** OFFICIAL ** Denon AVR-3310CI/990 Owner's Thread - Page 132 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3931 of 3944 Old 11-15-2014, 06:21 AM
Member
 
n8nagel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 116
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Also, I'm setting up the inputs on this thing so the actual user isn't confused...

Is there a sheet anywhere that shows what physical inputs are what inputs to the system? e.g. what I'm really trying to figure out is what is the front V. AUX input as it does not have a composite input assigned by factory default, I want to set that one up so plugging anything in works. I assume the front panel optical is OPT3 and that is assigned by default to HDMI5 but I don't know what the composite input is

thanks!
n8nagel is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3932 of 3944 Old 11-15-2014, 06:22 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,249
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1867 Post(s)
Liked: 1725
^^
Refer to the Owner's manual for input configurations.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (including weekends)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #3933 of 3944 Old 11-15-2014, 06:52 AM
Member
 
n8nagel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 116
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I did, I don't see where it tells me what physical connection corresponds to what number in the menu. Maybe I will have to find a composite source and just test...

Sent from my XT897 using Tapatalk
n8nagel is offline  
post #3934 of 3944 Old 11-15-2014, 07:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JChin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Mesquite Tx
Posts: 8,567
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 104 Post(s)
Liked: 137
Quote:
Originally Posted by n8nagel View Post
e.g. what I'm really trying to figure out is what is the front V. AUX input as it does not have a composite input assigned by factory default, I want to set that one up so plugging anything in works. I assume the front panel optical is OPT3 and that is assigned by default to HDMI5 but I don't know what the composite input is
Quote:
Originally Posted by n8nagel View Post
I did, I don't see where it tells me what physical connection corresponds to what number in the menu.

Hi n8nagel, in the Input Assign menu under input source name V.AUX set HDMI, Digital and Comp to "None" and then set Input Mode for V.AUX as "Analog".
JChin is offline  
post #3935 of 3944 Old 11-15-2014, 09:04 AM
Member
 
n8nagel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 116
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Right, got that - although I'm actually not setting the others to 'none' in case she wants to hook up a temporary HDMI or optical device. Question is, what are the RCA inputs on the front panel? Or are those default to v.aux. and no setting is necessary?

Sent from my XT897 using Tapatalk
n8nagel is offline  
post #3936 of 3944 Old 11-15-2014, 09:49 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,249
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1867 Post(s)
Liked: 1725
^^
Correct. The RCA default to V.Aux. Should default to analog input if HDMI/digital not connected using that source name, but may have to change INPUT MODE to "Analog" as JChin suggested.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (including weekends)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 

Last edited by jdsmoothie; 11-15-2014 at 09:53 AM.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #3937 of 3944 Old 11-15-2014, 10:10 AM
Member
 
n8nagel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 116
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Ah, OK that makes sense then. I would have just tested it but there was literally no analog source in her house that I knew of.

Now that I think about it though I bet the cable box has an analog out but not sure if composite or component.

Sent from my XT897 using Tapatalk
n8nagel is offline  
post #3938 of 3944 Old 11-15-2014, 10:50 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,249
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1867 Post(s)
Liked: 1725
^^
It should have analog audio.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (including weekends)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #3939 of 3944 Old 11-24-2014, 08:50 AM
Member
 
n8nagel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 116
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Another dumb question...

got everything up and running, replaced network card and did all the updates except for the Audyssey DSX upgrade as this is just a 5.1 channel system with no plans to really expand beyond that. (so that means there's no benefit to be had from paying for it, correct? That wasn't my real question though.)

Current setup is a 5.1 with 4x Polk T20e (similar to Monitor 30), a Polk CS-1 center, and an Outlaw LFM-1 powered sub.

I've run Audyssey and the setup seems relatively good but now that I've dug into it a bit I am not sure exactly how Audyssey and the various crossovers actually work. I'm also not sure if my questions are generic to Audyssey and AVRs or this one in particular so please bear with me.

