Marantz SR6004/SR5004 Owners' Thread - Page 58 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1711 of 1730 Old 01-15-2015, 01:09 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 50,901
Mentioned: 42 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3970 Post(s)
Liked: 2248
^^
First try swapping speakers to determine if the issue is with the speaker. If not, try resetting the microprocessor (see Owner's manual). If still no joy, then call for service.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1712 of 1730 Old 01-16-2015, 07:20 AM
Newbie
 
mszulen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for tip!

I'll swap the speakers and then will follow your advise:
"** Think the AVR is defective? Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. "
----------------------------------------------


ok, I've swapped the speakers - noise went to the other one, so speakers and cables are ok
Multiple resets also didn't help.
Need to contact service (might be something at the final stage of amp, since volume knob has no impact on the noise level.

Last edited by mszulen; 01-16-2015 at 11:33 AM.
mszulen is offline  
post #1713 of 1730 Old 02-07-2015, 09:01 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Audio decoding question

I am jst trying to understand, and maybe setup my receiver correctly. I'm no dummy when it comes to figuring out how to setup, but decoding audio properly from a new video streaming box I go got seems to be eluding me...
My Receiver is the SR5004. I am trying to decode properly information from a Google TV streaming box. For all intensive purposes we are decoding information from a movie/TV stream that is putting out 5.1 surround. Normally with my regular cable feeds or DVD, you can tell what the audio is doing by the speakers that are illuminated on the display. (L,C,R, SR,LFE,SR). With the new streaming box, it states the feeds are 5.1, but only getting (L,R) illuminating. So I'm assuming the audio is not being decoded properly for the receiver to correctly place the streams. Everything is hooked up using HDMI cables. Is there anything I can do to get receiver to correctly decode these audio signals, or is the incoming format from these streams just not understandable by the Marantz receiver?
Jody Reed is offline  
post #1714 of 1730 Old 02-07-2015, 09:05 AM
Member
 
MAJORAE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I would start by ensuring the gtv is set to output 5.1 over HDMI and not down mixing to 2.0.
Jody Reed likes this.
MAJORAE is offline  
post #1715 of 1730 Old 02-07-2015, 09:49 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Well, I guess that is a good reason to not be in a hurry... That was it. I just enabled passthrough on GTV so it pushes signal through to receiver. Thanks for the sanity check MAJORAE.
Jody Reed is offline  
post #1716 of 1730 Old 04-05-2015, 12:23 PM
Member
 
01svtL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OK, so I have a Marantz sr6004. For now, I have a 3.1 setup with RF5's as mains, RC7 center and an Onix UFW-10 subwoofer.

I just got around to setting everything up with this receiver, as I bought it used. I have never used a subwoofer before, as I've never had a large enough living room to need one. The way it is set up now, it sounds great watching Godzilla on HBO; plenty of bass.

My problem comes in when I use the AUX port in the front (automatically switches to 2.1) to play music through my iPhone 6. It seems like the sub only wants to play the kick drums. It doesn't play the low end of the bass guitar, or the bass drops that are often common in metal music. I'm sure it is something to do with my setup. My bedroom setup is a Yamaha receiver with a pair of Paradigm 9se MK1's (no sub), and when the drawn out bass guitar strums or bass drops hit, they will rattle things off the walls. I know this sub and the RF5's should be able to do that to a greater extent, but I have no idea how to set it up. I would even say the bass guitars sound flat and borderline non-existent, while bass guitars should be very prevalent in metal music. Can someone walk me through it? Attached is a pic of the back of my sub for reference on the controls. I don't know if my problem is on the sub or in the AVR setup. In cinema mode, I currently have the sub crossing at 40hz. You can see where the dial is on the back of the sub in the pic though, so I'm not sure which one I need to change, if not both.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Onix Sub.jpg
Views:	22
Size:	79.3 KB
ID:	649513  
01svtL is offline  
post #1717 of 1730 Old 04-05-2015, 12:43 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 50,901
Mentioned: 42 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3970 Post(s)
Liked: 2248
^^
When you introduce a sub into your setup, you want to set the FL/FR speakers to SMALL/80Hz in order to pass the lower frequencies to the sub.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #1718 of 1730 Old 04-12-2015, 03:05 AM
Member
 
sebik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
any help with upscale to 1080p....... i cant setup satellite box from 1080i to 1080p by AVR marantz sr6004: its any bug of these AVRs, or?
STB-AVR-TV HDMI1
HTPC-AVR-TV HDMI2

im idiot,when i wanna setup this after 5 years

thx for any help
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20150412_115516.jpg
Views:	17
Size:	54.5 KB
ID:	662210   Click image for larger version

