Sherwood R-972 User Thread - Page 112 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 5Likes
Reply
Thread Tools
post #3331 of 3340 Old 06-08-2015, 08:08 PM
Senior Member
 
jasonmichaelh's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: AZ
Posts: 263
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by JayS99 View Post
All,

Also... does anyone have a good copy of the latest firmware (if it winds up I try a firmware upgrade).

Jay S.
Firmware is on the Sherwood website. Do a search for R-972 on their site and you should be able to find it.

Now the +3 and +6dB files, I haven't been able to find those. anyone know where to get them?

Thanks,
Jason
jasonmichaelh is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3332 of 3340 Old 06-08-2015, 08:19 PM
Senior Member
 
jasonmichaelh's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: AZ
Posts: 263
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by jasonmichaelh View Post
Firmware is on the Sherwood website. Do a search for R-972 on their site and you should be able to find it.

Now the +3 and +6dB files, I haven't been able to find those. anyone know where to get them?

Thanks,
Jason
Has anyone "upgraded" from the R-972 to an Atmos enabled receiver (with requisite speaker arrangement), and what are your thoughts?

Particularly interested if you used any height or ceiling speakers in your R-972 setup.

I would like to stay with Trinnov, but the only Atmos equipped Trinnov products are a bit out of my price range.

Thanks,
Jason
jasonmichaelh is online now  
post #3333 of 3340 Old 06-08-2015, 09:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mjaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Fontana, CA
Posts: 2,491
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by jasonmichaelh View Post
Firmware is on the Sherwood website. Do a search for R-972 on their site and you should be able to find it.

Now the +3 and +6dB files, I haven't been able to find those. anyone know where to get them?

Thanks,
Jason
Bass target files are here: http://www.hometheatershack.com/foru...tml#post501981

You don't have to do a reset the unit though, just turn it off then on worked for me. You ONLY put the file on the USB drive that you are looking to do like the 6+ db, don't put them all on there then plug it into the 972. I think there is a better explanation of how to do the bass boost somewhere in that thread. I also had to verify that it actually installed, I did this using my Velodyne SMS-1 to measure the subs before and after to make sure the boost was applied. I had to do it a couple of times to get it to stick.
jasonmichaelh likes this.
mjaudio is offline  
post #3334 of 3340 Old 06-16-2015, 04:21 PM
Senior Member
 
jasonmichaelh's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: AZ
Posts: 263
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Whenever I run a strictly stereo calibration (no sub), Trinnov always comes back with -17 and -18 for the two channels. It doesn't matter where I set the gain adjustment on my external amp. There is a very obvious level difference to the test tones when I make the gain adjustment. Microphone is in the same position.

is there some quirky setting that might be causing this?
jasonmichaelh is online now  
post #3335 of 3340 Old 06-18-2015, 07:24 AM
Senior Member
 
jasonmichaelh's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: AZ
Posts: 263
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by mjaudio View Post
Thanks. I'l give that a go.

Looks like I've run into similar questions/problems that some of you guys did 2-3 years ago!

Multi-channel SACD seems to be a pain. I saw some earlier posts but none that specifically answer my question here. I've managed to get my SACD player to send multi-channel LPCM over to the R-972, but I'm confused by what it does with it.

If I have the input auto-surround enabled, the R-972 display shows Stereo. If I manually set the surround format (auto-surround disabled), is Multi-channel stereo the unprocessed (other than trinnov of course) LPCM? On other receivers I thought that Multi-channel stereo was a processed sound like 'hall', 'stadium', or 'neural'?

Did any of you guys see something different when using multi-channel LPCM from SACD or DVD-A? Maybe my player is fooling me and only outputting a down mixed two channel even though I have multi-channel layer selected? My player is the Denon 4010.

Thanks for any help.
jasonmichaelh is online now  
post #3336 of 3340 Old 06-18-2015, 08:03 AM
Senior Member
 
JayS99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 386
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
When my 972 was working .. :-( .. I had my Oppo 981 HD (SACD/DVD A) hooked up via HDMI to 972.. The 972 (with Trinnov active) picked it up as Multi-PCM at 48KHz (apparently that's the max with Trinnov on). Are you sure the settings on the player are sending the correct signal? If I recall, I think I might have tried both auto and HDMI on the 972. I don't think you seeing Multi-Stereo is correct. More importantly, what sound are you getting out of the speakers. Are all firing.. DVD-A with Trinnov on the 972 should be an incredible sound stage for you.. I mean you'd know.. I can look and see what I have the Oppo set for (not sure it will translate to your player) if that helps..

Jay S.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jasonmichaelh View Post
Thanks. I'l give that a go.

