Official Harman Kardon AVR 1600/2600/3600 owner's thread - Page 97 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 4Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2881 of 2900 Old 04-23-2015, 12:32 PM
Senior Member
 
dmb12679's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Plainfield IL
Posts: 342
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 142 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by lparsons21 View Post
Yeah, I noticed that if I turn off the EQ it is not only louder for the same volume setting, it seems somewhat different. I suppose compressed could be the description.



I've been playing with the settings a bit and while doing it, I checked the distances and size on the speaker setup. Distances seem pretty much spot on. EZset set all of the speakers to 60hz crossover except for the center which it set to large. I changed that to 60Hz as the speakers are all the same. I'll use that for awhile, but I'm used to seeing the crossover at 80Hz in the past and might yet change that setting.



I've also been fiddling with the video stuff. Much better than the 247's was.



I've got the inputs set to all HDMI inputs for the various sources except for the HDDVD. Since it only does 1080i any way and I've only got a few movies for it, none with and advanced codecs I have it coming in via component video and optical audio. And I have an iPod Touch so I have the Bridge III connected though I haven't yet put the iPod into it to see how that all works together.

I had the bridge #? with my 354 an it was painfully slow, I mean painful! Hopefully the III is much better.


The IPOD plug in on my 3700 has very fast controls with better access in and out, also blutooth my iphone to it.


If the III is slow, get a HK BTA 10. I have it hooked to my 2600 in my garage and blutooth also

Harman Kardon 3700 / Emotiva XPA-3 Gen 1
Klipsch RF-82 II
Klipsch RC-64 II
Klipsch RB-51 II FH
Klipsch SS-1's
Klipsch R-112SW
dmb12679 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2882 of 2900 Old 04-23-2015, 01:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
4DHD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: sierra ecuadoriana
Posts: 6,208
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 205 Post(s)
Liked: 109
On my wall mounted surrounds it will always set to 40...boundary gain...I change them to 80.
My mains, which are totally custom, the EQ set them to 60, which is their roll off point.
But I have those same speakers set to full range in the P7 for stereo...
They just roll off naturally with the sub set to 50.

Custom, one of a kind pair, MJC212 mains, mod PT800 center, PT800 surrounds, SUB1500s. Parasound P7, Citation 19, Parasound HCA2205A, HK AVR3600, Marantz TT, Samsung BD player, Denon DVD-A player, MacBook Pro w/ Dirac Stereo Suite.
4DHD is offline  
post #2883 of 2900 Old 04-23-2015, 01:38 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
M Code's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Joshua Tree, CA
Posts: 10,321
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 334 Post(s)
Liked: 214
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmb12679 View Post
I had the bridge #? with my 354 an it was painfully slow, I mean painful! Hopefully the III is much better.


The IPOD plug in on my 3700 has very fast controls with better access in and out, also blutooth my iphone to it.


If the III is slow, get a HK BTA 10. I have it hooked to my 2600 in my garage and blutooth also
The Bridge was old iPod technology and mostly analog..
Through the 3700 USB port the stream is digital, much faster and higher quality..

Just my $0.02...
M Code is offline  
post #2884 of 2900 Old 04-23-2015, 02:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lparsons21's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,161
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Given how much I would actually use the Bridge and my old iPod, I figgered it was in the box why not connect it? I mean at worse case I'll at least be able to find the iPod!!



Meanwhile, I changed the crossovers to 80Hz for all my surrounds and the center. That has always been the rule of thumb and after doing it I haven't heard any discernable difference.

Lloyd
lparsons21 is offline  
post #2885 of 2900 Old 04-23-2015, 02:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
4DHD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: sierra ecuadoriana
Posts: 6,208
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 205 Post(s)
Liked: 109
Yeah, it only the main L/R speakers I do lower.
Being my mains have sealed 8" MB drivers, I like them to roll off naturally.

Its funny, when you do the EZset multiple times, how it can give you different numbers for both XO and distances...usually the distances it gives me are a bit off and I adjust them.

