Sherwood R-972 User Thread - Page 111 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 4Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3301 of 3311 Old 12-21-2014, 11:14 AM
Advanced Member
 
sandbagger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Detroit Rock City
Posts: 946
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Time for an upgrade, new processor should be here before the first.
972 has been great but time to move forward( or at least I hope so) I will be putting it up for sale soon.

Kevin
----------
Motor City Custom Audio
Bringing you Custom subwoofer kits, with flames if you want
Onix and Melody Valve Hi Fi Audio Dealer serving the Midwest and Canada
sandbagger is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3302 of 3311 Old 12-21-2014, 11:24 PM
Member
 
islandman2020's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 137
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by sandbagger View Post
Time for an upgrade, new processor should be here before the first.
972 has been great but time to move forward( or at least I hope so) I will be putting it up for sale soon.
What are you "upgrading" to? Not sure what other RC system corrects in the Spatial Domain like Trinnov? For how much will you be selling the R-972?
islandman2020 is offline  
post #3303 of 3311 Old 12-22-2014, 02:51 PM
Senior Member
 
dwk123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Denver
Posts: 360
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It appears that my now non-HDMI R972 will spend the next phase of its life as a multi-channel integrated. I have it upstairs powering an active x-overed bi-amp setup using the NHT Xd monitors from the closeout sale several years back plus a set of woofer modules. I still need to dial things in, but it's working. Somewhat surprisingly, the 7.1 ext in actually obeys the speaker setup config. I had the unit set up in 2.1 mode, and when I switched to the ext.in input with L/R/SL/SR in use, only the L/R channels came through - I actually had to go back into the speaker config and enable the other channels.
I'm still not sure the 972 will be ideal for the 4-ohm woofer modules, but we'll see how it goes.

I've ordered an Emotiva 8100 to try out in the theater space.
dwk123 is offline  
post #3304 of 3311 Old 01-02-2015, 01:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
chrisreeves's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,002
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 112 Post(s)
Liked: 47
I'm using Room EQ Wizard for the first time ever - but for some reason it does not seem to be sending any signals to my subwoofers when doing a signal sweep (and yes, I've confirmed this by doing sweeps with the subs powered off - and the results are the same as with them powered on).

However when playing movies the subs are clearly in action.

The setup is a Mac Pro connected to the R-972 via HDMI. The subs are connected to the R-972 via an inuke nu6000dsp two channel amp.

The on-screen display of the R-972 shows a stereo signal, and has the left, front, and subwoofer icons lit up.

"Don't forget that a significant contribution made by the use of high-end cabling is emotional. Knowing that you have the best available causes the listening and viewing to be that much more enjoyable. Observable improvements make it even better."

-From a post on the audio video improvements forum
chrisreeves is online now  
post #3305 of 3311 Old 01-02-2015, 01:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
chrisreeves's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,002
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 112 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Help! I'm using Room EQ Wizard for the first time ever - but for some reason it does not seem to be sending any signals to my subwoofers when doing a signal sweep (and yes, I've confirmed this by doing sweeps with the subs powered off - and the results are the same as with them powered on).

However when playing movies the subs are clearly in action.

The setup is a Mac Pro connected to the R-972 via HDMI. The subs are connected to the R-972 via an inuke nu6000dsp two channel amp.

The on-screen display of the R-972 shows a stereo signal, and has the left, front, and subwoofer icons lit up.

"Don't forget that a significant contribution made by the use of high-end cabling is emotional. Knowing that you have the best available causes the listening and viewing to be that much more enjoyable. Observable improvements make it even better."

-From a post on the audio video improvements forum
chrisreeves is online now  
post #3306 of 3311 Old 01-02-2015, 07:16 AM
Member
 
tr4a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Rohnert Park CA
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisreeves View Post
Help! I'm using Room EQ Wizard for the first time ever - but for some reason it does not seem to be sending any signals to my subwoofers when doing a signal sweep (and yes, I've confirmed this by doing sweeps with the subs powered off - and the results are the same as with them powered on).

