Official Harman Kardon AVR 1600/2600/3600 owner's thread - Page 73 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2161 of 2839 Old 09-08-2011, 09:55 AM
Member
 
stangjason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by M Code View Post

A qwik test is to disconnect ALL loudspeakers from the AVR..
Next power UP the AVR..
Does PROTECT still show in the display window?
a. If YES then something inside the AVR is blown
b. If NO then the problem is in the loudspeaker wiring

Just my $0.02...

This is worth a bump because I've just sent one back for this exact problem. I was using an external amp so I new it wasn't a speaker wire.
stangjason is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2162 of 2839 Old 09-08-2011, 09:58 AM
Member
 
stangjason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok I've gotten another 3600-z but I haven't opened it yet. Since my wife liked our old H/K avr 635 and I loved the power also I'm now considering not unboxing the 3600 and sending it back and ordering 7550. Note I do have a B&K Sonata Video 5 but if I get the 7550 I will sale it to help fund the 7550.

What do you guys think about this plan? Is the 7550 that much better than the 3600?

Thanks,
Jason
stangjason is offline  
post #2163 of 2839 Old 09-09-2011, 07:45 AM
Member
 
stangjason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by stangjason View Post

Ok I've gotten another 3600-z but I haven't opened it yet. Since my wife liked our old H/K avr 635 and I loved the power also I'm now considering not unboxing the 3600 and sending it back and ordering 7550. Note I do have a B&K Sonata Video 5 but if I get the 7550 I will sale it to help fund the 7550.

What do you guys think about this plan? Is the 7550 that much better than the 3600?

Thanks,
Jason

Decided I would give the 3600 a shot and guess what? No sound using the Preouts on this one. My Pioneer works at least despite the fact my wife doesn't like the sound.
stangjason is offline  
post #2164 of 2839 Old 09-20-2011, 07:29 AM
Newbie
 
panupalm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have the big problem with my H/K now. I live in Thailand and I use AVR-360 (AKA AVR-2600).
Today I try to see movie as usual. But the output resolution is 576p only I try to change it in Setup source menu for "Resolution to display" menu but I cannot change it other resolution choice are dark color and cannot move the cursor just stay at 576p.
Have you guys ever found this problem and how to solve it ?

Ps. I connect TV and AVR with HDMI and I already try to direct connect my Popcorn hour to TV and It can display 1080p as normally that make me prove that TV and movie source are still in good function.
panupalm is offline  
post #2165 of 2839 Old 09-21-2011, 09:52 AM
Member
 
blumonk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone been hearing any new about the 1650/2650/3650?
Can't seem to find reviews anywhere on these products.
blumonk is offline  
post #2166 of 2839 Old 09-22-2011, 11:17 AM
Member
 
stangjason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I guess 3rd times a charm because this one works great with no issues I've noticed with exception of the audio delay when changing channels. This unit doesn't even have the issue my Pioneer 1120 had which case the receiver would turn off if the TV was turned on first.

Sound is great with exception of some sibilance which I had with the Pioneer so I don't blame the H/K...I think it's my speaker wire that I changed to a while back so I'm going back to the old stuff regardless or the sibilance may be my new DirecTV box.
stangjason is offline  
post #2167 of 2839 Old 09-22-2011, 11:58 AM
Member
 
stangjason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Now I'm considering the 7550

Has anyone here that can tell me about them owned both? How similar or disimilar do they sound? I have some Polk RTi speakers that tend to better combined with the smooth H/K sound but sound a bit bright with other receivers.
stangjason is offline  
post #2168 of 2839 Old 09-22-2011, 12:01 PM
Member
 
stangjason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by panupalm View Post

I have the big problem with my H/K now. I live in Thailand and I use AVR-360 (AKA AVR-2600).
Today I try to see movie as usual. But the output resolution is 576p only I try to change it in Setup source menu for "Resolution to display" menu but I cannot change it other resolution choice are dark color and cannot move the cursor just stay at 576p.
Have you guys ever found this problem and how to solve it ?

Ps. I connect TV and AVR with HDMI and I already try to direct connect my Popcorn hour to TV and It can display 1080p as normally that make me prove that TV and movie source are still in good function.

I would call H/K customer service. They are easy to work with and usually very helpfull.
stangjason is offline  
post #2169 of 2839 Old 09-24-2011, 07:03 AM
Member
 
godzulu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Dallas, TX.
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Need your help please-have not posted in well over a year. I have a 3600 and when I come home in the evening and turn entire system on: incl. Directv, samsung led tv, it now takes forever for system to be watchable. I mean - every component starts or comes on - its is just that several minutes go by before any picture or sound is playing thru system. Once it finally gets going, every component behaves flawlessly. Any ideas? Could the AVR being going bad? Suggestions welcom....Thanks
godzulu is offline  
post #2170 of 2839 Old 09-24-2011, 07:21 AM
Senior Member
 
ser_renely's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 354
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
How does one describe H/K sound? I have an HK AVR 520, and am looking at new speakers, and wanted to make sure they use a receiver similar to mine in sound.

