*Official* Pioneer Elite VSX-21/23THX Owners Thread - Page 115 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3421 of 3525 Old 02-23-2012, 09:24 AM
Member
 
tealfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: West Covina, CA
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi all. Long-time reader but rare poster. I know this has been asked before (I did a search) but I didn't find any new info for my situation.

Got my 21THX the other day. All speakers work fine with it except for my subwoofer. I know the subwoofer itself is fine because it worked fine with my previous Pioneer Elite receiver. Also, I get a thumping sound when I touch the tip of the cable.

My sub is a JBL. Don't have the model number handy right now. I've tried both the LFE and Normal settings on the back of the sub and both the Line and the LFE connections. The Level was set to halfway and the Crossover set to 150 Hz.

On the Pioneer, the cable is plugged into Subwoofer in the Pre-Out section of the rear panel. I've gone into Speaker Settings and set the speakers to Small and made sure SW was set to Yes. I tried Crossover at 80 Hz, 150 and even 200. In the Audio Settings, I made sure LFE was on. When I went into Channel Levels and tried the test tone for the SW channel, I got nothing. Even when I turned it all the way up to the max (+10.0 db I think)

Does it look like the subwoofer connector of the Pioneer Elite is bad? Hopefully, it's operator error, or I've just tried so many things that I missed something. Thanks in advance!

Joseph
tealfan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3422 of 3525 Old 02-29-2012, 06:22 AM
Senior Member
 
Superman2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 485
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
So would the vsx-1121-k be a good upgrade from my 9040 (the 21 in Canada)?

Getting upgrade fever again!
Superman2 is offline  
post #3423 of 3525 Old 02-29-2012, 02:58 PM
Senior Member
 
Superman2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 485
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Superman2 View Post

So would the vsx-1121-k be a good upgrade from my 9040 (the 21 in Canada)?

Getting upgrade fever again!

Nevermind, researched and it is not
thxs
Superman2 is offline  
post #3424 of 3525 Old 03-02-2012, 12:46 PM
Member
 
GTinMIA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I know this is an old thread, but I had a quick question. Here is my issue.

If I have the receiver connected to my TV which gets our tv signal from a dish network DVR. How do I turn on the TV without having the receiver turn on as well? Every time I turn on the TV, the receiver turns on and then switches modes and I have no signal. I then have to turn the receiver back on to get a signal from the dish network DVR. Is there a way to have this set up so that I can turn the receiver on separately if needed? I do not want the receiver to come on every time I turn on the TV.

Thanks

EDIT:

I guess this is HDMI passthrough? I am not sure if that is the case or not. I have everything hooked up via HDMI BTW.
GTinMIA is offline  
post #3425 of 3525 Old 03-02-2012, 01:00 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
ccotenj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: the toxic waste dumps of new jersey
Posts: 21,915
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 89
^^^

turn off hdmi control on all your devices...

- chris

 

my build thread - updated 8-20-12 - new seating installed and projector isolation solution

 


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

ccotenj is offline  
post #3426 of 3525 Old 03-02-2012, 01:45 PM
Member
 
GTinMIA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ccotenj View Post

^^^

turn off hdmi control on all your devices...


Thanks CCO, that appears to be the issue. I found someone else with a similar problem here. http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/54...receiver-shuts I am looking through the manual on how to turn this off on the receiver now. I turned it off on my DVD player (samsung) and TV (viera link panasonic TC-P54G10). Thanks for the info. I will report back if I get it figured out.
GTinMIA is offline  
post #3427 of 3525 Old 03-02-2012, 01:58 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
ccotenj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: the toxic waste dumps of new jersey
Posts: 21,915
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 89
^^^

should be in the manual, you can download that from the pio site... pioneer also calls it "kurolink"...

- chris

 

my build thread - updated 8-20-12 - new seating installed and projector isolation solution

 


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

ccotenj is offline  
post #3428 of 3525 Old 03-02-2012, 06:24 PM
Member
 
GTinMIA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ccotenj View Post

^^^

should be in the manual, you can download that from the pio site... pioneer also calls it "kurolink"...

Thanks for the help so far cco! So I disabled Viera Link on the Panasonic TV and now the receiver doesn't turn on. My problem now is that there is no video coming through the receiver from the Dish network DVR. I looked over the VIP 722 and don't see any options on the receiver for HDMI control. It looks to be an issue with CEC and Pioneer not supporting HDMI passthrough when the receiver is off/standyby mode.
GTinMIA is offline  
post #3429 of 3525 Old 03-02-2012, 07:01 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
ccotenj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: the toxic waste dumps of new jersey
Posts: 21,915
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 89
^^^

with the avr on, you don't get video?

