*OFFICIAL* Denon AVR 2310CI / 890 Owner's Thread - Page 120 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 2Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3571 of 7239 Old 02-18-2010, 02:12 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 24,674
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 889 Post(s)
Liked: 1420
what do you mean by "output over HDMI" -- do you mean decoding and then sending OUT multich PCM audio to another device? then the answer is no.

Both can of course decode and PLAY and type of audio. But they can't send decoded audio out via the HDMI -- if the HDMI audio is set to TV it will simply pass the audio through to the sink (e.g. display).

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3572 of 7239 Old 02-18-2010, 02:25 PM
Member
 
hexcode99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 100
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yeah, that is kind of what I mean. Just decode the bitstream input and send it as LPCM v.i HDMI output. If it already decodes the already, seems like it shouldn't be asking too much for it to send out over HDMI output.
hexcode99 is offline  
post #3573 of 7239 Old 02-18-2010, 02:26 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 24,674
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 889 Post(s)
Liked: 1420
seems like it, but that's not what AVR's do you will not find any receiver that can do what you want, the point is to decode the audio and then PLAY IT, not send it to another device for more processing. I would imagine it could only be done with a fancy (expensive) professional surround decoder/processor.

if you get an AVR with pre-outs then of course you can take out the decoded signal as analog multichannel.

you have some strange requirements and don't seem to want to explain what exactly you are trying to do....

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is online now  
post #3574 of 7239 Old 02-18-2010, 04:09 PM
Member
 
Kenj1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just tried to play a Blu-ray disk that was supposedly recorded in dolby digital and only very faint sound would come out. I have an LG BD390 Blu-ray player with audio set to primary pass thru. If I set the blue-ray player to PCM, the sound is fine. I know there have been problems of compatibility issues with the 2310 model and LG players, but I've listened to other disks in dolby digital, and DTS-master audio before without any problems. Do you think this is just a bad disk or is there a bigger problem? FYI, the serial number starts with 912 (year month), and according to Denon, the compatibiltiy issues were supposed to be corrected by them.
Kenj1 is offline  
post #3575 of 7239 Old 02-18-2010, 04:14 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 24,674
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 889 Post(s)
Liked: 1420
well, the way to confirm is to try another movie that has a confirmed TrueHD or DTS-MASTER track, and make sure you get the "blue light" indicated bitstream HD audio. do you hear normal sound? then it is probably just that one disc. But you need to do some more tests to establish whether this is an isolated problem or not.

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is online now  
post #3576 of 7239 Old 02-18-2010, 04:21 PM
Member
 
Kenj1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a disk in now that says DTS HD 5.1 master lossless and that works with the blue light on.
Kenj1 is offline  
post #3577 of 7239 Old 02-18-2010, 05:09 PM
Member
 
Kenj1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just tried several TruHD movies and DTS-HD master and all is working. Still, is a little concerning given the past issues.
Kenj1 is offline  
post #3578 of 7239 Old 02-18-2010, 07:33 PM
EJ
AVS Special Member
 
EJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Minot, ND
Posts: 2,779
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
After about 18 months of turning my back on Denon to get lossless audio on the cheap with a brand I will not mention, I'm glad to be back with Denon.

Former USSB uplink operator.
EJ is offline  
post #3579 of 7239 Old 02-18-2010, 07:53 PM
Advanced Member
 
the_abbot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 523
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by the_abbot View Post

My 2310 is having a sporadic problem. While watching a BD on my PS3(at a random point in the movie), the movie audio drops out and I start hearing thumps and pops through the sub/speakers (almost sounds like a record player being bumped), then a snap, and the receiver goes into safe mode (blinking every .5 sec). I've checked the speaker wiring, and everything seems fine. This problem never occurs while watching cable/dvr. So I assume it's related to the ps3. (The ps3 is connected via hdmi). The ps3 is set to bitstreaming, and is connected directly to the avr.
Any advice?

Now I'm getting static coming through the speakers every now and then. What in the heck can be going on? A bad unit maybe?
the_abbot is online now  
post #3580 of 7239 Old 02-18-2010, 08:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JChin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Mesquite Tx
Posts: 8,546
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 134
Quote:
Originally Posted by the_abbot View Post

Now I'm getting static coming through the speakers every now and then. What in the heck can be going on? A bad unit maybe?

Hi the_abbot, I don't have a clue but try to isolate the problem by using a different HDMI cable first on the PS3.
JChin is offline  
post #3581 of 7239 Old 02-18-2010, 08:15 PM
Member
 
thatwilsonguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Demo the C/L/R 2002 while you're at BB to compare it to the Pro Cinema 1000. It's considerably larger to be sure, but for movies/TV there's no comparison to the quality difference between the two.

I'm actually going to see if the BP1XBLA is going to be too much surround sound for me. I already have some older BP2004 floor standers I'm trying to compliment. I'm also having a problem deciding if I really wan't to go 7.1. I hear a lot against it and a lot for it.
thatwilsonguy is offline  
post #3582 of 7239 Old 02-19-2010, 12:48 AM
EJ
AVS Special Member
 
EJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Minot, ND
Posts: 2,779
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is there something like a chart that shows what features ae enabled on the ancho ay chip in various equipment? Is it a closely guarded secret for some reason?

