Onkyo TX-NR807 Official Thread - Page 9 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #241 of 5482 Old 08-26-2009, 10:48 AM
Member
 
kryloc's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by batpig View Post

actually it's "technically" a 7.1 receiver, but it has two sub outs (which produce the same signal, it's just a "splitter") [/b].

I've noticed when I use a Y-splitter that the outgoing signal gets reduced in output(volume levels get reduced) requiring me to turn up the volume on the receiving device.

Perhaps the .2 receivers properly split the signal and send a full signal to both devices?

If so, then calling it the same as using a cable splitter wouldn't be accurate.
kryloc is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #242 of 5482 Old 08-26-2009, 10:53 AM
Advanced Member
 
sterryo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: SLC, UT
Posts: 622
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kryloc View Post

I've noticed when I use a Y-splitter that the outgoing signal gets reduced in output(volume levels get reduced) requiring me to turn up the volume on the receiving device.

Perhaps the .2 receivers properly split the signal and send a full signal to both devices?

If so, then calling it the same as using a cable splitter wouldn't be accurate.

fair enough, if it is that way, i don't care because to save cable i piggyback out from my first sub to the next sub then to an array of bass shakers. anyway i was thinking of differentiating the x.2 from a simpe mono out compared to denon's new x.3 which can do stereo output and apply seprate Audyssey curves to each sub.
sterryo is offline  
post #243 of 5482 Old 08-26-2009, 08:59 PM
Member
 
Hans Christian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sterryo View Post

i did exaclty that and ended up under $750, should be arriving Thurs.

Hi Sterryo,

tried to do the shoppin through Bing.com - maybe i am searching wrong as the best price I can come up with is 850. I will buy at 750 any change you can do your exact search on bing and send me the link

in advance many thanks

nb: also upgrading my plasma and have a question for the experts on whther to buy the pioneer kuro 500m or the new panasonic 50V10 - price seems similar????
Hans Christian is offline  
post #244 of 5482 Old 08-27-2009, 03:30 AM
Advanced Member
 
sterryo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: SLC, UT
Posts: 622
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hans Christian View Post

Hi Sterryo,

tried to do the shoppin through Bing.com - maybe i am searching wrong as the best price I can come up with is 850. I will buy at 750 any change you can do your exact search on bing and send me the link

in advance many thanks

nb: also upgrading my plasma and have a question for the experts on whther to buy the pioneer kuro 500m or the new panasonic 50V10 - price seems similar????

bing is back down to 10% ..
sterryo is offline  
post #245 of 5482 Old 08-27-2009, 09:30 AM
Member
 
dsMultiAccount's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Joerod....

You stated in your review that there was already a firmware update for the 807 when you got it and that it took 20mins to update the unit. What issues did the firmware fix, do you know?
dsMultiAccount is offline  
post #246 of 5482 Old 08-27-2009, 09:34 AM
Member
 
dsMultiAccount's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi All

I know the 807 is network capable allowing for streaming internet radio, rhaspody, and pandora. My question is how does it do this. Joerod said there was an ethernet port for updating, is that the only way to connect to the internet? Or does the unit also have a built in wireless card?

Does the unit have a usb port and if so can you use a usb wireless card for the purpose of connecting to the internet?

Thanks
David
dsMultiAccount is offline  
post #247 of 5482 Old 08-27-2009, 01:06 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 21,982
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsMultiAccount View Post

Joerod....

You stated in your review that there was already a firmware update for the 807 when you got it and that it took 20mins to update the unit. What issues did the firmware fix, do you know?

There were no issues to be fixed. I had an earlier unit and it was updated to a current firmware version.

Search or copy and paste-> Joe Rod Home Theater .Com <-to check out my latest Reviews.

Check out these new Lighted Cup Holders:
http://hstrial-jrodriguez996.homeste...=1402680301175
joerod is offline  
post #248 of 5482 Old 08-27-2009, 07:57 PM
Senior Member
 
thomasamiller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 378
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsMultiAccount View Post

Hi All

I know the 807 is network capable allowing for streaming internet radio, rhaspody, and pandora. My question is how does it do this. Joerod said there was an ethernet port for updating, is that the only way to connect to the internet? Or does the unit also have a built in wireless card?

Does the unit have a usb port and if so can you use a usb wireless card for the purpose of connecting to the internet?

Thanks
David

The only way to connect to the internet is with the ethernet port. What I did was use a ethernet over powerline to turn my electrical outlet into an ethernet port. It works ok in some houses, and in others not so well.