- chris

 

my build thread - updated 8-20-12 - new seating installed and projector isolation solution

 


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

ccotenj is offline  
post #3430 of 3525 Old 03-03-2012, 08:41 AM
Member
 
GTinMIA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ccotenj View Post

^^^

with the avr on, you don't get video?

Hey CCO, let me be clear.

1. The first issue I had was that the receiver would turn on automatically when I turned the TV on. I did not want this because I wanted to just have the TV on with sound and video and not the receiver on. After I disabled Viera Link, I can turn the TV on now and the receiver doesn't turn on.

2. Now my problem is that then the TV is on, there is no sound or video. I assumed that although the receiver is off, I should still get video and sound, and if I wanted surround sound, I would turn on the receiver. If the receiver is on, there are no issues, I get sound and video.

The only way I've read to get this to work, is either to connect the dish DVR to the TV with the component cable, or get an HDMI splitter ($25-$50). From other sources on the internet, I see that the VSX 21 does not have HDMI passthrough when off or in standby mode. If I'm wrong in this conclusion, someone please educate me.
GTinMIA is offline  
post #3431 of 3525 Old 03-03-2012, 08:48 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
ccotenj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: the toxic waste dumps of new jersey
Posts: 21,915
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 89
^^^

your assumption was incorrect, as you have found...

- chris

 

my build thread - updated 8-20-12 - new seating installed and projector isolation solution

 


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

ccotenj is offline  
post #3432 of 3525 Old 03-04-2012, 06:56 AM
Advanced Member
 
CR_Client's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: NE Cedar Rapids, IA (but closer to downtown)
Posts: 700
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ccotenj View Post

^^^

your assumption was incorrect, as you have found...

Actually, his assumption was incorrect, because the VSX-21/23 DOES have HDMI passthrough, but only with KURO-Link turned ON.

To wit, from page 63 of the manual (section 7) on KURO-Link:

Quote:


When the receiver's KURO LINK is turned ON, even
if the receiver's power is in the standby mode, it is
possible to output the audio and video signals from a
player via HDMI to the TV without producing sound
from the receiver, but only when a KURO LINK compatible
component (Blu-ray disc player, etc.) and
compatible TV are connected. In this case, the
receiver's power turns on and the power and HDMI
indicators light.

CR_Client is offline  
post #3433 of 3525 Old 03-04-2012, 11:38 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
ccotenj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: the toxic waste dumps of new jersey
Posts: 21,915
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 89
^^^

i stand corrected...

op, sorry, i confused my models...

- chris

 

my build thread - updated 8-20-12 - new seating installed and projector isolation solution

 


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

ccotenj is offline  
post #3434 of 3525 Old 03-16-2012, 03:16 PM
Senior Member
 
JustBusiness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 377
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am in the process of upgrading my speakers, so I am currently running a 2.1 system. How do I activate the subwoofer to play during 2 channel music?
JustBusiness is offline  
post #3435 of 3525 Old 03-16-2012, 03:18 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
ccotenj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: the toxic waste dumps of new jersey
Posts: 21,915
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 89
^^^

set speakers to small...
set xover to at least 80hz...
do not use pure direct...

that oughta do it...

- chris

 

my build thread - updated 8-20-12 - new seating installed and projector isolation solution

 


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

ccotenj is offline  
post #3436 of 3525 Old 03-16-2012, 03:35 PM
Senior Member
 
JustBusiness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 377
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ccotenj View Post

^^^

set speakers to small...
set xover to at least 80hz...
do not use pure direct...

that oughta do it...

Thanks....on second thought....these sound pretty good without a sub;

Paradigm Monitor 11 V6.

Now I need to get any processing off. How to turn off MCACC? Will rerun when I get the rest of the speakers on Monday/Tuesday.
JustBusiness is offline  
post #3437 of 3525 Old 03-18-2012, 06:55 AM
Senior Member
 
JustBusiness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 377
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So, I don't think I ever really spent enough Time calibrating with MCACC, I only did the full auto, and no pc output. I would like to spend more time carefully setting my new speakers up, and have been looking for a guide on how to best accomplish this. My speaker locations are pretty much set, however, I can move my sub a few feet in any direction.

For pc output, what program do I need installed? We only listen from the couch, is it worth measuring from different spots on the couch, or should the middle be fine? Speakers will be installed on Tuesday, all will be brand new, so not sure if I should break them in prior to calibrating, or maybe wait until the weekend after they have had some play time.
JustBusiness is offline  
post #3438 of 3525 Old 03-19-2012, 06:22 PM
Member
 
Strecker25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hey guys, someone else might have asked throughout this thread but a quick search didnt turn up anything

Im trying to figure out if my problem lies in my receiver (VSX-31TXH) or the time warner samsung cable box. When i first switch everything on, the receiver decodes DD over hdmi just fine and all channels seem to work properly. As time goes on, the center will eventually get very quiet or completely silent and sometimes the left and right speakers will actually pick up the vocals. if i go to a non dolby 5.1 channel like standard def, the center picks back up just fine. I havent noticed any issues with ps3 so far (limited testing)

does this sound like a cable box issue? or have other people had issues with center?

