*OFFICIAL* Denon AVR 2310CI / 890 Owner's Thread - Page 37 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1081 of 7220 Old 09-08-2009, 09:26 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 24,111
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 410 Post(s)
Liked: 1072
if you can only afford 50 bucks -- Harmony 550 or 670 (check refurbs on ebay/amazon)

if you can spend 100 bucks -- Harmony 720 (also refurbs are the best deal)

if you can spend 150-200 -- Harmony One is the best

(PS - if you need RF, the only options are the 890 ($100-ish refurb) and the new 900 ($400!!))

this thread is a great resource:
http://www.remotecentral.com/cgi-bin...?keywords=4251

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1082 of 7220 Old 09-08-2009, 09:58 AM
Member
 
Bob222's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 83
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by batpig View Post

yeah, the issue is that once you reassign inputs and rename a few things, all of a sudden you are staring at the remote thinking "which one was the stupid tape again? is it the "DVR" button or the "VCR" button???" After you rename/reassign the names of the sources no longer correspond to the names on the remote... a Harmony definitely makes that easier.

also, as you noticed there is no dedicated audio output for audio-only devices like a tape deck. The old Tape in/out loop has gone by the wayside, so if you want to record on the tape deck you will have to use the DVR outs or use a y-splitter on the VCR outs.

Ah a Y- splitter. I didn't think of that one. That could work. Thanks batpig. I appreciate the info.
Bob222 is offline  
post #1083 of 7220 Old 09-08-2009, 10:14 AM
Member
 
Aqxea's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by chumaj001 View Post

[IMG]


Ok, here you go

Whole gallery in hires http://fotoalba.cz/alba/chumaj001/1973927

Anyone know what kind of speakers are in this pic?
Aqxea is offline  
post #1084 of 7220 Old 09-08-2009, 10:29 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 24,111
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 410 Post(s)
Liked: 1072
Monitor Audio "silver" line, I believe those are RS8 towers and the RS-LCR center:
http://www.monitoraudiousa.com/products/silver-rs

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is online now  
post #1085 of 7220 Old 09-08-2009, 10:40 AM
Member
 
Aqxea's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by batpig View Post

Monitor Audio "silver" line, I believe those are RS8 towers and the RS-LCR center:
http://www.monitoraudiousa.com/products/silver-rs

Thanks, they look nice, but a bit out of my price range. Think I'll just stick with getting a couple of Polk Monitor 70's for now.
Aqxea is offline  
post #1086 of 7220 Old 09-08-2009, 10:59 AM
Newbie
 
Pkrplr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello... I'm new in here so if I am not posting a quesion correctly...don't shoot..!

I just purchased a Denon 2310ci (sold my 3805).
Now I know Denons usually don't produce high end trebles but it doesn't seem like I can get any treble response out of my center channel speaker (Klpisch RC-35) at all.!

Does anyone know if this is normal ?

thanks
Pkrplr is offline  
post #1087 of 7220 Old 09-08-2009, 11:53 AM
Newbie
 
shaverict's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just picked up a Denon 2310-great so far. I thought I would hook up an old Pioneer PLA-35 turntable (early 70's) to it but get virtually no volume-do i need a pre-amp or different type of cartridge? What am I doing wrong?
shaverict is offline  
post #1088 of 7220 Old 09-08-2009, 12:03 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 24,111
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 410 Post(s)
Liked: 1072
just to cover the obvious, did you actually plug into the PHONO input? there is a pre-amp built in, but as indicated in the manual (see pg 16) it is only good with MM-type cartridges; according to the manual if you have a different type of record player (e.g. MC) you may need a "MC head amp or a step-up transformer".

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is online now  
post #1089 of 7220 Old 09-08-2009, 12:06 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 24,111
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 410 Post(s)
Liked: 1072
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pkrplr View Post

I just purchased a Denon 2310ci (sold my 3805).
Now I know Denons usually don't produce high end trebles but it doesn't seem like I can get any treble response out of my center channel speaker (Klpisch RC-35) at all.!

have you run Audyssey? if so, the Audyssey MultEQ filters your speakers to provide a flat response with a slight roll-off in the high frequencies. If you switch to the FLAT room EQ curve the speakers will be EQ'd to a flat response so you may recover some of the treble.

