*Official* Pioneer Elite VSX-21/23THX Owners Thread - Page 118 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3511 of 3525 Old 12-27-2013, 09:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JChin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Mesquite Tx
Posts: 8,530
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 134
Quote:
Originally Posted by Derek Steckler View Post

Hello, hoping someone can help me with an issue I'm having because I'm stumped.
I have a PC outputting video via a DVI to HDMI cable, and audio via digital optical to a VSX-21TXH receiver.
The proper video and audio connections are selected on the Pioneer's home menu.
When I select the proper input and the home menu is on I get audio but when the menu is off and only the PC video signal is displayed there is no audio.
My guess is that when it is displaying the video it is defaulting to embedded audio over HDMI, which is not present.
Is there a way to change the setting for that input so it plays the audio from digital optical instead? (I have the proper optical input selected in the home menu but it is not working.)
I don't want to disable audio over HDMI globally because I have a blu-ray player connected and I would like to use the HDMI audio from it.
Thanks in advance, I'm sure the answer is simple but I sure don't have it!

Hi Derek Steckler, on the remote press "Receiver" and then press "Signal Sel" button a few times to cycle it to "Digital".
JChin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3512 of 3525 Old 12-28-2013, 08:52 AM
Newbie
 
Derek Steckler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks so much, that did it! I figured it was something simple.
Derek Steckler is offline  
post #3513 of 3525 Old 12-28-2013, 01:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
chashint's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 1,673
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by JChin View Post

Hi Derek Steckler, on the remote press "Receiver" and then press "Signal Sel" button a few times to cycle it to "Digital".
Well done, I was unaware of this.

Regards,
Charlie

chashint is offline  
post #3514 of 3525 Old 12-28-2013, 04:13 PM
Newbie
 
Derek Steckler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
One more question, when I select Auto Surround on a stereo source the sound is tinny with very little bass. This is from both analog and digital sources. PCM Direct or Analog Direct sound much better.
I executed the auto MCACC function which seems to have worked properly but I'm having this one issue. Is there a quick fix for this that does not require hours of manually setting up everything? Thanks for your help.
Derek Steckler is offline  
post #3515 of 3525 Old 12-29-2013, 08:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
chashint's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 1,673
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 39
I bounced around between Auto/Direct for a long time and finally settled on using the Front Align calibration and Auto for everything.
I have not used this but if you really want to understand what is going on in your room and try to correct it there is a free software called REW available from Home Theater Shack http://www.hometheatershack.com/forums/rew-forum/ and http://www.hometheatershack.com/forums/downloads-area/
There is nothing wrong with liking The way Direct sounds better than the way the calibration sounds.

Regards,
Charlie

chashint is offline  
post #3516 of 3525 Old 02-01-2014, 04:03 PM
Newbie
 
P46G10's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by chashint View Post

You will need a phono preamp for the turntable.
Connect the turntable to the amp, connect the amp to the CD input.

Thank you, Chashint (Charlie), for the reply. I've placed an order for a phone preamp and look forward to playing some old albums we came across lately.
P46G10 is offline  
post #3517 of 3525 Old 02-05-2014, 07:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
chashint's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 1,673
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by P46G10 View Post

Thank you, Chashint (Charlie), for the reply. I've placed an order for a phone preamp and look forward to playing some old albums we came across lately.

I abandoned the turntable over 15 years ago, let me know what you think about the experience.

Regards,
Charlie

chashint is offline  
post #3518 of 3525 Old 03-25-2014, 03:02 PM
Member
 
cravnsn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I hope I’m not resurrecting a dead thread…I have the VSX 21THX receiver, and for years had my setup as a “phantom center” whereas I used the front mains to generate the center channel as well. I’m wanting to experiment with using a physical center speaker, which I hooked up today, and I’m trying to utilize the Center Width & center image features, but I don’t see either option when I scroll through the audio parameters. Is there a certain setting I have to have the receiver in to be able to use these features?
cravnsn is offline  
post #3519 of 3525 Old 03-28-2014, 06:09 PM
Member
 
santiclaws's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a bit of an issue with DirecTV channels which do not put out a DD signal. Sometimes, when I switch from a channel with DD output to one with without (usually SD vs HD channels) I will get no sound. I can switch to a different source and back and that gets the sound back. I'm connected from the DirecTV box to the receiver via HDMI. Not the end of the world, but an annoyance. Any ideas of what is going on and a fix?

Thanks
santiclaws is offline  
post #3520 of 3525 Old 05-16-2014, 04:26 PM
Member
 
santiclaws's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by santiclaws View Post

I have a bit of an issue with DirecTV channels which do not put out a DD signal. Sometimes, when I switch from a channel with DD output to one with without (usually SD vs HD channels) I will get no sound. I can switch to a different source and back and that gets the sound back. I'm connected from the DirecTV box to the receiver via HDMI. Not the end of the world, but an annoyance. Any ideas of what is going on and a fix?

Thanks

Anyone? Any ideas?
santiclaws is offline  
post #3521 of 3525 Old 05-16-2014, 04:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JChin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Mesquite Tx
Posts: 8,530
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 134
Quote:
Originally Posted by santiclaws View Post

Anyone? Any ideas?

Hi santiclaws, try using optical cable.
JChin is offline  
post #3522 of 3525 Old 05-17-2014, 04:31 PM
Member
 
fester99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by santiclaws View Post

Anyone? Any ideas?
I had the same issues, I think it is just a bad handshake with the audio, I have not had this issue since upgrading my DirecTV receiver from an HR22 to the HR44 genie

| Panasonic TC-P60ST60 | Pioneer Elite SC-81 | Sony PlayStation 3 | Sony PlayStation 4 | DirecTV HR44 Genie |
fester99 is offline  
post #3523 of 3525 Old 05-19-2014, 08:24 AM
Member
 
JRD57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi Santiclaws:

This unit has issues with the HDMI handshake. Sometimes I'll get sound but it blinks "HDMI ERROR" on its display. I just cycle through different inputs and then it locks in. I've just learned to live with it...

JD

"We've got to get in to get out..."
JRD57 is offline  
post #3524 of 3525 Old 05-19-2014, 08:39 AM
Member
 
santiclaws's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I figured it was the handshake issue, but I was hoping there was a solution. I'll live with it. Thanks, guys.
santiclaws is offline  
post #3525 of 3525 Old 06-25-2014, 03:52 AM
Member
 
cravnsn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a few questions about “pure direct” – the manual saysit’s for analog sources, but when I engage it from a digital source, it soundsvastly different from the direct setting. Should this be? Also, if I’m usingPure Direct, does the receiver still keep the channel volumes & distancesettings?
Thanks in advance.
cravnsn is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off