*Official* Pioneer Elite VSX-21/23THX Owners Thread - Page 119 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
Reply
Thread Tools
post #3541 of 3553 Old 05-09-2015, 07:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JChin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Mesquite Tx
Posts: 8,742
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 200 Post(s)
Liked: 155
Quote:
Originally Posted by zedstaid View Post
I've tried switching AutoSurround to DirectStream, but it still settles on STEREO.

I've scoured the Manual and the internet for help and have come up with nothing that works. Is there a setting I've missed? I'm sure a lot of folks have hooked up their BluRay player via HDMI and have surround sound...
Hi zedstaid, check that "Speakers" are set to "A" and not "A & B".
JChin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3542 of 3553 Old 05-11-2015, 01:45 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by gene c353 View Post
Check the HDMI audio output in the BR players setup menu. Maybe it's set to PCM instead of bitstream.
Thank you gene c353 - that was the issue! I truly appreciate the time you your and your fellow forum comrades spent in helping me out.
zedstaid is offline  
post #3543 of 3553 Old 05-17-2015, 12:19 PM
Member
 
The Dark Knut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: San Diego
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
3D blu ray work around for VSX 23TXH? My thread searching skills suck, sorry if this has been answered. Tried to watch 3D movie for 1st time last night using PS4 and Panasonic AE8000. Opening Disney scene starts up loud and proud, then screen goes blue with no activity. Is only solution to directly connect PS4 to projector, or does the 23TXH have a pass thru function that will work for 3D? Thanks

Repetition penetrates even the dullest of minds.

The Dark Knut is offline  
post #3544 of 3553 Old 05-17-2015, 12:34 PM
Advanced Member
 
gene c353's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: S.F Bay Area
Posts: 587
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Not very knowledgable about 3D but I think you need an hdmi version 1.4 avr for 3D, although, I think I remember reading where the occasional older receiver will pass it through anyway. But I could be totally wrong. The 23 of course is 1.3. That's why people with 1.3 receivers buy BR players with dual HDMI outputs. One for the receiver (and TrueHD/MA) and the other for the display.
gene c353 is offline  
post #3545 of 3553 Old 05-18-2015, 06:12 PM
Member
 
Yardy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Oakland Park Florida
Posts: 184
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 13
The 23THX does not pass through 3D nor does it support ARC (audio return channel).
Yardy is offline  
post #3546 of 3553 Old 05-19-2015, 05:44 PM
Member
 
The Dark Knut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: San Diego
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I feared as much, thanks fella's. Getting time to upgrade!

Repetition penetrates even the dullest of minds.

The Dark Knut is offline  
post #3547 of 3553 Old 06-24-2015, 10:46 PM
Member
 
b_dogg623's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
4 ohm stable?

I can not find any ohm settings in the 21txh/23txh menu or anything definitive in the manual concerning 4 ohm speaker usage. Can these models support 4 ohm speakers? I was hoping to power some Martin Logan's temporarily until the Atmos/DTS: X models came out. Thanks in advance for any info or user experience on this matter.
b_dogg623 is offline  
post #3548 of 3553 Old 06-27-2015, 11:07 AM
Member
 
Yardy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Oakland Park Florida
Posts: 184
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by b_dogg623 View Post
I can not find any ohm settings in the 21txh/23txh menu or anything definitive in the manual concerning 4 ohm speaker usage. Can these models support 4 ohm speakers? I was hoping to power some Martin Logan's temporarily until the Atmos/DTS: X models came out. Thanks in advance for any info or user experience on this matter.

No it does not support 4 ohm. From manual "
Guaranteed speaker impedance . . . . . . . . . . . . . 16 Ω to 8 Ω,
less than 8 Ω to 6 Ω (setting required
Means the lowest it will support is 6 ohms.