Assuming this is your first receiver with room EQ, what is likely happening is that you are used to the uncorrected, bright response of your Klipsch speakers. Klipsch speakers (with their horn tweeters) are notorious for being bright and emphasizing the treble, and this can also be emphasized by your room acoustics. You have probably grown used to this sound over the years and this is the first time you are hearing it corrected for an accurate freq. response in your room.

Additionally, Dynamic EQ is boosting the bass to create a fuller sound and this will make it sound less "trebly" in comparison.

Try switching to the FLAT curve instead of AUDYSSEY and see if it sounds better to you. Then give yourself some time to get used to the new sound.

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is online now  
post #1090 of 7220 Old 09-08-2009, 12:52 PM
Member
 
parlyle's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: West Central Wisconsin
Posts: 140
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I will be setting up my new system with the 2310, but, just for fun and giggles. How much time do I have in between sound sequences when the Audyssey takes over the speakers. I have a camera tripod that I put the microphone on to, but I think I will have to do some shifting and extending the legs of the tripod to get all of the spots of sound recorded.
I don't want to be messing around with the tripod when the next chirp comes up.
Thanks:

Lyle
parlyle is offline  
post #1091 of 7220 Old 09-08-2009, 01:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JHAz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,913
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 151
You've got as long as you want, AFAIK. THe system prompts you to move the mic, then press what amounts to "enter" (the < key) before it does its next chirps.
JHAz is offline  
post #1092 of 7220 Old 09-08-2009, 03:09 PM
Member
 
jacwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: concord nc
Posts: 95
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ok Ive been reading up on the 2310 since I ordered it why not read about it and get ready
so everyone seems to hate the stock remote ,if this is true what would be the best budget remote to get(under $100) if possible refurb or new doesnt matter to me
going to be running

denon 2310
EPSON 1080ub
JVC XV-BP1 bluray player
time Warner 8300 HDC DVR box
jacwood is offline  
post #1093 of 7220 Old 09-08-2009, 03:13 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 24,111
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 410 Post(s)
Liked: 1072
Quote:


so everyone seems to hate the stock remote ,if this is true what would be the best budget remote to get(under $100) if possible refurb or new doesnt matter to me

10 posts up (#1081)

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is online now  
post #1094 of 7220 Old 09-08-2009, 03:17 PM
Member
 
jacwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: concord nc
Posts: 95
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
oops!!!! missed that one thanks
jacwood is offline  
post #1095 of 7220 Old 09-08-2009, 03:52 PM
Member
 
Aqxea's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The first universal remote app just came out for the iPhone. I haven't tried it yet since it only works with Tivo but they are in the process of adding support for more TVs, set top boxes, and DVRs. Should be interesting to see how well it works. I might have to hold off on buying a Harmony One.

http://i.tv/
Aqxea is offline  
post #1096 of 7220 Old 09-08-2009, 04:06 PM
Member
 
ssbn733mt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 135
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I finally joined the club. It came today from 6ave at a crazy price and arrived early which is always great. Plan on installing this weekend so haven't flipped through the manual much. I know that I've read somewhere on here throughout my countless hours of research but can't remember. How much clearance should I allow above the unit? It's at 3" now but I have plenty of room to spare. Side clearance isn't really an issue. Correct?

XBL Gamertag: Shovelbum
PSN ID: Shovelbum
ssbn733mt is offline  
post #1097 of 7220 Old 09-08-2009, 04:21 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,890
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 754 Post(s)
Liked: 1418
Denon's barely run warm, so at least 2" top clearance is generally recommended. You should be fine with 3". Enjoy!

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AV Gear 
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #1098 of 7220 Old 09-08-2009, 04:26 PM
Member
 
dboff01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aqxea View Post

Thanks, they look nice, but a bit out of my price range. Think I'll just stick with getting a couple of Polk Monitor 70's for now.

