"Official" RX-V2065 Thread - Page 3 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #61 of 440 Old 10-16-2009, 10:28 AM
Senior Member
 
Mikl1984's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Moscow Russia
Posts: 447
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Finally found
http://dump.ru/file/3547063
Mikl1984 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 440 Old 10-16-2009, 11:48 AM
Newbie
 
tanner74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just picked mine up which will replacing my RX-V800
tanner74 is offline  
post #63 of 440 Old 10-16-2009, 12:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kriktsemaj99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 5,973
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 129 Post(s)
Liked: 154
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mikl1984 View Post

Finally found
http://dump.ru/file/3547063

Thanks Mikl, I was just about to ask if you had it .
kriktsemaj99 is offline  
post #64 of 440 Old 10-16-2009, 12:29 PM
Newbie
 
tanner74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Compared to the RX-V800, depth-wise, it's shorter than the RX-V800 so I need adjust the cabinet before I can throw this one in. Oh and it is noticeably lighter than the RX-V800 but then I'm comparing apples-to-oranges.
tanner74 is offline  
post #65 of 440 Old 10-17-2009, 07:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kriktsemaj99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 5,973
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 129 Post(s)
Liked: 154
The Service Manual for the 2065 doesn't seem to have any surprises. Most of the same components are used throughout the x65 series (except for the 365 which is a different design). So the 2065 has the same DACs as everything else from the 465 and up (PCM1680). The pre-amp section looks to be the same too, but it's a bit harder to tell. The power caps are slightly bigger than on the 1065 (12000uF vs 10000uF).
kriktsemaj99 is offline  
post #66 of 440 Old 10-21-2009, 09:37 PM
Member
 
MSUDawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ordered the RX-V2065, arrives on Friday. I'm looking forward to something a little more modern than my older RX-V2300. Sadly a major selling point for me was that it is 3" less deep than other models. My RX-V2300 has to be turned sideways in the built in cabinetry in my new house. I'd like to have a word with the cabinet maker about appropriate depths for media cabinets.
MSUDawg is offline  
post #67 of 440 Old 10-21-2009, 10:52 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
MichaelJHuman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 18,826
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 190 Post(s)
Liked: 106
Quote:
Originally Posted by kriktsemaj99 View Post

...The power caps are slightly bigger than on the 1065 (12000uF vs 10000uF).

Woah! That must account for $100 of the price difference at least. The dynamic headroom is .8 dB more?

Did you compare the part #'s on the power transformers?

"But this one goes up to 11"
MichaelJHuman is offline  
post #68 of 440 Old 10-23-2009, 02:00 PM
Member
 
MSUDawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I guess its too soon to find IR codes I can pull into my MX-850. I can't find them any where, guess i'll sit down for an hour and learn them all by hand.
MSUDawg is offline  
post #69 of 440 Old 10-30-2009, 09:27 AM
Newbie
 
jcmiguel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
From the specs I am quite interested to learn what are the flac player capabilities. Flac can be stereo or multichannel, linear pcm up to 32 bits. I have a large collection of FLAC files with some multichannel and a receiver that can deal with that would be perfect.

Also, could someone let me know if the multizone could handle the following setup:
Zone 1 has a home theater with 7.1 speakers
Zone 2 is a stereo speaker setup wired to the receiver.
I want to know if I can change from 7.1 to 5.1 and use the 2 channels for zone 2 without having to rewire everything, just using the GUI, and return to 7.1 when I am done.

Thanks
jcmiguel is offline  
post #70 of 440 Old 10-31-2009, 08:12 PM
Senior Member
 
HDorBust's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Manchester, NH area
Posts: 472
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I decided that the few extra features on the 2065 was worth my seeing if I could trade-in my 1065. Glad I did, it ended up costing me only $89 more than I originally paid for the 1065 - timing is everything (catching it on a price-reduction as well as a 10% discount).

I was quite happy with the 1065 - my only regret was the loss of power when switching from the RX-V4600 to the RX-V1065 as well as some of the flexibility. Now with the 2065 I will be able to stream music and have 5 HDMI inputs. Slightly annoyed with the lack of S-Video on both units - but not a deal-breaker for me. I also purchased the iPod doc for the 1065 that I will continue to use with the new receiver.

