*Official* Pioneer Elite VSX-21/23THX Owners Thread - Page 118 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
Reply
Thread Tools
post #3511 of 3535 Old 12-27-2013, 10:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JChin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Mesquite Tx
Posts: 8,624
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 133 Post(s)
Liked: 140
Quote:
Originally Posted by Derek Steckler View Post

Hello, hoping someone can help me with an issue I'm having because I'm stumped.
I have a PC outputting video via a DVI to HDMI cable, and audio via digital optical to a VSX-21TXH receiver.
The proper video and audio connections are selected on the Pioneer's home menu.
When I select the proper input and the home menu is on I get audio but when the menu is off and only the PC video signal is displayed there is no audio.
My guess is that when it is displaying the video it is defaulting to embedded audio over HDMI, which is not present.
Is there a way to change the setting for that input so it plays the audio from digital optical instead? (I have the proper optical input selected in the home menu but it is not working.)
I don't want to disable audio over HDMI globally because I have a blu-ray player connected and I would like to use the HDMI audio from it.
Thanks in advance, I'm sure the answer is simple but I sure don't have it!

Hi Derek Steckler, on the remote press "Receiver" and then press "Signal Sel" button a few times to cycle it to "Digital".
JChin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3512 of 3535 Old 12-28-2013, 09:52 AM
Newbie
 
Derek Steckler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks so much, that did it! I figured it was something simple.
Derek Steckler is offline  
post #3513 of 3535 Old 12-28-2013, 02:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
chashint's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 1,700
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by JChin View Post

Hi Derek Steckler, on the remote press "Receiver" and then press "Signal Sel" button a few times to cycle it to "Digital".
Well done, I was unaware of this.

Regards,
Charlie

chashint is offline  
post #3514 of 3535 Old 12-28-2013, 05:13 PM
Newbie
 
Derek Steckler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
One more question, when I select Auto Surround on a stereo source the sound is tinny with very little bass. This is from both analog and digital sources. PCM Direct or Analog Direct sound much better.
I executed the auto MCACC function which seems to have worked properly but I'm having this one issue. Is there a quick fix for this that does not require hours of manually setting up everything? Thanks for your help.
Derek Steckler is offline  
post #3515 of 3535 Old 12-29-2013, 09:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
chashint's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 1,700
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 43
I bounced around between Auto/Direct for a long time and finally settled on using the Front Align calibration and Auto for everything.
I have not used this but if you really want to understand what is going on in your room and try to correct it there is a free software called REW available from Home Theater Shack http://www.hometheatershack.com/forums/rew-forum/ and http://www.hometheatershack.com/forums/downloads-area/
There is nothing wrong with liking The way Direct sounds better than the way the calibration sounds.

Regards,
Charlie

chashint is offline  
post #3516 of 3535 Old 02-01-2014, 05:03 PM
Newbie
 
P46G10's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by chashint View Post

You will need a phono preamp for the turntable.
Connect the turntable to the amp, connect the amp to the CD input.

Thank you, Chashint (Charlie), for the reply. I've placed an order for a phone preamp and look forward to playing some old albums we came across lately.
P46G10 is offline  
post #3517 of 3535 Old 02-05-2014, 08:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
chashint's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 1,700
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by P46G10 View Post

Thank you, Chashint (Charlie), for the reply. I've placed an order for a phone preamp and look forward to playing some old albums we came across lately.

I abandoned the turntable over 15 years ago, let me know what you think about the experience.

Regards,
Charlie

chashint is offline  
post #3518 of 3535 Old 03-25-2014, 04:02 PM
Member
 
cravnsn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I hope I’m not resurrecting a dead thread…I have the VSX 21THX receiver, and for years had my setup as a “phantom center” whereas I used the front mains to generate the center channel as well. I’m wanting to experiment with using a physical center speaker, which I hooked up today, and I’m trying to utilize the Center Width & center image features, but I don’t see either option when I scroll through the audio parameters. Is there a certain setting I have to have the receiver in to be able to use these features?
cravnsn is offline  
post #3519 of 3535 Old 03-28-2014, 07:09 PM
Member
 
santiclaws's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a bit of an issue with DirecTV channels which do not put out a DD signal. Sometimes, when I switch from a channel with DD output to one with without (usually SD vs HD channels) I will get no sound. I can switch to a different source and back and that gets the sound back. I'm connected from the DirecTV box to the receiver via HDMI. Not the end of the world, but an annoyance. Any ideas of what is going on and a fix?

