Onkyo TX-NR807 Official Thread - Page 14 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #391 of 5482 Old 09-11-2009, 08:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
winston9332's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 5,821
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by Twenynge View Post

Sure did. The replacement receiver didn't have the display issues, but seems to have a litany of issues with the net component. Newegg.com has been great. When I bought the unit, it was exchange only, no refund. After talking to them this afternoon, they've agreed to give me a refund for the second unit.

I may be in the market for a AVR from a manufacturer other than Onkyo. Anybody know if there is a receiver that has networking capability and Audyssey DSX (I'm kinda partial to the wides now, thanks Jeorod!) for around the same price as the 807?

i think i bought your open box unit!!!
winston9332 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #392 of 5482 Old 09-11-2009, 08:41 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Johnla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 11,499
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by sterryo View Post

the "dialog norm -3db" is normal and has to do with it making the correct setting to standards.. my denon3808ci did this everytime you would switch to TV and I was bothered about it until I stumbled upon a post that answered why it did it(don't have the post) so what you see is normal behavior.

Yes, seeing a "dialnorm" message is not unusual under certain circumstances, what it is doing is it's briefly showing what the setting is at. Also, the dialnorm setting that it is displaying is encoded in the Dolby Digital signal, and it is NOT something that is in any way at all user adjustable. So you can not adjust it to a different value, or even turn it on or off.

http://www.hometheaterhifi.com/volum...on-6-2000.html

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dialnorm
Johnla is offline  
post #393 of 5482 Old 09-11-2009, 09:11 PM
Member
 
sstea's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have HDMI control set on between my Onkyo and Samsung Plasma. When I cycle the Rx in and out of standby the receiver defaults to the TV input not Cbl/Sat where I have my DVR connected in to. Is there a way to have the Onkyo default to the proper input or at least stay on the input it was on just prior to going into standby?

Thanks
sstea is offline  
post #394 of 5482 Old 09-11-2009, 09:52 PM
Newbie
 
Twenynge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by winston9332 View Post

i think i bought your open box unit!!!

LOL! Let me guess... serial number 1970022279? They must have only had that thing for a matter of hours! If it's any consolation, when I spoke to Onkyo about the issue, they mentioned that I could drop it off at an authorized repair center and have it fixed. Otherwise, I might be sending a second unit back to Newegg that you can jump on if you want

By the way, it is registered to me at ClubOnkyo, gonna see if I can take care of that right now...
Twenynge is offline  
post #395 of 5482 Old 09-11-2009, 10:38 PM
Member
 
bkushin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Southern California
Posts: 139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by pdj1974 View Post

I found the thread again, and it was 38 watt in total for a 606. He didn't mention what it used without this option enabled.
However; while searching for the thread I also found this one:
http://www.avforums.com/forums/onkyo...nsumption.html
It states that the 805 uses less that 1 watt normally, but 65 watt if you enable the hdmi control...

Yikes! I'd sure like to confirm this - I've actually disabled RDMI for now - would like to know exactly what the receiver's doing when that's turned on. At that rate I think just turning the receiver on when watching TV vs. enabling RDMI & leaving it off sometimes, is probably a wash as far as power usage. And I think the receiver gets a little warm in standby with this on.

Also, when enabled, it changes some of the listening modes. Most notably, when I did turn my receiver on, it was set to "TV Speakers On" - so no sound through the receiver. Could be a pain if you have to keep switching things around all the time - at some point it 's just not worth it...
bkushin is offline  
post #396 of 5482 Old 09-11-2009, 11:04 PM
Newbie
 
Twenynge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Twenynge View Post

Additionally, the second unit was plagued by yet another issue not listed in my previous post; the my subwoofer did not work for any of the "net" options. No sound came out, and the display on the unit did not illuminate the SW symbol during playback with Rhapsody, vTuner, and Pandora. Let's just call this one issue number 11. Fortuantely, or unfortunately as the case may be, a reset of the unit corrected this issue.

Okay, I've figured this one out. When I reset the unit, it reset my crossover settings. When I went into the net menu, my subwoofer was available. After I re-ran Audyssey MultiEQ, it set the crossover of my fronts to 40 Hz and my center to 60 Hz. I tried out the net features, and my sub was once again no longer available!

I bumped the crossover frequencies of my fronts and center to 80 Hz, and sure enough, subwoofer available in "net" mode! It must have figured I had large enough fronts not to warrant the use of a sub.
Twenynge is offline  
post #397 of 5482 Old 09-12-2009, 06:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
caesar1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Philadelphia Suburbs
Posts: 4,352
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
So how would Sirius from your computer work on this receiver. Do I only need an ethernet cable between this receiver and my computer (via my router)?

