Denon AVR-4310CI Thread - Page 165 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4921 of 5307 Old 03-22-2012, 08:13 AM
Senior Member
 
drSeehas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Germany
Posts: 384
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ccotenj View Post

... were you decoding the hdcd in the player, or just passing it straight to the avr?

The Sony players (like most players) don't have a built-in HDCD decoder.
If you connect the player und the AVR with HDMI, the decoding has to be done in the AVR.
drSeehas is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4922 of 5307 Old 03-22-2012, 08:28 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
ccotenj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: the toxic waste dumps of new jersey
Posts: 21,915
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 89
^^^

ok, cool, was curious... thanks...

brought it up because with the oppo player, if you attempt to decode hdcd and then send it digitally to an avr, there's artifacts from the decoding process left over in the stream and the avr picks up on them and tries to switch into hdcd decoding mode (back and forth repeatedly, no less)...

i don't know if other players exhibit the same characteristics, which is why i asked...

- chris

 

my build thread - updated 8-20-12 - new seating installed and projector isolation solution

 


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

ccotenj is offline  
post #4923 of 5307 Old 03-22-2012, 08:38 AM
Senior Member
 
drSeehas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Germany
Posts: 384
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ccotenj View Post

... brought it up because with the oppo player, if you attempt to decode hdcd and then send it digitally to an avr, there's artifacts from the decoding process left over in the stream ...

As far as I know, you can set the OPPO players to not touch the stream and not decode HDCD.
Quote:


... and the avr picks up on them and tries to switch into hdcd decoding mode (back and forth repeatedly, no less)...

Interesting! The same happens with the european Sony Sx70 players.
Maybe they have a secret built-in HDCD decoder the hotline is not aware of?
drSeehas is offline  
post #4924 of 5307 Old 03-22-2012, 08:42 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
ccotenj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: the toxic waste dumps of new jersey
Posts: 21,915
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 89
^^^

yup... that's correct... official word from oppo is to just pass it through... which i do, and it works just fine that way...

LOL! one do never know, do one?

- chris

 

my build thread - updated 8-20-12 - new seating installed and projector isolation solution

 


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

ccotenj is offline  
post #4925 of 5307 Old 04-09-2012, 02:31 AM
Senior Member
 
starman7's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 332
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I am having a new issue with my Oppo BDP-95, Denon AVR-4310 and WD Elements 2TB hard drives.

When I listen to music files (most are MP4a) files from my ITunes library (saved on 3 WD Elements 2TB hard drives)... I get constant drop-outs throughout the music.

I am using HDMI (HDMI output 2 - set to Audio only "ON")
I also have ppo set to "Advanced in the East Set-Up".
HDMI Audio Out is set to "Bitstream".
"Bitstream" and "DSD" are set to "ON".
"HDCD" is set to "OFF".

The DENON AVR-4310 is a few years old but I was advised by both Oppo and Denon that these were the best settings for my application.

Any ideas?
starman7 is offline  
post #4926 of 5307 Old 04-09-2012, 03:07 AM
 
Splicer010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 7,819
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 32
You can try going into the 4310 menu under setup, then source select, and turn on HDMI from auto and see if that works.
Splicer010 is offline  
post #4927 of 5307 Old 04-09-2012, 03:26 AM
Senior Member
 
starman7's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 332
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Splicer010 View Post

You can try going into the 4310 menu under setup, then source select, and turn on HDMI from auto and see if that works.

Thanks... I will give that a try and let you know.
starman7 is offline  
post #4928 of 5307 Old 04-09-2012, 10:29 AM
Senior Member
 
starman7's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 332
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Splicer010 View Post

You can try going into the 4310 menu under setup, then source select, and turn on HDMI from auto and see if that works.

Thanks again. I already had the Denon AVR-4310 set that way... but I changed the OPPO 95's HDMI Deep Color from 36 bit to 30 bit and that seems to have solved it. Maybe the 36 bit Deep Color and the audio etc was too much for the HDMI lead and Denon to handle (hence the drop outs)????

Thank you again.
starman7 is offline  
post #4929 of 5307 Old 04-09-2012, 11:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
pbarach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 2,535
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 92
^^
There is no Deep Color source material, so no harm done.

AT&T U-Verse Northeast Ohio

Denon x4000, Samsung LED TV, B&W 704 mains, two M&K subwoofers, Oppo 103, etc.
pbarach is online now  
post #4930 of 5307 Old 04-15-2012, 10:30 AM
Member
 
charlyz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello guys, do you know if 4310s tuner supports RDS? Ie: show station and song names.

