Replacement power cable for Emotiva XPA amps? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 15 Old 07-14-2009, 04:54 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
beekermartin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 1,308
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I am looking for longer power cords for an XPA-2 and XPA-5. I need to know what type of cord is safe to use. Will this work?: http://www.monoprice.com/products/pr...seq=1&format=2

I know that there are plenty of very expensive power cords out there but I don't believe they actually improve sound quality.
beekermartin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 15 Old 07-14-2009, 05:25 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
MichaelJHuman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 18,784
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 174 Post(s)
Liked: 101
I believe most US amp cords have the same rating. Check with Emotiva if unsure.

"But this one goes up to 11"
MichaelJHuman is online now  
post #3 of 15 Old 07-14-2009, 05:53 PM
Advanced Member
 
Beemer533's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Syracuse, NY
Posts: 839
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Both these amps are rated at 1500 watts max, which comes out to ~13 amps. (Amps = Watts/Volts; 1500/115 = 13.04)

14awg is rated for 15 amps, so these should be fine. If you want you could get a 12awg cord (20 amps) but that is kind of useless if you aren't plugging into a 20 amp outlet.

I would definetely plug each one of these into two separate circuits!

Whiskey Tango Foxtrot, Over.....
Beemer533 is offline  
post #4 of 15 Old 07-14-2009, 07:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TPnBobcats's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,512
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by beekermartin View Post

I am looking for longer power cords for an XPA-2 and XPA-5. I need to know what type of cord is safe to use. Will this work?: http://www.monoprice.com/products/pr...seq=1&format=2

I know that there are plenty of very expensive power cords out there but I don't believe they actually improve sound quality.

Actually it's a 2 conductor power cord, it lacks the ground wire. But it is supposed to be an IEC standard power cord, so one of the computer 3 prong ones should work.
TPnBobcats is offline  
post #5 of 15 Old 07-14-2009, 07:42 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
ccotenj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: the toxic waste dumps of new jersey
Posts: 21,915
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by TPnBobcats View Post

It's a standard and interchangeable power cord. It's the same cord used on most computer equipment and many other devices that have that connector. Having them be interchangeable is pretty much the point of standards.

+1... basically any power cord you have lying around with the correct connector should be fine...

even though the max rating on the amps may appear to require separate circuits, something tells me that irl, they'll be fine on one...

- chris

 

my build thread - updated 8-20-12 - new seating installed and projector isolation solution

 

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1332917/ccotenj-finally-gets-a-projector

ccotenj is offline  
post #6 of 15 Old 07-14-2009, 08:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
croseiv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2,654
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Beemer533 View Post

Both these amps are rated at 1500 watts max, which comes out to ~13 amps. (Amps = Watts/Volts; 1500/115 = 13.04)

14awg is rated for 15 amps, so these should be fine. If you want you could get a 12awg cord (20 amps) but that is kind of useless if you aren't plugging into a 20 amp outlet.

I would definetely plug each one of these into two separate circuits!

The XPA-5 is rated at 1800 watts max. At least that's what's on the back of mine.
croseiv is offline  
post #7 of 15 Old 07-14-2009, 08:25 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
beekermartin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 1,308
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I have them on a dedicated 20 amp circuit but I also have my Mirage OM-5 main L/R speaker's builit in amps and my MFW-15 sub on the same circuit. I haven't had a problem. I think a dedicated 20 amp circuit is more than capable of handling that load since all the amps are not maxed out at the same time, if ever.

I am willing to spend more on a nice set of power cables but I am not going to spend a $100.00 on one 10' power cable when I can buy a couple hundred feet of Romex for that price. It just doesn't make logical sense. Regardless of what type of cable is plugged into the outlet the power needs to get to the outlet first. That is usally over normal Romex wiring.

Anyway, I need @ten foot power cords so I have enough slack to move the rack forward without pulling on the power cords. I am sure I can find something that will get the job done for not too much money. If not maybe I will just build my own.
beekermartin is offline  
post #8 of 15 Old 07-14-2009, 08:31 PM
Advanced Member
 
Beemer533's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Syracuse, NY
Posts: 839
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by croseiv View Post

The XPA-5 is rated at 1800 watts max. At least that's what's on the back of mine.

I may have misread the specs from Emotiva's site...

Whiskey Tango Foxtrot, Over.....
Beemer533 is offline  
post #9 of 15 Old 07-15-2009, 05:18 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
ccotenj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: the toxic waste dumps of new jersey
Posts: 21,915
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by beekermartin View Post

I have them on a dedicated 20 amp circuit but I also have my Mirage OM-5 main L/R speaker's builit in amps and my MFW-15 sub on the same circuit. I haven't had a problem. I think a dedicated 20 amp circuit is more than capable of handling that load since all the amps are not maxed out at the same time, if ever.

I am willing to spend more on a nice set of power cables but I am not going to spend a $100.00 on one 10' power cable when I can buy a couple hundred feet of Romex for that price. It just doesn't make logical sense. Regardless of what type of cable is plugged into the outlet the power needs to get to the outlet first. That is usally over normal Romex wiring.

