Onkyo 3007 Official Thread - Page 3 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #61 of 382 Old 10-28-2009, 05:49 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bill Mac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 11,464
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 79 Post(s)
Liked: 423
Quote:
Originally Posted by CCONKLIN1 View Post

Not trying to be a jerk, but seriously, pop for a harmony remote! Hell, even go with a refurbished one for $40 or so. The commands that can then be used are truly awesome. Pm me your email address if you want the full list jcalabria sent me. He is the one who should get the thanks for compiling these! One click for most everything.
Best,
Chris

I totally agree with Chris. I have the Harmony 688 and it is so much better than the Onkyo remote. Not only in programability but the size (smaller) and the layout of the buttons. I got all the codes from jcalabria as well and it has made operating my 886 so much easier. The small investment in the Harmony pales in comparison to the money spent on the 3007.

Bill

My SACD collection, watch it grow and my wallet shrink ;-).

 

Denon 4311 (in preamp mode), Parasound 2100, Boston Acoustics A7200 amp, Oppo BDP-103, Consonance CD120, Panasonic TC-P60GT50 plasma, Panamax 5100EX, Salk Song Towers, Song Center, ADS 300C (surrounds) and two Rythmik F12SEs.
Bill Mac is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 382 Old 10-29-2009, 04:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rickardl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 1,950
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 42
No merging of threads. Just a new thread
"The Onkyo TX-NR3007/TX-NR5007 common questions/issues/hints/answers thread "
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?p=17442982
But anything specific to a particular model should be posted in the respective dedicated thread for each model.
rickardl is offline  
post #63 of 382 Old 10-31-2009, 09:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
osofast240sx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 1,838
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
new egg is at it again $1299 for the 3007
osofast240sx is offline  
post #64 of 382 Old 10-31-2009, 01:44 PM
Member
 
_XipHiaS_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Original firmware on my european version:
Main: 1.12 09807AH
VSP Reon: 1.02 09730AE0
DSP 1st/NET 1.11 09805AHA
DSP 2nd: 1.03 09723AH2
DSP 3rd: 1.04 09731AH3
Video: 1.12 09805AR
_XipHiaS_ is offline  
post #65 of 382 Old 11-02-2009, 09:35 PM
Senior Member
 
rprice54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 381
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I've been lurking on the 1007 thread, but with the drop to $1299 I went ahead and sprung for the 3007. Sounds like this thread is dying down in favor of the new combined thread?
rprice54 is offline  
post #66 of 382 Old 11-03-2009, 02:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rickardl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 1,950
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by _XipHiaS_ View Post

Original firmware on my european version:
Main: 1.12 09807AH
VSP Reon: 1.02 09730AE0
DSP 1st/NET 1.11 09805AHA
DSP 2nd: 1.03 09723AH2
DSP 3rd: 1.04 09731AH3
Video: 1.12 09805AR

Interesting, now there are three different sets of firmware versions.
I have updated the list in the "combined" thread and called them early version, initial version and 26th October version.
rickardl is offline  
post #67 of 382 Old 11-04-2009, 08:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
COACH2369's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 1,684
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 85 Post(s)
Liked: 67
I see a lot of people mentioning they are purchasing this off of Newegg. I assume they are an authorized online dealer? The prices on the website are great for all you get in this unit.

It is tough for me because I have been such a loyal Denon supporter for the past six years. The closest Denon unit with the features is the 4810 and it is basically double the cost.

Anybody do a comparision between the 4810 and either the 3007 or 5007?

Thanks..
COACH2369 is offline  
post #68 of 382 Old 11-04-2009, 08:35 AM
Senior Member
 
rprice54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 381
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 15
http://www.us.onkyo.com/locations_intdealer.cfm

Newegg is listed as an authorized dealer.

I did just notice this on my receipt from newegg: "REC ONKYO TX-NR3007 R"

I'm hoping REC means Receiver and not reconditioned...
rprice54 is offline  
post #69 of 382 Old 11-04-2009, 12:56 PM
Senior Member
 
Michaelmorio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 392
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can someone care to elaborate the performance of the Reon chip in the 3007 in comparison to previous models with the same chip like 906 and 876? I heard the Reon in the older models weren't so effective. I don't expect it to make Blue-ray noticebly better or cleaner (I have the Oppo 83). But will it do a good job cleaning up noises off of over the air digital HD channels?

Michaelmorio
Michaelmorio is offline  
post #70 of 382 Old 11-05-2009, 06:49 PM
Member
 
RedlineRonin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 140
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I have a quick question for the 3007 owners that I can't seem to find an answer to. I like to have the display on the front of the receiver turned off as I think it looks a lot cleaner. When pure audio mode is selected it essentially does exactly what I would want it to do. However it appears that you can't use pure audio in combination with the THX modes. This is a point of frustration for me as i tried to dim the display but that only makes the display darker and does not seem to turn it all the way off. Is there a solution for this or am I pretty much stuck? Thanks for the help guys.