Former USSB uplink operator.
EJ is offline  
post #3583 of 7239 Old 02-19-2010, 01:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mphfrom77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: northern KY
Posts: 3,743
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 121 Post(s)
Liked: 215
EJ-This guys thread might help you.
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1173185
Or these links might help you but they can be confusing/misleading (like no PReP on denon 2310)
http://www.anchorbaytech.com/vrs_tec...turing_vrs.php
http://www.anchorbaytech.com/products/semiconductors/
mphfrom77 is online now  
post #3584 of 7239 Old 02-19-2010, 12:54 PM
EJ
AVS Special Member
 
EJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Minot, ND
Posts: 2,779
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
thank you.

Former USSB uplink operator.
EJ is offline  
post #3585 of 7239 Old 02-19-2010, 01:03 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 45,169
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1342 Post(s)
Liked: 1590
Quote:
Originally Posted by EJ View Post

Is there something like a chart that shows what features ae enabled on the ancho ay chip in various equipment? Is it a closely guarded secret for some reason?

We do know at a minimum the following are NOT implemented: PreP, edge enhancement, detail enhancement, mosquito noise reduction

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 
Daily 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer Elite, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #3586 of 7239 Old 02-19-2010, 01:27 PM
Member
 
bxconst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Toronto
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by crbaldwin View Post

Yes, I submitted a support request/complaint about this but we need everyone to act like it's a big deal or they won't fix it. I told them you're one of the biggest Denon supporters on Avsforum and this problem is really getting under your skin (well, not really but I thought about saying that) .

The Denon CSR I talked with still looked interested in fixing this issue. So I have to give him credit where credit is due . Since I was able to reproduce the issue using PVR'd content, he is going to load a 8300 with different content and ship it to Japan. So, keep your fingers crossed, maybe this time we will have better luck ...
bxconst is offline  
post #3587 of 7239 Old 02-19-2010, 03:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Plex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: North Huntingdon, Pa 15642
Posts: 2,044
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Does anyone have a example of the GUi between the models?

Audyssey setup guide
Plex is offline  
post #3588 of 7239 Old 02-19-2010, 03:16 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 45,169
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1342 Post(s)
Liked: 1590
If you use the Search This Thread button, the GUI display has been posted a few times in each of the threads.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 
Daily 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer Elite, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #3589 of 7239 Old 02-19-2010, 03:51 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 24,674
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 889 Post(s)
Liked: 1420
Quote:
Originally Posted by Plex View Post

Does anyone have a example of the GUi between the models?

here is a youtube video of the "basic" GUI on the 2310/3310 models:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nnoANxXLOgQ

and here is a video review of the 4310 model which shows the "advanced" GUI on the 4310/4810 (although beware the reviewer is BRUTAL you may want to mute it ):
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qbfXI...rom=PL&index=8

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is online now  
post #3590 of 7239 Old 02-19-2010, 08:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mphfrom77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: northern KY
Posts: 3,743
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 121 Post(s)
Liked: 215
I have never purchased form Electronics Expo http://www.electronics-expo.com/, but I can't stop using them to compare prices. Code "receiversale" is something that always seems to work for a price reduction. But you must click through all the way to the Amazon checkout review page to see the fully discounted, shipped price. The code seems to work on a lot of items. Today the Denon 2310 came out to $580.19, which is the lowest I've seen since watching it the past month or so. Just thought I'd post that here.
mphfrom77 is online now  
post #3591 of 7239 Old 02-20-2010, 05:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
crbaldwin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 1,299
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by bxconst View Post

The Denon CSR I talked with still looked interested in fixing this issue. So I have to give him credit where credit is due . Since I was able to reproduce the issue using PVR'd content, he is going to load a 8300 with different content and ship it to Japan. So, keep your fingers crossed, maybe this time we will have better luck ...

That sounds promising. Please let us know if you hear anything. Thanks.
crbaldwin is offline  
post #3592 of 7239 Old 02-20-2010, 03:49 PM
Newbie
 
gary_i_w's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Now I know the problem must be me but I am having difficulty with my zone 2. I can get output in zone 2 only when the source is set to tuner. When I select any other source - nada, zippo - despite the fact that those sources are working fine in the main zone. Any ideas?