One thing I do not like about the 3600, compared to the old 635 is the processing chip used.
The 635 had TI chip and you could overlay L7 on any digital signal if you so desired.
Whatever chip is used in the 3600, its not possible.
So if the signal is DD, DD+, the only option is DLPllx to send the signal to the back channels. So most of the time when using ATV or Samsung BD player for streaming, I leave it at 5.1

Custom, one of a kind pair, MJC212 mains, mod PT800 center, PT800 surrounds, SUB1500s. Parasound P7, Citation 19, Parasound HCA2205A, HK AVR3600, Marantz TT, Samsung BD player, Denon DVD-A player, MacBook Pro w/ Dirac Stereo Suite.

Last edited by 4DHD; 04-23-2015 at 02:35 PM.
4DHD is offline  
post #2886 of 2900 Old 04-23-2015, 04:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lparsons21's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,161
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Yeah, one of the very few things I like about Yamaha AVRs is you can overlay practically anything on anything else. HK has always been a bit stingy about allowing much of that. Frankly I'd buy a Yamaha if I liked how they sound because you can't find many brands as reliable as they are.



My speakers are Cerwin-Vega Satellites with 5" and 3" speakers in them and don't really do bass all that well nor did I expect them to. Since my AVR use is about 95% or more centered around TV shows and movies, that works well. The sub is some Velodyne 12" model and does a fine job.

Lloyd
lparsons21 is offline  
post #2887 of 2900 Old 04-23-2015, 04:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
4DHD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: sierra ecuadoriana
Posts: 6,208
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 205 Post(s)
Liked: 109
Only the last couple of HK series. As I said, the HK 635 could use L7 on anything.
And only Harman brands, AVRs and pre/pros, have L7.

As far as SQ and how that match my JBLs, only HK, Marantz, Parasound pre-amps, power amps, AVRs, of the brands I've tried, are worth considering.

Custom, one of a kind pair, MJC212 mains, mod PT800 center, PT800 surrounds, SUB1500s. Parasound P7, Citation 19, Parasound HCA2205A, HK AVR3600, Marantz TT, Samsung BD player, Denon DVD-A player, MacBook Pro w/ Dirac Stereo Suite.
4DHD is offline  
post #2888 of 2900 Old 04-23-2015, 04:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lparsons21's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,161
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by 4DHD View Post
Only the last couple of HK series. As I said, the HK 635 could use L7 on anything.

And only Harman brands, AVRs and pre/pros, have L7.


Right, the older ones could do L7 on just about anything, but couldn't do much more otherwise than the 3600 does now. And I knew that HK was the only one doing L7.

Lloyd
lparsons21 is offline  
post #2889 of 2900 Old 04-24-2015, 06:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
lparsons21's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,161
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 20
After all the fiddling and setup, I am very pleased with the 3600.



But a couple minor quibbles.

1. What happened to the blue lighting? I really liked that on the 247, gave it a different look.

2. No speaker indication on the LEDs. I knew that was gone and hadn't thought about it since I didn't think I actually looked at that very often. Turns out I was looking more often than I thought I was. I miss that.



But overall this AVR would have real WAF appeal since it is such a clean and minimalistic look to it. If I had a wife that might be important!!

Lloyd
lparsons21 is offline  
post #2890 of 2900 Old 04-24-2015, 06:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
4DHD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: sierra ecuadoriana
Posts: 6,208
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 205 Post(s)
Liked: 109
If I am watching a movie at night, its all blacked out. P7, Hk.
Only one light on the Citation, 5 very small led on the 2205A amp.

Custom, one of a kind pair, MJC212 mains, mod PT800 center, PT800 surrounds, SUB1500s. Parasound P7, Citation 19, Parasound HCA2205A, HK AVR3600, Marantz TT, Samsung BD player, Denon DVD-A player, MacBook Pro w/ Dirac Stereo Suite.
4DHD is offline  
post #2891 of 2900 Old 04-24-2015, 06:34 AM
Senior Member
 
dmb12679's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Plainfield IL
Posts: 342
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 142 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by lparsons21 View Post
After all the fiddling and setup, I am very pleased with the 3600.