Actually my 4310 never shown that info when I listen radio. Maybe I missing something on how to activate.
Tks
charlyz is offline  
post #4931 of 5307 Old 04-15-2012, 01:17 PM
Member
 
dennisb92649's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by charlyz View Post

Hello guys, do you know if 4310s tuner supports RDS? Ie: show station and song names.

Actually my 4310 never shown that info when I listen radio. Maybe I missing something on how to activate.
Tks

HD radio definitely displays artist and song name on both the receiver and the on screen display. When tuning, the 4310 will automatically switch to the HD channel if it's available. I have not seen artist or song info prior to switching to the HD channel. All the stations I listen to have HD available.
dennisb92649 is offline  
post #4932 of 5307 Old 04-22-2012, 02:12 PM
Newbie
 
ekoblenz1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,
Question:
Can i take an optical cable out of my PS3 Slim straight to my AVR-4310CI and an HDMI cable straight to my TV in order to watch 3D movies, will that work?

What about 3D TV programing, any options for that to work via the AMP. ?

Appreciate the help !!
ekoblenz1 is offline  
post #4933 of 5307 Old 04-22-2012, 02:19 PM
 
Splicer010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 7,819
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 32
If the PS3 optical out is always on, I don't see why that wouldn't work.

Don't remember if the 4310 supports 'ARC' but if so that cures the problem with 3D TV...
Splicer010 is offline  
post #4934 of 5307 Old 04-22-2012, 02:20 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 44,476
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1023 Post(s)
Liked: 1506
Quote:
Originally Posted by ekoblenz1 View Post

Hi,
Question:
Can i take an optical cable out of my PS3 Slim straight to my AVR-4310CI and an HDMI cable straight to my TV in order to watch 3D movies, will that work?

What about 3D TV programing, any options for that to work via the AMP. ?

Appreciate the help !!

Yes, the optical connection will work. Although optical cannot pass the HD audio codecs, it will pass the higher bitrate DD/DTS tracks on BDs. Although the 4310CI might pass one or two 3D formats (eg. 720p 3D games), you would need a newer HDMI 1.4 AVR to pass full 3D 1080p video.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Splicer010 View Post

Don't remember if the 4310 supports 'ARC' but if so that cures the problem with 3D TV...

No .. the 4310CI is only HDMI 1.3.

---------------------------------
"JD" –
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Mon - Fri: 10am – 10pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Parasound
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #4935 of 5307 Old 04-22-2012, 03:03 PM
Newbie
 
ekoblenz1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks, that's what i thought. You spend a fortune on an AMP. and 2 years later it cant support the newest technology
ekoblenz1 is offline  
post #4936 of 5307 Old 04-22-2012, 03:13 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 44,476
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1023 Post(s)
Liked: 1506
^^
HDMI cert changed from the 1.3 to 1.4 the year after the 4310CI was released. The next big change will come next summer when 2.0 comes out.

---------------------------------
"JD" –
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Mon - Fri: 10am – 10pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Parasound
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #4937 of 5307 Old 04-22-2012, 03:24 PM
Newbie
 
ekoblenz1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So you would recommend on waiting and not get for instance the 4311CI ?
ekoblenz1 is offline  
post #4938 of 5307 Old 04-22-2012, 03:32 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 44,476
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1023 Post(s)
Liked: 1506
^^
Not at all .. as there are no details on HDMI 2.0 and the current HDMI 1.4 standard will likely suffice for awhile. Just saying, that unlike 10 years ago, technolgy will change a lot more frequently now.

---------------------------------
"JD" –
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Mon - Fri: 10am – 10pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Parasound
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #4939 of 5307 Old 04-25-2012, 09:45 AM
Advanced Member
 
Redbeemer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 578
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by ekoblenz1 View Post

So you would recommend on waiting and not get for instance the 4311CI ?

The 4311 will be replaced sometime this year with a new, "in between" model that straddles the 4311 and 4810. It may be called something like the 4520 since it is not a direct replacement for the 43XX series. It is rumored to list for $2,499. It should start showing up in stores or online before too long. I am debating between the new model and a good price on the current model (4311), but no real details on the feature set of the new model yet.
Redbeemer is offline  
post #4940 of 5307 Old 04-25-2012, 09:59 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 44,476
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1023 Post(s)
Liked: 1506
^^
It actually is the 4520CI and AFAIK, will be introduced at CEDIA in September so won't be released until then. One vendor has also already posted a release date of September as well.

