Pioneer SC-25 and SC-27 Receiver Thread - Page 176 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 4Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #5251 of 5270 Old 06-08-2014, 03:08 PM
Member
 
BakeApples's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Sweden
Posts: 163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Does the LX-72 have a audio/lip-sync feature? If so, where can i find it?
BakeApples is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5252 of 5270 Old 06-08-2014, 04:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DonH50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Monument CO
Posts: 6,293
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 227 Post(s)
Liked: 293
Search your manual for delay and A.Delay. Chapter 9 lists audio delay (page 85) and A.Delay (page 86).

HTH - Don

"After silence, that which best expresses the inexpressible, is music" - Aldous Huxley
DonH50 is offline  
post #5253 of 5270 Old 06-15-2014, 11:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
augerpro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Denver, Colorado
Posts: 1,714
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 29
I have and SC-25 and I'm considering getting a Marantz SR7007 for the ability to run separate crossover frequencies for the sub versus the mains. Anyone have an opinion regarding sound quality of the SC-25 versus the SR7007?
augerpro is offline  
post #5254 of 5270 Old 06-15-2014, 02:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DonH50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Monument CO
Posts: 6,293
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 227 Post(s)
Liked: 293
The major difference is likely MCACC vs. Audyssey. If you have "fine-tuned" your Pioneer be aware that without the (expensive) Pro option Audyssey is much less flexible. However, Audyssey offers many more filters so out of the box should do a better job at compensating for the room etc.

Flip a coin.

"After silence, that which best expresses the inexpressible, is music" - Aldous Huxley
DonH50 is offline  
post #5255 of 5270 Old 06-15-2014, 06:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
augerpro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Denver, Colorado
Posts: 1,714
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 29
what the heck, bought the Marantz. Anyone want a SC-25 in near perfect condition (no cosmetic issues that I can see at all), let me know. I have all the original packaging and accessories.
augerpro is offline  
post #5256 of 5270 Old 09-15-2014, 03:56 PM
Senior Member
 
tang7969's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Tonawanda NY
Posts: 348
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 45
I'm having an issue with my SC25. I have it hooked up to my Directv Genie box via HDMI and when I turn everything on the broadcast comes through as stereo and not Dolby. I have to change the channel and then back to have it broadcast in Dolby. Kind of annoying having to do this but does anyone know what could be happening? Thanks,Tim

-46" SAMSUNG-ENERGY RC-50'S-ENERGY RC-LCR-ENERGY RC-10'S-PSA XV15se-PIONEER ELITE SC-25-OPPO BDP 103Dhttp://www.avsforum.com/g/a/1459339/default/
tang7969 is online now  
post #5257 of 5270 Old 09-15-2014, 08:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DonH50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Monument CO
Posts: 6,293
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 227 Post(s)
Liked: 293
Try turning on the Genie first, wait a bit, then AVR and vice-versa. May be an HDMI handshake issue. Make sure the source is multichannel; I routinely see my AVR flip between stereo and various multichannel formats between commercials and movies.

"After silence, that which best expresses the inexpressible, is music" - Aldous Huxley
DonH50 is offline  
post #5258 of 5270 Old 09-15-2014, 11:03 PM
Senior Member
 
tang7969's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Tonawanda NY
Posts: 348
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by DonH50 View Post
Try turning on the Genie first, wait a bit, then AVR and vice-versa. May be an HDMI handshake issue. Make sure the source is multichannel; I routinely see my AVR flip between stereo and various multichannel formats between commercials and movies.

Thank you. I'll reprogram my Harmony one so that the Genie mini starts up first.



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

-46" SAMSUNG-ENERGY RC-50'S-ENERGY RC-LCR-ENERGY RC-10'S-PSA XV15se-PIONEER ELITE SC-25-OPPO BDP 103Dhttp://www.avsforum.com/g/a/1459339/default/
tang7969 is online now  
post #5259 of 5270 Old 09-16-2014, 06:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DonH50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Monument CO
Posts: 6,293
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 227 Post(s)
Liked: 293
I don't remember how my chain is set up now, but I know I had to try different sequences of TV/cable box/AVR and add delay to make it always come up properly. My problem was it would not come up at all, however, not that it would link but with odd settings. I did have a similar issue with my cable box a few weeks ago; power cycling the box cured it. At least for now...