Audyssey correctly identified the speakers as "small" and set the crossover for all channels to 40 Hz. This seems low-ish to me, as the -3dB point of these speakers is somewhere around 50-55 Hz if I remember the spec sheet correctly. It makes sense to me that you might want to set the HPF for the 5 channels slightly lower than where the speakers actually roll off for best imaging, but what does this mean in terms of frequencies sent to the sub pre-out? I'm currently set for "LFE" (not "LFE + main") as my understanding is that by this setting speakers set to "small" will have their bass component added to the sub pre-out and I set the LPF for the LFE at 120 Hz.

Now the system sounds, to an uneducated ear, fantastic. But if someone could explain - or post a link to a detailed explanation - as to how these various settings interact, I'd greatly appreciate it.

how does the "small" speaker setting work in terms of sending bass to the sub? With the L/R/C/SL/SR crossovers set to 40 Hz, does that mean that only 40 Hz and below from those channels will be sent to sub pre-out? Or does that mean that 40 Hz and up are sent to the main speakers but that the 120 Hz from the sub LPF setting instead, so 120 Hz and down is sent to the sub as well? What does the sub LPF setting actually mean in terms of the LFE channel of a 5.1 or 7.1 source? Does that mean that if there is any information encoded into the LFE channel higher than 120 Hz that that will be lost? What *is* the typical upper frequency boundary of a 5.1 or 7.1 LFE channel, anyway? (yeah, I'm a little behind on this stuff. I'm really more of a 2-channel kind of guy, but I'm willing to learn.)

I do have the x-over knob cranked all the way up on the sub so that the receiver can handle all of this stuff. I'm not certain if that works only on the speaker level inputs or if it works on the line level input as well - I'll ask that question in the Outlaw thread.

Just trying to tweak this so that FR is flat as possible while maintaining the best imaging possible given that I'm not using full range speakers.

Thanks for any advice/guidance!
n8nagel is offline  
post #3940 of 3944 Old 11-25-2014, 06:51 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,249
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1867 Post(s)
Liked: 1725
The mfr spec and the speaker's performance in your room are likely to be different. Using Manual Setup, raise the crossovers to 80Hz to allow the sub to do the processing and take the load off the AVR. There are also more Audyssey sub filters than speaker filters. LFE is only 20Hz - 120Hz with very little > 80Hz which is why best to leave LPF for LFE at factory default of 120Hz.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (including weekends)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #3941 of 3944 Old 11-25-2014, 07:14 AM
Member
 
n8nagel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 116
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Thanks for the reply. So if I'm understanding you correctly the LPF for LFE only affects the LFE channel, and 120 Hz is a good setting as that is the typical upper bound for LFE sources, then the crossover setting for the other speakers is independent, e.g. if I have the center channel crossed at 80 Hz as you suggest that channel will receive the signal for that channel HPF at 80 Hz and that signal with a LPF at 80 Hz will be summed into the LFE channel output along with any other channels set to 'small' - am I basically understanding this correctly? Thanks again!

Sent from my XT897 using Tapatalk
n8nagel is offline  
post #3942 of 3944 Old 11-25-2014, 09:38 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 24,986
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1129 Post(s)
Liked: 1576
Yup you got it.
batpig is online now  
post #3943 of 3944 Old 11-25-2014, 09:48 AM
Member
 
n8nagel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 116
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Cool, thanks for the reply. If it sounds like I'm asking n00bish questions it's because I kind of am... I'm not a complete n00b to sound, but this is the first time I've set up an AVR with speakers that actually have a chance of sounding legitimately good if set up right.

Sent from my XT897 using Tapatalk
n8nagel is offline  
post #3944 of 3944 Old 11-25-2014, 12:03 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Voltage

Hi guys I am new to this forum.
I have a American 110v unit I bought from us.
I was using it with step down transformer in India for many years but my transformer just broke down today, I was reading that it is possible to rewire easily the internals to make amp 220v. I did not read for this specific model.
So if anyone has info on this or has done it please let me know.
Thanks
Delhite2 is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off