*OFFICIAL* Denon AVR 2310CI / 890 Owner's Thread - Page 212 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #6331 of 7224 Old 09-17-2011, 12:26 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 24,315
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 575 Post(s)
Liked: 1219
as I said less than 10 posts up... the 2310 supports ALL current audio formats. So if the device claims to output it, the 2310 can play it.

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
batpig is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6332 of 7224 Old 09-17-2011, 12:48 PM
Advanced Member
 
80sGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 568
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Don't know about the Roku2, but my WD Live TV Plus plays everything the Roku does plus just about every kind of files including .m2ts, vob, video_ts, etc..
With selected Netflix titles; it outputs Dolby 5.1 and its appropriate subtitles, and for the first time, whenever I streamed Netflix titles with 5.1 the bright blue 'HD AUDIO' lights up on the 2310CI!

Looked like this:
LL
80sGuy is offline  
post #6333 of 7224 Old 09-17-2011, 02:12 PM
Member
 
jtiner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by batpig View Post

as I said less than 10 posts up... the 2310 supports ALL current audio formats. So if the device claims to output it, the 2310 can play it.

I saw your post.... but it's always nice to hear from someone using the gear in question. It took me a while to find the specs. that specifically state that the 2310 supports "Dolby Digital Plus".
I don't have any high definition audio devices connected to the AVR (yet), just plain DD and the six analog outputs of a SACD/DVD-A player.
jtiner is offline  
post #6334 of 7224 Old 09-19-2011, 08:13 AM
Member
 
brunofagundes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,

I have the 890 and for the first time this weekend I've had a problem with it. I just finished watching the 6 Star Wars movies and on 2 of them (Ep 2 and 4) I have a problem where the audio cuts off about 20 times during the movies while bitstreaming from my BD player (Panny DMP-BD35). I tried different HDMI cables and different inputs on the AVR. I also tried with my neighbor's PS3 and the same thing happens, the audio cuts off when the BD players output bitstream but is fine when they output PCM. The audio is fine if I set the players to bitstream and turn off the AVR (sound get redirected to the TV speakers) or if I connect them directly to the TV. In 2 years, this is the first time that I encountered a movie (well 2 movies) that do this.

Could a firmware update solve my issue? Is there a way to do a firmware update on the 890? If yes, where can I find the proper files and the instructions on how to do it?

Thanks,

Bruno
brunofagundes is offline  
post #6335 of 7224 Old 09-19-2011, 08:27 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 44,408
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 986 Post(s)
Liked: 1495
^^
It's not likely a firmware issue (rather the movie itself) as others are also reporting audio issues with other models with these Star Wars discs, although if it were firmware related, the 890 would have to be sent in to an authorized repair facility that is capable of doing the update (unlike the 2310CI which the owner can install the update themselves).

---------------------------------
"JD" –
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AV Gear 

Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Parasound
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #6336 of 7224 Old 09-19-2011, 08:36 AM
Member
 
brunofagundes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the quick reply.
I tried to google if others have had the same problem but couldn't find anything.
Do you know if it is all the same discs no matter which boxset or if I exchange it for a new one I might be OK.
Any link would be helpful. Thanks.
brunofagundes is offline  
post #6337 of 7224 Old 09-19-2011, 08:54 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 44,408
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 986 Post(s)
Liked: 1495
The guy who posted in the 2809 thread here, indicated he bought a 2nd set of discs and has the same issue with them as well. If you don't have a problem with any other movie discs, then it's likely just a bad disc press.

---------------------------------
"JD" –
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AV Gear 

Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Parasound
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #6338 of 7224 Old 09-19-2011, 09:18 AM
Member
 
brunofagundes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yeah, like him I'm having problems with Ep 2 and 4.
brunofagundes is offline  
post #6339 of 7224 Old 09-19-2011, 02:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bruce73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,219
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by brunofagundes View Post

Yeah, like him I'm having problems with Ep 2 and 4.

Is this the US release?
bruce73 is offline  
post #6340 of 7224 Old 09-19-2011, 03:13 PM
Member
 
brunofagundes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes
brunofagundes is offline  
post #6341 of 7224 Old 09-20-2011, 12:53 PM
Newbie
 
audioblu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am having the same problem with audio dropouts with Star Wars ep. 2 & 4. I have a Denon AVR-2310CI. I have tried 4 Blu-ray players and have the same results using any of the 4 (latest PS3, older PS3, Samsung 3600, Sony BDP-S570). If the players are set to bitstream and the Denon decodes the DTS-HD MA soundtrack there are intermittent dropouts at the same exact timecodes no matter what player is used. If the player is set to LPCM out, the audio from the Denon is fine with no dropouts. I'm sure it is a Denon problem. I called them and their support person was not helpful. He had me reset the receiver which did nothing to address the problem and was a waste of time. He said I would have to send it in to get a firmware update and that I could not do the update. Yeah, like I want to be without the receiver for weeks. I told him that was unacceptable. I'll just set the PS3 to LPCM out. I am not happy with Denon.

audioblu
audioblu is offline  
post #6342 of 7224 Old 09-20-2011, 01:02 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
ccotenj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: the toxic waste dumps of new jersey
Posts: 21,915
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 89
^^^

it's not happening just with denon equipment.... i suggest that everyone having this issus see the bluray software subforum....