I'm not sure how out of your price range they are but the current Silver RS series (in the photo) has recently been discontinued and is being replaced by the Silver RX series. If you talk to your local dealer, you might be able to swing a deal for the outgoing versions of the RS-LCR and RS6 towers which are less expensive than the RS8, and some believe offer a better sounding speaker.
dboff01 is offline  
post #1099 of 7220 Old 09-08-2009, 05:55 PM
Member
 
parlyle's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: West Central Wisconsin
Posts: 140
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JHAz View Post

You've got as long as you want, AFAIK. THe system prompts you to move the mic, then press what amounts to "enter" (the < key) before it does its next chirps.

That makes me feel better about the first setup. Now all I need is the HDMI cables I ordered and I should be in business.
Thanks!
parlyle is offline  
post #1100 of 7220 Old 09-08-2009, 08:52 PM
Member
 
melakai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Chicago
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JChin View Post

Electronic Expo for $548 using coupon code JKL33X

I verified this shortly after posting, but it now looks like the discount is down from $300 to $245.49

Moving into a new place that I'm planning to wire for sound. Trying to decide if I should order now, or hope the price drops back another $55
melakai is offline  
post #1101 of 7220 Old 09-08-2009, 09:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JChin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Mesquite Tx
Posts: 8,506
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
Liked: 128
Quote:
Originally Posted by melakai View Post

I verified this shortly after posting, but it now looks like the discount is down from $300 to $245.49

Moving into a new place that I'm planning to wire for sound. Trying to decide if I should order now, or hope the price drops back another $55

Welcome melakai, you can go to 6th ave "Name Your Price", others has been successful on $548. You can ask for a lower price and they may counter offer at $548.
JChin is offline  
post #1102 of 7220 Old 09-09-2009, 06:48 AM
Senior Member
 
vassillios's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 353
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by parlyle View Post

I will be setting up my new system with the 2310, but, just for fun and giggles. How much time do I have in between sound sequences when the Audyssey takes over the speakers. I have a camera tripod that I put the microphone on to, but I think I will have to do some shifting and extending the legs of the tripod to get all of the spots of sound recorded.
I don't want to be messing around with the tripod when the next chirp comes up.
Thanks:

Lyle

Becareful though, as soon as you select measure, the sounds start....and I mean IMMEADIATELY. It took me 2 times before I learned not to walk away after I selected "measure", ultimately walking in front of the left front speaker while the test sound started.
vassillios is offline  
post #1103 of 7220 Old 09-09-2009, 06:53 AM
Senior Member
 
vassillios's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 353
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by melakai View Post

I verified this shortly after posting, but it now looks like the discount is down from $300 to $245.49

Moving into a new place that I'm planning to wire for sound. Trying to decide if I should order now, or hope the price drops back another $55

I think the $55 is a miniscule amount. You could take the risk and find the discount is only $200 later. I ended up paying $679!!! If I had waited just one more day, I would have seen the coupon postings for the $549 price. $609 is a decent price for this receiver, it is quite good for the $600 price tag.
vassillios is offline  
post #1104 of 7220 Old 09-09-2009, 08:38 AM
Member
 
bossfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by melakai View Post

I verified this shortly after posting, but it now looks like the discount is down from $300 to $245.49

Moving into a new place that I'm planning to wire for sound. Trying to decide if I should order now, or hope the price drops back another $55

As previous poster said use 6th ave's name your own price but it ends on the 10th so don't wait if you really want this receiver. I submitted 3 different bids and lowest I got was $545 which includes shipping so you may want to bid around that price.

If you can live without the extra features of the 2310 then bid on the 1910, the lowest I got on that was $390.
bossfan is offline  
post #1105 of 7220 Old 09-09-2009, 11:50 AM
Member
 
melakai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Chicago
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bossfan View Post

As previous poster said use 6th ave's name your own price but it ends on the 10th so don't wait if you really want this receiver. I submitted 3 different bids and lowest I got was $545 which includes shipping so you may want to bid around that price.

Thanks bossfan, I took your bid amount of $545. I had previously tried $500 and $525 and all were countered up to $598, so it seems $545 countered $550 is the sweetspot.