However when playing movies the subs are clearly in action.

The setup is a Mac Pro connected to the R-972 via HDMI. The subs are connected to the R-972 via an inuke nu6000dsp two channel amp.

The on-screen display of the R-972 shows a stereo signal, and has the left, front, and subwoofer icons lit up.
Chris

On the HDMI input you are using for the Mac did you turn on the
sub in the input setup to the 972?

I made this discovery when I added another input and my subs
sounded like they had lost half their output.
Turns out the bass was coming from my Kef LS50's full range.
Surprised me how much bass there was!
tr4a is offline  
post #3307 of 3311 Old 01-02-2015, 12:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
chrisreeves's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,002
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 112 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by tr4a View Post
Chris

On the HDMI input you are using for the Mac did you turn on the
sub in the input setup to the 972?

Thanks - I'll double check but I think it's on. The problem, I think now, is that Trinnov does not assign a crossover point to my full range L/R mains. I've run the calibration 4 or 5 times, and only got the 80hz -6db point one time. The rest of the time I get a "0hz" reading.

I confirmed this hunch by swapping a pair of bookshelves last night for the L/R mains - then doing Trinnov's calibration - and sure enough I got the 80hz -6db point. Ran REW again and now the bass frequencies on the sweep were coming out of the subwoofers.

So - it's not a REW problem, it's a Trinnov problem.

Maybe Trinnov is finding smoother bass response from my L/R mains due to their position at the front of the room. I dunno. But the bass readings from REW are definitely louder with the subs on using the bookshelves.

I may get in touch with Curt Hoyt and ask him to do some consulting on this.

"Don't forget that a significant contribution made by the use of high-end cabling is emotional. Knowing that you have the best available causes the listening and viewing to be that much more enjoyable. Observable improvements make it even better."

-From a post on the audio video improvements forum
chrisreeves is online now  
post #3308 of 3311 Old 01-16-2015, 02:57 PM
Senior Member
 
Audio Geek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Has anyone wired up their receiver (using the serial port) to control it remotely?

The remote control capability via network is a feature I miss from my previous receiver (Pioneer VSX-1120-K).
Audio Geek is online now  
post #3309 of 3311 Old Today, 07:38 AM
Member
 
twells's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: CT
Posts: 120
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Audio Geek View Post
Has anyone wired up their receiver (using the serial port) to control it remotely?

The remote control capability via network is a feature I miss from my previous receiver (Pioneer VSX-1120-K).
Yes, and it works well (the direct volume settings are nice to put into start-up macros) but serial control is missing a major function... I can't recall which is missing off the top of my head but it's one of the power functions (either on or off) so I have IR hooked up just for that one function. I don't think you could get away with only serial control.
twells is offline  
post #3310 of 3311 Old Today, 10:10 AM
Senior Member
 
Audio Geek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by twells View Post
Yes, and it works well (the direct volume settings are nice to put into start-up macros) but serial control is missing a major function... I can't recall which is missing off the top of my head but it's one of the power functions (either on or off) so I have IR hooked up just for that one function. I don't think you could get away with only serial control.
Thanks for your response.

What do you have it hooked up to? I've got a Linux machine I can connect to but it's on the other side of the wall (and I have to figure out how to make the cable).

Hm. That's unfortunate about the power. What do you use for IR?
Audio Geek is online now  
post #3311 of 3311 Old Today, 11:08 AM
Member
 
twells's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: CT
Posts: 120
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Audio Geek View Post
Thanks for your response.

What do you have it hooked up to? I've got a Linux machine I can connect to but it's on the other side of the wall (and I have to figure out how to make the cable).

Hm. That's unfortunate about the power. What do you use for IR?
I use a URC system with an MSC 400 that does both serial and IR.
twells is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Sherwood Newcastle R 972

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off