Thanks
santiclaws is offline  
post #3520 of 3535 Old 05-16-2014, 05:26 PM
Member
 
santiclaws's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by santiclaws View Post

I have a bit of an issue with DirecTV channels which do not put out a DD signal. Sometimes, when I switch from a channel with DD output to one with without (usually SD vs HD channels) I will get no sound. I can switch to a different source and back and that gets the sound back. I'm connected from the DirecTV box to the receiver via HDMI. Not the end of the world, but an annoyance. Any ideas of what is going on and a fix?

Thanks

Anyone? Any ideas?
santiclaws is offline  
post #3521 of 3535 Old 05-16-2014, 05:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JChin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Mesquite Tx
Posts: 8,624
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 133 Post(s)
Liked: 140
Quote:
Originally Posted by santiclaws View Post

Anyone? Any ideas?

Hi santiclaws, try using optical cable.
JChin is offline  
post #3522 of 3535 Old 05-17-2014, 05:31 PM
Member
 
fester99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by santiclaws View Post

Anyone? Any ideas?
I had the same issues, I think it is just a bad handshake with the audio, I have not had this issue since upgrading my DirecTV receiver from an HR22 to the HR44 genie

| Panasonic TC-P60ST60 | Pioneer Elite SC-81 | Sony PlayStation 3 | Sony PlayStation 4 | DirecTV HR44 Genie |
fester99 is offline  
post #3523 of 3535 Old 05-19-2014, 09:24 AM
Member
 
JRD57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi Santiclaws:

This unit has issues with the HDMI handshake. Sometimes I'll get sound but it blinks "HDMI ERROR" on its display. I just cycle through different inputs and then it locks in. I've just learned to live with it...

JD

"We've got to get in to get out..."
JRD57 is offline  
post #3524 of 3535 Old 05-19-2014, 09:39 AM
Member
 
santiclaws's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I figured it was the handshake issue, but I was hoping there was a solution. I'll live with it. Thanks, guys.
santiclaws is offline  
post #3525 of 3535 Old 06-25-2014, 04:52 AM
Member
 
cravnsn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a few questions about “pure direct” – the manual saysit’s for analog sources, but when I engage it from a digital source, it soundsvastly different from the direct setting. Should this be? Also, if I’m usingPure Direct, does the receiver still keep the channel volumes & distancesettings?
Thanks in advance.
cravnsn is offline  
post #3526 of 3535 Old 11-30-2014, 11:01 AM
Member
 
PilsnerVT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone know what the latest firmware version is for these receivers? I updated to 1.054 using the link in this thread but wanted to ensure it was the latest available, even if I were to have Pioneer do it. Thanks.
PilsnerVT is offline  
post #3527 of 3535 Old 12-01-2014, 10:18 PM
Member
 
colincornaby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 87
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm using HDMI-CEC with my VSX-23THX. One frustrating thing is it always defaults to the TV input on the receiver, not HDMI1 which is where I actually have my receiver.

I thought this was just pretty standard at first until I discovered my parent's non-Pioneer receiver can change the default HDMI-CDC input that gets chosen when the TV turns on. Is there any way to change the default input used when the TV handshakes with the receiver for the VSX-23 as well?
colincornaby is offline  
post #3528 of 3535 Old 12-15-2014, 08:30 PM
Senior Member
 
Rogozhin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: The Desert
Posts: 285
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Well, I bought a used VSX-23 to replace my SC-1222k, I just don't like how the digital amps sound with my 6ohm wharfedales. I moved away from a 92txh and I sure missed the sound, soooooooooooooooooo much better with the older amps.

GamerTag= Phaleronic
Rogozhin is offline  
post #3529 of 3535 Old 12-15-2014, 11:03 PM
Senior Member
 
Rogozhin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: The Desert
Posts: 285
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rogozhin View Post
Well, I bought a used VSX-23 to replace my SC-1222k, I just don't like how the digital amps sound with my 6ohm wharfedales. I moved away from a 92txh and I sure missed the sound, soooooooooooooooooo much better with the older amps.
I meant to say that I'm really liking the VSX-23, I picked up a nearly new one for $350.

GamerTag= Phaleronic
Rogozhin is offline  
post #3530 of 3535 Old 12-24-2014, 09:04 AM
Member
 
smack518's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 148
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hi all,

I'm looking at getting a PS4 and generally very annoyed that it has zero support for harmony remotes, or any remotes for that matter. I plan on replacing my PS3 with the PS4 and my use case is gaming, streaming video and blu-ray movies. Navigating a movie with the DS4 sounds awful, especially when I have a Harmony One.

The one solution I've heard about is using HDMI-CEC. I know my Panny Plasma supports this (Viera-Link), but I'm not sure if my VSX-21 AVR does, which the PS4 would be connected through.

