Denon AVR-4810CI/AVR-4810 w/ 9.3ch, Dolby PLIIz/Audyssey DSX, October 09- - Page 131 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-16-2012, 01:13 PM
Newbie
 
semery74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone know if there is a way to output hdmi video from 1 source to monitor1 and output a second hdmi source to monitor2 simultaneously?
semery74 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-16-2012, 01:23 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,604
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2034 Post(s)
Liked: 1761
^^
Sorry, but no AVR can do that, rather you would need to add an external HDMI switch similar to the one below ...

http://www.monoprice.com/products/pr...seq=1&format=2

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (including weekends)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
Old 01-16-2012, 01:51 PM
Newbie
 
socojojo23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Question about Denon Link: I have a Denon 3910 universal player which is DL3 and a Denon 4810 AVR which is DL4. Is the 4810 backwards compatible to the 3910 DL3?
socojojo23 is offline  
Old 01-16-2012, 02:46 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 25,045
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1164 Post(s)
Liked: 1601
Quote:
Originally Posted by socojojo23 View Post

Question about Denon Link: I have a Denon 3910 universal player which is DL3 and a Denon 4810 AVR which is DL4. Is the 4810 backwards compatible to the 3910 DL3?

Yes, the only difference is that DL4 also supports Blu-ray audio.

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is offline  
Old 01-16-2012, 02:51 PM
Newbie
 
semery74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank you JD...Knew it was long shot considering the number of times I reviewed all the settings.

Has anyone come across dormant features in the 4810, like the networking feature in the 4806, that just require a key combination during power up?
semery74 is offline  
Old 01-16-2012, 02:55 PM
Newbie
 
socojojo23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks Batpig. You are very helpful and I have visited your web page and will be showing you my gratitude if you know what I mean. I thought I tried to set it up but could only get 2 channel audio and not Dolby 5.1. I will try again.
socojojo23 is offline  
Old 01-16-2012, 03:48 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,604
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2034 Post(s)
Liked: 1761
Denon should be announcing the replacement for the 4810CI sometime later this summer.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (including weekends)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
Old 01-16-2012, 08:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Woof Woof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 1,505
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Wishlist for the 4813 (if rumors that the 58xx and A1xx are canned):

DTS Neo:X with support for 11.2 channels
Audyssey DSX with support for 11.2 channels
Audyssey LFC
Audyssey MultiEQ XT32 with CI/Pro support
along with currently supported features like DenonLink4 and DSD over HDMI/DL

And if they make a pre/pro version - Full XLR support

I'd love to see an XLR 5.1 input, XLR stereo input and XLR 11.2 output
Woof Woof is online now  
Old 01-21-2012, 03:02 PM
Newbie
 
Animal223's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've noticed on my 4810 that when using the multi-channel stereo DSP setting, the surround speakers are significantly louder than the front left and right. I have done the Audyssey setup and for the standard surround modes (Dolby, DTS, etc) the balance seems fine. As I understand, multichannel stereo is supposed to be just like Stereo, with the L/R signals also going to the surround channels evenly.

Can anyone confirm for me this is how it should operate?

Thanks!
Animal223 is offline  
Old 01-21-2012, 03:53 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 25,045
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1164 Post(s)
Liked: 1601
that is because of Dynamic and how it interacts (poorly) with Multich Stereo.

Multich Stereo does indeed feed the same stereo signal to the L/R surrounds, but the problem is that Dyn EQ is also BOOSTING the volume of the surrounds (that's one of the things it does) so the surrounds end up sounding louder than the fronts.

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is offline  
Old 01-23-2012, 08:36 PM
Newbie
 
Animal223's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks Batpig! I turned off Dynamic EQ and the results were much better!
Animal223 is offline  
Old 01-29-2012, 02:17 PM
Member
 
Mark Paquette's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 137
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone know of a resource to determine a fair selling price for a 4810? I checked eBay and Audiogon, but didn't find any currently for sale.
Mark Paquette is offline  
Old 01-29-2012, 03:05 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,604
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2034 Post(s)
Liked: 1761
^^
Dakmart sells refurb units for $1730 with 1 year warranty.

http://www.dakmart.com/Receivers/c4_...duct_info.html

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (including weekends)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
Old 01-29-2012, 08:20 PM
Member
 
Mark Paquette's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 137
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

^^
Dakmart sells refurb units for $1730 with 1 year warranty.

http://www.dakmart.com/Receivers/c4_...duct_info.html

Thanks for the link. I'm thinking of selling mine but having a hard time determining what it should sell for. Surprised to see that there aren't many (any?) used ones available.
Mark Paquette is offline  
Old 01-30-2012, 06:01 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,604
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2034 Post(s)
Liked: 1761
^^
Sure ... just providing you with a possible selling point. Although as it's a stellar AVR, most are generally not going to want to sell/upgrade especially as there are 3D work arounds.

Electronics Expo has an open box unit they're selling for $1849 with full 2 year warranty.

http://www.amazon.com/gp/offer-listi...condition=used

If the network card has already been replaced (or you purchased a replacement as a backup) you'll likely get a little more for it. Start it at $2000 on eBay or your local Craigslist and go from there.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (including weekends)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
Old 02-02-2012, 09:58 PM
Newbie
 
thescienceman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I'm hoping perhaps Batpig you can help me answer a few questions.
1. Why does the Denon 4810CI manual only mention speakers to 6ohm? Can I safely run ML's which are 4 ohm speakers?

2. I've got a pair of Martin Logan Theos on the way. Does bi-amping literally use two of my amps for each speaker, one for high's and one for lows; such that each speaker will be receiving 2x180w's?