The 1065 was much lighter than the 4600 - it will be interesting to see how much heft the 2065 has in comparison. I had to reinstall my 4600 until the 2065 is delivered (and revert back to using my separate HDMI switcher).

-Dave
HDorBust is offline  
post #71 of 440 Old 10-31-2009, 08:17 PM
Senior Member
 
HDorBust's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Manchester, NH area
Posts: 472
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I should add that the tuner section on the 1065 was much more intuitive than the 4600 - and the auto-preset-scan function worked really well with the 1065 with the new GUI.

-Dave
HDorBust is offline  
post #72 of 440 Old 11-01-2009, 02:44 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
MichaelJHuman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 18,826
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 190 Post(s)
Liked: 106
Did Yamaha finally put the tuner setup into the GUI? They have been using the same confusing tuner setup since my first Yamaha, the RX-570.

If they simplified the setup finally, that's cool.

"But this one goes up to 11"
MichaelJHuman is offline  
post #73 of 440 Old 11-02-2009, 02:30 PM
Member
 
barfly711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcmiguel View Post

From the specs I am quite interested to learn what are the flac player capabilities. Flac can be stereo or multichannel, linear pcm up to 32 bits. I have a large collection of FLAC files with some multichannel and a receiver that can deal with that would be perfect.

Also, could someone let me know if the multizone could handle the following setup:
Zone 1 has a home theater with 7.1 speakers
Zone 2 is a stereo speaker setup wired to the receiver.
I want to know if I can change from 7.1 to 5.1 and use the 2 channels for zone 2 without having to rewire everything, just using the GUI, and return to 7.1 when I am done.

Thanks

I spoke with Yamaha 2nd tier support and they confirmed that the RX-V2065 will stream 24/96 FLAC over the network. I wish I had the foresight to ask about multi-channel FLAC capability as well while I had their ears.

It's a real shame the RX-V3900 won't stream FLAC. From everything I'm reading it's a better receiver except in that one regard. What gives?

This is enough to make me wait and see what Yamaha releases next, because neither the RX-V2065 or RX-V3900 seem sufficient for my needs.
barfly711 is offline  
post #74 of 440 Old 11-03-2009, 03:58 AM
Newbie
 
jcmiguel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So, multichannel still an incognito. Great to know about the bitrate. Thanks
jcmiguel is offline  
post #75 of 440 Old 11-04-2009, 04:09 AM
Senior Member
 
HDorBust's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Manchester, NH area
Posts: 472
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MichaelJHuman View Post

Did Yamaha finally put the tuner setup into the GUI? They have been using the same confusing tuner setup since my first Yamaha, the RX-570.

If they simplified the setup finally, that's cool.

Yes (assuming 2065 is the same as 1065 - confirmation will be Thursday), that was always a pet-peeve of mine. Using the tuner from the remote also seems more intuitive.

-Dave
HDorBust is offline  
post #76 of 440 Old 11-06-2009, 08:15 PM
Senior Member
 
HDorBust's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Manchester, NH area
Posts: 472
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have my 2065 installed. I haven't setup any of the network stuff yet. It didn't seem to pull in as many FM stations as the 1065, but that may have been due to the time of day (or rather night) I tried it. It is still significantly lighter than the RX-V4600 and not as deep by about 3".

-Dave
HDorBust is offline  
post #77 of 440 Old 11-06-2009, 09:22 PM
Member
 
MSUDawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by HDorBust View Post

It didn't seem to pull in as many FM stations as the 1065, but that may have been due to the time of day (or rather night) I tried it.

I have found its FM reception to be really really poor. My old RX-V2300 pulled in a ton of stations clearly with an old terk powered antenna, while the 2065 receives almost none with the same antenna in the same location.
MSUDawg is offline  
post #78 of 440 Old 11-08-2009, 05:19 AM
Senior Member
 
HDorBust's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Manchester, NH area
Posts: 472
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am wondering if there is a design defect in the tuner section. When I plugged in the AM loop antenna, FM reception went almost dead (maybe one station). I wonder if there is a wiring fault between the FM and AM sections? I think I will need to call Yamaha, I am likely to return the unit because the 1065 didn't seem to have this problem - regretting the "upgrade" now.