Name:	20150412_115239.jpg
Views:	15
Size:	49.5 KB
ID:	662218  
sebik is offline  
post #1719 of 1730 Old 04-12-2015, 03:16 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 50,901
Mentioned: 42 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3970 Post(s)
Liked: 2248
Quote:
Originally Posted by sebik View Post
any help with upscale to 1080p....... i cant setup satellite box from 1080i to 1080p by AVR marantz sr6004: its any bug of these AVRs, or?
STB-AVR-TV HDMI1
HTPC-AVR-TV HDMI2

im idiot,when i wanna setup this after 5 years

thx for any help

Sat boxes can generally only output 1080i which is what yours is set to output. The AVR is outputting 1080p as noted in the image you posted. There is no issue here.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #1720 of 1730 Old 04-12-2015, 05:25 AM
Member
 
sebik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
then buy sat box with 1080p? cos my ARIVA 100e can just 1080i only
by me AVR have to do 1080i50 to 1080p50 ..... is this problem?

Panasonic 50G20E ShowBox VITAMIN5000HD + Ariva102e+100e HTPC SilverStone 16M Athlon 64 4850e+ X2 Brisbane NT01-E + 2GB DDR2 + SeaSonic 500w+ 16x2TB WD EARS+ ATI Sapphire 5440 1GB DD3 FTP ARCHIVE SERVER 80TB+ on 10Gbit in SIX
MARANTZ 6004 CANTON Chrono SL 595.2 DC CANTON Chrono SL 555.2 C CANTON Chrono AS 520.2 cabel Supra 6.0+Supra 4.0 ad AudioQuest SUB -A StandAudio Classic
sebik is offline  
post #1721 of 1730 Old 04-12-2015, 05:28 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 50,901
Mentioned: 42 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3970 Post(s)
Liked: 2248
^^
Not at all as it is very unlikely you can tell the difference between 1080i and 1080p.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #1722 of 1730 Old 04-13-2015, 08:30 AM
Member
 
sebik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
then why isnt 1080p on TV but still same signal 1080i from sat box?
user Daffietje have same problem......

Quote:
Originally Posted by Daffietje View Post
I've had the SR5004 for about 4 years and have used both settings in audio for a while (''Main + Sub'' and ''Sub'') and never experienced the POD.


But I have another question, hope some SR5004/6004 user can help me.
I want to upscale my connected box for digital television (connected with HDMI) from 1080i to 1080p via my SR5004 receiver.
The signal is being sent from the box through the receiver and the receiver is connected to the TV.
digital box --> hdmi --> SR5004 --> hdmi --> P50GT60 (TV)

I had a look in the settings.

Setting ''HDMI Output Resolution'' to 1080p and setting ''Analog&HDMI'' in the settings is not helping. My TV still says that the signal is 1080i.
Anyone who can help me? Thanks!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Daffietje View Post
Quote: Originally Posted by nirvana_av

Be sure it's set as 1080p or auto on your set-top-box and your TV.


I can not set it to 1080p or auto on the set-top-box.
The highest I can set it to is 1080i, but that should not matter, the AV should upscale it to 1080p.

Panasonic 50G20E ShowBox VITAMIN5000HD + Ariva102e+100e HTPC SilverStone 16M Athlon 64 4850e+ X2 Brisbane NT01-E + 2GB DDR2 + SeaSonic 500w+ 16x2TB WD EARS+ ATI Sapphire 5440 1GB DD3 FTP ARCHIVE SERVER 80TB+ on 10Gbit in SIX
MARANTZ 6004 CANTON Chrono SL 595.2 DC CANTON Chrono SL 555.2 C CANTON Chrono AS 520.2 cabel Supra 6.0+Supra 4.0 ad AudioQuest SUB -A StandAudio Classic
sebik is offline  
post #1723 of 1730 Old 04-13-2015, 01:46 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 50,901
Mentioned: 42 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3970 Post(s)
Liked: 2248
Quote:
Originally Posted by sebik View Post
then why isnt 1080p on TV but still same signal 1080i from sat box?
user Daffietje have same problem......
You show two images ... the first shows 1080p being output from the AVR HDMI 2 Monitor out while the second shows the 1080i resolution from an input on the TV perhaps from the HDMI 1 Monitor out?

