Reciever went poof - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

Old 10-22-2009, 07:09 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
My Sony STR-DG720 receiver died on me late last night so now I'm in the market for a replacement. I figured I'd check here for advice. My budget is $200-$500. I'm running an assortment of custom made 8ohm speakers. My current defunct Sony receiver produced house shaking volume levels with its 105w per channel so I'm looking for something with around that power if not more. I want to use HDMI for all hookups. I should probably mention I'm not an expert on this stuff. With that in mind, here's the features I'm interested in...

Reciever Features
  • 5.1 channels. 7.1 preferred
  • 100w per channel minimum
  • 3 HDMI inputs minimum
  • 1080i video / audio switching. 1080p would be nice.
  • The usual audio decoding including Dolby, DTS etc.

Current Equipment
Thanks in advance.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 10-22-2009, 07:35 PM
AVS Addicted Member

Quoted: 299 Post(s)
Liked: 419
100w per channel minimum doesn't mean much because mfrs don't rate their receivers power all the same. I'm sure your Sony stated it was 105 wpc but in reality it was nowhere close to that, not with 5 speakers being driven. The model up 820 is only rated at 70 watts per channel with 5 channel driven. Sony is notorious for overstating the power in their entry level receivers.

Look at the Denon 1610, 1910, Pioneer VSX-919 or 1019, Onkyo HT-RC160, 607 or 706 on closeout, Marantz 5003.

Take a hard look at the Denon 1910 with its 4 HDMI inputs. It also has Audyssey MultiEQ room calibration software which really helps EQ your listening area. The Marantz has it too.

6ave.com has a Name Your Price deal going right now. You should be able to get the Denon 1910 around $400 or less.
http://www.6ave.com/shop/product.aspx?sku=DENAVR1910

Afro GT
Old 10-22-2009, 10:23 PM
AVS Special Member

Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 182