Upconversion? Not sure if it's needed - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-13-2010, 06:19 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
navmaxlp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So, it's been a while since I took a look at my home theater and I was thinking of revamping it a bit. Right now, I have my dvd player and cable STB going through my receiver to my TV and my blu ray player and gaming system going straight to the TV. The reason for this is; my receiver doesn't have HDMI support, only component and only two inputs at that. What I'm thinking of doing is getting a new receiver that handles both component and HDMI. That way, I can run everything through one system to the TV. I know there are receivers out there that can upconvert all signals to HDMI but, would I need this? Would I be able to get a non-upconverting receiver and have component inputs as well as HDMI inputs go through the HDMI output or are the component and HDMI buses separate? I'm thinking there are probably some receivers that will do this and others that won't. If that's the case, how can I tell which are which?
navmaxlp is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-13-2010, 06:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Knucklehead90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: State of Confusion - 98823
Posts: 7,460
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 113
Most of the budget AVRs don't upconvert analog.
You can connect component video to an AVR and use component out to the display and HDMI in and out of the AVR too.

What is your budget? This is the usual starting point. Not much use in recommending an AVR that is over/under your budget.

Do you have a 5.1 or 7.1?

When all else fails - RTFM!

♫♫♫ Two Channel Rules! ♫♫♫

GO SEAHAWKS!!!
Knucklehead90 is online now  
Old 02-13-2010, 06:40 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
afrogt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 23,411
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 295 Post(s)
Liked: 417
Quote:


I know there are receivers out there that can upconvert all signals to HDMI but, would I need this?

Kind of, depending on your terminology. Some people call "upconverting" taking any analog source and converting it to HDMI. Other people call "upconverting" converting any analog source to HDMI and upscaling it to 1080i/1080p too. The first case is really called "transcoding" but nobody uses that terminology anymore. The second case is really what upconversion means.

But nowadays people call both upconversion. I'm not sure what your definition is.

You basically want the receiver to take component and HDMI inputs and output them thru a single HDMI, right? There are plenty of receivers that will do that starting with the low priced Denon 590 and 1610, the Pioneer 919 and up, Onkyo RC-160, 607 and up, and so on from other manufactures like Yamaha, Marantz and Harman Kardon.

You've got plenty of receivers to choose from.

Quote:


If that's the case, how can I tell which are which?

It'll tell you in the description of the receiver, especially if you go to the manufacturers website.

Afro GT
afrogt is offline  
Old 02-13-2010, 07:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
RoboRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,155
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by afrogt View Post

Kind of, depending on your terminology. Some people call "upconverting" taking any analog source and converting it to HDMI. Other people call "upconverting" converting any analog source to HDMI and upscaling it to 1080i/1080p too. The first case is really called "transcoding" but nobody uses that terminology anymore. The second case is really what upconversion means.

But nowadays people call both upconversion. I'm not sure what your definition is.

The second case is upscaling and transcoding. People still call case #1 transcoding to eliminate confusion.

There is no agreed-upon definition for "upconversion" at all. Different companies and people use it in different ways, so it's usually best just to avoid the term altogether.
RoboRay is offline  
Old 02-13-2010, 10:42 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
MichaelJHuman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 18,958
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 239 Post(s)
Liked: 118
I answered this in some detail in the AVR FAQ

"But this one goes up to 11"
MichaelJHuman is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off