Carrying on the legacy of Len Tweten
RedlineRonin is offline  
post #71 of 382 Old 11-09-2009, 11:29 AM
Newbie
 
SalV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What is with this "clicking" ? I never had this with my Denon.
I have a 60" Pioneer 141fd and the 3007 (4days). Definitive speakers.
When the picture on the monitor is a movie and swings to a commercial I swing from full screen to standard with a "click"! Can I get rid of it?
Thanks
SalV is offline  
post #72 of 382 Old 11-09-2009, 12:24 PM
Member
 
jmourik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is there any difference in the sound quality between the 1007, 3007 and 5007? I'm wondering if I should pay extra for a 3007 (or 5007) if the 1007 has the same SQ when playing CD (or actually Squeezebox in my case). I was kind of leaning towards the Marantz SR6004 as they are supposed to be a tiny bit better in SQ, but the more flexible handling of Dolby PLIIz has got me to now swing more towards a 1007 or 3007. (If newegg is so nice to discount them again sometime...)

jan
jmourik is offline  
post #73 of 382 Old 11-09-2009, 12:43 PM
Senior Member
 
Michaelmorio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 392
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmourik View Post

Is there any difference in the sound quality between the 1007, 3007 and 5007? I'm wondering if I should pay extra for a 3007 (or 5007) if the 1007 has the same SQ when playing CD (or actually Squeezebox in my case). I was kind of leaning towards the Marantz SR6004 as they are supposed to be a tiny bit better in SQ, but the more flexible handling of Dolby PLIIz has got me to now swing more towards a 1007 or 3007. (If newegg is so nice to discount them again sometime...)

jan

I guess there should be some difference (3007 is better than 1007 and 5007 should be bettern than 3007). But the question is "can we tell it?" Also it will depend on other gears you have such as the CD player (I am not sure about the Squeezebox thing...) and speakers. Also you want to consider price difference of the three. The 5007 is about the double of the 1007. Is that difference justfied by a possible audio quality difference? Think about it.

Michaelmorio
Michaelmorio is offline  
post #74 of 382 Old 11-09-2009, 02:05 PM
Member
 
jmourik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michaelmorio View Post

I guess there should be some difference (3007 is better than 1007 and 5007 should be bettern than 3007)....

Michaelmorio

Yes, quite right. The 3007 is only $250 more than the 1007, so I wouldn't mind coughing that up is it really is better. But else. I was hoping somebody had compared them...

The SqueezeBox rules! Very nice wireless music player, with a digital out...

jan
jmourik is offline  
post #75 of 382 Old 11-09-2009, 02:28 PM
Member
 
Quino27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 117
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmourik View Post

Yes, quite right. The 3007 is only $250 more than the 1007, so I wouldn't mind coughing that up is it really is better. But else. I was hoping somebody had compared them...

The SqueezeBox rules! Very nice wireless music player, with a digital out...

jan

Nope no SQ difference between the 1007 and the 3007 since they are the same and use the same DACs. Joerod had both and only difference is the reon chip to upscale video. The 5007 "should" be better since it has 32 bit DAC's as opposed to 24 bit like the 1007 and 3007. If you need the better video and front HDMI and USB then get the 3007 but they have the same SQ. Check the 1007 thread and read joerod post and how he compared the 1007 and 3007 prefering the 1007
Quino27 is offline  
post #76 of 382 Old 11-09-2009, 02:35 PM
Member
 
Quino27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 117
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote from joerod:
"I really like the TX-NR1007. I was planning to keep the 3007 as my "Winter" receiver but to cut right to the chase, the 1007 gets my vote. Why? It is much more simple for me. Others may opt for the 3007 depending on your set ups. I already have top notch scaling since I am Beta testing the DVDO DUO. So the 3007's (and 5007's) slightly better scaler scaling (very slightly) means nothing to me. Their sounds are the same and all the sound processing modes (even some cool gamig modes) and features are exactly the same. Also with both you get 2 Subwoofer outs which can be set up differently. You do not lose much except for USB options which I would never use. At least you get the iPod Docking options! Oh and you also don't get a back lit remote but that is definitely not the end of the world. You get the same Audyssey MultEQ XT, same internet radio options and features, simultaneous HDMI outputs, ISF modes, THX modes and most important to me 9.2 analog outs so I can feed my B&K 200.7 AMP. That is a heck of a lot of "the same" for less options."
Quino27 is offline  
post #77 of 382 Old 11-09-2009, 02:39 PM
Member
 
jmourik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks Quino27! Guess the savings of $250 can go towards an Oppo bdp83 then :-)

jan
jmourik is offline  
post #78 of 382 Old 11-10-2009, 10:13 AM
Member
 
DVCC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I thought that 3007 has independent power supply and blocks for video, pre/pro and amp stage. It should make it slight better than 1007 in sound quality or if you want to use 3007 as a pre/pro in the future.
DVCC is offline  
post #79 of 382 Old 11-11-2009, 09:50 AM
Member
 
jmourik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DVCC View Post

I thought that 3007 has independent power supply and blocks for video, pre/pro and amp stage. It should make it slight better than 1007 in sound quality or if you want to use 3007 as a pre/pro in the future.

