I need help choosing a reciever! - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 24 Old 12-22-2009, 02:02 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
otac0n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
About a moth ago I purchased a new 46" Samsung LED-LCD TV, and got it all up and running with all of my devices:
  • HTPC - HDMI/HDMI
  • Xbox - HDMI/HDMI
  • Cable - RBG/RCA
  • PS2 - RCA/RCA
  • SNES - Antenna Ch. 4
  • NES - Antenna Ch. 3

Over black Friday, I decided to upgrade to 5.1 audio, and purchased the
Yamaha RX-V365.

I am entirely dissatisfied with this receiver, given that the HDMI subsystem will not output audio to the 5.1 speakers. (It sends the audio along to the TV). Everything would have been perfect if only the TV would output 5.1 over the optical out, but, alas it does not.

I at least want to be able to push the 3 HD inputs and the RCA inputs in through a receiver, and if possible, would like to do the same for Antenna-in Ch 3 and 4.

What class of receiver am I looking for? Should I keep the option of a 7.1 system open? I guess I would also like to keep some expansion room open (maybe an extra HDMI input as well) for the future.

I have been looking around for days trying to decipher the specs of various receivers, and am in need of some... *ahem*... professional help.

Any help would be much appreciated.
otac0n is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 24 Old 12-22-2009, 02:09 PM
Advanced Member
 
M3 Pete's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: So Cal
Posts: 738
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
maybe I'm not following, but it sounds like your problem is routing your sources to the TV first, rather than the AVR.
M3 Pete is offline  
post #3 of 24 Old 12-22-2009, 02:14 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
otac0n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No, that's not the problem.

That was my hackish solution to a crappy receiver.

The RX-V365 does not decode HDMI audio at all.
otac0n is offline  
post #4 of 24 Old 12-22-2009, 02:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
phantom52's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: TX
Posts: 7,089
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 83
What speakers are you using?
phantom52 is online now  
post #5 of 24 Old 12-22-2009, 02:15 PM
Member
 
mutelight's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Essentially that receiver is simply acting as a HDMI switch with no HDMI audio processing. You want a receiver that can process HDMI audio and does not list HDMI passthrough which is what that receiver is doing.
mutelight is offline  
post #6 of 24 Old 12-22-2009, 02:17 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
otac0n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm using Energy Take 5 speakers.

After reading around these forums for a little bit, I found the Denon AVR-590 which claims to up-convert everything to HDMI.

Does that mean it will play audio coming in over HDMI?
otac0n is offline  
post #7 of 24 Old 12-22-2009, 02:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
phantom52's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: TX
Posts: 7,089
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 83
If you go with Yamaha you need to start with the 665 to do what you want. But for the price of the Yamaha 665 there's also the Denon 1610/590 thats a lot better. There's also the Onkyo 607 or RC160. Yamaha's equipment took a nosedive this year as compared to previous year models. The 665 is an excellent AVR if you are going to be adding an amp. Weght loss in AVR's is not a good thing. Usually means either more plastic,less amps,less power supply. None of which means good build quality to me. YMMV.
phantom52 is online now  
post #8 of 24 Old 12-22-2009, 02:20 PM
Member
 
mutelight's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 13
The Denon AVR-590 will indeed process audio over HDMI.
mutelight is offline  
post #9 of 24 Old 12-22-2009, 02:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
phantom52's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: TX
Posts: 7,089
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 83
Quote:
Originally Posted by otac0n View Post

I'm using Energy Take 5 speakers.

After reading around these forums for a little bit, I found the Denon AVR-590 which claims to up-convert everything to HDMI.

Does that mean it will play audio coming in over HDMI?

Yes, and it also uses Audyssey Multi-EQ for room correction. Excellent AVR for the money.
phantom52 is online now  
post #10 of 24 Old 12-22-2009, 02:23 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
otac0n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anything support tuning in Antenna channel 3 and 4 outputting auio to the external speakers, and video over HDMI?
otac0n is offline  
post #11 of 24 Old 12-22-2009, 02:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
phantom52's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: TX
Posts: 7,089
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 83
Quote:
Originally Posted by otac0n View Post

Does anything support tuning in Antenna channel 3 and 4 outputting auio to the external speakers, and video over HDMI?

