Official Harman Kardon AVR 1600/2600/3600 owner's thread - Page 96 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 3Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2851 of 2877 Old 02-26-2015, 02:27 PM
Member
 
imstillatwork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by M Code View Post
@ the start of play for the digital audio stream..
Numbers will appear briefly on the front display such as..
3/2/2/1 for 7.1
3/2/1 for 5.1
2/0 for Stereo
1/0 for Mono

Note these are for the native stream channel encoding..

Just my $0.02...
Perfect, that will work. I haven't played with it long enough to notice that. Loving the extra power over the avr254 so far.
(that's probably in the manual, huh... )
imstillatwork is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2852 of 2877 Old 03-09-2015, 02:17 PM
Advanced Member
 
Elmo C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 686
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Whoopi! I got the 3600 set up today! I got it right here with a Denon 3x price and an Onkyo of about equall value. For sound/music the HK puts the others to shame, imo, especially the high dollar Denon. The HK is slightly clunky (just changing sources) but the sound......sweet.


The Dolby Volume on low is very nice also when listening at lower levels. It works about like Dynamic EQ, maybe better, less volume in my surrounds. D EQ put too much volume in rears for my taste.


I could keep either one in this room as the price is not the issue, but the HK is gonna stay.
dmb12679 and murphy_5 like this.

Last edited by Elmo C; 03-09-2015 at 02:53 PM.
Elmo C is online now  
post #2853 of 2877 Old 03-09-2015, 05:33 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Columbia, Il
Posts: 88
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 7
I love my AVR 3600...just no 4K support for the future...trying to figure out what to do

Samsung UN50HU6950 4K LED TV
Harman Kardon AVR3600
Martin Logan Motion LX16 X 5
JBL ES250PBK, Martin Logan Dynamo 300
murphy_5 is offline  
post #2854 of 2877 Old 03-13-2015, 02:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
4DHD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: sierra ecuadoriana
Posts: 6,084
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 139 Post(s)
Liked: 94
As I just bought an Apple TV to stream movies (instead of the MacBook) I can now get DD 5.1 sound from the stream.
Netflix says its supporting DD Plus (7.1)....I have 6.1 (DD-EX). But I only get DD 5.1

According to the HK AVR 3600 manual, the DD-EX is an expansion of Dolby Digital 5.1 that adds a surround back channel which may be played through one or two surround back speakers. May be manually selected when a non-EX Dolby Digital stream is detected.

Except I can not find where it tells you how to manually turn on DD-EX. When I go into 'surround mode' that option is not there.

Anyone know how.

Custom, one of a kind pair, MJC212 mains, mod PT800 center, PT800 surrounds, SUB1500s. Parasound P7, Citation 19, Parasound HCA2205A, HK AVR3600, Marantz TT, Denon disc player, MacBook Pro w/ DragonFly DAC.
4DHD is online now  
post #2855 of 2877 Old 03-13-2015, 07:44 PM
Senior Member
 
dmb12679's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Plainfield IL
Posts: 291
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 122 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by 4DHD View Post
As I just bought an Apple TV to stream movies (instead of the MacBook) I can now get DD 5.1 sound from the stream.
Netflix says its supporting DD Plus (7.1)....I have 6.1 (DD-EX). But I only get DD 5.1

According to the HK AVR 3600 manual, the DD-EX is an expansion of Dolby Digital 5.1 that adds a surround back channel which may be played through one or two surround back speakers. May be manually selected when a non-EX Dolby Digital stream is detected.

Except I can not find where it tells you how to manually turn on DD-EX. When I go into 'surround mode' that option is not there.

Anyone know how.

If it's like my 3700, go into avr, manual speaker set up, and set assigned amp to "Surround Back" Then you should be able to select. Quote me if it is not an option

Harman Kardon 3700 / Emotiva XPA-3 Gen 1
Klipsch RF-82 II
Klipsch RC-64 II
Klipsch RB-51 II FH
Klipsch SS-1's
Klipsch R-112SW
dmb12679 is offline  
post #2856 of 2877 Old 03-13-2015, 08:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
4DHD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: sierra ecuadoriana
Posts: 6,084
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 139 Post(s)
Liked: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmb12679 View Post
If it's like my 3700, go into avr, manual speaker set up, and set assigned amp to "Surround Back" Then you should be able to select. Quote me if it is not an option
With the zone 2 off those channels are the BS.
I do get sound when I'm using L7, dplii2, dts neo 6.
Its about the DD stream's flag being set manually.