B&W cm5
Pioneer Elite SC-27
Panasonic 50" GT50
HTPC - i5, ATI 7790
Crappy Klipsch sub
ser_renely is offline  
post #2171 of 2839 Old 09-25-2011, 12:33 AM
Newbie
 
Poowill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey Guys,

Just picked up a AVR 2600 Today. It was an opened box item, and at a price of $299, I couldn't resist.

Love it so far. Currently in the process of upgrading the firmware (It had 1.1...yikes!)

We will see how things improve after, but no complaints so far. Sound is nice and "Evenly-Warm".
Poowill is offline  
post #2172 of 2839 Old 09-26-2011, 01:06 AM
Senior Member
 
sacflies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 240
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The AVR 1600 is available for $199 shipped from Buy.com now (sold by One Call). Seems like a very good deal at this price. Have most of the bugs been ironed out of this unit now with upgrades? I have ordered it but am still a bit on the fence. Would use this in a spare bedroom setup mainly for music listening.
sacflies is offline  
post #2173 of 2839 Old 09-26-2011, 10:05 PM
Member
 
stangjason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by godzulu View Post

Need your help please-have not posted in well over a year. I have a 3600 and when I come home in the evening and turn entire system on: incl. Directv, samsung led tv, it now takes forever for system to be watchable. I mean - every component starts or comes on - its is just that several minutes go by before any picture or sound is playing thru system. Once it finally gets going, every component behaves flawlessly. Any ideas? Could the AVR being going bad? Suggestions welcom....Thanks

I would contact Harman Kardon tech support. They will probably send you another one. I couldn't tell you what the problem is because I know little about the units. I have read of processor issues so maybe that it
stangjason is offline  
post #2174 of 2839 Old 09-27-2011, 01:06 PM
Member
 
burts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 152
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Im in the market for a new receiver, i currently own a older harman kardon and was looking at the new 2650 model. Is it a wise choice or should i look at another brand model in the same price category?


Was thinking of getting the oppo blu ray player from my ps3, dont know if its worth upgrading my receiver to a true hd one.....
burts is offline  
post #2175 of 2839 Old 09-27-2011, 02:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Kini62's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 3,070
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 189 Post(s)
Liked: 355
Quote:
Originally Posted by burts View Post

Im in the market for a new receiver, i currently own a older harman kardon and was looking at the new 2650 model. Is it a wise choice or should i look at another brand model in the same price category?


Was thinking of getting the oppo blu ray player from my ps3, dont know if its worth upgrading my receiver to a true hd one.....

You'll get more "features" for the same price or less than the HK. I have the AVR 1600 and like it.

But, if I were buying today I don't think I would pay anywhere near the list price for the 2650, not when you can get the Pioneer 1121 for $600 or less, any number on Onkyos for less, Yamaha 800 series for less, Marantz, Denon etc...

If the AVR were in the $500 range it would be a good choice IMO but as it is priced I would look elsewhere.

Klipsch RF-62II, RC-500, RS-400, SVS PC12+,
Def Tech SC8000
Harman Kardon AVR 1600
PS3, Apple TV, Sharp 70" Qattron
Kini62 is offline  
post #2176 of 2839 Old 09-27-2011, 02:26 PM
Senior Member
 
5seonds's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 445
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by burts View Post

Im in the market for a new receiver, i currently own a older harman kardon and was looking at the new 2650 model. Is it a wise choice or should i look at another brand model in the same price category?


Was thinking of getting the oppo blu ray player from my ps3, dont know if its worth upgrading my receiver to a true hd one.....

Look for a 2600. It's the last generation model, but you get clear-out pricing right now. The new ones do not offer much more than the X600 range, and you still get HD audio and Dolby Volume.
5seonds is offline  
post #2177 of 2839 Old 09-27-2011, 04:27 PM
Newbie
 
RatZen-Fu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Spokane WA
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by 5seonds View Post


Look for a 2600. It's the last generation model, but you get clear-out pricing right now. The new ones do not offer much more than the X600 range, and you still get HD audio and Dolby Volume.

I agree. I don't see any real significant advantage the 2650 has over the 2600. Also don't forget to check out their EBay store. I got an amazing deal for a refurb'd 2600 and it's been working flawlessly...so far (knock on wood). : )
RatZen-Fu is offline  
post #2178 of 2839 Old 09-27-2011, 05:15 PM
Member
 
burts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 152
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So the 2600 is the clear recommendation for a 7.1 channel receiver, I currently own the avr 430. Is it a big step up from that, id like to be set for at least the next 5 years. Ill likely be pairing it with a oppo bdp 93.