- chris

 

my build thread - updated 8-20-12 - new seating installed and projector isolation solution

 


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

ccotenj is offline  
post #6343 of 7224 Old 09-20-2011, 01:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JChin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Mesquite Tx
Posts: 8,526
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 86 Post(s)
Liked: 132
Quote:
Originally Posted by audioblu View Post

I'm sure it is a Denon problem.

Hi audioblu, as ccotenj posted this is not just Denon, see here.
JChin is offline  
post #6344 of 7224 Old 09-20-2011, 01:36 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
ccotenj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: the toxic waste dumps of new jersey
Posts: 21,915
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 89
^^^

yup. starting to sound like something wasn't regression tested properly with older equipment... but that remains to be seen... could be any number of things at this point...

which is why people shouldn't be "sure" of anything before they do their due diligence...

the workaround is rather simple...

- chris

 

my build thread - updated 8-20-12 - new seating installed and projector isolation solution

 


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

ccotenj is offline  
post #6345 of 7224 Old 09-20-2011, 06:23 PM
Newbie
 
audioblu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It is by definition a Denon problem, since the receiver will not properly decode the bitstream. What Denon support should have done was to not dismiss this problem but instead to actually assist me. If it truly is THX metadata that is at the root of the problem, you would think they might want to get all the info they could about that from their customers. Like it or not, it is Denon's problem whether they created it or THX did. They have the obligation to follow through with helpful customer support -- not just to tell me to send in the receiver, and sorry I will be without my home theater for a few weeks (months?). C'mon, that's worthless support. It is a Denon problem and they will have to deal with it one way or the other. It is also an Onkyo, Panasonic, Samsung, Sony, (insert manufacturer name), THX, and Lucasfilm problem. But since I own a Denon, and that amp is not decoding the bitstream properly, it is a Denon problem. Of that, I am very certain.

audioblu
audioblu is offline  
post #6346 of 7224 Old 09-20-2011, 06:25 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
ccotenj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: the toxic waste dumps of new jersey
Posts: 21,915
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 89
ok...

as noted, the workaround is very simple...

- chris

 

my build thread - updated 8-20-12 - new seating installed and projector isolation solution

 


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

ccotenj is offline  
post #6347 of 7224 Old 09-23-2011, 03:16 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 44,408
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 986 Post(s)
Liked: 1495
Denon has determined that the 3rd firmware update for the 2310CI released in 2/2010 will resolve the Star Wars: The Complete Saga BD audio dropout issue so if you already have received that update from me you should not be experiencing any audio dropouts. Although the firmware update is available at authorized repair facilities for all models as an "in warranty" repair, regardless of whether actually beyond the 2 year warranty period, 2310CI owners (890 doesn't have the RS-232 jack) that feel comfortable doing their own installation which will require a PC laptop and USB to RS-232 cable that have not already received the update can do so after reading the post linked below. Note that this update is being provided as a courtesy and as such is not supported by Denon should you have any problems with the installation (ie. you cannot call Denon for assistance). If you don't feel comfortable with doing the installation on your own, simply submit it to an authorized repair facility that is able to do the update for you, or the work around is to simply set the Blu Ray player to LPCM, or otherwise "not" bitstream. Please PM me with your model number and "non-gmail" email address to receive the firmware update and instructions to install the update after reviewing post #2013 .

---------------------------------
"JD" –
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AV Gear 

Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Parasound
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #6348 of 7224 Old 09-23-2011, 11:13 PM
Member
 
kev999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: san gabriel, CA
Posts: 134
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
sold my AVR 2310CI to a friend. problem is i couldn't find the sub remote control and the microphone, can he set the receiver up without these two components?
kev999 is offline  
post #6349 of 7224 Old 09-24-2011, 04:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SoundofMind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SE MI
Posts: 7,962
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 161
The sub remote is not but the mic is essential. Purchase the DM-A409 online from an authorized parts supplier. You can try a local BB and ask for one, they usually have a couple orphans in a drawer.

Yes, I still like playing with Dalis.

SoundofMind is offline  
post #6350 of 7224 Old 09-26-2011, 06:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
trailergod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: germany
Posts: 1,459
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bruce73 View Post

Is this the US release?

Denon 2809
HTPC ATI HD5750
Toshiba BR player
PS3 Slim....

and everytime I bitstream DTS MA.. I got audio issues with

Tron Legacy 7.1 DTS MA (aweful echo effect in audio)
Star Wars EP2 (UK discs) audio drop outs and DTS bomb
Golden Compass DTS bomb...

all I can say the culprit is Denon 2809 ....