Will I need another subscription to play sirius on the Onkyo? As a subscriber already (2 cars) I can play Sirius on the computer -- I don't want to purchase another subscription.

Can someone describe exactly how Sirius playing on your computer would work to get this to the receiver?
caesar1 is offline  
post #398 of 5482 Old 09-12-2009, 06:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
winston9332's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 5,821
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by Twenynge View Post

LOL! Let me guess... serial number 1970022279? They must have only had that thing for a matter of hours! If it's any consolation, when I spoke to Onkyo about the issue, they mentioned that I could drop it off at an authorized repair center and have it fixed. Otherwise, I might be sending a second unit back to Newegg that you can jump on if you want

By the way, it is registered to me at ClubOnkyo, gonna see if I can take care of that right now...

same one - they had it for 45% of msrp and jumped on it. have a call into my service center here and going to see if they can order me a new display
winston9332 is online now  
post #399 of 5482 Old 09-12-2009, 08:27 AM
Member
 
PioNewbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Olympia, WA
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sstea View Post

I have HDMI control set on between my Onkyo and Samsung Plasma. When I cycle the Rx in and out of standby the receiver defaults to the TV input not Cbl/Sat where I have my DVR connected in to. Is there a way to have the Onkyo default to the proper input or at least stay on the input it was on just prior to going into standby?

Thanks

Exact same issue here. I must press the Cbl/Sat again for it to output audio but I do get a picture. I have also tried it with HDMI control on and off. No luck.
PioNewbie is offline  
post #400 of 5482 Old 09-12-2009, 10:17 AM
Member
 
schmluss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Mableton, Georgia
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Taking a good look at the 807 due to the pricing and ethernet upgrades. Plus, all of the other things compared to the 707, including the front cover door. However, I am concerned about the power output. I think that most of my speakers are rated to 100 watts. Will this really matter?
schmluss is offline  
post #401 of 5482 Old 09-12-2009, 10:18 AM
Newbie
 
justinrx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I saw a 807 for $699 today, and its NEW. So after your breakfast EGGs today go get one! It was $994 yesterday.
justinrx is offline  
post #402 of 5482 Old 09-12-2009, 10:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
winston9332's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 5,821
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 30
once again, onkyo just seems to crush every value proposition in this market. my open box 807 has continued to impress me.
winston9332 is online now  
post #403 of 5482 Old 09-12-2009, 10:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
lamonsasa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 3,603
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by winston9332 View Post

once again, onkyo just seems to crush every value proposition in this market. my open box 807 has continued to impress me.

Sure does, just ordered my 707 for $569 haha
lamonsasa is offline  
post #404 of 5482 Old 09-12-2009, 12:11 PM
Newbie
 
justinrx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Whew thx for the info on the 707, i just cancelled my $699 order for the 807 and got the 707 for $569, thats a bargain indeed. For $130 less and an hdmi input in the front thats worth the switch.(minus the 3 dollars i gave for "fast processing" at newegg lulz, probably gains me 10 mins)
justinrx is offline  
post #405 of 5482 Old 09-12-2009, 12:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lamonsasa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 3,603
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by justinrx View Post

Whew thx for the info on the 707, i just cancelled my $699 order for the 807 and got the 707 for $569, thats a bargain indeed. For $130 less and an hdmi input in the front thats worth the switch.(minus the 3 dollars i gave for "fast processing" lulz, probably gains me 10 mins)

Heck yes man, justinrx, check more info in the SR707 Thread, i made a few posts there saying why to get the 707 and not the 807 in the last page,
lamonsasa is offline  
post #406 of 5482 Old 09-12-2009, 01:50 PM
Member
 
sstea's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by PioNewbie View Post

Exact same issue here. I must press the Cbl/Sat again for it to output audio but I do get a picture. I have also tried it with HDMI control on and off. No luck.

Since it kept defaulting to TV/Tape, I simply reassigned the HDMI port from Cbl/Sat to TV/Tape. No more problems.
sstea is offline  
post #407 of 5482 Old 09-12-2009, 03:22 PM
Member
 
pdj1974's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I also got the 807 and am trying to configure my attached devices, but I must be doing something wrong or misread the specifications. I have attached my components like this:

TV: HDMI out
PS3: HDMI1 - Input: DVD/BD
PVR: HDMI2 - Input: VCR/DVR
STB: HDMI3 - Input: CBL/SAT
xBox: Composite video and audio to GAME - Input Game
Wii: Component1 and audio to analog DVD/BD - Input DVD/BD

But when both my Wii and PS3 are turned on, I can't switch between them with the remote as they are both mapped to the DVD/BD input. Is it really true that the receiver has 6xHDMI + 2xComponent + 4xS-video inputs, but they need to be mapped to the only five to six selectable inputs: DVD/BD and VCR/DVR and CBL/SAT and Game and Aux (and Port)? I expect I can solve the problem by using the TV/Tape input, but I find it quite sad that I need to "cheat" to find available inputs already. I didn't expect to run out of available port for many years, but now it seems I'm already at it's limit.