-Dave
HDorBust is offline  
post #79 of 440 Old 11-09-2009, 06:07 PM
Newbie
 
chum70's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am looking at replacing my now 9 year old HK AVR5000. It has served me well but now it must be retired as my two year old twins poured water in the top and destroyed the output stage.
If Insurance covers it I was looking at replacing it with the RX-V2065 as there doesn't appear to be any HK model available that I like for around $2000.

Can an owner of the RX-V2065 tell me if the rx-v2065 has it's own web interface and that there is an iphone app that can control the receiver? If so where can I see screen shots/video of it in operation and why can't I access the iphone app from Apple's app store?

Also has anyone used the A2DP Bluetooth streaming to compatible headsets. This would be great at night when I don't want to disturb anyone sleeping. One last thing, can this receiver access an SMB share or do you need a DLNA media server like Twonky to share your stored mp3's/flac etc.

Thanks.
chum70 is offline  
post #80 of 440 Old 11-09-2009, 09:10 PM
Senior Member
 
HDorBust's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Manchester, NH area
Posts: 472
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't have a bluetooth headset, cannot confirm that nor can I confirm / deny the availability of an iPhone app.

Unless it is using a port other than 80, there does NOT appear to be a web-interface.

Except for the lack of decent FM station selection, I really like the unit (listening to WCRB classical via HD radio as I type).

The instructions for checking the firmware version don't work, so I cannot see if I have the latest or need an update (press / hold straight while powering on via the front panel is supposed to being up Advanced Setup mode - doesn't seem to work for me). Does anyone know the secret to get to Advanced Setup?

-Dave
HDorBust is offline  
post #81 of 440 Old 11-10-2009, 07:07 PM
Member
 
jwgish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
There are lots of reasons I'm considering the 2065. However, I listen to a lot of FM and am particularly interested in HD Radio. If anyone contacts Yamaha regarding the observed poor FM reception, I'd appreciate a followup posting with details. The previous poster mentioned WCRB which broadcasts out of Lowell, MA. They are being bought by WGBH and the full classical lineup of WGBH will be migrating to WCRB on Dec. 1st. Since I am on the fringe of the Lowell broadcast range, I care a lot about the FM reception of this receiver both for standard FM and HD reception.

Please update with any info as you get it. Also, if anyone else has experienced good FM reception, please let us know.

Thanks,
Jim
jwgish is offline  
post #82 of 440 Old 11-12-2009, 06:05 AM
Senior Member
 
HDorBust's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Manchester, NH area
Posts: 472
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here is the response from Yamaha:

-----------------
Thank you for your inquiry regarding the Yamaha RX-V2065 A/V receiver.

Based on the information provided there may be a defect within the receiver.

At this point your have two options:

- Contact the dealer that you purchased the unit from and request an exchange. This would depend on their specific return/exchange policy.

or

- Take advantage of Yamaha's two year factory warranty which covers parts and labor for repair of the unit.


If you have any further questions and/or concerns please contact us at 1-800-292-2982, wait for the prompts, and select option 7. We are available Monday through Friday from 8am to 4pm Pacific Time.
-----------------

BB is out of stock at the moment, so I need to arrange to get a replacement - once I do I will provide an update.

-Dave
HDorBust is offline  
post #83 of 440 Old 11-14-2009, 06:54 AM
Newbie
 
Se\/en's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I would be interested in seeing power consumption for the 2065. Especially for standby mode with HDMI pass-through enabled, where the 3900 power consumption seems a bit high to me. Could any of you owners out there do a quick measurement?
Se\/en is offline  
post #84 of 440 Old 11-14-2009, 12:49 PM
Senior Member
 
HDorBust's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Manchester, NH area
Posts: 472
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't have an inductance ammeter.