Custom, one of a kind pair, MJC212 mains, mod PT800 center, PT800 surrounds, SUB1500s. Parasound P7, Citation 19, Parasound HCA2205A, HK AVR3600, Marantz TT, Denon disc player, MacBook Pro w/ DragonFly DAC.
4DHD is online now  
post #2857 of 2877 Old 03-14-2015, 09:16 AM
Senior Member
 
dmb12679's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Plainfield IL
Posts: 291
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 122 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by 4DHD View Post
With the zone 2 off those channels are the BS.
I do get sound when I'm using L7, dplii2, dts neo 6.
Its about the DD stream's flag being set manually.

Not sure what you mean by the last statement, could you expand, and maybe I can help


Are you talking when watching Blu-ray or Television or both? How is your Blu-ray and Cable ran to your AVR? HDMI or Optical?


I use my assigned amp for front heights, and listen in Dolby PLIIz, with Front height level on high, and really enjoy the spread front sound stage.


I have a 2600 in my garage, but it is set up for two channel with no monitor so I can't check to see how to compare it to your 3600 options or I would. I assume the 3700 isn't too different

Harman Kardon 3700 / Emotiva XPA-3 Gen 1
Klipsch RF-82 II
Klipsch RC-64 II
Klipsch RB-51 II FH
Klipsch SS-1's
Klipsch R-112SW
dmb12679 is offline  
post #2858 of 2877 Old 03-14-2015, 11:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
4DHD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: sierra ecuadoriana
Posts: 6,084
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 139 Post(s)
Liked: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmb12679 View Post
Not sure what you mean by the last statement, could you expand, and maybe I can help


Are you talking when watching Blu-ray or Television or both? How is your Blu-ray and Cable ran to your AVR? HDMI or Optical?


I use my assigned amp for front heights, and listen in Dolby PLIIz, with Front height level on high, and really enjoy the spread front sound stage.


I have a 2600 in my garage, but it is set up for two channel with no monitor so I can't check to see how to compare it to your 3600 options or I would. I assume the 3700 isn't too different

As I mentioned, streaming from Netflix, through Apple TV, on Netflix screen it shows DD icon. As opposed to Netflix via the MacBook, stereo only.

Now it totally depends on the download speed.
For 1080P/DD Plus (7.1) requires stable 3Mbps or higher, as per Netflix site.
Not sure what it was last night, when the AVR showed DD 3/2.1 EX-off.
(At the time only 1 BS connected)
But yesterday morning I had 3.39 Mbps.

This morning I decided to temporarily connect the other BS and re-ran autoEQ. So now the Apple/AVR sees 7.1

Right now the Mac is showing the DL speed that is anything but stable, while the AVR is only showing DD, when its actually streaming.

I was hoping to see the AVR showing DD Plus 3/4.1 EX-on.
But not enough DL speed right now.

OK, once again from the 3600 manual:

The DD-EX is an expansion of Dolby Digital 5.1 that adds a surround back channel which may be played through one or two surround back speakers. May be manually selected when a non-EX Dolby Digital stream is detected.

Pressing the surround mode button last night did not provide an option of picking DD EX-on, only DPLllx.

So how is one to manually turn on DD EX-on?

Custom, one of a kind pair, MJC212 mains, mod PT800 center, PT800 surrounds, SUB1500s. Parasound P7, Citation 19, Parasound HCA2205A, HK AVR3600, Marantz TT, Denon disc player, MacBook Pro w/ DragonFly DAC.
4DHD is online now  
post #2859 of 2877 Old 03-14-2015, 08:31 PM
Senior Member
 
dmb12679's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Plainfield IL
Posts: 291
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 122 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by 4DHD View Post
As I mentioned, streaming from Netflix, through Apple TV, on Netflix screen it shows DD icon. As opposed to Netflix via the MacBook, stereo only.