I did not see a USB on mine. By the way, the nr797 is the same receiver but without the ethernet/Net port.
thomasamiller is offline  
post #249 of 5482 Old 08-27-2009, 08:00 PM
Senior Member
 
thomasamiller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 378
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by redsandvb View Post

A question about using the Audio button on the remote...
Do those prompts/options also show on the receivers little front LCD display?

Thanks

from what I can tell, you can use the 807 100% without ever having to use the OSD, everything always appears in the LCD. It is a lot less intuitive however!
thomasamiller is offline  
post #250 of 5482 Old 08-27-2009, 08:00 PM
Senior Member
 
thomasamiller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 378
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hans Christian View Post

Hi Sterryo,

tried to do the shoppin through Bing.com - maybe i am searching wrong as the best price I can come up with is 850. I will buy at 750 any change you can do your exact search on bing and send me the link

in advance many thanks

nb: also upgrading my plasma and have a question for the experts on whther to buy the pioneer kuro 500m or the new panasonic 50V10 - price seems similar????

try shopping.google.com
thomasamiller is offline  
post #251 of 5482 Old 08-27-2009, 08:09 PM
Senior Member
 
thomasamiller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 378
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stephen Hopkins View Post

One quick question... say you have connected 7 speakers in Zone 1 (7.1, 5.1 + Height, 5.1 + Wide, etc) along with Powered Zone 2... will Zone 1 automatically power all 7 speakers when Zone 2 is not in use? And drop down to powering 5 speakers when Zone 2 is in use? Or do you have to tell it which combination to power every time you want to change?

The reason I ask, I currently use 5.1 in Zone 1 and also power 2ch Zone 2 for my back patio (for Pandora streaming from my P2550, or strait from the Onkyo if I go with the SR807). I can see myself adding Height but I don't want to deal with the hassle of switching configurations every time I decided to use Zone 2, and back again afterwards. It would be a rare occurrence to use both at the same time, so I'm more worried about automatically switching back-and-forth than I am using 5.1 + Zone 2 at the same time.

Thanks!

I think it works exactly like you want, you can download the manual to see more about it. The manual is very good and informative. This is the strangest receiver I have ever owned in regards to the speaker terminations, you definitley want to research it. By the way, if you want to add height channels you could purchase the cheaper onkyo 607 which gives you height via the Dolby IIz codec. But that one does not have a zone 2 though. If I were you, i would buy the 607 or 807 for the main room, then I would add 3 more speakers to your patio, and run your old receiver in "All Channel Stereo" so you can get better sound quality out on your patio. I love "All Channel Stereo" mode, it sounds great when you want to get volume.
thomasamiller is offline  
post #252 of 5482 Old 08-27-2009, 08:11 PM
Senior Member
 
thomasamiller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 378
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sterryo View Post

your absolutely correct, I on the other hand am using all 11 speakers

HOW?? At the same time?? That is what I want to! Do tell!
thomasamiller is offline  
post #253 of 5482 Old 08-27-2009, 08:19 PM
Member
 
kryloc's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by thomasamiller View Post

I think it works exactly like you want, you can download the manual to see more about it. The manual is very good and informative. This is the strangest receiver I have ever owned in regards to the speaker terminations, you definitley want to research it. By the way, if you want to add height channels you could purchase the cheaper onkyo 607 which gives you height via the Dolby IIz codec. But that one does not have a zone 2 though. If I were you, i would buy the 607 or 807 for the main room, then I would add 3 more speakers to your patio, and run your old receiver in "All Channel Stereo" so you can get better sound quality out on your patio. I love "All Channel Stereo" mode, it sounds great when you want to get volume.

The 607 has a Zone 2.

The 807 adds networking, Audyssey DSX Wide and Height processing, MultiEQ, Burr Brown Dacs, more power, thx certification, more connections and inputs.(save the missing front HDMI)
kryloc is offline  
post #254 of 5482 Old 08-27-2009, 08:27 PM
Senior Member
 
thomasamiller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 378
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by batpig View Post

I disagree with this -- the 607 has no option for "wide" channels and it doesn't have DSX. Why do you NEED to have all 11 speakers to take advantage of DSX? It's only a seven channel receiver, you can't use more than seven at a time! Even if I only had seven speakers I'd want to have the option for "5.1 + wide" arrangement using DSX.

