*OFFICIAL* Denon AVR 2310CI / 890 Owner's Thread - Page 242 - AVS Forum

AVS Forum > Audio > Receivers, Amps, and Processors > *OFFICIAL* Denon AVR 2310CI / 890 Owner's Thread

Receivers, Amps, and Processors

biglen's Avatar biglen
07:06 PM Liked: 10
post #7231 of 7247
10-12-2014 | Posts: 402
Joined: Oct 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by jonny_ns View Post
I just got a Samsung 8550 set. I connected the optical out from the TV to the receiver. It usually works, but I'm getting some of the audio drop outs like with the Blu-Ray players in the past. It's very annoying. I guess I should get around to updating the firmware.
Just out of curiosity, why do people run an optical cable, from the TV, to the receiver?
jdsmoothie's Avatar jdsmoothie
04:35 AM Liked: 1745
post #7232 of 7247
10-13-2014 | Posts: 46,444
Joined: Sep 2007
^^
Modern smart TVs generally have a bunch of available streaming applications (eg. Netflix, Hulu, Vudu, Pandora, etc.). Connecting an optical cable allows the application's audio to transfer to the AVR in order to use the surround speakers. More current HDMI 1.4 or HDMI 2.0 can also use the HDMI(ARC) feature to pass the audio over the HDMI cable that connects the AVR to the TV.
jonny_ns's Avatar jonny_ns
09:25 AM Liked: 12
post #7233 of 7247
10-18-2014 | Posts: 22
Joined: Nov 2005
Speaking of the optical from the TV to the 2310, I just noticed that my subwoofer isn't working for music when the TV is outputting PCM and the AVR is set to "Direct." (I didn't notice earlier because I usually have the sub turned way down so that I don't wake my toddler.) It works when switching to a different surround mode, e.g. stereo.

I was under the impression that I should have it set to "Direct" to allow the source to set the appropriate mode automatically. Is there a way to get this automatic surround behavior and have the sub to work with stereo content?