-Dave
HDorBust is offline  
post #85 of 440 Old 11-14-2009, 02:38 PM
Member
 
tangfj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just to let you guys know, the 2065 is on sale at Newegg for $899 including a free ipod dock. I just ordered one. Can't wait to get it! Do you guys know if you can pass component video in to the HDMI out? Also, i read somewhere that the multi-channel inputs cannot be paired with HDMI in... can anybody verify this?
tangfj is offline  
post #86 of 440 Old 11-15-2009, 07:22 AM
Member
 
jwgish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just checked the newegg site. The 1065 is $899, but the 2065 is $1299. Hope you ordered the right receiver.
jwgish is offline  
post #87 of 440 Old 11-15-2009, 07:28 AM
Member
 
tangfj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yup I got the right one... I just checked my order again. It must have only been on sale for a short period of time.
tangfj is offline  
post #88 of 440 Old 11-16-2009, 09:05 AM
Member
 
tangfj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So are there any owners out there that can tell me if you can pair an HDMI input with the multi-channel in for audio?

Also, can a component video input be output through either of the HDMI outputs?
tangfj is offline  
post #89 of 440 Old 11-20-2009, 08:08 AM
Member
 
jwgish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Based on the specs and price (and the fact this one would actually fit in my old stereo cabinet), and that Best Buy just opened a new store down the street from where I work with a great 18-36 month same as cash financing deal, I bought mine a couple of days ago. It's taking some time to get setup and configured the way I like, but so far I'm pretty amazed by what this equipment offers. A couple of observations so far:

(1) the FM reception truly does stink. With my old JVC receiver I was able to pickup a lot of stations with a Terk FM antenna, although some of them didn't get decent stereo reception. (I have pretty much concluded that Terk antennas aren't worth nearly what you pay for them -- they're pretty, but they hardly ever meet expectations. ) However, with the 2065, I get about 3 stations and those cut in and out. I can get WGBH HD, but no other HD stations.
(2) there is no signal strength meter on FM -- you either scan until it picks something up, or enter the frequency by the number pad (which is nice feature). It's an all or nothing affair -- you either get the station or you don't. And even if you do manage to tune into one, it may cut out entirely on you.
(3) Bottom line is that a decent antenna is an absolute must with this unit.
(4) I did manage to not just check my firmware version as instructed but also update it -- it worked as described.
(5) Internet connection worked first time.
(6) Rhapsody is great (I'm a long time user), although having to enter login and search info in an alpha screen on the TV using cursor keys is a pain. The good news is you only have to do the signon once.
(7) The sound field programs are terrific.
(8) The auto speaker setup is very cool.
(9) I'm getting the HDMI control and switching working pretty well, but a few kinks still to work out. I really like the fact that I can listen to normal TV programs through the TV speakers and just turn on the 2065 and have the TV automatically switch its output to the receiver. This is great.
(10) I have a Sony KDL40XBR6 TV and tried to find a code for the remote to be able to control the 2065, but the best case was one that allowed me to turn off the 2065, but couldn't turn it back on.
(11) I will probably have to get a programmable universal remote. This unit adds 2 remotes to the already burgeoning collection and since I can't (yet, but hopefully will be able to) control the receiver from the TV remote, I can't yet reduce the clutter, confusion and complexity.
(12) And last, but not least, the sound quality is wonderful.

Any ideas on the correct remote code (if there is one) would be deeply appreciated. I fear this may be a case of Yamaha introducing a whole new code set for this receiver and I'll be out of luck.

Jim
jwgish is offline  
post #90 of 440 Old 11-20-2009, 04:36 PM
Senior Member
 
HDorBust's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Manchester, NH area
Posts: 472
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
jwgish,

If you plug in the AM loop antenna does the FM reception drop even more? I think there may be a manufacturing defect, but I found a spot in the manual that implies that it won't do as well with FM reception.

Page 31: "The tuner automatically detects FM stations with strong signals and registers up to 40 stations. To register AM stations, use manual station preset."

What were the steps you used to get into advanced setup (and how long did it take)?

Thanks,

-Dave
HDorBust is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off