PCM and DTS-HD 6.1 on Panasonic player and insignia receiver? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 10-11-2009, 08:13 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
avfan9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Will PCM and DTS-HD 6.1 work on a Panasonic player and Insignia 5.1 receiver? Both say they support DTS-HD.
avfan9 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 10-11-2009, 08:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Knucklehead90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: State of Confusion - 98823
Posts: 7,335
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 98
If they both say they will - then they should. You might post the models involved - someone may know something more about one or both.

When all else fails - RTFM!

♫♫♫ Two Channel Rules! ♫♫♫

GO SEAHAWKS!!!
Knucklehead90 is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 10-11-2009, 08:32 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 16,019
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 105 Post(s)
Liked: 198
DTS-HD-MA will be 7.1, not 6.1. There is a rare instance of DTS-MA having a ES core, which will get decoded to 6.1 in an AVR but not in a player. Some players will drop the ES flag on DTS so the AVR has to force that decoder manually.
rdgrimes is offline  
post #4 of 10 Old 10-11-2009, 08:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
M Code's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Joshua Tree, CA
Posts: 9,809
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 112
The Insignia AVR (built by Sherwood) is 5.1 and HDMI 1.3a. When playing a 6.1 or 7.1 (Dolby and DTS) source material (SD or HD) through a digital port (coaxial, optical or HDMI) this will be collapsed down and played as 5.1....

Just my $0.015...
M Code is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 10-11-2009, 09:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bluesky636's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4,179
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgrimes View Post

DTS-HD-MA will be 7.1, not 6.1. There is a rare instance of DTS-MA having a ES core, which will get decoded to 6.1 in an AVR but not in a player. Some players will drop the ES flag on DTS so the AVR has to force that decoder manually.

DTS HD-MA can support UP TO 7.1. It could be way less (mono) and is most commonly 5.1.
bluesky636 is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 10-12-2009, 06:14 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
avfan9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
so there won't be a decrease in sound quality?
avfan9 is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 10-12-2009, 07:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bluesky636's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4,179
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by avfan9 View Post

so there won't be a decrease in sound quality?

Compared to what?
bluesky636 is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 10-12-2009, 12:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
M Code's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Joshua Tree, CA
Posts: 9,809
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 112
Quote:
Originally Posted by avfan9 View Post

so there won't be a decrease in sound quality?

Correcto..
NO decrease in sonic quality..
The Center Back Channel audio content available in a 6.1 mix is outputted to the L & R surrounds. If the master mix is 7.1, then the L & R Back Surround channel saudio content is outputted to L & R Surrounds. Nothing is lost just merged into existing channels, note that the step to 7.1 is significant for expanding the soundstage if setup properly. The step to 6.1 was a bust as it usually collapsed the soundstage by reducing channel separation..

Just my $0.015...
M Code is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 10-12-2009, 02:26 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
avfan9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i'm just making sure--when a blu-ray says "DTS-HD Master Audio 6.1," and the player can decode DTS-HD Master Audio Essential, and the receiver can decode DTS-HD Master Audio, it would still work?
avfan9 is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 10-12-2009, 02:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JHAz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,848
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 146
Only need to decode once. If your receiver can decode, set your player to bitstream to the receiver.
JHAz is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off