---------------------------------
"JD" –
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Mon - Fri: 10am – 10pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Parasound
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #4941 of 5307 Old 04-26-2012, 07:52 AM
Advanced Member
 
Redbeemer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 578
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

^^
It actually is the 4520CI and AFAIK, will be introduced at CEDIA in September so won't be released until then. One vendor has also already posted a release date of September as well.

Thanks, jdsmoothie, for that update! I guess my timetable was off a bit. Please let us know if you get any further advanced details about this unit as I suspect a lot of current Denon owners will be interested to know about its feature set. I understand that Denon is also currently "considering" a possible pre/pro in addition to their customary line of of AVR's since the the big $7,500 AUD-1 (?) is going away. Actually, I will use the new AVR, either the 4311 or 4520 as a pre/pro anyway as I have a more powerful multi-channel power amp already.
Please let us know if you hear anything further and thanks for all of your knowledgeable and thoughtful input in the past!
Redbeemer is offline  
post #4942 of 5307 Old 04-26-2012, 09:50 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 24,351
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 615 Post(s)
Liked: 1248
this isn't the thread for that, if you want to keep up-to-date with the new model info you should be reading this thread: http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1368799

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
batpig is online now  
post #4943 of 5307 Old 04-26-2012, 03:00 PM
Advanced Member
 
Redbeemer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 578
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by batpig View Post

this isn't the thread for that, if you want to keep up-to-date with the new model info you should be reading this thread: http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1368799

Batpig: Was that the Terrorist or the Rioter speaking?
Redbeemer is offline  
post #4944 of 5307 Old 04-26-2012, 04:27 PM
Newbie
 
Warbird7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
A big thank you to all the 4310 fans here. I just purchased a refurb 4310 from A4Less for $800. I read many posts by batpig and others, which helped me decide. I almost went for the 4311 (A4Less $1299, MacMall $1156). Even though I really wanted XT32 upgrade, the inclusion of more analog inputs and the frankly a much more logical (aligned up and down) input jack layout on the 4310, and being $356-$500 less, swayed me.

I had a couple Q's/comments:
- I know the differences technically but does anyone have subjective differences between XT and XT32?
- I am still exploring but have come to the initial conclusion that Dynamic EQ and Volume) are only relevant to movies. It does not work well for video games (FPS's like Halo and Mass Effect)?
- FYI Called DENON the other day and they said they are considering offering warranty extensions on recently purchased receivers.

Cheers!
Warbird7 is offline  
post #4945 of 5307 Old 04-26-2012, 06:17 PM
 
Splicer010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 7,819
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Sonic differences? I honestly could not tell (in the showroom) one being better than the other as both sounded fabulous.

Dynamic volume works best (for us) used for television. It isn't used for any other input. Dynamic EQ is used for everything. Love it!

Congrats on your purchase. I know I have not regretted a single second of my purchase and in fact, I still marvel at its power, finesse and class, each and every time I power it on. You too will be thrilled when you have it all setup.
Splicer010 is offline  
post #4946 of 5307 Old 04-26-2012, 06:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
pbarach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 2,535
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 92
Dynamic volume compresses the volume levels so that loud things won't get very loud. It's useful for watching tv without disturbing neighbors.

Dynamic EQ is intended to keep the relative loudness of all channels sounding the same as it does when a movie is mastered at reference level, which is VERY loud. Other media sources are NOT mastered at a standardized reference level, so DynEQ may not work well with them and can leave the surrounds and the sun sounding too loud art low levels.

AT&T U-Verse Northeast Ohio

Denon x4000, Samsung LED TV, B&W 704 mains, two M&K subwoofers, Oppo 103, etc.
pbarach is online now  
post #4947 of 5307 Old 04-26-2012, 06:48 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 44,476
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1023 Post(s)
Liked: 1506
Quote:
Originally Posted by Redbeemer View Post

Thanks, jdsmoothie, for that update! I guess my timetable was off a bit. Please let us know if you get any further advanced details about this unit as I suspect a lot of current Denon owners will be interested to know about its feature set. I understand that Denon is also currently "considering" a possible pre/pro in addition to their customary line of of AVR's since the the big $7,500 AUD-1 (?) is going away. Actually, I will use the new AVR, either the 4311 or 4520 as a pre/pro anyway as I have a more powerful multi-channel power amp already.
Please let us know if you hear anything further and thanks for all of your knowledgeable and thoughtful input in the past!

Rumor has it the pre/pro will come from Marantz. Details on the 4520CI should be released this summer.

---------------------------------
"JD" –
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Mon - Fri: 10am – 10pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Parasound
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #4948 of 5307 Old 04-26-2012, 06:59 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 44,476
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1023 Post(s)
Liked: 1506
Quote:
Originally Posted by pbarach View Post

Dynamic volume compresses the volume levels so that loud things won't get very loud. It's useful for watching tv without disturbing neighbors.

