Pioneer SC-25 and SC-27 Receiver Thread - Page 179 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews

Forum Jump: 
 11Likes
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-27-2015, 09:53 PM
Member
 
mhuegerich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone know if the SC-25 can pass an HDMI signal greater than 1080P? Will 3D or 4K signals pass through correctly?
mhuegerich is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-28-2015, 08:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DonH50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Monument CO
Posts: 9,313
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1659 Post(s)
Liked: 1205
I don't think so... I do not recall the circuitry, but I think the buffers do not have the bandwidth. That said, this question has come up before, so you might search this thread. The 25/27 predate 4K by quite a bit so there may not be a lot of info.

"After silence, that which best expresses the inexpressible, is music" - Aldous Huxley
DonH50 is offline  
Old 03-08-2016, 03:44 PM
Member
 
skads_187's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 193
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 21
a few questions regarding the sc-25

1.) just so that I can test it out, which mode can I use in order to get 2.1 , so that I can test with music

2.) Because of the 24 bit limitations on flac on the receiver, I used plex on my ps3 to play 24 bit flac files, however, I noticed a difference in volume and quality. Music to me, sounds better and louder (at the same volume level) when playing it through the receivers HMG. is this normal? From what I remember they were both in stereo mode. However, when using plex, it shows as Stereo on the display, but not when in HMG, as that shows the title of the song. But i do see only the 2 front channels lit up on the top left hand side of the receivers screen.
skads_187 is offline  
Old 03-08-2016, 08:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DonH50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Monument CO
Posts: 9,313
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1659 Post(s)
Liked: 1205
1) Stereo.

2) I don't use HMG but seems clear the signal is being processed differently, like different EQ settings. Check the manual.
skads_187 likes this.

"After silence, that which best expresses the inexpressible, is music" - Aldous Huxley
DonH50 is offline  
Old 03-09-2016, 08:56 AM
Member
 
skads_187's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 193
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by DonH50 View Post
1) Stereo.

2) I don't use HMG but seems clear the signal is being processed differently, like different EQ settings. Check the manual.
Thanks, thing is, and maybe I need to double check this, stereo doesnt use my sub, I thought stereo is 2.0 only?
skads_187 is offline  
Old 03-09-2016, 09:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DonH50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Monument CO
Posts: 9,313
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1659 Post(s)
Liked: 1205
Hmmm... I am honestly not sure at this point and no longer have the SC-27 in my system. I did not use the sub output after some initial testing (used an external crossover) but I thought stereo still used bass management. The manual should say or hopefully someone will chime in.
skads_187 likes this.

"After silence, that which best expresses the inexpressible, is music" - Aldous Huxley
DonH50 is offline  
Old 03-09-2016, 11:39 PM
Senior Member
 
Ishniknork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Ft. Worth, TX
Posts: 451
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by skads_187 View Post
Thanks, thing is, and maybe I need to double check this, stereo doesnt use my sub, I thought stereo is 2.0 only?
Go into "System Setup/Manual SP Setup/Speaker Setting/SW" and set the subwoofer to "PLUS" and it will play with a stereo signal. You may or may not like it though.
skads_187 likes this.

Ishniknork is offline  
Old 03-10-2016, 07:12 AM
Member
 
skads_187's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 193
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ishniknork View Post
Go into "System Setup/Manual SP Setup/Speaker Setting/SW" and set the subwoofer to "PLUS" and it will play with a stereo signal. You may or may not like it though.
Thanks , I was just coming back to post the same thing, I was able to find the answer last night, havent tested it though, I have to agree, I most likely will not like it, but wanted to try it out for fun.
skads_187 is offline  
Old 03-10-2016, 07:41 AM
Member
 
briandaniella's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 15
If u like bass in your music the PLUS will be nice if your subwoofer is great u will see a difference i dont use the plus in my setup as use my SC27 for my theather room and it becomes to boommy in there. But music is nice with it for me
briandaniella is offline  
Old 04-07-2016, 08:21 AM
Member
 
skads_187's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 193
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Got another question, do you know what mode the receiver is in when streaming network audio?
I dont see anything on the screen. is it in "Direct" Mode?
skads_187 is offline  
Old 04-08-2016, 09:58 AM
Member
 
skads_187's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 193
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Just to add, all I see on the screen is Digital and S.RTRV and at the bottom left Stereo and SP->A
skads_187 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off