Anyway, I need @ten foot power cords so I have enough slack to move the rack forward without pulling on the power cords. I am sure I can find something that will get the job done for not too much money. If not maybe I will just build my own.

smart man, this poster...

try someplace like cables to go or parts express... might be able to score some cheap ones there... or fleabay, you never know...

your idea of making your own may turn out to be cheapest, depending on how much the terminations will cost...

something else to keep in mind... you could also use a 20 amp strip with a 10 or 15 foot cord (i know tripplite sells them, and i'm sure others do) to get the outlets closer to where you need them...

good luck... let us know which direction works out best...

ps. good thought process on the circuit as well... as an example, i have my susano and bk amp (as well as a bunch of components) on a 20 amp circuit with no issues... i also have a sub with a 1.5k amp and a kuro on a single 15 amp circuit with no issues...

- chris

 

my build thread - updated 8-20-12 - new seating installed and projector isolation solution

 

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1332917/ccotenj-finally-gets-a-projector

ccotenj is offline  
post #10 of 15 Old 07-15-2009, 06:11 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
penngray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Florida
Posts: 26,779
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:


ps. good thought process on the circuit as well... as an example, i have my susano and bk amp (as well as a bunch of components) on a 20 amp circuit with no issues... i also have a sub with a 1.5k amp and a kuro on a single 15 amp circuit with no issues...


I have much more on a 20 amp circuit.....no one runs thousands of watts continously and power cables/cricuits can handle probably many times the rated power for split seconds.

It is not "open-minded" to reject knowledge - Bob Lee
penngray is offline  
post #11 of 15 Old 07-15-2009, 06:27 AM
Advanced Member
 
bigbare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 728
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If you go DIY make sure you read up a bit first. While romex is ok for in the wall there is a reason it isn't use for extension cords etc. While wire is wire, insulation is not equal for all. Also you will want the flexability of something like SJ or the likes. The other thing is even though you may not be tripping a breaker if you are pushing the upper limits of the wire and CB rating you are still doing harm. The wire will be heating up causing the insulation to slowly deteriorate, then over time there is no longer insulation, now there is potential for fires as well as shorts. Also the breaker will eventually fail much quicker than normal, again causing issues. There is more to the story then just tripping breakers. Good luck!

"Sometimes you get shown the light in the strangest of places if you look at it right"
bigbare is offline  
post #12 of 15 Old 07-15-2009, 09:02 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
beekermartin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 1,308
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigbare View Post

If you go DIY make sure you read up a bit first. While romex is ok for in the wall there is a reason it isn't use for extension cords etc. While wire is wire, insulation is not equal for all. Also you will want the flexability of something like SJ or the likes. The other thing is even though you may not be tripping a breaker if you are pushing the upper limits of the wire and CB rating you are still doing harm. The wire will be heating up causing the insulation to slowly deteriorate, then over time there is no longer insulation, now there is potential for fires as well as shorts. Also the breaker will eventually fail much quicker than normal, again causing issues. There is more to the story then just tripping breakers. Good luck!

I am aware of that but thank you for posting it. There may be a possibility that I am drawing close to 20 amps on that circuit at peak load but I highly doubt it. When I have a chance I will plug the XPA-2 into a Kill-A-Watt meter to see how much it draws at around 110db. I will then do the same with the XPA-5.
beekermartin is offline  
post #13 of 15 Old 07-15-2009, 06:31 PM
Advanced Member
 
bigbare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 728
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by beekermartin View Post

I am aware of that but thank you for posting it. There may be a possibility that I am drawing close to 20 amps on that circuit at peak load but I highly doubt it. When I have a chance I will plug the XPA-2 into a Kill-A-Watt meter to see how much it draws at around 110db. I will then do the same with the XPA-5.

Please understand I mean no disrespect or assume you didn't already know this but I see it all the time. People think nothing of pushhing the limits of a circuit or for that matter choosing the right cords for an application. I figure it is always best to put it out there in case one doesn't know or someone who is reading the thread doesn't get funny ideas. Too many people it seems don't realize what they do by exceeding the limits of the circuit or just don't care. Unfortunately I have seen what can and does happen when limits are pushed. The wiring is cheap, a fire is any where from expensive to devestating.

"Sometimes you get shown the light in the strangest of places if you look at it right"
bigbare is offline  
post #14 of 15 Old 07-15-2009, 07:16 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
ccotenj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: the toxic waste dumps of new jersey
Posts: 21,915
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigbare View Post

Please understand I mean no disrespect or assume you didn't already know this but I see it all the time. People think nothing of pushhing the limits of a circuit or for that matter choosing the right cords for an application. I figure it is always best to put it out there in case one doesn't know or someone who is reading the thread doesn't get funny ideas. Too many people it seems don't realize what they do by exceeding the limits of the circuit or just don't care. Unfortunately I have seen what can and does happen when limits are pushed. The wiring is cheap, a fire is any where from expensive to devestating.

all true.

that being said, too many people think they are pulling more from the wall than they ever will. the kill-a-watt doesn't lie...

- chris

 

my build thread - updated 8-20-12 - new seating installed and projector isolation solution

 

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1332917/ccotenj-finally-gets-a-projector

ccotenj is offline  
post #15 of 15 Old 07-15-2009, 07:35 PM
Member
 
bwinders's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: marion, Ky
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You guys got me thinking and I can't find it on their website anymore. How long is their standard powercord?
bwinders is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off