content with it and move on for now......

now that i got it off of my chest about the speakers, i'll talk receivers. like i said i'm upgrading myself from tv speakers to ht system, so this is really a big upgrade like night and day, i hope. it's just that amazon.com has no sign of shipping out 590 anytime soon. luckily i found 1610 at electronics-expo at 298 with the discount (thanks to 1910 official thread).

here is my question. i got also drawn into picking up 1910 instead of 1610 from reading 1910 official thread as they have much more readings than this thread. should i pick up 1910 instead of 1610?
my main listening would be music source from my mac mini connected with optical cable as well as the movies from the computer. second would be watching tv and my wii comes in the last usage. i hear a lot on difficulties of setting it up on either model and upconverting difference between 1910 and 1610.
i'm open for suggestions based on my usage so i won't kick myself more over a receiver later on.......

thanks all in advance!
gomdori is offline  
post #24 of 5196 Old 06-17-2009, 10:10 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 23,788
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 134 Post(s)
Liked: 921
Quote:
i got also drawn into picking up 1910 instead of 1610 from reading 1910 official thread as they have much more readings than this thread. should i pick up 1910 instead of 1610?

the differences are clearly laid out in the first post. the price gap right now is only about $100, so just ask yourself if you will ever use any of those features and only you can decide it it's "worth it" to you.

for a relatively simple setup, where you don't need more than 3 HDMI inputs and will never use 7.1 or Zone 2, the 1610/590 will do everything you need. I would not worry too much about the video scaling, I think the 4th HDMI input and capability for 7.1 or multizone operation are really the important step-up features.

the speakers are more important than the receiver in terms of SOUND quality; spending more on a higher-end receiver is more about gaining extra features. I would set everything up with the Take Classics, run Audyssey, and see how it sounds. If you decide you want a little something extra, worst case scenario you can sell the Takes (keep the sub) and buy bigger speakers. Chances are you will be pretty pleased though

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is online now  
post #25 of 5196 Old 06-17-2009, 11:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SpHeRe31459's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 1,017
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by batpig View Post

it's a non-defeatable 480i>p deinterlace. there are NO adjustible options for video conversion.

the 480i/p deinterlace is actually a GOOD thing. many TV's either don't accept 480i over HDMI and/or don't do a good job with SD processing. Scaling 480p > 1080p is a much easier process that any TV can do well; I'm confident the Denon will do a good job at 480i/p.

it won't affect your aspect ratio choices with your Panny plasma -- it will still "see" the 480p input as an SD channel and automatically apply your favorite stretch mode. With my Panny plasma I set my video conversion (with Denon 789) for 480i>p only, with HD channels left untouched, so the Panny recognizes and stretches the SD channels.

Thanks for the info! So then it basically leaves it as 4:3 SD (it doesn't stretch it) but simply deinterlaces it to 480p?

And then just to be clear, the receiver will indeed do an A/D conversion on the 1080i (HD channels) from my cable box, but it of course just converts them and passes them on as-is. How's the conversion quality? I assume it is more than adequate for a rather highly compressed source like digital cable.

Oh and thanks again for all your help, your guide you link to in your signature is pretty helpful too
SpHeRe31459 is offline  
post #26 of 5196 Old 06-17-2009, 11:38 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 23,788
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 134 Post(s)
Liked: 921
from what I can tell, you are correct. 480i will be deinterlaced to 480p, and all other analog signals (such as 720p/1080i cable) will be converted to digital for HDMI output. there should be no change in the PQ, it just passes it through to your display.

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is online now  
post #27 of 5196 Old 06-17-2009, 01:43 PM
Newbie
 
gomdori's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
thanx a lot batpig! i just ordered 1910 for 440. having 3rd optical is also made difference. spent about 140 more for it, but i'm sure it'll be so worth it. now that i will have 1910 i will hit you up with more questions in official 1910 thread!!! see ya there!
gomdori is offline  
post #28 of 5196 Old 06-17-2009, 02:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Davidt1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,268
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I don't see a dimmer button on the 1910 remote control. Is there one? If not how do you dim the display with the remote control? Thanks. I know I am weird but these little convenience features are more important to me than the latest surround hypes and stuff.
Davidt1 is offline  
post #29 of 5196 Old 06-17-2009, 02:26 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 23,788
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 134 Post(s)
Liked: 921
bummer, it looks like this button has disappeared on the remote and is only found on the unit itself. you can also pre-set this in the OSD menus (MANUAL SETUP > OPTION SETUP > DISPLAY)

if you get a Harmony remote there is a discrete IR code for "Dimmer".

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is online now  
post #30 of 5196 Old 06-17-2009, 02:27 PM
Newbie
 
gomdori's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
someone just pm me but i couldn't reply since i have less than three posts. now with this being 3rd, i can send you a pm.....
gomdori is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Denon Avr1610 5 1 Channel Home Theater Receiver With 1080p Hdmi Connectivity , Denon Avr590 5 1 Channel Home Theater Receiver
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off