Im concerned since im not sure if it is under warranty anymore, does pioneer elite have a S/N warranty check available anywhere?

Thanks all
Ryan
Strecker25 is offline  
post #3439 of 3525 Old 04-10-2012, 02:41 PM
Newbie
 
dragon1952's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My VSX21TXH just died I think. It powers on and switches to all the different sources, and each source appears to sense the correct audio format by looking at the display but I get no video out and no sound out. The TV shows "no input" when I select my two HDMI sources (blu-ray player and DirecTV box), both connected to the TV via HDMI out on the AVR. Also, the HDMI light on the AVR display doesn't come on anymore. And my Squeezebox Touch, which is connected via digital coax, shows the correct audio format but the receiver is not outputting audio.
dragon1952 is offline  
post #3440 of 3525 Old 04-23-2012, 10:26 AM
Member
 
cacophonix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: dallas, tx
Posts: 162
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Has anyone used this receiver with 4 ohm rated speakers? I have a chance to get this for around $225, and am wondering if i can use this with my 4 ohm tower speakers.
cacophonix is offline  
post #3441 of 3525 Old 05-19-2012, 02:01 PM
Senior Member
 
slopokdave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 229
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jackstrawphilly View Post

So.... Seems the firmware update restored KuroLink to On, I switched it off and poof, the 21 stopped it's bad behavior with the input issue.

Thank you! Fixed my issue too after the firmware upgrade.
slopokdave is offline  
post #3442 of 3525 Old 05-20-2012, 05:56 AM
Senior Member
 
JustBusiness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 377
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cacophonix View Post

Has anyone used this receiver with 4 ohm rated speakers? I have a chance to get this for around $225, and am wondering if i can use this with my 4 ohm tower speakers.

It should work fine.
JustBusiness is offline  
post #3443 of 3525 Old 05-25-2012, 02:35 PM
Senior Member
 
met_fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Easthampton, MA
Posts: 434
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 17
The VSX-21 does not have audio return channel, correct?
met_fan is offline  
post #3444 of 3525 Old 05-28-2012, 01:48 PM
Advanced Member
 
CR_Client's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: NE Cedar Rapids, IA (but closer to downtown)
Posts: 700
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cacophonix View Post

Has anyone used this receiver with 4 ohm rated speakers? I have a chance to get this for around $225, and am wondering if i can use this with my 4 ohm tower speakers.

Yes, as long as they're efficient enough. I've had mine hooked up to 4-ohm M&K speakers for Speaker A LCR, and 4-ohm M&K's on Speaker B, and run both sets simultaneously all the time at average volumes with nary a hiccup.

Quote:
Originally Posted by met_fan View Post

The VSX-21 does not have audio return channel, correct?

Correct. It does not support ARC.
CR_Client is offline  
post #3445 of 3525 Old 10-23-2012, 06:07 PM
Member
 
Bocat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just an update, my VSX - 21 continues to play flawlessly.
What a great buy.
Bocat is offline  
post #3446 of 3525 Old 10-24-2012, 02:02 PM
Member
 
db4williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
^^
I agree. The VSX-21 has been an awesome receiver for me. The thing has tons of power and sounds great. It has been flawless in my 18 months of ownership. I find it really hard to justify upgrading.
db4williams is offline  
post #3447 of 3525 Old 11-14-2012, 02:22 PM
Member
 
Bocat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Any one still using this unit, or have you all upgraded?
Bocat is offline  
post #3448 of 3525 Old 11-14-2012, 02:41 PM
Member
 
Trak101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Still using the VSX 23. So simple to operate, even the wife likes it. So simple to operate, the three year-old can change the input and watch movies on her own.
It was a great purchase.

Quidquid latine dictum sit, altum viditur
Trak101 is offline  
post #3449 of 3525 Old 11-14-2012, 03:11 PM
Member
 
Dysfnctnl85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Mine is still going strong. I've never had any issues with it and really don't see a reason to upgrade at this point. 3D is not for me, so I don't really have a reason yet.
Dysfnctnl85 is offline  
post #3450 of 3525 Old 11-15-2012, 09:28 AM
Member
 
aram535's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Speaking of upgrading. I got a 3D TV, and the VSX-21 doesn't support 3D obviously (well it was news to me, but it's okay). I bought a SC-61 to replace it. Love it so far. It was about +$200 the same money that I had paid for the VSX-21, but I found it as new on ebay for less.
aram535 is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off