Onkyo TX-NR807 Official Thread - Page 184 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #5491 of 5499 Old 10-08-2014, 08:00 AM
Newbie
 
phileelacs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My 807 has recently stopped responding to its remote control. It happened in stages, first with the pause/play buttons, then with the volume, and now with everything. I've replaced the remote with no luck, and have just tried a new Logitech Ultimate, also with no luck. It appears that my problem is in the receiver itself, and not with the remote. Has anyone ever had this problem? Is there anything I can do to troubleshoot this myself? (I'm not a particularly technical guy.) The receiver has otherwise been trouble-free since I bought it new in 2009.
phileelacs is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5492 of 5499 Old 10-08-2014, 11:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Al Sherwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Victoria, BC Canada
Posts: 3,250
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 108 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Hmmmm

Interesting, how did you determine the correct code for the Harmony, are you sure that it is correct for the 807?

I don't recall ever hearing about a IR failure on the receiver end, most of the time the remote is the issue, I have to ask, did you try a fresh set of batteries in the Onkyo remote?

If you have you AVR connected to the home network you could try to access the receiver via a smart home app like Onkytroller, a free version is available on the Play Store for Android, as for iOS, not sure whats out there.

Al
Al Sherwood is offline  
post #5493 of 5499 Old 10-08-2014, 11:58 AM
Senior Member
 
jenielsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 235
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 13
For iOS, I've used oRemote. Great app as long as you are connected to your home network! Should work for your situation with the Remote not working. Grab and old iPod and load it up.
jenielsen is offline  
post #5494 of 5499 Old 10-08-2014, 12:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Al Sherwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Victoria, BC Canada
Posts: 3,250
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 108 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by jenielsen View Post
For iOS, I've used oRemote. Great app as long as you are connected to your home network! Should work for your situation with the Remote not working. Grab and old iPod and load it up.
Ahh yes, I remember oRemote, if I had a iOS device I might have tried it out too...

Al
Al Sherwood is offline  
post #5495 of 5499 Old 10-08-2014, 12:37 PM
Senior Member
 
jenielsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 235
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Al Sherwood View Post
Ahh yes, I remember oRemote, if I had a iOS device I might have tried it out too...
He also has Android version
jenielsen is offline  
post #5496 of 5499 Old 10-08-2014, 07:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Al Sherwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Victoria, BC Canada
Posts: 3,250
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 108 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by jenielsen View Post
He also has Android version
Really? I can't seem to find it... please supply a link if possible.

Al
Al Sherwood is offline  
post #5497 of 5499 Old 10-08-2014, 09:47 PM
Newbie
 
phileelacs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the suggestions. I connected the receiver to my network and was able to control it with the Onkyo app. I have an older unused iPhone that I'll dedicate to running the oRemote software, which looks pretty nice. Still can't get it working with an actual remote, though. (Tried new batteries, too -- fair question.) Now that I have the receiver on my network, I thought I'd try a firmware update, just in case, but I'm getting a 0-11 error, so I'll have to investigate that (according to Onkyo, that error message means it isn't establishing an internet connection).

Any other thoughts on the remote not working are appreciated. Thanks again.
phileelacs is offline  
post #5498 of 5499 Old 10-10-2014, 03:25 AM
Senior Member
 
jenielsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 235
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Al Sherwood View Post
Really? I can't seem to find it... please supply a link if possible.
Al - Sorry, I mis-spoke. I was sure he had it, but I can't find it either.
jenielsen is offline  
post #5499 of 5499 Old 10-10-2014, 02:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Al Sherwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Victoria, BC Canada
Posts: 3,250
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 108 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by jenielsen View Post
Al - Sorry, I mis-spoke. I was sure he had it, but I can't find it either.
No worries, I just didn't want to miss out if it was available!

I traded emails with the devoloper early on and found that his expertise is in the Apple world, too bad he doesn't have an Android version too as he has done an excellant job of the app.

Al
Al Sherwood is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off