Looks like I've run into similar questions/problems that some of you guys did 2-3 years ago!

Multi-channel SACD seems to be a pain. I saw some earlier posts but none that specifically answer my question here. I've managed to get my SACD player to send multi-channel LPCM over to the R-972, but I'm confused by what it does with it.

If I have the input auto-surround enabled, the R-972 display shows Stereo. If I manually set the surround format (auto-surround disabled), is Multi-channel stereo the unprocessed (other than trinnov of course) LPCM? On other receivers I thought that Multi-channel stereo was a processed sound like 'hall', 'stadium', or 'neural'?

Did any of you guys see something different when using multi-channel LPCM from SACD or DVD-A? Maybe my player is fooling me and only outputting a down mixed two channel even though I have multi-channel layer selected? My player is the Denon 4010.

Thanks for any help.
JayS99 is online now  
post #3337 of 3340 Old Yesterday, 03:54 PM
Senior Member
 
jasonmichaelh's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: AZ
Posts: 263
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by JayS99 View Post
When my 972 was working .. :-( .. I had my Oppo 981 HD (SACD/DVD A) hooked up via HDMI to 972.. The 972 (with Trinnov active) picked it up as Multi-PCM at 48KHz (apparently that's the max with Trinnov on). Are you sure the settings on the player are sending the correct signal? If I recall, I think I might have tried both auto and HDMI on the 972. I don't think you seeing Multi-Stereo is correct. More importantly, what sound are you getting out of the speakers. Are all firing.. DVD-A with Trinnov on the 972 should be an incredible sound stage for you.. I mean you'd know.. I can look and see what I have the Oppo set for (not sure it will translate to your player) if that helps..

Jay S.
Jay, that's very helpful! I think my Denon is down-converting to stereo based on the HDMI information received from the R-972 (of course not sure which unit is to blame). I really don't want to buy another player, but I may need to check out one of the Oppo's.
jasonmichaelh is online now  
post #3338 of 3340 Old Today, 07:06 AM
Senior Member
 
JayS99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 386
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Jason,

So just took a look at the Denon manual.. I guess the first question (and sometimes we all miss the obvious)... What layer are you selecting on the source when you go to play it.. I mean you are selecting the multi-channel layer and not the regular stereo layer of the DVD-A for example? Other than that, what are your settings on the Denon for Digital Out and Downmix? The 972 shouldn't be telling the Denon to downmix something.. It might not be interpreting what it gets correctly (say a bad setting on the Denon, or Denon's multi-channel SACD/DVD-A is somehow different over HDMI), but the 972 wouldn't tell the Denon to "change" what it's sending..

Jay S.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jasonmichaelh View Post
Jay, that's very helpful! I think my Denon is down-converting to stereo based on the HDMI information received from the R-972 (of course not sure which unit is to blame). I really don't want to buy another player, but I may need to check out one of the Oppo's.
JayS99 is online now  
post #3339 of 3340 Old Today, 04:15 PM
Senior Member
 
jasonmichaelh's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: AZ
Posts: 263
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by JayS99 View Post
Jason,

So just took a look at the Denon manual.. I guess the first question (and sometimes we all miss the obvious)... What layer are you selecting on the source when you go to play it.. I mean you are selecting the multi-channel layer and not the regular stereo layer of the DVD-A for example? Other than that, what are your settings on the Denon for Digital Out and Downmix? The 972 shouldn't be telling the Denon to downmix something.. It might not be interpreting what it gets correctly (say a bad setting on the Denon, or Denon's multi-channel SACD/DVD-A is somehow different over HDMI), but the 972 wouldn't tell the Denon to "change" what it's sending..

Jay S.
Thanks for looking at the manual. Yeah, using the multi-channel layer. I have the denon setup to output multi LPCM. I've tried the setting with BM on and off. After reading again, maybe I have to set the video resolution lower, but I think that is just saying some of the other codecs will get converted to LPCM if lower resolution.
jasonmichaelh is online now  
post #3340 of 3340 Unread Today, 10:59 PM
Senior Member
 
JayS99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 386
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
May be different settings available on the different players. On the Oppo, I have Digital Output set to RAW (not PCM) and HDMI Audio set to Auto, not LPCM.

Jay S.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jasonmichaelh View Post
Thanks for looking at the manual. Yeah, using the multi-channel layer. I have the denon setup to output multi LPCM. I've tried the setting with BM on and off. After reading again, maybe I have to set the video resolution lower, but I think that is just saying some of the other codecs will get converted to LPCM if lower resolution.
JayS99 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Sherwood Newcastle R 972

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off