Yes, you are right, the 607 does not have Wide and DSX. That is a reason definitley to go for the 807. Wide is nice!

If you do not care about Wide or DSX, but want height, you should strongly consider the 607.

The point I was making is that even though I have 11 speakers installed, I can only use 7 of them at a time. I can press the "speaker layout" button and toggle the configuration "on the fly" but this feature is useless to people running only 7 physical speakers. You need to add more physical speakers to your room to take advantage of the AVR *full* capabilities. That is what I was trying to communicate and not doing a good job of!
thomasamiller is offline  
post #255 of 5482 Old 08-27-2009, 08:49 PM
Member
 
kryloc's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I wonder why everyone seems to of completely ignored the 707.

It does most of what the 807 does, including DSX, besides networking and extra power. Also has a front HDMI.
kryloc is offline  
post #256 of 5482 Old 08-27-2009, 08:53 PM
Senior Member
 
redsandvb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: HI
Posts: 478
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by thomasamiller View Post

from what I can tell, you can use the 807 100% without ever having to use the OSD, everything always appears in the LCD. It is a lot less intuitive however!

Thank you. I was wondering if changes could be made without having to turn on the TV to see what you're doing...like when listening to a cd player or Squeezebox. Makes sense that it should be possible, just wanted to double check.

I want Ed on DVD/Blu-ray!
redsandvb is offline  
post #257 of 5482 Old 08-27-2009, 09:27 PM
Senior Member
 
Adamg (Ret-Navy)'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 479
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kryloc View Post

I wonder why everyone seems to of completely ignored the 707.

It does most of what the 807 does, including DSX, besides networking and extra power. Also has a front HDMI.

135W versus 100W. 35 Watts more power is the only difference I could see.

Regards,
Adamg
Adamg (Ret-Navy) is offline  
post #258 of 5482 Old 08-27-2009, 09:54 PM
Newbie
 
-=M=-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Ukraine
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
thank you very much indeed, joerod, for your review. it's very helpful I can admit. but would you be so kind to compare the Onkyo TX-NR 807 sound and features with any Harman Kardon receivers? say, with 6xx models. here, where I live (I mean Russia and Ukraine) many people say that Harman Kardon has better sound then any japanese unit, it has really 'american' sound which is more bright, detailed, powerful etc. could you please clarify this statement?
-=M=- is offline  
post #259 of 5482 Old 08-27-2009, 10:49 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 21,982
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by kryloc View Post

I wonder why everyone seems to of completely ignored the 707.

It does most of what the 807 does, including DSX, besides networking and extra power. Also has a front HDMI.

I have one and am working on my report.

Search or copy and paste-> Joe Rod Home Theater .Com <-to check out my latest Reviews.

Check out these new Lighted Cup Holders:
http://hstrial-jrodriguez996.homeste...=1402680301175
joerod is offline  
post #260 of 5482 Old 08-28-2009, 12:32 AM
Newbie
 
PaulHarald's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by thomasamiller View Post

Yes, you are right, the 607 does not have Wide and DSX. That is a reason definitley to go for the 807. Wide is nice!

If you do not care about Wide or DSX, but want height, you should strongly consider the 607.

The point I was making is that even though I have 11 speakers installed, I can only use 7 of them at a time. I can press the "speaker layout" button and toggle the configuration "on the fly" but this feature is useless to people running only 7 physical speakers. You need to add more physical speakers to your room to take advantage of the AVR *full* capabilities. That is what I was trying to communicate and not doing a good job of!

Hi all, nice to be here :-)

Don't consider the 607 if you want pre-outs, because it doesn't have any. I got the 607 without doing the proper research beforehand, and have now returned it for an 807. I also wanted the extra power over the 707.
PaulHarald is offline  
post #261 of 5482 Old 08-28-2009, 12:59 AM
Member
 
taubenspikes's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by joerod View Post

I have one and am working on my report.

yeaahhh, joerod you are my man so i will wait to buy the 707 before your report is online.
taubenspikes is offline  
post #262 of 5482 Old 08-28-2009, 04:09 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 21,982
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by taubenspikes View Post

yeaahhh, joerod you are my man so i will wait to buy the 707 before your report is online.

Then you will probably be purchasing it this evening...

Search or copy and paste-> Joe Rod Home Theater .Com <-to check out my latest Reviews.