Setup:
denon: 2310
samsung: series 8
samsung: bluray
cable/sat: comcast woth a motorola box

Thanks
gary_i_w is offline  
post #3593 of 7239 Old 02-20-2010, 04:40 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 45,169
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1342 Post(s)
Liked: 1590
Sure ... Only analog audio can be sent to Zone2 (eg TUNER). In order to send your other sources there, you'll have to connect an RCA cable to the AVR as well as the HDMI cable.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 
Daily 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer Elite, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #3594 of 7239 Old 02-21-2010, 01:02 PM
Member
 
Welshdog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by batpig View Post

yes EJ, as matbl says it will allow it, however there are some intricacies to getting it to work perfectly. the most important thing will be getting a transport that can output DVD's in raw 480i digital (over HDMI) format. unless you have a player that can do "source direct" output (e.g. 480i for SD DVD, 1080p/24 for Blu-ray) over HDMI, you aren't going to get the full benefit of the ABT chip in the 2310.

many players cannot output 480i over HDMI, and will first do a deinterlacing step (480i > 480p) before outputting, which basically defeats most of the benefit of the ABT scaler.

If your primary concern is DVD upscaling, and you don't really need all the other features of the 2310, you may get better "bang for your buck" with a lower-priced AVR (e.g. the 1610 or 1910 model) and spending the difference on a nice BDP with top-notch scaling like the Oppo BDP-80.

I'm not super clear on this. I have a 2310 and want to get a BDP-80. My understanding is that the BDP-80 does not have the ABT chip and the 2310 does. This seems like a perfect match - why duplicate functions? The chip is only needed in one device. Am I right about this? Plus "Source Direct" mode would output the native video from the BDP allowing the ABT to do the processing with the best possible source material.

Also, all DVDs are 480i on the disc natively? Is this always the case? I thought it was possible to have 23.98 video on the disc.

"Nobody looks good in high-def"
Doug Wilson - Weeds
Welshdog is offline  
post #3595 of 7239 Old 02-21-2010, 04:06 PM
Member
 
Kenj1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Do you have to manually assign the inputs?. I have a DVR, and a Blu-ray player and I have an HDMI cable for both of these as well a third HDMI cable for the TV Monitor. Everything seems to be working fine.
Kenj1 is offline  
post #3596 of 7239 Old 02-21-2010, 04:06 PM
Member
 
ryrbb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The good news is that I have removed those Bose speakers I've had for 7 years and UPGRADED to a Denon 2310 reciever and DT speakers. The tv I have is a Sony kv-34XBR910 Trinitron which has a DVI, RCA & component connections. I want to connect DirecTV HD and PS3. I have gone through the setup and I know the speakers work because I can play the radio.

I have tried to connect the Denon via HDMI to DVI as well as through RCA cables but neither gives video or audio. I apologize for being a knucklehead but is there something I am missing.

ryrbb
ryrbb is offline  
post #3597 of 7239 Old 02-21-2010, 04:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JChin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Mesquite Tx
Posts: 8,546
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 134
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kenj1 View Post

Do you have to manually assign the inputs?. I have a DVR, and a Blu-ray player and I have an HDMI cable for both of these as well a third HDMI cable for the TV Monitor. Everything seems to be working fine.

Hi Kenj1, its more plug-n-play so your are good to go.
JChin is offline  
post #3598 of 7239 Old 02-21-2010, 04:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JChin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Mesquite Tx
Posts: 8,546
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 134
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryrbb View Post

The good news is that I have removed those Bose speakers I've had for 7 years and UPGRADED to a Denon 2310 reciever and DT speakers. The tv I have is a Sony kv-34XBR910 Trinitron which has a DVI, RCA & component connections. I want to connect DirecTV HD and PS3. I have gone through the setup and I know the speakers work because I can play the radio.

I have tried to connect the Denon via HDMI to DVI as well as through RCA cables but neither gives video or audio. I apologize for being a knucklehead but is there something I am missing.

ryrbb

HDMI-DVI combinations does not sit to well with Denon. Do a search "DVI" and you will find post with this issue. Have you try the other HDMI jacks?
JChin is offline  
post #3599 of 7239 Old 02-21-2010, 04:56 PM
Member
 
Kenj1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank you
Kenj1 is offline  
post #3600 of 7239 Old 02-22-2010, 05:12 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 45,169
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1342 Post(s)
Liked: 1590
Quote:
Originally Posted by Welshdog View Post

I'm not super clear on this. I have a 2310 and want to get a BDP-80. My understanding is that the BDP-80 does not have the ABT chip and the 2310 does. This seems like a perfect match - why duplicate functions? The chip is only needed in one device. Am I right about this? Plus "Source Direct" mode would output the native video from the BDP allowing the ABT to do the processing with the best possible source material.

AFAIK, the ABT 2010 chip in the BDP-83 is fully implemented whereas in the Denon 2310 it's only 1/2 implemented, to include not having PReP implemented (which is why a 480i input signal to the 2310 vice upscaled 480p provides the best picture quality improvement). The full implementation in the BDP-83 allows it to provide additional picture adjustment features the ABT 2010 is capable of providing, although the basic deinterlacing and upscaling in both the BDP-83 and Denon 2310 are likely to be the same. If you're not interested in the additional fine tuning picture adjustment features offered by the BDP-83, then you should be good to go with just setting the BDP-80 to "source direct" mode and letting the Denon 2310 do the deinterlacing and upscaling.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 
Daily 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer Elite, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off