But a couple minor quibbles.

1. What happened to the blue lighting? I really liked that on the 247, gave it a different look.

2. No speaker indication on the LEDs. I knew that was gone and hadn't thought about it since I didn't think I actually looked at that very often. Turns out I was looking more often than I thought I was. I miss that.



But overall this AVR would have real WAF appeal since it is such a clean and minimalistic look to it. If I had a wife that might be important!!

The lighting on the volume knob? It should be there, it is adjustable in the AVR OSD.


I too miss the speaker indicator, but if you watch when you switch source, it will flash for a brief second 5.1/3.1 etc.


It does look cleaner w/o that on the display though

Harman Kardon 3700 / Emotiva XPA-3 Gen 1
Klipsch RF-82 II
Klipsch RC-64 II
Klipsch RB-51 II FH
Klipsch SS-1's
Klipsch R-112SW
dmb12679 is offline  
post #2892 of 2900 Old 04-24-2015, 06:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
lparsons21's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,161
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmb12679 View Post
The lighting on the volume knob? It should be there, it is adjustable in the AVR OSD.





I too miss the speaker indicator, but if you watch when you switch source, it will flash for a brief second 5.1/3.1 etc.





It does look cleaner w/o that on the display though


The lighting is there, but it is a white light as is the power light when it is fully on. On previous models those used to be a very pleasant blue color. As I said, minor quibble.

Lloyd
lparsons21 is offline  
post #2893 of 2900 Old 04-24-2015, 07:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
4DHD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: sierra ecuadoriana
Posts: 6,208
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 205 Post(s)
Liked: 109
Quote:
Originally Posted by lparsons21 View Post
The lighting is there, but it is a white light as is the power light when it is fully on. On previous models those used to be a very pleasant blue color. As I said, minor quibble.
Comparing the menus of the 3600 to my son's Marantz, the Marantz is much easier to use...don't have to go deep into some menu to make a change. which I noticed a year ago when I set it up.
But the SQ of both is very good. And compatible with our JBLs.

Custom, one of a kind pair, MJC212 mains, mod PT800 center, PT800 surrounds, SUB1500s. Parasound P7, Citation 19, Parasound HCA2205A, HK AVR3600, Marantz TT, Samsung BD player, Denon DVD-A player, MacBook Pro w/ Dirac Stereo Suite.
4DHD is offline  
post #2894 of 2900 Old 04-24-2015, 07:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
lparsons21's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,161
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by 4DHD View Post
Comparing the menus of the 3600 to my son's Marantz, the Marantz is much easier to use...don't have to go deep into some menu to make a change. which I noticed a year ago when I set it up.

But the SQ of both is very good. And compatible with our JBLs.


I've never had a Marantz so I'm not familiar with their menuing system. I do have a Denon, and their menus are a bit daunting in some areas, the HK's is much simpler. But other than at setup I don't tend to go to the menus much.



I use a Harmony One universal remote and so I never even set the remote for the HK up for the various items I use as the Harmony One does a great job of it.

Lloyd
lparsons21 is offline  
post #2895 of 2900 Old 04-24-2015, 09:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
lparsons21's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,161
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 20
I tried out the Bridge III with my iPod. Looks real neat sitting over there plugged into the Bridge. Works fine and seems to respond plenty fast enough. Pretty sure I won't use it much as I don't use the iPod itself very much.

Lloyd
lparsons21 is offline  
post #2896 of 2900 Old 05-20-2015, 03:47 PM
Member
 
Coxis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Mexico
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I recently purchased an SPL meter to calibrate my system. I got one of these:

http://www.amazon.com/MASTECH-MS6700...ch+sound+meter

Since my AVR-3600 doesn't lock the master volume when playing pink noises what I did was set the MV to -30db and then increased or decreased each speaker's volume until it matched 75db. This is what it looks like now:

FL: 2
FR: 2
C: 2
SL: 4
SR: 4
SW: -3 (78db)

My question is, should I have increased the MV more so that the FL, FR and C speakers would match 75db when at +0 volume, and then adjust the rest or is what I did okay?