Check out these new Lighted Cup Holders:
http://hstrial-jrodriguez996.homeste...=1402680301175
joerod is offline  
post #263 of 5482 Old 08-28-2009, 05:04 AM
Member
 
pdj1974's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi Joerod, I'm also one your many happy silent readers, but I have a question I haven't seen answered yet.
Where do you think/feel/messure that the 807 is placed "power wise" compared to the powerfull 805 and the weaker 806?
(I'm not saying the 806 is weak, but I guess all agree that it is weaker than the famous 805)
pdj1974 is offline  
post #264 of 5482 Old 08-28-2009, 05:12 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 21,982
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 87
The 807 is right behind the 805 and ahead of the 806. That of course is just my opinion and how I hear it in my theater. I am not feeling the greatest and will not be posting until later when I do my "report" on the 707... Thanks.

Search or copy and paste-> Joe Rod Home Theater .Com <-to check out my latest Reviews.

Check out these new Lighted Cup Holders:
http://hstrial-jrodriguez996.homeste...=1402680301175
joerod is offline  
post #265 of 5482 Old 08-28-2009, 05:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Stephen Hopkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Douglasville, GA
Posts: 3,308
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
The more I think about it, barring network capabilities, it seems the SR707 would be the smart choice for pure pre-pro or pre-pro + rears driven, while the NR1007 might be the better choice for pure AVR use. Audyssey versions complicate this assessment a bit, but it seems something like an SR707 + Emotiva XPA-3 would be a ton of bang-for-buck, especially when the SR707's price settles a little.

Stephen Hopkins is offline  
post #266 of 5482 Old 08-28-2009, 06:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
blackmax2k1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 1,187
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I totally agree Stephen.
blackmax2k1 is offline  
post #267 of 5482 Old 08-28-2009, 06:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
osofast240sx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 1,838
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by joerod View Post

The 807 is right behind the 805 and ahead of the 806. That of course is just my opinion and how I hear it in my theater. I am not feeling the greatest and will not be posting until later when I do my "report" on the 707... Thanks.

all things being equal i dont feel the 807 is the sucessor to the 805/806. these are all just numbers for marketing purposes. from reading all of the data on Onkyo's site in short the 805/806 sucessor would be the 1007, 876=3007, 906=5007.
osofast240sx is offline  
post #268 of 5482 Old 08-28-2009, 06:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Stephen Hopkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Douglasville, GA
Posts: 3,308
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by osofast240sx View Post

all things being equal i dont feel the 807 is the sucessor to the 805/806. these are all just numbers for marketing purposes. from reading all of the data on Onkyo's site in short the 805/806 sucessor would be the 1007, 876=3007, 906=5007.

I'd say you're right to an extent... but at the same time, the SR806 was never really a true successor to the SR805, which really filled a niche with the AVS types who wanted a higher-end audio feature set without the cost associated with the higher-end video processing. The SR806 went much more towards the feature set crowd and just sacrificed too much to look a little better on paper. The SR805 set such a high bar on the audio side that it's tough to repeat that while continually filling out the feature set that laypeople now expect to see at the price range.

To me, it seems like the SR807 is an appropriate upgrade to the SR806 and makes some very good steps forwards... comparing it to the SR805 just may not be apples-to-apples because of the unique niche the SR805 filled. In all honesty, it looks like you might even have to step all the way up to the SR5007 to get the same level of 7ch amplification (ignoring the extra 2 channels) that the SR805 used to set the bar so high.

Stephen Hopkins is offline  
post #269 of 5482 Old 08-28-2009, 06:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Goatse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Pineapple under the sea
Posts: 3,874
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 12
does this support hdmi 1.4?? Next AVR, I want to be 3D ready.
Goatse is offline  
post #270 of 5482 Old 08-28-2009, 07:13 AM
Advanced Member
 
sterryo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: SLC, UT
Posts: 622
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by thomasamiller View Post

HOW?? At the same time?? That is what I want to! Do tell!

even the 5007 can only power 9 speakers at a time , to run all 11 simutaneously you will need a 11.x AVR, what batpig and I were refering too is that the onkyo unlike the denon you can wire up 11 speakers will the denon only 7. the onkyo will allow you to calibrate all 11(switch 7.x, 5.x+H or 5.x+W by the remote) and the denon you have to rewire and re-calibrate to switch configurations. i am really glad i went onkyo because i had assumed denon allowed easy switching and now i have all 11 speakers connected and can play to my hearts content
yeah a 11.x will be really cool, hopefully i will be able to upgrade to a 9.x soon (i don't think the wife will notice as they look the same)
sterryo is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off