Now it totally depends on the download speed.
For 1080P/DD Plus (7.1) requires stable 3Mbps or higher, as per Netflix site.
Not sure what it was last night, when the AVR showed DD 3/2.1 EX-off.
(At the time only 1 BS connected)
But yesterday morning I had 3.39 Mbps.

This morning I decided to temporarily connect the other BS and re-ran autoEQ. So now the Apple/AVR sees 7.1

Right now the Mac is showing the DL speed that is anything but stable, while the AVR is only showing DD, when its actually streaming.

I was hoping to see the AVR showing DD Plus 3/4.1 EX-on.
But not enough DL speed right now.

OK, once again from the 3600 manual:

The DD-EX is an expansion of Dolby Digital 5.1 that adds a surround back channel which may be played through one or two surround back speakers. May be manually selected when a non-EX Dolby Digital stream is detected.

Pressing the surround mode button last night did not provide an option of picking DD EX-on, only DPLllx.

So how is one to manually turn on DD EX-on?

You are over my head as I don't stream and I don't have apple tv. Wish I could lend a hand. Do you have the assigned amp - menu, speaker set up, manual, assigned amp rear? Then go to audio effects or surround modes and see what options you have. Maybe the 3700 and the 3600 are a little different in that way.

Harman Kardon 3700 / Emotiva XPA-3 Gen 1
Klipsch RF-82 II
Klipsch RC-64 II
Klipsch RB-51 II FH
Klipsch SS-1's
Klipsch R-112SW
dmb12679 is offline  
post #2860 of 2877 Old 03-19-2015, 01:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
4DHD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: sierra ecuadoriana
Posts: 6,084
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 139 Post(s)
Liked: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmb12679 View Post
You are over my head as I don't stream and I don't have apple tv. Wish I could lend a hand. Do you have the assigned amp - menu, speaker set up, manual, assigned amp rear? Then go to audio effects or surround modes and see what options you have. Maybe the 3700 and the 3600 are a little different in that way.
The rear channels are always set "on" for surround.
That is not the problem.
From what I've read elsewhere, DD Plus uses a lower bitstream than DD. And being I am using Apple TV, it requires the higher bitstream, outputting DD. Although, it sometimes shows DD 3/2.1 EX-off.

It seems strange that the AVR manual claims DD 3/2.1 EX can be manually turned on, even w/o an EX stream. But then does NOT tell you how to do it.
Pressing the audio mode button, the DD EX is never an option.

Custom, one of a kind pair, MJC212 mains, mod PT800 center, PT800 surrounds, SUB1500s. Parasound P7, Citation 19, Parasound HCA2205A, HK AVR3600, Marantz TT, Denon disc player, MacBook Pro w/ DragonFly DAC.
4DHD is online now  
post #2861 of 2877 Old 03-27-2015, 07:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
4DHD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: sierra ecuadoriana
Posts: 6,084
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 139 Post(s)
Liked: 94
3600 mic

Does anyone know about the quality of the mic that comes with the 3600? FR, ± 1dB?

Thinking of using it for Dirac setup. But only if its of a high enough quality.

Custom, one of a kind pair, MJC212 mains, mod PT800 center, PT800 surrounds, SUB1500s. Parasound P7, Citation 19, Parasound HCA2205A, HK AVR3600, Marantz TT, Denon disc player, MacBook Pro w/ DragonFly DAC.
4DHD is online now  
post #2862 of 2877 Old 03-27-2015, 08:10 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
M Code's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Joshua Tree, CA
Posts: 10,130
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 249 Post(s)
Liked: 179
Quote:
Originally Posted by 4DHD View Post
Does anyone know about the quality of the mic that comes with the 3600? FR, ± 1dB?

Thinking of using it for Dirac setup. But only if its of a high enough quality.

Factory limit specs are 25Hz to 18kHz, +,- 2dB.