Also, my sub is a BIC F12. I set the gain knob to 5 (12 o'clock position) to perform the calibration. I read somewhere that it is better to lower the gain to even 2 or 3 and increase the volume more within the AVR to get better bass. Is this true?

Thanks in advance.

EDIT:


Fronts: Polk TSi400
Center: Polk CS 20
Surrounds: Polk TSi100
Sub: BIC America F12

Last edited by Coxis; 05-20-2015 at 03:56 PM.
Coxis is offline  
post #2897 of 2900 Old 05-20-2015, 07:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Knucklehead90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: State of Confusion - 98823
Posts: 7,833
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 191 Post(s)
Liked: 231
Quote:
Originally Posted by Coxis View Post

My question is, should I have increased the MV more so that the FL, FR and C speakers would match 75db when at +0 volume, and then adjust the rest or is what I did okay?

Also, my sub is a BIC F12. I set the gain knob to 5 (12 o'clock position) to perform the calibration. I read somewhere that it is better to lower the gain to even 2 or 3 and increase the volume more within the AVR to get better bass. Is this true?
To your first question: doesn't matter if you don't mind. 85db is commonly called reference level and is the 'mark' that the folks at THX decided everyone should listen at for movies. I don't know anyone that listens to movies at that level - usually 10db lower - which is where I usually dial the volume to. Just remember that you've set volume trims on all channels down 10db from reference and you'll know where you are. As for the sub's gain knob - I can't see how that would affect bass since all you're doing is lessening the bass volume on the sub and making up for it in the AVR. Most AVR user's manuals have you set the sub gain to the middle. If you like more bass you can simply walk over to your sub and dial it up a notch or two when you think it might be too low. I find most movie tracks have a bit too much bass - I've set mine in the AVR (Marantz SR5008) down about 4-5db. Best place to set it is where you like it.
Coxis likes this.

When all else fails - RTFM!

For Sale: Emo XSP-1 & Onkyo/Integra M-504

GO SEAHAWKS!!!
Knucklehead90 is offline  
post #2898 of 2900 Old 07-15-2015, 09:10 AM
Member
 
stockjock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Okay, I've got a problem and am open to suggestions.

I've been using a trusty AVR-520, but was able to buy a used AVR-3600 which "appeared" to be in mint condition. Hooked the 3600 up last night and no right channel sound. "Fiddled with it" (not sure what I did) and the sound seemed normal.

Tried it again today and same problem. Also, on FM, audio seems distorted. Any idea what's on or any suggestions as to a possible easy fix? TIA!
stockjock is offline  
post #2899 of 2900 Old Today, 11:11 AM
Member
 
gcbavs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
anyone figured out how to use ARC? i have the 1.6.1.1 firmware which says to support hdmi1.4a spec, which includes arc.

i never cared much for it but the new tv Netflix client has the best image (tough for some reason it renders in 30/24hz while external sources tv play 60hz fine.. grrr)

anyway, since both are hdmi1.4a certified, arc should work. the tv has one port labeled to support arc, but the avr3600 will not allow sound input from anywhere other than the 4 input only hdmi.

does that mean i will have to route a audio-return-only hdmi cable from the tv to one of the inputs hdmi on the receiver?

edit: just tried that dumb idea. TV set for hdmi-cec ON (nothing with arc on the menus). cable on tv hdmi-arc input to receiver hdmi input 1. receiver outputting audio from hdmi 1. play Netflix from tv. silence...

Last edited by gcbavs; Today at 12:14 PM.
gcbavs is online now  
post #2900 of 2900 Old Today, 01:24 PM
Member
 
gcbavs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
found something else. TV has some Bluetooth universal remote. when i tell it to control a HK AVR3600 via hdmi or optical, it will test the power out function, and will never use the remote IR.

i checked with a phone camera. if i select a marantz for example, the power off test uses the remote IR. so it do try to use Bluetooth to the TV and then CEC to the receiver. but the piece of crap HK ignore everything. i can't get CEC or ARC to work with it.
gcbavs is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off