Aside from Emotiva, who else... - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 5 Old 02-28-2010, 01:46 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Aside from Emotiva, are there any other companies or manufacturers that offer amplifiers & processors of comparable quality at the same or better price point? I'm kind of new to the home a/v scene after a 20 year sabbatical and I'm unfamiliar with all the newer brands out there. I see Emotiva gets some good exposure here and I haven't read anything significantly bad about them. It just seems to me that they're the only company out there right now that offers pretty affordable stuff (sub $1k) components with reasonable performance in a package that looks sharp (not as important, but damn their stuff looks nice).

On a side note, The products I'm CONSIDERING are their UPA-7 seven channel amp ($699) and their UMC-1 AV processor (also $699) and these are pretty much already beyond the upper limits of my budget.

Any comments or feedback would be greatly appreciated.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 Old 02-28-2010, 02:11 PM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 140
I think the Emotiva amps have a great reputation but you might want to think twice about the UMC1. There is a thread about it and you can read and make up your own mind. As far as new amps, its going to be hard to beat Emotiva. There are plenty of good used amps on Audiogon in the same price range. Brands to consider are B&K, Sunfire, Anthem, NAD, Parasound, etc..
post #3 of 5 Old 02-28-2010, 02:24 PM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11