Good luck! - Don

"After silence, that which best expresses the inexpressible, is music" - Aldous Huxley
DonH50 is offline  
post #5260 of 5270 Old 10-17-2014, 12:54 PM
Senior Member
 
Hagar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Graham, Wa
Posts: 309
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Phono and HTPC input

I wanted to hook up my phono to my SC-27 and be able to record to the HTPC hooked up through HDMI to my TV.

I really don't think I'm going to get there from here but thought I'd ask if there was a way to play an LP and use my pc to record without having to hook up a separate monitor to the HTPC.

I have a few LP's I cannot buy or find on the internet so I thought I'd knock them off this way. I've done it before and its not easy, but.
And by the way for what its worth. This is nuts playing LP's. They don't sound better, have snap crackle pop and I took meticulous care of my LP's. The whole thing goes on ebay when I'm done.

Give me a CD.


Dave

Wanted to add I have the ASUS HDAV XONAR 1.3 DLX and using the input on it from the SC27 CD/Tape output but can not find the tape monitor button anywhere I think would fix this.

Last edited by Hagar; 10-17-2014 at 10:35 PM. Reason: Added content
Hagar is offline  
post #5261 of 5270 Old 11-10-2014, 03:37 PM
Senior Member
 
Hagar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Graham, Wa
Posts: 309
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hagar View Post
I wanted to hook up my phono to my SC-27 and be able to record to the HTPC hooked up through HDMI to my TV.

I really don't think I'm going to get there from here but thought I'd ask if there was a way to play an LP and use my pc to record without having to hook up a separate monitor to the HTPC.

I have a few LP's I cannot buy or find on the internet so I thought I'd knock them off this way. I've done it before and its not easy, but.
And by the way for what its worth. This is nuts playing LP's. They don't sound better, have snap crackle pop and I took meticulous care of my LP's. The whole thing goes on ebay when I'm done.

Give me a CD.


Dave

Wanted to add I have the ASUS HDAV XONAR 1.3 DLX and using the input on it from the SC27 CD/Tape output but can not find the tape monitor button anywhere I think would fix this.
No one and I mean no one has ever done this with any Pioneer Elite receiver?

I did this with a Pioneer D1s that had tape/monitor and it worked. Sadly I sold it. Wish I had kept it.

But using this top of the line Pioneer that has Phono input and CD/Tape output ought to work. I'm missing a sequence here.

Anyone?
Hagar is offline  
post #5262 of 5270 Old 11-10-2014, 08:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DonH50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Monument CO
Posts: 6,293
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 227 Post(s)
Liked: 293
I have not. My TT is still in storage and I have not had a strong urge to get it out.

Let us know if it works...

"After silence, that which best expresses the inexpressible, is music" - Aldous Huxley
DonH50 is offline  
post #5263 of 5270 Old 11-10-2014, 09:16 PM
Senior Member
 
Hagar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Graham, Wa
Posts: 309
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Think I got this figured out.

It seems when you have to have "PHONO" selected so I can't see my HTPC. (duh) So you need to have a second monitor (two displays), split the screen so you can see your HTPC desktop and then run what you need. But I found even then this wasn't 100% stable. I couldn't get my Pansonic 56 LCD to switch back from PC input using VGA to HTPC HDMI input.
2 steps forward and three back. But its progress.

Who said playing records was fun!