Oh ill never buy a refurbished harman kardon again, i bought one and it went to the repair shop from maui to las vegas 4 times back and forth for repair, repeatedly. Finally harman kardon gave me a new avr 430 which was a better model then the refurbished that i bought.

One thing though is the volume knob on my avr is bonkers turn it low it goes high, thing is i never used the knob at all, i use the remote....

I dont mind stepping away from hk if qnother brand is better for me, pioneer 1121? Im mostly into home theatre...
burts is offline  
post #2179 of 2839 Old 09-28-2011, 07:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Kini62's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 3,070
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 189 Post(s)
Liked: 355
Quote:
Originally Posted by burts View Post

So the 2600 is the clear recommendation for a 7.1 channel receiver, I currently own the avr 430. Is it a big step up from that, id like to be set for at least the next 5 years. Ill likely be pairing it with a oppo bdp 93.

Oh ill never buy a refurbished harman kardon again, i bought one and it went to the repair shop from maui to las vegas 4 times back and forth for repair, repeatedly. Finally harman kardon gave me a new avr 430 which was a better model then the refurbished that i bought.

One thing though is the volume knob on my avr is bonkers turn it low it goes high, thing is i never used the knob at all, i use the remote....

I dont mind stepping away from hk if qnother brand is better for me, pioneer 1121? Im mostly into home theatre...

I don't think the 2600/3600 are 3d compatible. There might be a firmware update though. Might want to check that if 3d is something you'll be wanting.

My only issues with Pioneer and Yamaha are their use of a global crossover. OK if you run fairly robust center and surrounds, not so good if you don't.

Klipsch RF-62II, RC-500, RS-400, SVS PC12+,
Def Tech SC8000
Harman Kardon AVR 1600
PS3, Apple TV, Sharp 70" Qattron
Kini62 is offline  
post #2180 of 2839 Old 09-29-2011, 03:02 AM
Senior Member
 
Talon884's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sarasota, FL
Posts: 275
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kini62 View Post

I don't think the 2600/3600 are 3d compatible. There might be a firmware update though. Might want to check that if 3d is something you'll be wanting.

My only issues with Pioneer and Yamaha are their use of a global crossover. OK if you run fairly robust center and surrounds, not so good if you don't.

The last firmware update is HDMI 1.4a = 3D

Talon884
Sarasota, FL

"I find your lack of faith ... disturbing."
Talon884 is offline  
post #2181 of 2839 Old 09-30-2011, 10:57 PM
Newbie
 
ericlw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i just bought a avr 3600. the issue im having is that bluray play hooked up through hdmi. When you turn ON hdmi bypass i get video but no audio. when you turn it back off the audio comes back and the video is still playing. is that normal?
ericlw is offline  
post #2182 of 2839 Old 10-16-2011, 09:03 PM
Advanced Member
 
youthman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Plant City, Fl
Posts: 804
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 156
Hi, two days ago, I sold my 2 year old Yamaha RX-V1800. It was fantastic for HT but only "ok" for 2ch listening. My only prior experience with HK was an AVR55 which sounded beautiful in 2ch on a pair of Klipsch CF-2's.

I'm wanting something that sounds as good or better than the Yamaha for HT but also for 2ch. My search has led me to the AVR 3600 or the Emotiva UMC-1 (very hesitant due to "issues" and no 30 day in home trial since it's on clearance).

I will be hooking the AVR or Pre/Pro to my Parasound HCA2205a (220w x 5) amp, Klipsch RF-83's, RC-64 and RS-52's and a Velodyne HGS15 sub.

My video sources:
"Fat" PS3 hooked up via HDMI
Rabbit Ears with Digital to Analog Converter hooked up via Composite RCA (No cable or TV's in our home since we watch maybe 3hrs of TV a year)
Wii hooked up via Component Video & Composite Audio
HDMI Out from receiver to Panasonic AE3000u Projector

My questions:
1. Anyone have experience with HK and Parasound Amps? Will they sound good together?
2. Do you forsee any problems with my setup and the 3600?
3. Lastly, why didn't HK add 12v Trigger to the 3600? I really liked controlling my Amp with my Harmony One remote. Any workarounds?

Thanks in advance,

Michael
youthman is offline  
post #2183 of 2839 Old 10-17-2011, 01:56 PM
Newbie
 
andersjr82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anybody have any thoughts on Newegg as a retailer? I don't see them listed on HK website as an authorized seller. I'm interested in the AVR3600 for the A-Bus compatibility, and Newegg has a price that is jaw-dropping.

Any reason I should hesitate on this deal?