From Manual : here is how to chance impedance
press STANDBY/ON.
The display shows RESET NO .
Use TUNE +/– (or / on the remote control) to select
SPEAKER 8Ω , and then use PRESET +/– (or /
on the remote control) to select SPEAKER 8Ω or
SPEAKER 6Ω.
SPEAKER 8Ω – Use this setting if your speakers are
rated at 8 Ω or more.
SPEAKER 6Ω – Use this setting if your speakers are

rated at 6 Ω.
Yardy is offline  
post #3549 of 3553 Old 07-03-2015, 10:19 PM
Member
 
santiclaws's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OK, feeling a bit foolish here.... How do I select an HDMI input without cycling through all of them? I know it is possible, I have my universal remote programmed to directly go to 3 out of 4 HDMI inputs without cycling. But I just got a Chromecast recently and hooked it up to the 4th HDMI input, but I can't find the discrete input button on the Pioneer remote to teach my universal remote and I can't remember how I did it the last time, since it has been a couple of years. I've scoured the manual and can't find an answer. So, how did I do it??
santiclaws is offline  
post #3550 of 3553 Old 07-08-2015, 09:35 PM
Advanced Member
 
sawfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 926
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 98 Post(s)
Liked: 130
There does not appear to be a button on the remote for it, and HDMI 4 is not assignable to another input per the manual, which may be how you did it before. If you have a Logitech, you could ask them to make the code available. Alternatively, you could use a JP1 remote to teach your preferred learning remote. See this thread for an example involving a Panasonic TV, which while not directly applicable, points you to the right place and idea:

http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=14684

You don't even need to buy a cable and get into the JP1 software to do this, though they are convenient when you have a lot of codes. The relevant codes for you are:

Input HDMI 4
dev 165
obc1 94
obc2 205

This will make sense to the JP1 experts.
sawfish is offline  
post #3551 of 3553 Old 07-17-2015, 02:11 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
HDMI sound issue

This may have been covered earlier, but I could not find anything conclusive.
My issue is getting audio through using HDMI cables. I am coming out of a TIVO series 3 HD cable box, into the VSX-23TXH vis HDMI, then out of the HDMI out to my new Samsung UN55J6200AFX
Great picture.....NO sound. I tried the usual ie: factory rest, swapped cables, etc. I have seen :firmware update mentioned in the past, but no way to do that, and I don't want to waste the time or money if it is not assured to work.
Any thoughts out there? I know the AVR isn't that new, but it still should work.
Any help would be much appreciated.
cmcltd is offline  
post #3552 of 3553 Old 07-27-2015, 05:37 AM
Member
 
JMWhite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Greetings,

My VSX-21THX has been working fine for several years. I have a pretty basic setup with a Panny BD player assigned to the BD HDMI input. A Cablebox/DVR assigned to the Cable/DVR HDMI input and a Sony BD assigned to the HDMI2 HDMI input.

A couple days ago, perhaps coincident with rather intense thunder/lightning in the area ALL the HDMI inputs appear to have failed (repeat All of them). The HDMI OUTPUT appears fine as I can call the VSX-21THX's Graphical User Interface on my TV, via the TV's HDMI input (Receiver and Home keys on Pioneer remote).

I can connect the a BD player directly to the TV using using existing cables whereupon it works nicely, so I don't think the cables failed.

The whole setup is protected by a surge control unit (albiet not a high end one).

I've been poking through the manual... but have not found anything particularly helpful, yet.

Any ideas ????? Help !

JWhite
JMWhite is offline  
post #3553 of 3553 Unread Today, 05:31 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I just purchased and setup a VSX23 and was looking for some clarification on settings. I am running the unit currently with only 4 speakers (L, R, SL, SR), full range to each speaker. This will change once I complete the sub I am updating. I am struggling to understand the differences between some settings so if anyone could clarify that would be good:

In surround mode:
I am having trouble determining the difference between "DIRECT" and "AUTO SURROUND". I understand the difference between "PURE DIRECT" and the others (it doesn't apply any of the EQ, standing wave correction, distance correction etc....) but I don't understand what is the difference between DIRECT and AUTO SURROUND. ie what other processing would be turned off? The sound difference with PURE DIRECT is noticeable as it does not have EQ correction but there is still a difference between DIRECT and AUTO SURROUND. I'd say that I slightly prefer the DIRECT sound but am not sure if there is anything I am missing about these two modes. I have currently tested only with an XB360 streaming Netflix 5.1 via HDMI.

For stereo use:
This one confuses me even more. PURE DIRECT and DIRECT can easily be told apart due to the difference of the EQ and S-wave correction. However, there is also AUTO mode and then just STEREO mode too. Again here I think I prefer the DIRECT mode but I can tell there is a difference between that and STEREO or AUTO. STEREO and AUTO sound very similar and may be the same. Input is a bluetooth receiver connected via RCA stereo inputs.

Thanks for any clarification anyone can offer!
JWiggle is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off