Last edited by Hagar; 11-11-2014 at 01:23 PM.
Hagar is offline  
post #5264 of 5270 Old 11-17-2014, 08:38 AM
Member
 
skads_187's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 83
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 12
just wanted to double check and confirm, i have an oppo dv980h player connected via hdmi to the sc-25
i usually listen to cd's in surround, but want start using the "stereo" option.

connectivity wise, is using the hdmi the way to go for 2 channel?
skads_187 is offline  
post #5265 of 5270 Old 11-17-2014, 10:36 AM
Member
 
tomrowe125's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Derby City, USA- a blue oasis in a sea of red-state insanity...
Posts: 154
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by skads_187 View Post
just wanted to double check and confirm, i have an oppo dv980h player connected via hdmi to the sc-25
i usually listen to cd's in surround, but want start using the "stereo" option.

connectivity wise, is using the hdmi the way to go for 2 channel?
I'd experiment with both HDMi and the stereo analog outs on your Oppo to see what sounds better. I have the SC-25 and the Sony SCD-XA5400ES SACD/CD player, and you'd think it wouldn't make much of a difference, but CDs sound much better through the stereo analog outs (connected to the multichannel analog ins, front L/R) than through HDMi, as they're upsampled by the player. Conversly, SACD sounds much better via the HDMi out on the player. I have an Oppo BDP-93, but hooked up HDMi only
skads_187 likes this.
tomrowe125 is offline  
post #5266 of 5270 Old 11-17-2014, 11:03 AM
Member
 
skads_187's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 83
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by tomrowe125 View Post
I'd experiment with both HDMi and the stereo analog outs on your Oppo to see what sounds better. I have the SC-25 and the Sony SCD-XA5400ES SACD/CD player, and you'd think it wouldn't make much of a difference, but CDs sound much better through the stereo analog outs (connected to the multichannel analog ins, front L/R) than through HDMi, as they're upsampled by the player. Conversly, SACD sounds much better via the HDMi out on the player. I have an Oppo BDP-93, but hooked up HDMi only
will do, will test it as soon as I reconnect all my equipment.
does it make a difference if its connected to the multi channel in, or lets say CD IN?
using the multichannel in, which source do you select on the receiver?
skads_187 is offline  
post #5267 of 5270 Old 11-17-2014, 11:22 AM
Member
 
tomrowe125's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Derby City, USA- a blue oasis in a sea of red-state insanity...
Posts: 154
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by skads_187 View Post
will do, will test it as soon as I reconnect all my equipment.
does it make a difference if its connected to the multi channel in, or lets say CD IN?
using the multichannel in, which source do you select on the receiver?
Usually have to scroll through the inputs on the remote, till it gets to Multichannel In, next one after DVD Could never figure out how to assign it to a particular input
skads_187 likes this.
tomrowe125 is offline  
post #5268 of 5270 Old 11-17-2014, 12:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DonH50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Monument CO
Posts: 6,293
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 227 Post(s)
Liked: 293
I could not tell a sonic difference between the analog and HDMI inputs on my SC-27 using my older Oppo BDP-83 (now dead, alas). I used the analog because the initial delay playing a CD is lower. I took the video output into the TV (thanks Kal R!) so I could still see the track info and such. You can set stereo mode or choose a synthesized surround mode whichever way you plumb it. Note that in the SC-25/27 the analog signals do go through A/D and D/A conversion in the unit. The SC-27 performs upsampling internally, not sure about the SC-25, but pretty sure I wouldn't be able to tell the difference for these designs.
tomrowe125 likes this.

"After silence, that which best expresses the inexpressible, is music" - Aldous Huxley
DonH50 is offline  
post #5269 of 5270 Old 11-18-2014, 10:28 AM
Member
 
skads_187's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 83
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 12
had another question, im gonna be power amping my 3 fronts . for the 4 surrounds, if the speakers are 6 ohms, is that ok?
skads_187 is offline  
post #5270 of 5270 Old 11-18-2014, 10:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DonH50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Monument CO
Posts: 6,293
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 227 Post(s)
Liked: 293
Yes.
skads_187 likes this.

"After silence, that which best expresses the inexpressible, is music" - Aldous Huxley
DonH50 is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off