SOLUTION: Settings > Manual Setup > Speaker Setup > Bass Setting > Mode: LFE+Main
jdsmoothie's Avatar jdsmoothie
10:17 AM Liked: 1745
post #7234 of 7247
10-18-2014 | Posts: 46,444
Joined: Sep 2007
^^
Solution - Never use DIRECT as it disables both Audyssey and bass management.
80sGuy's Avatar 80sGuy
02:27 PM Liked: 10
post #7235 of 7247
10-18-2014 | Posts: 579
Joined: Mar 2006
Although 'pure', Direct is never a good sounding in any environment.
80sGuy's Avatar 80sGuy
03:04 PM Liked: 10
post #7236 of 7247
10-18-2014 | Posts: 579
Joined: Mar 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by biglen View Post
Just out of curiosity, why do people run an optical cable, from the TV, to the receiver?
When doing this (at least on my Panasonic Plasma+2310) it will not decode 5.1 surround but only in stereo. The receiver will output to 5.1 'Pro-Logic' but the source routed is only two-channel.
I use the same connection: cat5 to TV, Cable Box to 2310ci SAT/CABLE, then 'MONITOR' OUT via HDMI to my plasma. Correct me if there's a way but I haven't been able to do so, or maybe if there is ethernet connection on the 2310 this will process 5.1?
The 'Viera' menu on my TV shows Netflix contents in HD but no description on sound. My solution was to use a digital media player such as the WD Live HUB and then I get full 5.1 Surround Audio.
jonny_ns's Avatar jonny_ns
06:30 PM Liked: 12
post #7237 of 7247
10-18-2014 | Posts: 22
Joined: Nov 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by 80sGuy View Post
When doing this (at least on my Panasonic Plasma+2310) it will not decode 5.1 surround but only in stereo. The receiver will output to 5.1 'Pro-Logic' but the source routed is only two-channel.
I use the same connection: cat5 to TV, Cable Box to 2310ci SAT/CABLE, then 'MONITOR' OUT via HDMI to my plasma. Correct me if there's a way but I haven't been able to do so, or maybe if there is ethernet connection on the 2310 this will process 5.1?
The 'Viera' menu on my TV shows Netflix contents in HD but no description on sound. My solution was to use a digital media player such as the WD Live HUB and then I get full 5.1 Surround Audio.
Don't know why that's happening for you. Maybe it's the Panny Plasma? My 2310 processes 5.1 just fine.
jonny_ns's Avatar jonny_ns
06:39 PM Liked: 12
post #7238 of 7247
10-18-2014 | Posts: 22
Joined: Nov 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
^^
Solution - Never use DIRECT as it disables both Audyssey and bass management.
Haha, I did not know this. That explains why dynamic volume was "NOT AVAILABLE."
80sGuy's Avatar 80sGuy
11:19 PM Liked: 10
post #7239 of 7247
10-18-2014 | Posts: 579
Joined: Mar 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by jonny_ns View Post
Don't know why that's happening for you. Maybe it's the Panny Plasma? My 2310 processes 5.1 just fine.
I believe due to the ethernet cable connected directly into the TV, there's no way for the receiver to process since there isn't an ethernet connection for the 2310ci - therefore it couldn't decode.
whipit's Avatar whipit
05:06 AM Liked: 69
post #7240 of 7247
10-20-2014 | Posts: 1,479
Joined: Dec 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by 80sGuy View Post
When doing this (at least on my Panasonic Plasma+2310) it will not decode 5.1 surround but only in stereo. The receiver will output to 5.1 'Pro-Logic' but the source routed is only two-channel.
I use the same connection: cat5 to TV, Cable Box to 2310ci SAT/CABLE, then 'MONITOR' OUT via HDMI to my plasma. Correct me if there's a way but I haven't been able to do so, or maybe if there is ethernet connection on the 2310 this will process 5.1?
The 'Viera' menu on my TV shows Netflix contents in HD but no description on sound. My solution was to use a digital media player such as the WD Live HUB and then I get full 5.1 Surround Audio.
The Panasonic tv's will decode 5.1 properly from the internal apps and tuner. Everything else will be 2.0. It works the same if you Have the ARC option.
80sGuy's Avatar 80sGuy
05:38 AM Liked: 10
post #7241 of 7247
10-20-2014 | Posts: 579
Joined: Mar 2006
^^Yes that's right, the Panasonic 42-inch VIERA TC-P42G25 Plasma HDTV is decoding 5.1 correctly in/out/ from my 2310ci EXCEPT for Netflix. So basically you're saying this is normal when Netflix is only available in 2.0 Stereo when viewed through VIERAlink apps and no other way of getting 5.1?

Connection:
Ethernet: from router to TV
TV: HDMI IN from Cable Box>HDMI OUT to 2310ci SAT/CAB IN
2310ci: OUTPUT to TV

Notice ethernet cable is only connected directly to the TV? I'm using a WDTV Live Hub media player - connected to one of its HDMI ports (HDP) on the 2310ci for 5.1 surround. If I use the VIERA Netflix app from my TV, it automatically switches to 'TV' mode on the receiver with only 2.0 Stereo sound.



80sGuy's Avatar 80sGuy
04:12 PM Liked: 10
post #7242 of 7247
10-20-2014 | Posts: 579
Joined: Mar 2006
^^Found the exact question to my answer here. Reasons why it couldn't export 5.1 surround sound to receivers was due to copyright laws. Doesn't make any sense.
http://www.highdefforum.com/flat-pan...ers-aware.html
whipit's Avatar whipit
06:06 AM Liked: 69
post #7243 of 7247
10-21-2014 | Posts: 1,479
Joined: Dec 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by 80sGuy View Post
^^Yes that's right, the Panasonic 42-inch VIERA TC-P42G25 Plasma HDTV is decoding 5.1 correctly in/out/ from my 2310ci EXCEPT for Netflix. So basically you're saying this is normal when Netflix is only available in 2.0 Stereo when viewed through VIERAlink apps and no other way of getting 5.1?