I went ahead and placed my order just a few minutes ago; finally glad to take the plunge. Been waiting a while on some features to trickle down to the lower-end models, which finally happened.

Still disappointed at the inability to downmix 5.1 to 2.0 and send it over Zone 2 , but I'll just have to live with it.
melakai is offline  
post #1106 of 7220 Old 09-09-2009, 12:49 PM
Member
 
parlyle's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: West Central Wisconsin
Posts: 140
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by vassillios View Post

Becareful though, as soon as you select measure, the sounds start....and I mean IMMEADIATELY. It took me 2 times before I learned not to walk away after I selected "measure", ultimately walking in front of the left front speaker while the test sound started.

Thanks for the warning! I'll try hiding behind a wall before selecting "go"
parlyle is offline  
post #1107 of 7220 Old 09-09-2009, 01:29 PM
Newbie
 
Akai Kishi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If all goes smoothly, how long does it take for Audyssey to calibrate all 7.1 speakers using all 6 MultEQ points?
I'm just curious how long I can expect to annoy my wall sharing neighbors with test tones.

Oh, and why is Logitech being so difficult having your (batpig's) Harmony codes transfered to my account! I've been forwarded to Tier 2 support to do this! Why can't they just make this whole process easier? Like offer bin/hex code additions that the user can add by themselves!
Akai Kishi is offline  
post #1108 of 7220 Old 09-09-2009, 05:00 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,890
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 754 Post(s)
Liked: 1418
Quote:
Originally Posted by vassillios View Post

Becareful though, as soon as you select measure, the sounds start....and I mean IMMEADIATELY. It took me 2 times before I learned not to walk away after I selected "measure", ultimately walking in front of the left front speaker while the test sound started.

Your remote doesn't work from outside of the listening area?

Quote:
Originally Posted by melakai View Post

Still disappointed at the inability to downmix 5.1 to 2.0 and send it over Zone 2 , but I'll just have to live with it.

Analog cables from the source aren't that bad a work around.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Akai Kishi View Post

If all goes smoothly, how long does it take for Audyssey to calibrate all 7.1 speakers using all 6 MultEQ points?

Shouldn't take more than 20 minutes, although best done during the day when no one is around. Definitely put small animals outside.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AV Gear 
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #1109 of 7220 Old 09-09-2009, 05:03 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 24,111
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 410 Post(s)
Liked: 1072
Quote:


Definitely put small animals outside.

or lock 'em in the bathroom Wives generally don't take too kindly to that treatment though so make sure they are out of the house!

I actually just got an AVR 2310CI today on a really nice deal off my local craigslist, so I will soon have a '10 model to test and play with. The GUI overlay will be very helpful for me since I spend a lot of time navigating the menus trying to investigate functionality. Excited to play with it, see what other minor functional differences there are from the '09 models.

But I won't get to set it up till next week, I'm off for the next four days to go camping in Tuolumne Meadows up in Yosemite NP. JD, SoM, et al, you are at the helm

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is online now  
post #1110 of 7220 Old 09-09-2009, 05:21 PM
Member
 
hifiguymi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by batpig View Post

Just to be clear, I do not know if they will provide a specific "fix". But, in general, yes, firmware upgrades/updates are a "step up feature" of the networked models (3808CI and up last year, 3310CI and up this year).




First off, Denons are VERY low on bugs so there are rarely actual firmware updates put out. Last year ('09 models) there was only ONE fix put out that I am aware, which fixed a problem with video output from Denon ipod docks.

If there is a specific firmware fix that comes out, 2310CI owners can install it themselves via the serial port (RS-232) on the back of the unit. You can do it from any computer (either using a serial port or a USB>Serial converter).

Receivers without RS-232 ports (890 and down) would have to be taken to a Denon service center to have firmware be updated.




no, I don't work for Denon or any other AV company, I'm just a dude on the internet with a lot of free time at work that sounds like a silly internet rumor to me though

There was a firmware update issued in early August that "Corrects for some Display anomalies when using HDMI".
hifiguymi is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off