I really hope I must be overlooking the obvious as this is a huge limitation as I see it.
pdj1974 is offline  
post #408 of 5482 Old 09-12-2009, 03:24 PM
Troll
 
ufokillerz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NYC Area
Posts: 1,534
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 44
ordered a nr-807 today to upgrade from my sr-605. newegg + 3% bing cb.
ufokillerz is offline  
post #409 of 5482 Old 09-12-2009, 04:15 PM
Newbie
 
Len J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Carmel, Indiana
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Neweggs....NR807 for $699.00 + free shipping & no tax today only

707 was $569 with coupon from techbargains.com

Ordered today....best price I say locally was $949 + tax...saved over $300

Woo Hoo.

Len
Len J is offline  
post #410 of 5482 Old 09-12-2009, 04:54 PM
Member
 
schmluss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Mableton, Georgia
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It was a tough decision whether to spend the extra $130 today over the 707, but I think that in the long run it will be worth the extra to get the 807. I like that it has three zones, internet radio (iPhone works, but not with the remote), and a nicer face with the door rather than the jack-o-lantern look of the 707. Plus all the other little features.
schmluss is offline  
post #411 of 5482 Old 09-12-2009, 05:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lamonsasa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 3,603
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by schmluss View Post

It was a tough decision whether to spend the extra $130 today over the 707, but I think that in the long run it will be worth the extra to get the 807. I like that it has three zones, internet radio (iPhone works, but not with the remote), and a nicer face with the door rather than the jack-o-lantern look of the 707. Plus all the other little features.

Hey, its your choice
lamonsasa is offline  
post #412 of 5482 Old 09-12-2009, 07:13 PM
Member
 
jackodagreat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Well, even without my questions of wmp 11 integration answered, could not pass up newegg offer today. My def techs are awaiting their new master...
jackodagreat is offline  
post #413 of 5482 Old 09-12-2009, 07:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
winston9332's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 5,821
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 30
newegg deal is done - completely sold out
winston9332 is online now  
post #414 of 5482 Old 09-12-2009, 07:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lamonsasa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 3,603
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by winston9332 View Post

newegg deal is done - completely sold out




Whoever grabbed one was lucky Gotta jump on these deals as soon as you see them
lamonsasa is offline  
post #415 of 5482 Old 09-12-2009, 08:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
winston9332's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 5,821
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by lamonsasa View Post



Whoever grabbed one was lucky Gotta jump on these deals as soon as you see them

they'll be there again! last year in october or november vanns sold the 806 for 599!
winston9332 is online now  
post #416 of 5482 Old 09-12-2009, 08:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lamonsasa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 3,603
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by winston9332 View Post

they'll be there again! last year in october or november vanns sold the 806 for 599!

Yea i know but last year there was a recession at it's peak, i dont think they'll do that this time so soon, if they do it then thats awesome for whoever doesnt have a receiver
lamonsasa is offline  
post #417 of 5482 Old 09-12-2009, 08:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
winston9332's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 5,821
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by lamonsasa View Post

Yea i know but last year there was a recession at it's peak, i dont think they'll do that this time so soon, if they do it then thats awesome for whoever doesnt have a receiver

so true. i do think we will see prices similar once more hit the market. abt quoted me 715 shipped with a little chicago a la rahm emmanuel badgering.
winston9332 is online now  
post #418 of 5482 Old 09-12-2009, 08:29 PM
Troll
 
ufokillerz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NYC Area
Posts: 1,534
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 44
glad i jumped on it shortly after seeing the deal. my def techs are coming in soon from the 6ave deal.
ufokillerz is offline  
post #419 of 5482 Old 09-12-2009, 08:43 PM
Member
 
PioNewbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Olympia, WA
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sstea View Post

Since it kept defaulting to TV/Tape, I simply reassigned the HDMI port from Cbl/Sat to TV/Tape. No more problems.


A simple solution. Thanks a million !
PioNewbie is offline  
post #420 of 5482 Old 09-12-2009, 08:52 PM
Member
 
Rob H46's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I read through almost the entire post here. Are the 807 and the 180 just about the same besides the lack of the 12 trigger?

Rob H46 is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off