THANKS!!
andersjr82 is offline  
post #2184 of 2839 Old 10-17-2011, 09:16 PM
Advanced Member
 
youthman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Plant City, Fl
Posts: 804
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 156
Anders, I too was looking at buying mine from Newegg. They have the cheapest price I have found. I always buy my computer parts from them. Top notch company. Not sure if they are an "authorized" dealer for HK though. Would be curious to know.
youthman is offline  
post #2185 of 2839 Old 10-18-2011, 09:21 AM
Newbie
 
andersjr82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just got this message from HK Customer Service:

"Harman Kardon does not sell product through distributors. This means that we only sell direct to dealers. If they are not on our dealer list this means they are not authorized to sell our products. So if they are selling you an HK product, we can't guarantee that it is an authentic HK product because we don't know where it came from being that it clearly didn't come from us. I would recommend that you purchase only from an HK dealer."

So, where does Newegg get their HK products??
andersjr82 is offline  
post #2186 of 2839 Old 10-18-2011, 11:06 AM
Advanced Member
 
curtlots's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northeast WI
Posts: 586
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by youthman View Post

Hi, two days ago, I sold my 2 year old Yamaha RX-V1800. It was fantastic for HT but only "ok" for 2ch listening. My only prior experience with HK was an AVR55 which sounded beautiful in 2ch on a pair of Klipsch CF-2's.

I'm wanting something that sounds as good or better than the Yamaha for HT but also for 2ch. My search has led me to the AVR 3600 or the Emotiva UMC-1 (very hesitant due to "issues" and no 30 day in home trial since it's on clearance).

I will be hooking the AVR or Pre/Pro to my Parasound HCA2205a (220w x 5) amp, Klipsch RF-83's, RC-64 and RS-52's and a Velodyne HGS15 sub.

My video sources:
"Fat" PS3 hooked up via HDMI
Rabbit Ears with Digital to Analog Converter hooked up via Composite RCA (No cable or TV's in our home since we watch maybe 3hrs of TV a year)
Wii hooked up via Component Video & Composite Audio
HDMI Out from receiver to Panasonic AE3000u Projector

My questions:
1. Anyone have experience with HK and Parasound Amps? Will they sound good together?
2. Do you forsee any problems with my setup and the 3600?
3. Lastly, why didn't HK add 12v Trigger to the 3600? I really liked controlling my Amp with my Harmony One remote. Any workarounds?

Thanks in advance,

Michael

Michael, I have the same Parasound amp you have and I have it paired with my 3600. In the past I had a Yamaha DSPA1 and top of the line HK8000. This was my first go around with a mid-level receiver and I will never waste money again going with a top of the line receiver. My two channel listening has decreased in the past years but I'm more than happy with the sound quality.

I use a 12v trigger from radio shack that plugs into the switched outlet on the back of the 3600. This turns on the Parasound amp when the 3600 is switched on.
curtlots is online now  
post #2187 of 2839 Old 10-18-2011, 11:38 AM
Advanced Member
 
youthman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Plant City, Fl
Posts: 804
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 156
Thx for the advice Curt. I'll have to check Radio Shack. I've heard of guys using Wall Warts which might be what you are referring to. Since the Parasound has screw type connections, did you have to cut the end off the 12v trigger or does it come without a tip?
youthman is offline  
post #2188 of 2839 Old 10-18-2011, 01:02 PM
Newbie
 
andersjr82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by andersjr82 View Post

Just got this message from HK Customer Service:

"Harman Kardon does not sell product through distributors. This means that we only sell direct to dealers. If they are not on our dealer list this means they are not authorized to sell our products. So if they are selling you an HK product, we can't guarantee that it is an authentic HK product because we don't know where it came from being that it clearly didn't come from us. I would recommend that you purchase only from an HK dealer."

So, where does Newegg get their HK products??

I found an HK-authorized retailer selling the AVR 3600 for $100 more than Newegg has it priced. Is it worth spending an extra $100 for the "authorized" tag? Will HK honor warranty items differently depending where the item was purchased?

Anybody have any experience with this?
andersjr82 is offline  
post #2189 of 2839 Old 10-18-2011, 02:29 PM
Advanced Member
 
youthman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Plant City, Fl
Posts: 804
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 156
youthman is offline  
post #2190 of 2839 Old 10-18-2011, 05:50 PM
Advanced Member
 
curtlots's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northeast WI
Posts: 586
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by youthman View Post

Thx for the advice Curt. I'll have to check Radio Shack. I've heard of guys using Wall Warts which might be what you are referring to. Since the Parasound has screw type connections, did you have to cut the end off the 12v trigger or does it come without a tip?

You're right about the wall wart. I actually have an extension cord plugged into the switched outlet of the 3600 and have the wall wart plugged into that because the wall wart was too large for the space. Sorry, but I don't remember exactly what I had to do to tap into the Parasound, it's been a long time and it's very hard to access.
curtlots is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off