I can do the FW update myself.... I just need the FW and instructions....
trailergod is offline  
post #6351 of 7224 Old 09-26-2011, 08:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bruce73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,219
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
So is this "DTS bomb" being discussed here and in other threads/forums (with regards to the Star Wars boxset) something I have to worry about with my 2310? Or does it only affect older Denon models and/or Onkyo?
bruce73 is offline  
post #6352 of 7224 Old 09-26-2011, 09:52 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 44,408
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 986 Post(s)
Liked: 1495
Quote:
Originally Posted by trailergod View Post

Denon 2809
HTPC ATI HD5750
Toshiba BR player
PS3 Slim....

and everytime I bitstream DTS MA.. I got audio issues with

Tron Legacy 7.1 DTS MA (aweful echo effect in audio)
Star Wars EP2 (UK discs) audio drop outs and DTS bomb
Golden Compass DTS bomb...

all I can say the culprit is Denon 2809 ....

I can do the FW update myself.... I just need the FW and instructions....

Please note that European owners download firmware updates from this website.

---------------------------------
"JD" –
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AV Gear 

Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Parasound
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #6353 of 7224 Old 09-26-2011, 09:53 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 44,408
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 986 Post(s)
Liked: 1495
Quote:
Originally Posted by bruce73 View Post

So is this "DTS bomb" being discussed here and in other threads/forums (with regards to the Star Wars boxset) something I have to worry about with my 2310? Or does it only affect older Denon models and/or Onkyo?

If you haven't noticed it, then I wouldn't worry about it.

---------------------------------
"JD" –
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AV Gear 

Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Parasound
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #6354 of 7224 Old 09-26-2011, 10:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
trailergod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: germany
Posts: 1,459
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

Please note that European owners download firmware updates from this website.

thanks for this info... i will try my luck
trailergod is offline  
post #6355 of 7224 Old 09-26-2011, 10:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bruce73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,219
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post


If you haven't noticed it, then I wouldn't worry about it.

No, never have with any other discs (I'm still waiting on ordering the SW set). There does seem to be a relatively loud pop on TrueHD tracks when I pause playback for longer than, say, a couple of minutes, but that's when playing ISOs on my HTPC, so that most likely is a system and/or audio driver issue.
bruce73 is offline  
post #6356 of 7224 Old 09-29-2011, 10:06 PM
Newbie
 
Lyzic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I cruised this thread and searched and didn't find my answer, so I apologize if it's already been covered and I missed it.

I have a DVR-890. I have a PS3 running into it by HDMI, as well as a cable box, a Motorola dxc3400 running into it by HDMI and then all going to a Sharp LC46D85U tv and KEF speakers and sub.

My wife was watching TV through the cable box with no problems today. Then she turned everything off as normal.

Then when I went to turn it all on today, no sound at all. No settings were changed, no cables moved or changed, nothing different.

No sound through the PS3, the cable box, or using it as a radio tuner. It will still pass through the signal though, just won't play any sound.

I unplugged it to reset the settings, and still the same problem.

Anyone have any idea on how to fix it? Much thanks!
Lyzic is offline  
post #6357 of 7224 Old 09-29-2011, 11:03 PM
Advanced Member
 
80sGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 568
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
^^Try switching the inputs back and forth with the devices turned on (ps3, cable box, tuner, etc.) and see if it'll trigger the audio. If it does, then the problem lies within the Denon 890/2310 experiencing handshake problems.
80sGuy is offline  
post #6358 of 7224 Old 09-29-2011, 11:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JChin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Mesquite Tx
Posts: 8,526
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 86 Post(s)
Liked: 132
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lyzic View Post

Then when I went to turn it all on today, no sound at all. No settings were changed, no cables moved or changed, nothing different.

No sound through the PS3, the cable box, or using it as a radio tuner. It will still pass through the signal though, just won't play any sound.

I unplugged it to reset the settings, and still the same problem.

Anyone have any idea on how to fix it? Much thanks!

Hi Lyzic, sound like the dust bunny made a secret vist to your headphone port . Try blowing compressed air into the headphone jack or plug/unplug a set of headphones into the jack a few times.
JChin is offline  
post #6359 of 7224 Old 10-03-2011, 06:51 PM
Member
 
jdb338's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a 5 and 1 setup but never feel the back speakers are loud enough, they are on and can be heard. How would I go about increasing the volume on them? The unit is set to Dolby Digital. I have used the Aud setup.
Thanks

Dave
jdb338 is offline  
post #6360 of 7224 Old 10-03-2011, 07:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JChin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Mesquite Tx
Posts: 8,526
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 86 Post(s)
Liked: 132
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdb338 View Post

How would I go about increasing the volume on them?

Hi Dave, on the remote press the "CH Level" button.
JChin is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off