Good point. Now you made me wonder again.

Waiting for NewEgg to discount them again anyway. I wonder if anybody actually buys them for msrp. They seem to change the pricing almost daily!
jmourik is offline  
post #80 of 382 Old 11-11-2009, 10:15 AM
Advanced Member
 
Stix2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Davisburg, MI
Posts: 773
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmourik View Post

Good point. Now you made me wonder again.

Waiting for NewEgg to discount them again anyway. I wonder if anybody actually buys them for msrp. They seem to change the pricing almost daily!

I have them both there is no difference if there is its inaudible to me.
Stix2 is offline  
post #81 of 382 Old 11-11-2009, 10:41 AM
Member
 
jmourik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stix2 View Post

I have them both there is no difference if there is its inaudible to me.

Cool! Thanks Stix!
jmourik is offline  
post #82 of 382 Old 11-11-2009, 09:20 PM
Senior Member
 
rprice54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 381
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 15
hooked up my 3007 for the first time today. just to try it out, I hooked up my macbook via HDMI/mini display port adapter and mini-toslink. ran HDMI out to my plasma.

Overall very impressive out of the box, I certainly need to tweek it and set it up.

One thing I did notice, was when I selected the correct input, the reciever clicks and then there is a very slight hum from the sub. I tried removing the grounding screw on the sub which only made it louder. I tried Sub 1 and Sub 2 outputs, no change. I changed to a different output (with nothing connected) and no hum. Using a cheap monoprice 12' RCA cable.

Now, I can only hear it when I'm inches away from the sub, when I turn off the receiver no hum. Is this normal, do I need to try a "premium" sub cable? I don't think it would be interference from the audio input as it's optical. Both the receiver and sub were plugged into the same surge protector.

It doesn't bother me at listening distance, just wanted to be sure nothing is wrong with my setup. Axiom EP500 sub for whatever it's worth.
rprice54 is offline  
post #83 of 382 Old 11-12-2009, 03:47 PM
Troll
 
ufokillerz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NYC Area
Posts: 1,534
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 44
saw a open box nr-3007 on newegg a few minutes ago, wondering if anyone returned it?
ufokillerz is offline  
post #84 of 382 Old 11-12-2009, 04:04 PM
Member
 
jmourik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ufokillerz View Post

saw a open box nr-3007 on newegg a few minutes ago, wondering if anyone returned it?

Quick, buy it! Before I do...

Update: Too late... Gone... Did you get it, ufokillerz? I was about to order!
Update2: Was getting confused! Still showing but no "Add to Cart" button. Same for a nr5007. Darn...
jmourik is offline  
post #85 of 382 Old 11-12-2009, 05:22 PM
Troll
 
ufokillerz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NYC Area
Posts: 1,534
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 44
i didnt get it, didnt see the nr-5007, apparently the open boxes do not last a long time.. at all!
ufokillerz is offline  
post #86 of 382 Old 11-14-2009, 06:17 PM
Senior Member
 
rprice54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 381
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by SalV View Post

What is with this "clicking" ? I never had this with my Denon.
I have a 60" Pioneer 141fd and the 3007 (4days). Definitive speakers.
When the picture on the monitor is a movie and swings to a commercial I swing from full screen to standard with a "click"! Can I get rid of it?
Thanks

I've noticed when the signal from my satellite changes from Dolby 5.1 to Dolby 2.0 the receiver clicks into whatever I have selected for each mode (PLIIx for 2.0). I think it's unavoidable.
rprice54 is offline  
post #87 of 382 Old 11-14-2009, 06:31 PM
Senior Member
 
Craig Woodhall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 356
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
is this click audible through the speakers or you can just hear a mechanical click within the receiver itself?
Craig Woodhall is offline  
post #88 of 382 Old 11-14-2009, 06:37 PM
Senior Member
 
rprice54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 381
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 15
the amp clicks- the speakers just put out the audio stream.
rprice54 is offline  
post #89 of 382 Old 11-14-2009, 07:28 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
millerwill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Berkeley, CA
Posts: 11,374
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Does one also get this 'clicking' if one does 'Through' resolution via HDMI? (My projector has HQV upconversion, so I don't want the AVR to do anything but pass the video on to the projector.)
millerwill is offline  
post #90 of 382 Old 11-14-2009, 07:58 PM
Senior Member
 
Craig Woodhall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 356
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i wonder if it would click if i was just using it as a preamp, bypassing the amp.
Craig Woodhall is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off