Does anyone know if the VSX-21 supports HDMI-CEC or alternatively will passthrough such a signal from my TV to the PS4?

Thanks!

Last edited by smack518; 12-24-2014 at 09:05 AM. Reason: Subscribing to thread.
smack518 is offline  
post #3531 of 3535 Old 01-10-2015, 09:10 AM
Newbie
 
LWB250's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Factory Reset of VSX-21

A friend just gave me a VSX-21 Elite (not the "THX" model) saying that only one of the speaker outputs was working, that the remaining outputs were "low in volume".

Unfortunately there was no remote, so I may get a Chinese knock off from Alibaba ($22) after I investigate further.

My first question was regarding factory reset. I know the THX version has a factory reset function from the front panel, using the Standby and Enter buttons. This model has no Enter button that I can find, and there is no reference to a factory reset in the owner's manual.

Does anyone know if it is possible to reset it back to factory defaults? Googling about 20 different ways hasn't yielded any viable results.

Thanks in advance for your help,

Dan

Last edited by LWB250; 01-10-2015 at 09:15 AM. Reason: Typo
LWB250 is offline  
post #3532 of 3535 Old 01-10-2015, 02:07 PM
Advanced Member
 
sawfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 863
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 119
Quote:
Originally Posted by LWB250 View Post
A friend just gave me a VSX-21 Elite (not the "THX" model)
That's like a 2003 or earlier receiver. The 21TXH is from 2009. I'm trying to be helpful, not sarcastic, but you might as well have picked a Pioneer thread at random to post in. If you don't get an answer, start a new thread and specify the model year to remove the ambiguity.

About the remote, before buying some cheap knockoff, see if you have a universal remote with built-in Pioneer codes.

BTW, this thread is misnamed. The model name suffix is TXH, not THX, and I can see why you might think it doesn't apply to the 21 model, but it does. This thread is about the VSX-21TXH and 23TXH receivers from 2009.
sawfish is online now  
post #3533 of 3535 Old 01-10-2015, 02:37 PM
Newbie
 
LWB250's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by sawfish View Post
That's like a 2003 or earlier receiver. The 21TXH is from 2009. I'm trying to be helpful, not sarcastic, but you might as well have picked a Pioneer thread at random to post in. If you don't get an answer, start a new thread and specify the model year to remove the ambiguity.

About the remote, before buying some cheap knockoff, see if you have a universal remote with built-in Pioneer codes.

BTW, this thread is misnamed. The model name suffix is TXH, not THX, and I can see why you might think it doesn't apply to the 21 model, but it does. This thread is about the VSX-21TXH and 23TXH receivers from 2009.
My apologies. I thought there were different versions of the model, with the VSX-21 being a more "stripped down" version. Not a random post, just thought it was one of a number of variants.

Thanks for pointing that out - I'll continue my search and pay closer attention to the model number.
LWB250 is offline  
post #3534 of 3535 Old 01-22-2015, 05:26 PM
Senior Member
 
Rogozhin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: The Desert
Posts: 285
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Update on the downgrade (from an SC-1222K) to the Pioneer Elite vsx-23txh. The digital amp just wasn't doing it for me (lack of punch and muddy dynamics), and the video up-scaler is much better (48-bit) on the older Elite. Color depth is sooo much better it was so nice to see the improvement. I guess I never should have sold my 92thx. I decided to ditch my open stacked shelving units (salamander) and got a cheap enclosed stand to round out the replacement. It looks much better and won't accumulate so much dust. I didn't cover the back side of the amp cabinet (for ventilation reason), and I moved the big SVS sub around a little too. The one thing I'm going to have to fix is the center channel placement. Ideally it should go in the location of the xbone in the picture, but it's a 45lb full range center that can't fit in most cabinets. After re-running advanced mcacc it sounds badass. When you jump into an ogre in titanfall the LFE shakes your body/compresses your chest. The system is technically a 7.2 setup. I did a reference db check from the primary seating position (75db) for all channels using my spl meter too, so it's spot on. The little SVS I moved in closer to the front stage, but I think I'm going to relocate it close to the couch for a better lfe spread. The boy likes plants vs zombies GW quite a bit, and it's fun to play split-screen co-op with him.




GamerTag= Phaleronic
Rogozhin is offline  
post #3535 of 3535 Unread Today, 06:23 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I have vsx 21txh. My wife got zapped at the head phones jack, and now I have no sound,
can't get speaker A To turn on,
Keeps saying"phones in"
Plug a pair of headphones in and I have sound
Can't get the on screen display to come on says"phone in"every time I try to bring the screen up.
I hope someone can help
hergler is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off