3. If anyone is familiar with the Martin Logan (ML) Theos, that manual suggests against "active bi-amping" but it's ok for "passive bi-ampling". So, what the heck is passive bi-amping and two, is this ok to do with this recveiver? I've not heard anyone at AV stores say not too.

4. I'm confused as heck with what terminals to use from the receiver if indeed I can bi-amp the speakers.

Thanks in advance for any feedback/help you all can provide.
Grateful,

Dan
thescienceman is offline  
Old 02-03-2012, 08:47 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,604
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2034 Post(s)
Liked: 1761
^^
1. Yes. Although the AVR is only designed for 6Ω-16Ω speakers, you should be able to easily run 4Ω speakers at average level volume (-20db) without issue. If it shuts down as you approach 0db, then simply set the Volume Limit to -10db.

2. No. Passive bi-amping (feature used on AVRs) serves no real benefit, in either additional power or better audio fidelity. If you want more power to the ML, the get a 250W+ external amp and connect it to the 4810CI FL/FR preouts.

3. See #2.

4. See #2.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (including weekends)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
Old 02-03-2012, 05:15 PM
Newbie
 
thescienceman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Thank you jdsmoothie.

I did some additional research today too and came to the conclusion that indeed i had to go with an external amp. I purchased the acurus A2005 amp.

http://www.acurusav.com/acurus%20product%20page.html
thescienceman is offline  
Old 02-13-2012, 09:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Woof Woof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 1,505
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Something weird happened on the smaller remote today.

The Zone4 LED was lit and stayed lit. Changing the Zone selection to other zones would light the other LEDs but the Z4 light stayed on. And eventually the LEDs on the other zones would power off. Leaving the Z4 LED to remain lit.

And obviously I couldn't use the remote to control the volume in my main zone as well.

Any help?
Woof Woof is online now  
Old 02-13-2012, 11:01 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 25,045
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1164 Post(s)
Liked: 1601
did you try taking the batteries out for a few minutes to see if the remote will "reset" and clear out the gremlins?

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is offline  
Old 02-13-2012, 07:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Woof Woof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 1,505
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 40
I took it out for a few minutes but the Z4 light still came on. Have taken it out overnight.

Is it a low battery indication?
Woof Woof is online now  
Old 02-14-2012, 11:24 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 25,045
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1164 Post(s)
Liked: 1601
sorry I'm at a loss! never seen that one before.... have you tried just replacing the batteries? seems easier than asking on the internet

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is offline  
Old 02-15-2012, 08:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Woof Woof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 1,505
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 40
I think the remote went into "program mode"

Not sure why. I put in the original batteries and now Z4 is off

But my remote no longer works (it's the wrong ID) because it's in default

I had to switch the remote ID to an alternate mode because my IR emitter from my 3D projector interfered with the remote.
Woof Woof is online now  
Old 02-29-2012, 04:09 AM
Member
 
danieljoseph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
For some strange reason, everytime I switch on the AVR or when a new disc is loaded or a change in the menu this message props up:

Dial.norm
Offsett -4db

What does this mean?
danieljoseph is offline  
Old 02-29-2012, 06:20 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,604
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2034 Post(s)
Liked: 1761
^^
This is the "Dialog Normalization" factor embedded in Dolby Digital tracks and therefore not something that can be adjusted (see p. 96 in your Owner's manual for more info).

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (including weekends)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
Old 04-03-2012, 10:07 AM
Member
 
CiaranAnthony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Cambridge, MA, USA
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone interested in selling their AVR4810CI? Preferably someone in the north east, so I could pick it up and avoid shipping charges and risks.
CiaranAnthony is offline  
Old 04-04-2012, 10:48 AM
Member
 
HaleMoana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Philly Burbs
Posts: 132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by CiaranAnthony View Post

Anyone interested in selling their AVR4810CI? Preferably someone in the north east, so I could pick it up and avoid shipping charges and risks.

My arm could be twisted. What were you thinking? Send me a pm. I live in the western burbs of Philly but I travel all throughout NJ and could possibly meet if it were to be convenient. Pm me with an offer. It's only about a year old. Maybe year and a half

Currently in the "Design" Phase of my new Theater build

He who buys cheap, buys twice
HaleMoana is offline  
Old 04-08-2012, 08:41 PM
Member
 
sfaprilbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi, I have my 4810 set up using Audyssey. I have the Mythos STS tower speakers as front speakers.How can I get more sound/treble out of these great speakers while still using Audyssey set to on?
I currently have EQ-on,Dynamic Volume-on,DSX-on.
Thanks.
sfaprilbob is offline  
Old 04-09-2012, 04:22 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,604
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2034 Post(s)
Liked: 1761
^^
Dyn Vol should really only be used for late night or TV viewing. Try setting it to OFF. Also, if you have a dedicated sub, set the front mains to SMALL with 60hz or 80hz crossovers.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (including weekends)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
Old 04-09-2012, 08:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SoundofMind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SE MI
Posts: 7,962
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 161
Quote:
Originally Posted by sfaprilbob View Post

...How can I get more sound/treble out of these great speakers while still using Audyssey set to on?I currently have EQ-on,Dynamic Volume-on,DSX-on.Thanks.

In addition to jd's comment about turning DVol off, you can also try the Audyssey Flat curve (press the EQ button). It does not have the hi freq roll-off of the Std reference curve and thus sounds brighter.

Yes, I still like playing with Dalis.

SoundofMind is offline  
 

Tags
Audyssey
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off