*OFFICIAL* Denon AVR 2310CI / 890 Owner's Thread - Page 243 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 2Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #7261 of 7287 Old 04-12-2015, 05:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JChin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Mesquite Tx
Posts: 8,716
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 184 Post(s)
Liked: 153
Quote:
Originally Posted by pmcduie View Post
Play a 2D DTS-HD Blu-Ray and the display on the receiver shows the correct signal ( DTS-HD, "blue light"), but no sound comes out of the receiver.

If I change the Digital Audio Output -> PCM, the same 2D Blu-Ray displays MULTICH IN, and I get sound OK from the receiver.
Any ideas on why it does not get any sound when in Bitstream mode ( i.e processed by the receiver, not the Blu-Ray player).
Hi pmcduie, there were a firmware released for this receiver to correct this issue for some BD players. So check that firmware is up to date on receiver (see post #1 ) and BD Player.
JChin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #7262 of 7287 Old 04-12-2015, 09:21 PM
Member
 
pmcduie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by JChin View Post
Hi pmcduie, there were a firmware released for this receiver to correct this issue for some BD players. So check that firmware is up to date on receiver (see post #1 ) and BD Player.

I suspect it would not cover this relatively new Blu-Ray player.


It is also not the easiest thing to upgrade firmware on these receivers, since they are not network connected. Unless It could be guaranteed that this would resolve the problem, I think I will live with it as it stands.


Thanks for the help anyway
pmcduie is offline  
post #7263 of 7287 Old 04-13-2015, 12:07 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mogorf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Posts: 4,841
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 491 Post(s)
Liked: 179
Quote:
Originally Posted by pmcduie View Post
Play a 2D DTS-HD Blu-Ray and the display on the receiver shows the correct signal ( DTS-HD, "blue light"), but no sound comes out of the receiver.
Hi, apart from the display showing DTS-HD and the "blue light" on, do you see the input indicators lit (left side of display) or not?
mogorf is online now  
post #7264 of 7287 Old 04-13-2015, 12:23 AM
Advanced Member
 
80sGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 774
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 119 Post(s)
Liked: 28
First of all the 2310ci is by no means "the weak link in the chain". Newer isn't always better, but I still think the AVR-2310ci has a lot to offer. Regarding your issue, what does this say when pressing this on your remote setting?
Menu>Input Setup>Input Mode: AUTO, HDMI or EXT IN?
If possible, switch it to HDMI or AUTO.

Quote:
Originally Posted by pmcduie View Post
Thanks for the quick reply.


I have cycled through them 2 or 3 times, no difference. I have checked HDMI control, and it is set to Off.


I understand the 3D issue, I have the following components:


Panasonic 3D Blu-Ray
Denon AVR-2310 receiver
Samsung 55" #D TV ( UA55H7000).


I was always expecting the receiver to be the weak link in the chain and will probably replace it in the near future with one of the newer Denon models ( e.g. AVR-X1100W). For now I can get Multi Ch IN sound , but really curious on why the Bitstream does not work.


Any way many thanks for the help.
Phil
80sGuy is offline  
post #7265 of 7287 Old 04-13-2015, 12:45 AM
Member
 
pmcduie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by 80sGuy View Post
First of all the 2310ci is by no means "the weak link in the chain". Newer isn't always better, but I still think the AVR-2310ci has a lot to offer. Regarding your issue, what does this say when pressing this on your remote setting?
Menu>Input Setup>Input Mode: AUTO, HDMI or EXT IN?
If possible, switch it to HDMI or AUTO.

Looks like it has "self corrected " itself. I have just restarted the Blu-Ray, changed the Digital Output from PCM back to Bitstream, played a Blu-Ray with DTS-HD and sound can now be heard. Maybe it was the complete powering down and restarting that made the difference.
Anyway , all is now OK.


Many thanks to all of the responses on this issue, it is greatly appreciated. This and other similar AVS forums have helped me to resolve many issues over the years.
I also agree that newer is not always better, but my experiences with Denon receivers has been a continual improvement for me progressing from the following :


AVR-2808 ( now being used by my daughter in her apartment and never missed beat)
AVR-2310 (now used in a second room)
AVR-4520 ( Main home theatre setup, in 7.2 configuration, 5.2 + Front wides)- This receiver is the best by a long way, it performance for both music and home theatre has been a revelation to me. I have been a Hi-Fi enthusiast for over 30 years and this receiver provides a superlative performance on stereo music ( using Audyssey), and amazing surround sound experience using 2 sub-woofers.


I will not be changing from Denon any time soon.


Anyway once again, thanks to all for your help.
pmcduie is offline  
post #7266 of 7287 Old 04-13-2015, 01:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mogorf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Posts: 4,841
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 491 Post(s)
Liked: 179
Quote:
Originally Posted by pmcduie View Post
Looks like it has "self corrected " itself. I have just restarted the Blu-Ray, changed the Digital Output from PCM back to Bitstream, played a Blu-Ray with DTS-HD and sound can now be heard. Maybe it was the complete powering down and restarting that made the difference.
Anyway , all is now OK.
Glad to hear your problem resolved. Enjoy your Denon(s), just like I enjoy mine!