Dynamic EQ is intended to keep the relative loudness of all channels sounding the same as it does when a movie is mastered at reference level, which is VERY loud. Other media sources are NOT mastered at a standardized reference level, so DynEQ may not work well with them and can leave the surrounds and the sun sounding too loud art low levels.

In addition to compressing the louder explosions, Dyn Vol will also raise the volume of softer dialog, the goal to output all audio at a desired volume. Dyn EQ boosts the volume of the sub and surround audio at levels below the reference volume of 0db. For non-film sources, the Dyn EQ Reference Level Offset can be adjusted to 5db, 10db, or 15db to reduce the impact of Dyn EQ and for TV sources will help improve the clarity of center channel dialog.

---------------------------------
"JD" –
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Mon - Fri: 10am – 10pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Parasound
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #4949 of 5307 Old 04-26-2012, 07:04 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 44,476
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1023 Post(s)
Liked: 1506
Quote:
Originally Posted by Warbird7 View Post

I had a couple Q's/comments:
- I know the differences technically but does anyone have subjective differences between XT and XT32?
- I am still exploring but have come to the initial conclusion that Dynamic EQ and Volume) are only relevant to movies. It does not work well for video games (FPS's like Halo and Mass Effect)?
- FYI Called DENON the other day and they said they are considering offering warranty extensions on recently purchased receivers.

Cheers!

1. This question is better asked in the 4311CI/A100 or to those 5308CI or AVP owners that have upgraded to XT32. In virtually every case, these owners upgrading from XT to XT32 realized a noticeable improvement to the audio fidelity in their listening rooms.

2. Adjust the Reference Level Offset (p. 75) as necessary.

3. Refurb AVRs from authorized resellers (eg. AC4L) were increased from 90 days to 1 year back in Oct 2011.

---------------------------------
"JD" –
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Mon - Fri: 10am – 10pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Parasound
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #4950 of 5307 Old 04-26-2012, 08:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SoundofMind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SE MI
Posts: 7,962
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 161
Quote:
Originally Posted by Warbird7 View Post

A big thank you to all the 4310 fans here. I just purchased a refurb 4310 from A4Less for $800. I read many posts by batpig and others, which helped me decide. I almost went for the 4311 (A4Less $1299, MacMall $1156). Even though I really wanted XT32 upgrade, the inclusion of more analog inputs and the frankly a much more logical (aligned up and down) input jack layout on the 4310, and being $356-$500 less, swayed me.

I had a couple Q's/comments:
- I know the differences technically but does anyone have subjective differences between XT and XT32?
- I am still exploring but have come to the initial conclusion that Dynamic EQ and Volume) are only relevant to movies. It does not work well for video games (FPS's like Halo and Mass Effect)?
- FYI Called DENON the other day and they said they are considering offering warranty extensions on recently purchased receivers.

Cheers!

In addition to jd's response above, there's been a lot of discussion about Dynamic EQ and Volume on the Audyssey thread, where there is a wonderful newAudyssey FAQ. The topic is also covered in the batpig Guide. (scroll down to that topic in both sources).

Warning: read no further into this post as it may cause acute upgradosis.

As to XT->XT32, there has been much discussion on that as well in the Audyssey thread, the 4311, 80.2, 80.3 and other threads. Each move up the Audyssey ladder yields benefits, if your speakers are up to producing it. XT is audibly better than MultEQ if you have reasonably good speakers and XT32 is considerably better than XT.

It is usually described something like this: XT32 improves things quite a bit over XT, with more clarity and punch, even smoother bass, better integration of subs with sats and more immersive surround bubble. See this post for details. Or perhaps it's better that you don't...

As soon as I found a deal on a 4311 (the A100 version) I got it and once I heard the difference I sold my 4310 without hesitation. I'm very glad I did.

Yes, I still like playing with Dalis.

SoundofMind is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Denon Avr 4311ci 9 2 Channel Network Multi Room Home Theater Receiver With Hdmi 1 4a , Denon Avr4310ci Receiver , Denon
Gear in this thread

    Thread Tools
    Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
    Email this Page Email this Page


    Forum Jump: 

    Posting Rules  
    You may not post new threads
    You may not post replies
    You may not post attachments
    You may not edit your posts

    BB code is On
    Smilies are On
    [IMG] code is On
    HTML code is Off
    Trackbacks are Off
    Pingbacks are Off
    Refbacks are Off