True, the tv can't upscale audio, it just passes through or downscales. Best bet is to use another source besides the tv for Netflix since they kind of gimp the app in tv's.

Connection:
Ethernet: from router to TV
TV: HDMI IN from Cable Box>HDMI OUT to 2310ci SAT/CAB IN
2310ci: OUTPUT to TV

Interesting that you use the HDMI out to the tv, negating the need for ARC on both devices. I should try that with my VT60>2310ci.

Notice ethernet cable is only connected directly to the TV? I'm using a WDTV Live Hub media player - connected to one of its HDMI ports (HDP) on the 2310ci for 5.1 surround. If I use the VIERA Netflix app from my TV, it automatically switches to 'TV' mode on the receiver with only 2.0 Stereo sound.

So Netflix works fine from your WDTV(if I'm reading this right) and the Denon works well with it. When it's playing in stereo mode from the tv can you change a setting on the Denon at that time? Not sure if there's anything in there that can do that and it might need to be changed back for other sessions.


..
80sGuy's Avatar 80sGuy
04:29 PM Liked: 10
post #7244 of 7247
10-21-2014 | Posts: 579
Joined: Mar 2006
^^How do you connect yours? From my understanding, this is the only way to connect w/o having to switch sources on the TV - leaving it only on HDMI 1 and SAT/CAB mode.
As for Netflix, it works fine from TV except I can't get 5.1 out to the 2310ci, it only plays in 2-channel stereo, but if I switch to the WD LIVE HUB Media player (connected to receiver's HDMI in 'HDP') then I get full surround if available.
Look at my screenshot configuration below.


whipit's Avatar whipit
05:31 AM Liked: 69
post #7245 of 7247
10-22-2014 | Posts: 1,479
Joined: Dec 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by 80sGuy View Post
^^How do you connect yours? From my understanding, this is the only way to connect w/o having to switch sources on the TV - leaving it only on HDMI 1 and SAT/CAB mode.
As for Netflix, it works fine from TV except I can't get 5.1 out to the 2310ci, it only plays in 2-channel stereo, but if I switch to the WD LIVE HUB Media player (connected to receiver's HDMI in 'HDP') then I get full surround if available.
Look at my screenshot configuration below.
I'm not using Netflix and have no experience with it. Due to the copyright that Panasonic is following you won't get 5.1 from the tv with Netflix. The only fix would be a different brand tv such as Sony or Samsung. Here's a thread with the same question.

Panasonic G25 audio out

You may also want to post in the TV's Owners Thread or start a new one in the Plasma section.

Official Panasonic GT20/25 Owner's Thread!
jtiner's Avatar jtiner
07:07 AM Liked: 10
post #7246 of 7247
11-23-2014 | Posts: 69
Joined: Jan 2006
Sorry if this has been covered, but a quick thread search didn't reveal anything.... I've been experiencing distortion when playing some Netflix titles, and I'm wondering if it's the general Netflix/AVR problem that's been discussed in other threads.
The problem occurs with Dolby Digital titles (the front panel "HD" indicator is on) sourced through my Oppo BDP-103. The problem manifests itself as a kind of "slur", and isn't always immediately obvious, depending on the program material. It's hard to describe other than a slur; it sounds a bit like when a 16mm print starts slipping in the gate, sort of a modulated distortion. I always end up having to stop the stream and switch the program audio option to "stereo".
Anyway, I couldn't find a definitive list of affected receivers and didn't find anything at the Denon site so I thought I'd check here to see if anyone can confirm that the 2310 is one of the affected receivers and perhaps if there's a solution.
jdsmoothie's Avatar jdsmoothie
07:13 AM Liked: 1745
post #7247 of 7247
11-23-2014 | Posts: 46,444
Joined: Sep 2007
^^
The Netflix issue involves DD+ audio generally resulting in distortion from only the center speaker on all year models. It was resolved with a firmware update for the XX11 and newer models. The solution for you would be to set Netflix to Stereo and use DD PLII to simulate 5.1.

Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Subscribe to this Thread

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3