Not that I know of. For that its either optical or coax from the display to receiver. Doesn't matter anyway because the most you are going to get from broadcast networks is DD 5.1.
phantom52 is online now  
post #12 of 24 Old 12-22-2009, 02:33 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
otac0n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, I wanted the Super Nintendo to output audio through the good speakers... That would mean that I would only need one remote.
otac0n is offline  
post #13 of 24 Old 12-22-2009, 02:35 PM
Member
 
mutelight's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 13
There should be some analog audio outs on your TV to run some stereo RCAs from the TV to your receiver for the SNES sound.
mutelight is offline  
post #14 of 24 Old 12-22-2009, 02:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
phantom52's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: TX
Posts: 7,089
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 83
Quote:
Originally Posted by otac0n View Post

Well, I wanted the Super Nintendo to output audio through the good speakers... That would mean that I would only need one remote.

Why wouldn't your Super Nintendo output to your "good speakers". All you have to do is connect it to the receiver by composite or component cables if possible. We have a Super Nitendo connected to my Onkyo 876 with the composite cables, red,white and yellow. You can do the samr with the 1610/590.
phantom52 is online now  
post #15 of 24 Old 12-22-2009, 02:38 PM
Member
 
mutelight's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by phantom52 View Post

Why wouldn't your Super Nintendo output to your "good speakers". All you have to do is connect it to the receiver by composite or component cables if possible. We have a Super Nitendo connected to my Onkyo 876 with the composite cables, red,white and yellow. You can do the samr with the 1610/590.

I think he is using the RF connector for the SNES.
mutelight is offline  
post #16 of 24 Old 12-22-2009, 02:43 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
otac0n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mutelight View Post

I think he is using the RF connector for the SNES.

That's correct. I guess I could use the optical out on the TV, or I could convert the RF to RCA somehow...
otac0n is offline  
post #17 of 24 Old 12-22-2009, 02:49 PM
Member
 
mutelight's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by otac0n View Post

That's correct. I guess I could use the optical out on the TV, or I could convert the RF to RCA somehow...

As I mentioned, you should have a left and right analog RCA output, just run that to the receiver.
mutelight is offline  
post #18 of 24 Old 12-22-2009, 02:53 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
otac0n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
One last question:

The AVR-590 has 3 HDMI in, 2 Component in, and 3 RCA in. They are all listed as "Assignable."

Will I be able to use all 8 of these at once, or will some of these be assigned to the same "channel" on the receiver?
otac0n is offline  
post #19 of 24 Old 12-22-2009, 02:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
phantom52's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: TX
Posts: 7,089
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 83
They can all be connected at the same tiime and assigned. They cannot be used at all the same time. No AVR does that. I don't think you meant to used at the same time though. Did You?
phantom52 is online now  
post #20 of 24 Old 12-22-2009, 03:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rnatalli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,794
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 96
The Denon 590/1610 has my vote as well. Great receiver for the money.
rnatalli is offline  
post #21 of 24 Old 12-22-2009, 03:05 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
otac0n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by phantom52 View Post

They can all be connected at the same tiime and assigned. They cannot be used at all the same time. No AVR does that. I don't think you meant to used at the same time though. Did You?

No, I mean, If I have something connected to all of them, will I be able to switch between each of them?
otac0n is offline  
post #22 of 24 Old 12-22-2009, 03:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
phantom52's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: TX
Posts: 7,089
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 83
Quote:
Originally Posted by otac0n View Post

No, I mean, If I have something connected to all of them, will I be able to switch between each of them?

Yes you will. From either that remote or a Harmony if you so choose.
phantom52 is online now  
post #23 of 24 Old 12-22-2009, 03:17 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
otac0n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks everyone! My new receiver has been purchased.
otac0n is offline  
post #24 of 24 Old 12-22-2009, 03:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
phantom52's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: TX
Posts: 7,089
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 83
Quote:
Originally Posted by otac0n View Post

Thanks everyone! My new receiver has been purchased.

Your'e very welcome, and I speak for all that answered you. Enjoy, you made a good purchase.
phantom52 is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off