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #1724 of 1730 Old 04-13-2015, 02:50 PM
Member
 
sebik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
dont know what you mean
SAT BOX hdmi to AVR input 1
HTPC hdmi to AVR input 2

from AVR hdmi to TV output 1

Panasonic 50G20E ShowBox VITAMIN5000HD + Ariva102e+100e HTPC SilverStone 16M Athlon 64 4850e+ X2 Brisbane NT01-E + 2GB DDR2 + SeaSonic 500w+ 16x2TB WD EARS+ ATI Sapphire 5440 1GB DD3 FTP ARCHIVE SERVER 80TB+ on 10Gbit in SIX
MARANTZ 6004 CANTON Chrono SL 595.2 DC CANTON Chrono SL 555.2 C CANTON Chrono AS 520.2 cabel Supra 6.0+Supra 4.0 ad AudioQuest SUB -A StandAudio Classic
sebik is offline  
post #1725 of 1730 Old 04-13-2015, 04:36 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 50,901
Mentioned: 42 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3970 Post(s)
Liked: 2248
Quote:
Originally Posted by sebik View Post
dont know what you mean
SAT BOX hdmi to AVR input 1
HTPC hdmi to AVR input 2

from AVR hdmi to TV output 1
Look closely at the image first image you posted in ##1718. You'll note it says HDMI 2 and NOT HDMI 1.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #1726 of 1730 Old 04-17-2015, 12:10 PM
Member
 
01svtL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So it appears TWO of my HDMI ports play the video but not the audio. So last night, I tried plugging our Roku directly to the TV via HDMI, and I have an optical cable running from the tv to the Receiver. However, still no sound. Is there a certain input the receiver needs to be on to play sound via optical? I have it plugged into the first optical port (top left if looking at the back of the receiver).
01svtL is offline  
post #1727 of 1730 Old 05-21-2015, 09:56 AM
Member
 
01svtL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mszulen View Post
This is my first post to this forum, so welcome everyone and greetings from the Netherlands.

Not sure if anyone had such issue before:
Some time ago, I've noticed continuous "digital" (or static) noise in the right channel of my SR5004.
Changing source or volume has no impact on it. At the same time other channels are dead silent.
Also disconnecting the source cables doesn't change anything.
In addition - when playing something via hdmi - from time to time I can hear even louder, white noise for ab 1-2 seconds.
Any ideas or should I directly contact service (it's not under warranty anymore)?
Exactly what I'm experiencing in my center channel. It's definitely the channel output, not the speaker. I switched the cables around and connected my right front and it then had static, so it's the receiver. Wonder how much and how easy it is to fix diy...
01svtL is offline  
post #1728 of 1730 Old 05-21-2015, 10:03 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 50,901
Mentioned: 42 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3970 Post(s)
Liked: 2248
Quote:
Originally Posted by 01svtL View Post
Exactly what I'm experiencing in my center channel. It's definitely the channel output, not the speaker. I switched the cables around and connected my right front and it then had static, so it's the receiver. Wonder how much and how easy it is to fix diy...
If you purchased from an authorized dealer in the USA, the unit is still covered under the Marantz 3 year warranty.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #1729 of 1730 Old 05-21-2015, 10:13 AM
Member
 
01svtL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
If you purchased from an authorized dealer in the USA, the unit is still covered under the Marantz 3 year warranty.
Purchased from a POS ebay seller that advertised it as 100% working order.
01svtL is offline  
post #1730 of 1730 Old 05-21-2015, 10:36 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 50,901
Mentioned: 42 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3970 Post(s)
Liked: 2248
^^
Contact the seller ... perhaps he'll take it back or credit based on repair estimate. Or if not, contact PayPal.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Marantz Sr6004 Audio Video Receiver Black
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off