Just my $0.02...
M Code is offline  
post #2863 of 2877 Old 03-27-2015, 08:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
4DHD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: sierra ecuadoriana
Posts: 6,084
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 139 Post(s)
Liked: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by M Code View Post
Factory limit specs are 25Hz to 18kHz, +,- 2dB.

Just my $0.02...
Thanks.

Custom, one of a kind pair, MJC212 mains, mod PT800 center, PT800 surrounds, SUB1500s. Parasound P7, Citation 19, Parasound HCA2205A, HK AVR3600, Marantz TT, Denon disc player, MacBook Pro w/ DragonFly DAC.
4DHD is online now  
post #2864 of 2877 Old 03-28-2015, 12:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
4DHD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: sierra ecuadoriana
Posts: 6,084
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 139 Post(s)
Liked: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by M Code View Post
Factory limit specs are 25Hz to 18kHz, +,- 2dB.

Just my $0.02...
Is there a known calibration file for that mic?
Dirac will need it.

Custom, one of a kind pair, MJC212 mains, mod PT800 center, PT800 surrounds, SUB1500s. Parasound P7, Citation 19, Parasound HCA2205A, HK AVR3600, Marantz TT, Denon disc player, MacBook Pro w/ DragonFly DAC.
4DHD is online now  
post #2865 of 2877 Old 03-28-2015, 12:34 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
M Code's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Joshua Tree, CA
Posts: 10,130
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 249 Post(s)
Liked: 179
Quote:
Originally Posted by 4DHD View Post
Is there a known calibration file for that mic?
Dirac will need it.
Not that I know about..
We designed and sourced the EQ microphone for HK back in 2005, so we have the original product design specs. To date HK has purchased > 2 million of these microphones.

Just my $0.02...
M Code is offline  
post #2866 of 2877 Old 03-28-2015, 12:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
4DHD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: sierra ecuadoriana
Posts: 6,084
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 139 Post(s)
Liked: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by M Code View Post
Not that I know about..
We designed and sourced the EQ microphone for HK back in 2005, so we have the original product design specs. To date HK has purchased > 2 million of these microphones.

Just my $0.02...
Guess the Dirac generic mic file will have to do.

Custom, one of a kind pair, MJC212 mains, mod PT800 center, PT800 surrounds, SUB1500s. Parasound P7, Citation 19, Parasound HCA2205A, HK AVR3600, Marantz TT, Denon disc player, MacBook Pro w/ DragonFly DAC.
4DHD is online now  
post #2867 of 2877 Old 03-28-2015, 03:07 PM
Senior Member
 
dmb12679's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Plainfield IL
Posts: 291
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 122 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by M Code View Post
Not that I know about..
We designed and sourced the EQ microphone for HK back in 2005, so we have the original product design specs. To date HK has purchased > 2 million of these microphones.

Just my $0.02...

MCode are all the mics the same? Interchangeable? I have 4 from various AVR's

Harman Kardon 3700 / Emotiva XPA-3 Gen 1
Klipsch RF-82 II
Klipsch RC-64 II
Klipsch RB-51 II FH
Klipsch SS-1's
Klipsch R-112SW
dmb12679 is offline  
post #2868 of 2877 Old 03-28-2015, 03:45 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
M Code's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Joshua Tree, CA
Posts: 10,130
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 249 Post(s)
Liked: 179
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmb12679 View Post
MCode are all the mics the same? Interchangeable? I have 4 from various AVR's
HK used the same electrical acoustic EQ microphone element/housing, but they used (2) different plugs. 1 was a 0.25" phone plug and 1 was a 3.5 m/m plug...

Just my $0.02...
M Code is offline  
post #2869 of 2877 Old 03-29-2015, 08:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
4DHD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: sierra ecuadoriana
Posts: 6,084
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 139 Post(s)
Liked: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by M Code View Post
HK used the same electrical acoustic EQ microphone element/housing, but they used (2) different plugs. 1 was a 0.25" phone plug and 1 was a 3.5 m/m plug...

Just my $0.02...
In the case of the 3600 mic, it has both. The 1/4" being a removable adapter, exposing the 3.5mm.