Be well.
mogorf is online now  
post #7267 of 7287 Old 04-14-2015, 11:52 AM
Senior Member
 
gamecock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Columbia, South Carolina
Posts: 283
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I wish I could get a avr to last that long . I keep flipping from denon to pioneer as their digital input boards die around month 30
gamecock is offline  
post #7268 of 7287 Old 04-14-2015, 11:57 AM
Advanced Member
 
80sGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 774
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 119 Post(s)
Liked: 28
I hope not. Mine has been over 48 months and still working nicely.
Quote:
Originally Posted by gamecock View Post
I wish I could get a avr to last that long . I keep flipping from denon to pioneer as their digital input boards die around month 30
80sGuy is offline  
post #7269 of 7287 Old 04-14-2015, 11:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mogorf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Posts: 4,841
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 491 Post(s)
Liked: 179
Quote:
Originally Posted by gamecock View Post
I wish I could get a avr to last that long . I keep flipping from denon to pioneer as their digital input boards die around month 30
Are you running the avr 24/7? Do you have proper ventillation around the avr? These factors can greatly influence the life-time of the avrs or certain components inside.
mogorf is online now  
post #7270 of 7287 Old 04-14-2015, 12:06 PM
Senior Member
 
gamecock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Columbia, South Carolina
Posts: 283
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It can't put my finger on it, but no they aren't 24x7. I was concern about heat at one time and put a temperature control fan in cabinet. However when the pioneer sc55 went in and ran so cool , I got rid of that setup in one of my 'cleanup ' projects.
My latest theory is static electricity frying via speaker or hdmi inputs
gamecock is offline  
post #7271 of 7287 Old 04-14-2015, 12:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mogorf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Posts: 4,841
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 491 Post(s)
Liked: 179
Quote:
Originally Posted by gamecock View Post
It can't put my finger on it, but no they aren't 24x7. I was concern about heat at one time and put a temperature control fan in cabinet. However when the pioneer sc55 went in and ran so cool , I got rid of that setup in one of my 'cleanup ' projects.
My latest theory is static electricity frying via speaker or hdmi inputs
Actually my fear would not be static electricity but the cabinet witout a cooling fan!!! Maybe worth to reconsider the "cleanup project" again. Just thinkin' out loud.
mogorf is online now  
post #7272 of 7287 Old 04-14-2015, 01:25 PM
Advanced Member
 
80sGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 774
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 119 Post(s)
Liked: 28
You guys are making me nervous. Mine is filled in the slot and seemed to run adequately cool compared to another harman/kardon on the same space.

80sGuy is offline  
post #7273 of 7287 Old 04-14-2015, 02:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mogorf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Posts: 4,841
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 491 Post(s)
Liked: 179
Quote:
Originally Posted by 80sGuy View Post
You guys are making me nervous. Mine is filled in the slot and seemed to run adequately cool compared to another harman/kardon on the same space.
I think you are good to go as long as it runs cool on the top (read: luke warm+).

On a special note, I like the color tone of your woodwork! Please see my setup (link in my sig). Quite similar, but left side completely open.

BTW, a bit of dusting seems due. I do the dusting (top and underneath) once a week on the weekend. Another enemy of our electronics.

Last edited by mogorf; 04-14-2015 at 02:26 PM.
mogorf is online now  
post #7274 of 7287 Old 04-14-2015, 04:13 PM
Advanced Member
 
80sGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 774
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 119 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Oh, yours is MUCH nicer! You've got the 'wall of sound' compared to what I have. But I agree, beautiful wood-work! Talk about dust, I didn't realize it until I put the flash on. Thinking about getting something darker to blend in with the whole ensemble but when I think about the dusts...forget it! By the way, cooling on that part seemed alright since I cut and expanded the wiring hole.
Quote:
Originally Posted by mogorf View Post
I think you are good to go as long as it runs cool on the top (read: luke warm+).

On a special note, I like the color tone of your woodwork! Please see my setup (link in my sig). Quite similar, but left side completely open.

BTW, a bit of dusting seems due. I do the dusting (top and underneath) once a week on the weekend. Another enemy of our electronics.
80sGuy is offline  
post #7275 of 7287 Old 04-16-2015, 06:36 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Can someone please help?