Custom, one of a kind pair, MJC212 mains, mod PT800 center, PT800 surrounds, SUB1500s. Parasound P7, Citation 19, Parasound HCA2205A, HK AVR3600, Marantz TT, Denon disc player, MacBook Pro w/ DragonFly DAC.
4DHD is online now  
post #2870 of 2877 Old 03-29-2015, 11:23 AM
Senior Member
 
dmb12679's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Plainfield IL
Posts: 291
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 122 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by 4DHD View Post
In the case of the 3600 mic, it has both. The 1/4" being a removable adapter, exposing the 3.5mm.
I didn't know if the mic itself changed from say my 354 to my 3700, they kept the same mic for ten years I guess

Harman Kardon 3700 / Emotiva XPA-3 Gen 1
Klipsch RF-82 II
Klipsch RC-64 II
Klipsch RB-51 II FH
Klipsch SS-1's
Klipsch R-112SW
dmb12679 is offline  
post #2871 of 2877 Old 03-29-2015, 12:22 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
M Code's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Joshua Tree, CA
Posts: 10,130
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 249 Post(s)
Liked: 179
Quote:
Originally Posted by 4DHD View Post
In the case of the 3600 mic, it has both. The 1/4" being a removable adapter, exposing the 3.5mm.

The same EQ mike was used by HK and also by JBL and Lexicon, so various connectors and/or adapters may have been used depending upon brand/model. It had excellent specs..

Just my $0.02...
dmb12679 likes this.
M Code is offline  
post #2872 of 2877 Old Yesterday, 01:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lparsons21's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 17
As a former poster, but now mostly a lurker, I finally am back reading some more. I had asked about some info in the AVR 1710 thread, but after researching the 1710 I decided that I really wanted something with more versatile inputs and outputs.


Long story short, the HK 3600 looked sweet as did the HK 2600, but the slightly less than $390 including shipping for the 3600 directly from Harman Kardon was just too tempting. So I bought it and now will patiently wait for it to show up. In the meantime, I'll keep using my nearly perfect HK AVR-247 that I bought years ago and went through the agony of having a 7.1 AVR that didn't do 7.1 until a firmware or two came along!


I have been using a Denon 2113ci that is still working perfectly. But it just doesn't have the tonal quality of the HK 247, nor does it have the punch. I tested the Denon at full volume and it sounded wonderful though not quite the same. I pulled the Denon out of the setup yesterday, got the HK 247 out of the closet and then tested with it. What a difference!! The 247 just blew the doors off! Only thing that was a PITA when bringing the 247 back out was the remote. I don't know what IR codes it was spewing as it changed channels on the Tivo, changed video settings on the TV and wouldn't do a single thing with the 247! Luckily I have a Harmony One and was able to do what I needed done.


It is very nice having that sweet HK sound again, and I'm sure it will be nicer when the 3600 shows up!!

Lloyd
lparsons21 is online now  
post #2873 of 2877 Old Yesterday, 03:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
4DHD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: sierra ecuadoriana
Posts: 6,084
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 139 Post(s)
Liked: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by lparsons21 View Post
It is very nice having that sweet HK sound again, and I'm sure it will be nicer when the 3600 shows up!!
Take note of certain settings in the 3600.
imo, leave off Dolby Volume...pure compression.
But make sure you set the Dolby Volume Calibration, which is the difference between the default 88dB and the actual dB rating of your speakers...91dB = 3dB in the setting.

Custom, one of a kind pair, MJC212 mains, mod PT800 center, PT800 surrounds, SUB1500s. Parasound P7, Citation 19, Parasound HCA2205A, HK AVR3600, Marantz TT, Denon disc player, MacBook Pro w/ DragonFly DAC.
4DHD is online now  
post #2874 of 2877 Old Today, 05:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
lparsons21's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by 4DHD View Post
Take note of certain settings in the 3600.



imo, leave off Dolby Volume...pure compression.



But make sure you set the Dolby Volume Calibration, which is the difference between the default 88dB and the actual dB rating of your speakers...91dB = 3dB in the setting.