Hello all, I hope I am posting this in the correct place. My dilemma, I am attempting to run 2 Infinity IL-60's on a denon 2310ci receiver. I just completed R.A.B.O.S with not much difference after testing 3 times and adjusting back of speakers twice. I then tried to run the audyssey setup and it says ambient noise too loud or level too low. I assure you it isn't the ambient noise. I have the speakers hooked up via Y connector off of the receiver pre-out to sub in on both speakers and speaker wire from front A on receiver to speaker terminals on back of speaker. Can someone tell me what postion switches need to be in? Switches are (Sub input, speaker or line) (Low pass filter, on or off) (Bass optimization system, on or off ) I am stumped and a little ignorant to all the bells and whistles of this receiver.
66shovelhd is offline  
post #7276 of 7287 Old 04-17-2015, 04:54 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 50,906
Mentioned: 42 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3974 Post(s)
Liked: 2248
^^
Sub input - line
Low Pass Filter - Off
Bass Optimization - If this is referring to the RABOS EQ you did, then ON, although you may not notice much difference if OFF

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #7277 of 7287 Old 05-02-2015, 10:24 AM
Member
 
sighting's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I can't send a private message because I have not created enough posts
sighting is offline  
post #7278 of 7287 Old 05-02-2015, 10:25 AM
Member
 
sighting's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by sighting View Post
I can't send a private message because I have not created enough posts
Updated above
sighting is offline  
post #7279 of 7287 Old 05-02-2015, 10:26 AM
Member
 
sighting's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by sighting View Post
Updated above
Firmware availabiliity
sighting is offline  
post #7280 of 7287 Old 05-12-2015, 02:10 PM
Newbie
 
CaptainPete's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a Denon AVR-890 I have had for a while and love. Recently I purchased a new 80" tv, a Sharp LC-80LE642U, I changed nothing on the receiver, just took one tv off the wall and put the new one up. Now when I turn on the setup with my Harmony remote, (tv, avr-890,directv box) the sound comes on momentarily, then off, then a few seconds later it returns. I think I have traced it to the Denon, not 100% sure but watching the display on it something comes on and off and then on again on the display.On the tv the hdmi cable is plugged into HDMI 1 ARC. I can live with this problem but if I knew exactly what caused it I would be happier.
CaptainPete is offline  
post #7281 of 7287 Old 05-12-2015, 02:37 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 50,906
Mentioned: 42 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3974 Post(s)
Liked: 2248
^^
Disconnect HDMI cable from TV and DTV box. Power off 890 and unplug for 10 minutes. Then try powering on again .... TV, wait 5 seconds, AVR, wait 5 seconds, DTV box.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #7282 of 7287 Old 05-12-2015, 03:12 PM
Advanced Member
 
80sGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 774
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 119 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Have you tried going into HDMI setting on the 890 to see if the speaker setting is on TV or AMP? Try toggling them back and forth. Also, try a different HDMI cable. Tight fit doesn't mean anything because certain internal contact points can be shorter than others causing connection problems, maybe in the case with your new set. Resetting the 890 like JD has suggested wouldn't hurt either. I'd do all that and change out the HDMI cable.
Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptainPete View Post
I have a Denon AVR-890 I have had for a while and love. Recently I purchased a new 80" tv, a Sharp LC-80LE642U, I changed nothing on the receiver, just took one tv off the wall and put the new one up. Now when I turn on the setup with my Harmony remote, (tv, avr-890,directv box) the sound comes on momentarily, then off, then a few seconds later it returns. I think I have traced it to the Denon, not 100% sure but watching the display on it something comes on and off and then on again on the display.On the tv the hdmi cable is plugged into HDMI 1 ARC. I can live with this problem but if I knew exactly what caused it I would be happier.
80sGuy is offline  
post #7283 of 7287 Old 05-19-2015, 11:03 AM
Newbie
 
sgondek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Conundrum

I utilize Zone 2 of my AVR 2310 on my deck & have done so for the past 5 summers.
This year when I set up the speakers, I cannot get playback from my DirecTV music channels. My CD/DVD player & laptop (via AUX) work just fine.
BTW, when not using Zone 2, I am running 5.1 with one additional surround back speaker.
sgondek is offline  
post #7284 of 7287 Old 05-19-2015, 11:11 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 50,906
Mentioned: 42 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3974 Post(s)
Liked: 2248
^^
Confirm there is an analog cable connected from the DTV box to the AVR and using the same source name as the HDMI cable.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 

Last edited by jdsmoothie; 05-19-2015 at 11:15 AM.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #7285 of 7287 Old 05-19-2015, 12:41 PM
Newbie
 
sgondek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
^^
Confirm there is an analog cable connected from the DTV box to the AVR and using the same source name as the HDMI cable.
Well, that did the trick. Can't tell you how many times I looked at that and missed it!
Thanks!
sgondek is offline  
post #7286 of 7287 Old 05-19-2015, 01:06 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 50,906
Mentioned: 42 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3974 Post(s)
Liked: 2248
^^
Happens to the best of us.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #7287 of 7287 Old Today, 10:33 AM
Newbie
 
hdtv_1080p's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Michigan
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I need some help to figure out what is the problem with my AVR-2310CI receiver. When I turn on the receiver it comes on and then turn off a second later (making a loud click) with red light blinking. It was working couple of days ago and stopped working last night.

First I tried unplugging it for 10 minutes and tried it didn't solve the problem. Next I reset the microprocessor it didn't solve the problem. Can anyone please guide me to resolve this issue. Greatly appreciate any help I can get.

Thanks.

Last edited by hdtv_1080p; Today at 10:37 AM.
hdtv_1080p is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off