Thanks for the suggestions, I'll look into it when the unit arrives. Should be sometime next week though the estimate is the 27th. Assuming they use UPS, if they ship tomorrow it is 3 days from the shipping site.



One thing I'm going to play around with is the video. Currently I have cableTV with a Tivo Roamio Plus and noticed when I connected it to the AVR247 with a 1080 output which means it is bypassing the video circuits in the 247, the picture was better than it was coming through the Denon. The Denon massages a bit.



I did fiddle a bit and set the Tivo for 720p output which brought the video circuits back into play on the 247 and the picture controls produced an excellent result. Better than what the Denon had done. I'm curious to see how the 3600 will compare in that area.

Lloyd

Last edited by lparsons21; Today at 05:38 AM.
lparsons21 is online now  
post #2875 of 2877 Old Today, 06:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
4DHD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: sierra ecuadoriana
Posts: 6,084
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 139 Post(s)
Liked: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by lparsons21 View Post
One thing I'm going to play around with is the video.
I did fiddle a bit and set the Tivo for 720p output which brought the video circuits back into play on the 247 and the picture controls produced an excellent result. Better than what the Denon had done. I'm curious to see how the 3600 will compare in that area.
I have everything (TV, 3600, ATV, Samsung BD) set to 1080P.
The VQ streaming, via the ATV or Samsung, does depend on the download speed, although its always upconverted to 1080P.

Couple of things I do not like about the 3600...can not overlay L7 onto a digital signal, as I could do with the old 635.
And having to go deep into a menu to change things, like the balance L/R, if needed, when listening to stereo.
Fortunately, for stereo, DVD-A/SACD, I use my Parasound P7 pre-amp, which I can change everything on the fly.

Custom, one of a kind pair, MJC212 mains, mod PT800 center, PT800 surrounds, SUB1500s. Parasound P7, Citation 19, Parasound HCA2205A, HK AVR3600, Marantz TT, Denon disc player, MacBook Pro w/ DragonFly DAC.
4DHD is online now  
post #2876 of 2877 Old Today, 06:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
lparsons21's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I seldom do music only. My setup is geared around watching on the TV. I have a 73" Mitsi DLP 3D set and BD, Tivo, Chromecast, AppleTV and HDDVD. I'll connect all except the HDDVD via HDMI and the HDDVD will be connected with component video/optical audio since it will only do 1080i max.



My download speed is 100/10 service with a 1Tb data cap. I use streaming services quite a bit and the PQ is great and the services work well.



From the Tivo most output is 1080i from either 1080i, 720p or 480i/p inputs to it. That output fed to the TV produces an excellent picture in HD, and a more than tolerable picture in SD. The BD player is set to 1080p output and does the decoding of audio for the advanced codecs since the 247 doesn't do them. The AppleTV is set to 1080p output, and the Chromecast is whatever the source is.



Here's something you might find funny. I said that the remote for the 247 was spewing who knows what, but it turns out that I had forgotten to push the 'AVR' button first! Did that and now it controls the 247 just like it is supposed to! Felt like an idiot when I found that out a few minutes ago!! Old age stuck its head up again!!



I got the 3600 because of the 7-channel audio pre-outs because I keep thinking about using it as a pre-pro and getting a power amp in the mix. But I've thought about that for years and haven't acted on it.

Lloyd
lparsons21 is online now  
post #2877 of 2877 Old Today, 07:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
4DHD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: sierra ecuadoriana
Posts: 6,084
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 139 Post(s)
Liked: 94
The AVRs I've had since '99 have all been used as pre/pros. Connected to Parasound HCA2205A and Citation power amps.
The Catch 22 of most AVRs is the ones with the smallest amps (thus could use a power amp) do not have pre-outs;
And the top-o-line AVRs do have pre-outs.

Custom, one of a kind pair, MJC212 mains, mod PT800 center, PT800 surrounds, SUB1500s. Parasound P7, Citation 19, Parasound HCA2205A, HK AVR3600, Marantz TT, Denon disc player, MacBook Pro w/ DragonFly DAC.
4DHD is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off